DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 05/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-17, filed 08/28/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140141142 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 20140141142 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method for manufacturing a curved human interface device, the method comprising:
providing a stack comprising:
a front substrate (20) formed of a transparent, first thermoplastic material (“The resin substrate 20 may be made of resin such as PMMA (Poly Methyl Methacrylate) which is high in transparency “), an organic light-emitting diode display configured to display an image through the front substrate (20), (Fig. 4) and
a thermomechanical buffer layer (15) formed of a transparent (“As the adhesive 15, a thermosetting or extracellular hardening adhesive which has high transparency”), second thermoplastic material (adhesive) arranged between the front substrate (20) and the OLED display (12); (Fig. 4)
applying heat to the stack (31) for causing a temperature of the front substrate (20) and a temperature of the buffer layer (15) to increase, respectively, to a first respective processing temperature (31) at which the first thermoplastic material becomes pliable and to a second respective processing temperature (UV in Fig. 6) at which the second thermoplastic material becomes pliable; (Fig. 5 and 6) and
thermoforming the stack (Fig. 6) while the first thermoplastic material and the second thermoplastic material are pliable to form the curved human interface device; (Fig. 6) wherein
the second thermoplastic material (15) has a stiffness at the second respective processing temperature (UV in Fig. 6) that is lower (because (15) is disclosed as an adhesive which is more easily heated than PMMA (20)) than a stiffness of the first thermoplastic material (20) at the first respective processing temperature (31). (Fig. 5 ang 6)
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, during the applying heat (31 in Fig. 5 or arrows of Fig. 6), the heat is applied by radiation from a side of the front substrate (20). (Fig. 5 and 6)
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the OLED display (12) has a lower temperature (because of the blowing pipes 33) during the thermoforming than a temperature of the front substrate (20) and a temperature of the buffer layer (15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20140141142 A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Park et al. (US 20180088631 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1. Kim does not disclose wherein the stack comprises a printed sensor arranged between the front substrate and the buffer layer.
However, Park discloses
the stack comprises a printed sensor (260) arranged between the front substrate (100) and the buffer layer (233 inside 230). (Fig. 3 and 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Park for the stack comprises a printed sensor arranged between the front substrate and the buffer layer as a conventional choice in the art for “detecting a touch” (Park, [0054])
Claims 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20140141142 A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140141142 A).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the stack comprises an electric circuit with circuit lines printed on the thermomechanical buffer layer, and wherein the circuit lines are electrically connected to electronic components disposed on the buffer layer including the OLED display.
However, Kim does disclose:
A PCB (Printed Circuit Board) 14 on which a signal necessary for the drive ICs and circuit wirings for supplying power are formed on the lower transparent substrate of the display panels 10 to 12 is mounted on an FPC (Flexible Printed Circuit) 13)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim to have an electric circuit with circuit lines printed on the thermomechanical buffer layer, and wherein the circuit lines are electrically connected to electronic components disposed on the buffer layer including the OLED display in order to
an electric circuit (10) with circuit lines (indirectly) printed on the thermomechanical buffer layer (15), and wherein the circuit lines are electrically connected to electronic components (14) disposed on the buffer layer (15) including the OLED display (12).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the stack comprises a graphical pattern formed by one or more layers of opaque material, wherein the graphical pattern comprises at least one window for transmitting light from an image displayed on the OLED display through the front substrate, and wherein the opaque material is arranged to block circuit parts or other components on the buffer layer from view through the front substrate.
However, Kim does disclose:
“The bottom chassis 52 is formed in the form of a curved container having an opened upper surface. Light sources 50 are provided inside the bottom surface of the bottom chassis 52, and a reflective film 51 is bonded. The light sources 50 may be implemented as a point light source such as an LED (Light Emitting Diode). The optical component 53 includes a diffuser plate and one or more optical films aligned on the diffuser plate.” And “The curved surface display panel is aligned on the curved surface backlight as shown in Fig. Optical components (53) are disposed between the lower transparent substrate of the curved display panel and the light sources. The resin substrate 20 is fixed to the bottom chassis 52 in a state in which the curved display panel is aligned on the curved backlight. When the input image data is supplied to the curved display panel and the light source is turned on, the light from the curved backlight unit is transmitted through the curved display panel through the liquid crystal layer driven according to the data voltage and propagated toward the viewer.”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have a graphical pattern formed by one or more layers of opaque material, wherein the graphical pattern comprises at least one window for transmitting light from an image displayed on the OLED display through the front substrate, and wherein the opaque material is arranged to block circuit parts or other components on the buffer layer from view through the front substrate in order to “When the input image data is supplied to the curved display panel and the light source is turned on, the light from the curved backlight unit is transmitted through the curved display panel through the liquid crystal layer driven according to the data voltage and propagated toward the viewer.” (Kim)
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein, at least during the applying heat, the stack is provided with at least one component that is attached to the OLED display taken from the group consisting of: a heat sink, and a heat shield.
However, Kim does disclose:
wherein, at least during the applying heat (31), the stack is provided with at least one component (32) that is attached to the OLED (during pressing) display taken from the group consisting of: a heat sink, and a heat shield (33 are blowing pipes).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim for at least during the applying heat, the stack is provided with at least one component that is attached to the OLED display taken from the group consisting of: a heat sink, and a heat shield for “for dissipating heat of the display panels” (Kim) during manufacturing.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, during the applying heat (31), heat is applied by radiation from a side (behind) of the OLED display (12), (Fig. 5)
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a heat shield or mask is arranged to block or reflect radiation from reaching the OLED display.
However, Kim discloses:
“The lower jig 32 is provided with a blowing pipe 33 for dissipating heat of the display panels 10 to 12.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim to use a heat shield or mask is arranged to block or reflect radiation from reaching the OLED display in order to avoid the display panels from overheating and the physical properties of the panel being deteriorated. (Kim)
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first respective processing temperature and the second respective processing temperature are both is between one hundred and one hundred sixty degrees Celsius, and wherein a temperature of the OLED display is kept below one hundred and ten degrees Celsius during the applying heat.
However, Kim does disclose:
“The temperature of the upper jig 30 may be set at a temperature at which the resin substrate 20 can be bent, for example, a temperature between 100 ° C and 200 ° C. Since the display panels 10 to 12 are adhered to the resin substrate 20, the display panels 10 to 12 are bent together with the resin substrate 20 when the resin substrate 20 is bent. The heat of the display panels 10 to 12 is dissipated through the blowing pipe 33 of the lower jig 32. Without the blowing pipe 33, the display panels 10 to 12 may overheat and the physical properties of the panel may be deteriorated.
The curved surface forming process lowers the temperature of the upper jig 30 after maintaining the bent state of the resin substrate 20 and the display panels 10 to 12 between the upper jig 30 and the lower jig 32 for a predetermined time. At this time, the curved surface forming step can supply cold air through the blowing pipe 33 to accelerate the temperature decrease of the resin substrate 20 and the display panels 10 to 12. Alternatively, the heat of the display panels 10 to 12 can be dissipated through the blowing pipe without supplying cold air to the blowing pipe 33.”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim for the first respective processing temperature and the second respective processing temperature are both is between one hundred and one hundred sixty degrees Celsius, and wherein a temperature of the OLED display is kept below one hundred and ten degrees Celsius during the applying heat in order to avoid “the display panels 10 to 12 to overheat and the physical properties of the panel to be deteriorated” (Kim)
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second thermoplastic material has a lower glass transition temperature or melting temperature than the first thermoplastic material.
However, Kim does disclose:
the second thermoplastic material (15 disclosed as a resin per “The adhesive film may be selected as a thermosetting or ultraviolet ray hardening resin having high transparency and good adhesion.”) and the first thermoplastic material (20 disclosed as PMMA).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
has a lower glass transition temperature or melting temperature than.
However, from https://www.custom-plastic-mold.com/plastic-raw-material/pmma-polymethyl-methacrylate-acrylic/ and https://www.custom-plastic-mold.com/search/resin.html one can compare that standard epoxy resins typically begin to soften at temperatures as low as 60°C (140°F), which is significantly lower than the point at which PMMA begins to soften (around 125°C) and much lower than PMMA's melting point of 130-160°C
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim and the weblink for the second thermoplastic material has a lower glass transition temperature or melting temperature than the first thermoplastic material as a conventional choice in the art obtained through with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first thermoplastic material has a glass transition temperature in a range between 100-130° degrees Celsius.
However, Kim discloses the first thermoplastic material is PMMA.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the glass transition temperature
However, from https://www.custom-plastic-mold.com/plastic-raw-material/pmma-polymethyl-methacrylate-acrylic/, “the glass transition temperature of PMMA is about 105 degrees Celsius”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim and the weblink for the first thermoplastic material has a glass transition temperature in a range between 100-130° degrees Celsius as a conventional choice in the art obtained through with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the method claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the front substrate has a thickness between 250 μm, and wherein the buffer layer has a thickness between 100-250 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to choose the thicknesses of these layers as a conventional choice in the art obtained through with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 10, 16, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20140141142 A) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180279471 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a curved human interface device comprising a thermoformed stack comprising:
a front substrate (20) formed of a transparent, first thermoplastic material (“The resin substrate 20 may be made of resin such as PMMA (Poly Methyl Methacrylate) which is high in transparency “), an organic light-emitting diode display configured to display an image through the front substrate (20), (Fig. 4) and
a thermomechanical buffer layer (15) formed of a transparent (“As the adhesive 15, a thermosetting or extracellular hardening adhesive which has high transparency”), second thermoplastic material (adhesive) arranged between the front substrate (20) and the OLED display (12); (Fig. 4)
wherein the front substrate (20) and buffer layer (15) are simultaneously thermoformable at, respectively, to a first respective processing temperature (31) at which the first thermoplastic material becomes pliable and to a second respective processing temperature (UV in Fig. 6) at which the second thermoplastic material becomes pliable; (Fig. 5 and 6) and
the second thermoplastic material (15) has a stiffness at the second respective processing temperature (UV in Fig. 6) that is lower (because (15) is disclosed as an adhesive which is more easily heated than PMMA (20)) than a stiffness of the first thermoplastic material (20) at the first respective processing temperature (31). (Fig. 5 ang 6)
Kim does not explicitly disclose
and wherein a shape of the buffer layer comprises an imprint formed by a shape of the OLED display being present during thermoforming.
However, Chen discloses:
a shape of the buffer layer (18) comprises an imprint formed by a shape of the OLED display (at least 6) being present during thermoforming ([0034]- [0035], [0042], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Chen for a shape of the buffer layer comprises an imprint formed by a shape of the OLED display being present during thermoforming as a conventional effect of combining these layers together so that “formed article has a functional electrical circuit after thermoforming.” (Chen, [0007])
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the curved human interface device according to claim 10. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second thermoplastic material has a lower glass transition temperature or melting temperature than the first thermoplastic material.
However, Kim does disclose:
the second thermoplastic material (15 disclosed as a resin per “The adhesive film may be selected as a thermosetting or ultraviolet ray hardening resin having high transparency and good adhesion.”) and the first thermoplastic material (20 disclosed as PMMA).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
has a lower glass transition temperature or melting temperature than.
However, from https://www.custom-plastic-mold.com/plastic-raw-material/pmma-polymethyl-methacrylate-acrylic/ and https://www.custom-plastic-mold.com/search/resin.html one can compare standard epoxy resins typically begin to soften at temperatures as low as 60°C (140°F), which is significantly lower than the point at which PMMA begins to soften (around 125°C) and much lower than PMMA's melting point of 130-160°C.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim and the weblink for the second thermoplastic material has a lower glass transition temperature or melting temperature than the first thermoplastic material as a conventional choice in the art obtained through with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the curved human interface device according to claim 10. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first thermoplastic material has a glass transition temperature in a range between 100-130° degrees Celsius.
However, Kim discloses the first thermoplastic material is PMMA.
Kim does not explicitly disclose: has a glass transition temperature in a range between 100-130° degrees Celsius
However, from https://www.custom-plastic-mold.com/plastic-raw-material/pmma-polymethyl-methacrylate-acrylic/:“The glass transition temperature of PMMA is about 105 degrees Celsius”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kim and the weblink for the first thermoplastic material has a glass transition temperature in a range between 100-130° degrees Celsius as a conventional choice in the art obtained through with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the curved human interface device according to claim 10. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the front substrate has a thickness between 250 μm, and wherein the buffer layer has a thickness between 100-250 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to choose the thicknesses of these layers as a conventional choice in the art obtained through with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 13, 15, and 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20140141142 A) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, respectively and further in view of Song (US 20210068281 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the method claim 1. Kim does not disclose wherein the second thermoplastic material comprises a thermoplastic elastomer.
However, Song discloses:
the second thermoplastic material (670) comprises a thermoplastic elastomer ([0065], Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Song for the second thermoplastic material comprises a thermoplastic elastomer so that “the display device 100 may be easily folded and unfolded.” (Song, [0065])
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the method claim 1, wherein the front substrate (20) comprises poly (methyl methacrylate) (PMMA), (“The resin substrate 20 may be made of resin such as PMMA (Poly Methyl Methacrylate)”
Kim does not disclose
wherein the buffer layer comprises thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU).
However, Song discloses:
wherein the buffer layer (670) comprises thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU). ([0065], Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Song for wherein the buffer layer comprises thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) so that “the display device 100 may be easily folded and unfolded.” (Song, [0065])
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the curved human interface device according to claim 10. Kim does not disclose wherein the second thermoplastic material comprises a thermoplastic elastomer.
However, Song discloses:
the second thermoplastic material (670) comprises a thermoplastic elastomer ([0065], Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Song for the second thermoplastic material comprises a thermoplastic elastomer so that “the display device 100 may be easily folded and unfolded.” (Song, [0065])
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the curved human interface device according to claim 10, wherein the front substrate (20) comprises poly (methyl methacrylate) (PMMA), (“The resin substrate 20 may be made of resin such as PMMA (Poly Methyl Methacrylate)”
Kim does not disclose
wherein the buffer layer comprises thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU).
However, Song discloses:
wherein the buffer layer (670) comprises thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU). ([0065], Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Song for wherein the buffer layer comprises thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) so that “the display device 100 may be easily folded and unfolded.” (Song, [0065])
Conclusion
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897