Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi (US 20090085227 A1) in view of Min (US 20180063956 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shiraishi discloses a method (Figs. 4A-4E) for joining and insulating (the method step of Fig. 4E) a power electronic semiconductor component (10; [0171]: “a power supply module”) with a multiplicity of contact surfaces (11, 21) to a substrate (40), the method comprising:
preparing the substrate with a metallization (22, 41) defining an installation slot (See annotated figure for dashed reference lines showing where 11 is subsequently installed, thus a slot; similarly shown for a fully assembled embodiment in Fig. 4E) having joining material (30),
wherein the substrate comprises an organic or a ceramic wiring support (40 supports metallization/wirings 41);
arranging an electrically insulating plastic film (20; [0158]: “thermosetting resin, photo-curable resin, thermoplastic resin and hot-melt-type resin”) and the semiconductor component on the substrate (the method step of Figs. 4C-4E), such that the multiplicity of contact surfaces facing the substrate are allowed to contact the substrate (indirect contact) by the electrically insulating plastic film (surfaces 21 contact substrate 40 through film 20) and
regions of the semiconductor component (See annotated figure for “regions” designation) between the multiplicity of contact surfaces are insulated at least in part by the electrically insulating plastic film from the substrate (These regions are insulated from substrate 40 because film 20 keeps them spaced from the substrate) and from the multiplicity of contact surfacess (the regions of component 10 are not shown having a direct electrical path through film 20 from contacts 21, therefore electrically insulating); and
joining the semiconductor component to the substrate (the method step of Figs. 4C-4E) with an electrically conductive joining material (50; [0168]: “solder bumps”) and electrically insulating the semiconductor component at least in part by the electrically insulating plastic film in one step (20 is already on 10 before joining component 10 to substrate 40, thus the joining and insulating of 10 to 40 occurs at the same step);
wherein the electrically insulating plastic film and the electrically conductive joining material have matching thicknesses (vertical thicknesses, See annotated figure for direction designation) measured between the substrate and the semiconductor component (See annotated figure for thickness markings).
Illustrated below are marked and annotated figures of Figs. 4A-4E of Shiraishi.
Shiraishi teaches the method includes the substrate but fails to teach specific materials used for the substrate. Thus, Shiraishi fails to teach “wherein the substrate comprises an organic or a ceramic wiring support”.
Min discloses a method with a substrate in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 11: 11), and teaches a finite selection of known suitable substrate materials ([0055]) wherein the substrate comprises an organic or a ceramic wiring support (selecting “organic”; [0055] “a plastic board or a film”). Modifying the method of Shiraishi by including the substrate material used by Min would arrive at the claimed method and substrate configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success choosing a material disclosed by Min for the substrate of Shiraishi, because in each situation the substrate is performing the same function as a substrate (Shiraishi: [0151]: “circuit substrate”; Min: [0055]: “printed circuit board”) for an electronic component (Shiraishi: [0171]: “the semiconductor package”; Min: [0055]: “an integrated circuit chip”). Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try using a method with a different material for the substrate. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technique grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. __, 82USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR). MPEP 2143 (1)(E).
Regarding claim 2, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 (Shiraishi: Figs. 4C-4E), wherein the semiconductor component contacts the joining material (component 10 directly contacts joining material 30 beginning in Fig. 4C) and/or the electrically insulating plastic film (component 10 includes surfaces 21 which directly contact film 20).
Regarding claim 3, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4E), further comprising closing a remaining gap between the metallization, the electrically insulating plastic film, and the semiconductor component using an underfill material (See annotated figure, shown as resin separated from solder 50).
Regarding claim 4, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 (Shiraishi: Figs. 4C-4E), further comprising exerting pressure on the semiconductor component (component 10 is now shown pressed against substrate 40, thus, at least some pressure must be exerted) to join the semiconductor component such that the electrically insulating plastic film is exposed to the pressure at least in part during joining (film 20 is shown touching substrate 40, thus, it must also be exposed to the same exertion to at least some extent).
Regarding claim 5, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4C), wherein the electrically insulating plastic film electrically insulates the joining material from the regions of the semiconductor component exposed by the contact surfaces (as reasoned in the claim 1 rejection, the film 20 is electrically insulating, therefore any path between the regions and contacts 11 that have 50 intervening would electrically insulate in the way claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4A), wherein the electrically insulating plastic film insulates a guard ring region of the semiconductor component (See annotated figure for the designated “a guard ring region”; as reasoned in the claim 1 rejection, the film 20 is electrically insulating, therefore any portion of 10 with 20 on it would be insulated in the way claimed).
Regarding claim 7, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4E), wherein the electrically insulating plastic film, after joining, protrudes (vertically protrudes) from a gap (See annotated figure for “gap” designation, i.e., the space between 10 and 40) between the metallization of the substrate and the semiconductor component.
Regarding claim 10, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4A), wherein the electrically insulating plastic film comprises an adhesive layer ([0159]: “bonding resin-coated core spacer”).
Regarding independent claim 12, Shiraishi discloses a composite (Fig. 4E) comprising:
a power electronic semiconductor component (10; [0171]: “a power supply module”) with a multiplicity of contact surfaces (11, 21);
a substrate (40) with a structured metallization (22, 41);
wherein the substrate comprises an organic and/or a ceramic wiring support;
wherein the contact surfaces are joined to the structured metallization by an electrically conductive joining material (50; [0168]: “solder bumps”);
an electrically insulating plastic film (20; [0158]: “thermosetting resin, photo-curable resin, thermoplastic resin and hot-melt-type resin”) arranged between neighboring contact surfaces in such a way that regions of the semiconductor component (See annotated figure for “regions” designation) surrounding individual contact surfaces of the multiplicity of contact surfaces are insulated at least in part by the electrically insulating plastic film from the substrate (These regions are insulated from substrate 40 because film 20 keeps them spaced from the substrate) and from the neighboring contact surfaces;
wherein the electrically insulating plastic film and the electrically conductive joining material have matching thicknesses (vertical thicknesses, See annotated figure for direction designation) measured between the substrate and the semiconductor component (See annotated figure for thickness markings).
Shiraishi teaches the substrate but fails to teach specific materials used for the substrate. Thus, Shiraishi fails to teach “wherein the substrate comprises an organic and/or a ceramic wiring support”.
Min discloses a substrate in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 11: 11), and teaches a finite selection of known suitable substrate materials ([0055]) • wherein the substrate comprises an organic and/or a ceramic wiring support (selecting “organic”; [0055] “a plastic board or a film”). Modifying the substrate of Shiraishi by including the material used by Min would arrive at the claimed substrate configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success choosing a material disclosed by Min for the substrate of Shiraishi, because in each situation the substrate is performing the same function as a substrate (Shiraishi: [0151]: “circuit substrate”; Min: [0055]: “printed circuit board”) for an electronic component (Shiraishi: [0171]: “the semiconductor package”; Min: [0055]: “an integrated circuit chip”). Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try using a different material for the substrate. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technique grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. __, 82USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR). MPEP 2143 (1)(E).
Shiraishi in view of Min as applied above teaches the electrically insulating plastic film but fails to teach the claimed arrangement “an electrically insulating plastic film arranged between neighboring contact surfaces in such a way that regions of the semiconductor component surrounding individual contact surfaces of the multiplicity of contact surfaces are insulated at least in part by the electrically insulating plastic film from the substrate and from the neighboring contact surfaces”.
However, Min discloses the electrically insulating plastic film may be varied to include arrangements between neighboring contact surfaces ([0094]: “A spacer 50a may be disposed between the electrodes 12 and 22 adjacent to each other in the pressed area PA, and a spacer 50b may be disposed between the adjacent electrodes 12 and 22 from an edge of the pressed area PA”). Modifying the film arrangement of Shiraishi by incorporating the varied arrangement of Min would arrive at the claimed arrangement among neighboring contact surfaces. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have predictable results doing so because in each situation the film is performing the same function (Shiraishi: [0149]: “spacers”; Min: [0061]: “spacers”). Min provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the claimed arrangement in that it would provide joinery protection in situations with larger dimensions ([0094]: “The spacers 50a and 50b may be used particularly when the pressed area PA is a wide area”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed arrangement because it would provide joinery protection for large dimensions. MPEP 2143 (I)(G), MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Regarding claim 13, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the composite as claimed in claim 12 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4E), wherein the electrically insulating plastic film protrudes under the semiconductor component (film 20 vertically protrudes under component 10).
Regarding claim 14, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the composite as claimed in claim 12 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4E), wherein the electrically insulating plastic film is completely covered by the semiconductor component (vertically covered, no portion of 20 is not vertically overlapped by component 10).
Regarding claim 15, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the composite as claimed in claim 12 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4E), wherein the electrically insulating plastic film is arranged in such a way that a guard ring region of the semiconductor component (See annotated figure for the designated “a guard ring region”) is electrically insulated from the electrically insulating plastic film (as reasoned in the claim 1 rejection, the film 20 is electrically insulating, therefore any portion of 10 with 20 on it would be insulated in the way claimed).
Regarding claim 16, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the composite as claimed in claim 12 (Shiraishi: Fig. 4E), further comprising an underfill material (See annotated figure, shown as resin separated from solder 50) in a gap between the structured metallization, the electrically insulating plastic film, and the semiconductor component (See annotated figure for “gap” designation, i.e., the space between 10 and 40).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi and Min as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arvin (US 20190295921 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, however fails to teach wherein the electrically insulating plastic film comprises a silicone elastomer.
Arvin discloses a method (Fig. 3: 16 is affixed to 12 by including adhesive 18) wherein a film (16) is affixed to a substrate (12) by including an adhesive (18), and further discloses the adhesive including a silicone elastomer ([0030]: “low modulus silicone-based adhesive”).
Since Shiraishi in view of Min, and Arvin each disclose methods attaching films to a substrate (Shiraishi: [0159]: “bonding resin-coated core spacer”; Arvin: Fig. 3: 16 is affixed to 12 by including adhesive 18), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have readily recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for adhesives useful for attaching the film, including a silicon elastomer (Arvin, [0030]). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results doing so because in each situation the film includes a rubber (Shiraishi: [0163]: “rubber-based materials”; Arvin: [0030]: “low modulus silicone-based adhesive”) performing the same function (Shiraishi: [0149]: “spacers”; Arvin: [0028]: “stiffener…held flat”). Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try using a different adhesive with the electrically insulating plastic film of Shiraishi and Min, because Arvin teaches the adhesive is useful for performing the same function required by Shiraishi and Min. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technique grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. MPEP 2143 (1)(E).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi and Min as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sawada (US 20100001411 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, however fails to teach “wherein the electrically insulating plastic film comprises a ceramic filler”.
Sawada discloses a method (Figs. 2A-2D) wherein the electrically insulating plastic film (20) comprises a ceramic filler ([0070]: “A filler…an alumina particles”). Modifying the film of Shiraishi in view of Min by including a ceramic filler in the way disclosed by Sawada would arrive at the claimed film configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results doing so because in each situation the film is performing the same function (Shiraishi: [0149]: “spacers”; Sawada: [0070]: “partition member”). Sawada provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a ceramic filler in that it would allow adjusting viscosity of the film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed filler configuration because it would allow adjusting viscosity of the electrically insulating plastic film. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Regarding claim 11, Shiraishi in view of Min discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, however fails to teach “wherein the electrically insulating plastic film comprises a glass fiber filling”.
Sawada discloses a method (Figs. 2A-2D) wherein the electrically insulating plastic film (20) comprises a glass fiber filling ([0070]: “A filler such as a silica particles or an alumina particles”). Modifying the film of Shiraishi in view of Min by including a glass fiber filling in the way disclosed by Sawada would arrive at the claimed film configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results doing so because in each situation the film is performing the same function (Shiraishi: [0149]: “spacers”; Sawada: [0070]: “partition member”). Sawada provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a glass fiber filling in that it would allow adjusting viscosity of the film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed filling configuration because it would allow adjusting viscosity of the electrically insulating plastic film. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended independent claims 1 and 12 that “Min, however, the spacers 50 have a much larger thickness (t) than the thickness of the conductive bonding layer 30, the distance between first electrodes 12 and second electrodes 22”. Remarks at pg. 7.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Shiraishi has been relied upon in the instant Office action to teach the claimed dimensions for a substantially similar structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 9, 2026