DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests to amend “a intermediate chamber [...]” in L7 to recite “an intermediate chamber”.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests to amend “The method of configuring a fluidic assembly” in L1 to recite “A method of configuring a fluidic assembly”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 11-18, 23, 24, 27, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kautz et al. (US 2007/0117212) in view of Chatterjee et al. (US 2022/0252536).
Regarding claim 1, Kautz et al. teach:
1. A fluidic assembly comprising a fluid analysis apparatus (Abstract+), the fluid analysis apparatus comprising:
a fluid measurement device, wherein the fluid measurement device is a nuclear magnetic resonance probe (e.g., microcoil NMR probe, Abstract, 0027, 0048+);
a fluidic device including a flow cell (see Figs. 4A, 5, 8 for example) arranged in a measurement region of the fluid measurement device, the flow cell constructed of at least one first fluoropolymer material (see ¶ 0039, 0041 for example), the flow cell including a channel (see Figs. 4A, 5, 8 for example), the channel containing a sample segment (e.g., 6) that is carried in a fluorinated fluid carrier (see e.g., 8 & ¶ 0027, 0033), wherein the sample segment and fluorinated fluid carrier are immiscible (¶ 0027, 0033).
Regarding claim 1, although Kautz et al. teach: a fluid measurement device, wherein the fluid measurement device is a nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) probe, the reference does not explicitly teach: the fluid measurement device is a nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometer.
Chatterjee et al. teach: A fluidic assembly comprising a fluid analysis apparatus, the fluid analysis apparatus comprising:
a fluid measurement device, wherein the fluid measurement device is a nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometer (¶ 0171+);
a fluidic device including a flow cell (e.g., 100) arranged in a measurement region (see i.e., region of the upper sensing area 140 in Figs. 1-6) of the fluid measurement device (¶ 0127+), the flow cell constructed of at least one first fluoropolymer material (¶ 0136), the flow cell including a channel (e.g., 132), the channel containing a sample segment that is carried in a fluorinated fluid carrier (see Table 1).
It is well-known in the art that an NMR probe is a component of an NMR spectrometer, where the NMR spectrometer and probe function together to provide detailed molecular information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate an NMR spectrometer, as taught by Chatterjee et al., with the NMR probe, in order to generate magnetic field for operation and intended use of the NMR probe (i.e., sample interaction and signal detection).
With regard to limitations in claims 13, 14, 23 (e.g., wherein the sample segment, the fluorinated fluid carrier and a characteristic length of the channel correspond to a Bond number that corresponds to the sample segment staying intact as the sample segment is carried by the fluorinated fluid carrier through the channel, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Regarding claims 4, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15-18, 23, 24, modified Kautz et al. teach:
4. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 wherein the fluidic device is a microfluidic device (Abstract+).
6. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 wherein the sample segment is a solvent or a deuterated solvent (¶ 0007-0008).
8. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 wherein the fluorinated fluid carrier is a fluorocarbon oil carrier (¶ 0033).
11. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 wherein the flow cell includes a plurality of channels, and the plurality of channels are arranged to define parallel fluid flow paths, intersecting fluid flow paths or a combination of parallel fluid flow paths and intersecting fluid flow paths through the flow cell (see Fig. 8B for example).
12. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 wherein the flow cell includes a plurality of channels, and the plurality of channels are configured within a monolithic flow cell structure (see Fig. 8A for example).
15. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 wherein the flow cell comprises at least two discrete fluidly connected flow cell components, each flow cell component comprising a first fluoropolymer material (see ¶ 0039 & Fig. 8A for example).
16. The fluidic assembly according to claim 15 wherein the flow cell comprises at least two discrete releasably and fluidly connected flow cell components and/or wherein the flow cell comprises at least two discrete non- releasably and fluidly connected flow cell components (see ¶ 0039 & Fig. 8A for example).
17. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 wherein the flow cell comprises: a flow cell inlet connector defining an inlet comprising a fluid connection to a first fluid conduit (i.e., inlet of the capillary tubing 4); a flow cell outlet connector defining an outlet comprising a fluid connection to a second fluid conduit (i.e., outlet of the capillary tubing 4); and a flow cell chamber including an intermediate chamber (i.e., chamber formed between upstream and downstream in Fig. 4A) arranged between inlet and outlet portions, the inlet portion of the flow cell chamber fluidly connected to the flow cell inlet connector, the outlet portion of the flow cell chamber fluidly connected to the flow cell outlet connector (see Figs. 4A, 5 for example).
18. The fluidic assembly according to claim 17 wherein the inlet portion of the flow cell chamber comprising a releasable and fluid connection to the flow cell inlet connector, and/or wherein the outlet portion of the flow cell chamber comprises a releasable and fluid connection to the flow cell outlet connector (this claim appears to be sufficiently broad to have read on Figs. 4A, 5).
23. The fluidic assembly according to claim 17 wherein the flow cell inlet connector comprises a first frame portion, the flow cell outlet connector comprises a second frame portion, and the first and second frame portions are capable of being engaged with each other (this claim appears to be sufficiently broad to have read on Figs. 4A, 5).
24. The fluidic assembly according to claim 1 including first and second fluid conduits that each comprise a second fluoropolymer material (see ¶ 0039, 0041 for example), wherein the fluidic device further comprises an inlet and an outlet, wherein the inlet is fluidly coupled to the first fluid conduit, and the outlet of the fluidic device is fluidly coupled to the second fluid conduit (see Fig. 8 for example).
Regarding claim 5, Kautz et al. do not explicitly teach: 5. The fluidic assembly according to Claim 1 wherein the at least one first fluoropolymer material is polychlorotrifluoroethylene.
Chatterjee et al. teach: wherein the at least one first fluoropolymer material is polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), or the like (¶ 0136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the fluidic device of Kautz et al. with an alternative of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), or polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), such as polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE), as PCTFE is generally known to have dimensional stability and mechanical strength at lower temperatures.
Regarding claims 27, 30, Kautz et al. teach:
27. A method of configuring a fluidic assembly, the fluidic assembly in accordance with claim 1, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a fluid measurement device (e.g., microcoil NMR probe, Abstract, 0027, 0048+);
providing a flow cell (see Figs. 4A, 5, 8 for example) constructed of at least one first fluoropolymer material (see ¶ 0039, 0041 for example), the flow cell including a channel (see Figs. 4A, 5, 8 for example);
arranging the flow cell in a measurement region of the fluid measurement device (see Figs. 4A, 5 for example); and
supplying a sample segment (e.g., 6) carried in a fluorinated fluid carrier (see e.g., 8 & ¶ 0027, 0033) into the channel of the flow cell, wherein the sample segment and fluorinated fluid carrier are immiscible (¶ 0027, 0033).
30. The method according to Claim 27 including the step of performing a machining process or an additive manufacturing or 3D printing process or an injection moulding, compression moulding or thermoforming process to construct at least one component of the flow cell from the at least one first fluoropolymer material (see ¶ 0032 for example).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
The amendments have been considered and have been addressed within the above art rejection and an additional piece of art has been included in the pertinent prior art section below should Applicant disagree with any of the Examiner’s rejections above.
Applicant is thanked for their thoughtful amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ismagilov et al. (US 2005/0272159) teach a fluidic assembly comprising a nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometer (¶ 0204).
Kleinschmidt et al. (US 2013/0109575) teach a fluidic assembly comprising a nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometer (¶ 0106).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1798