DETAILED ACTION
Finality Withdrawn
The finality of the Office action mailed 4/9/26 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments. Prosecution is reopened in view of the newly applied reference set forth in the 103 rejection, below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-14-5 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 11-15, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al. (US 2009/0047575) as evidenced by Aerospace Specification Metals Inc. “ASM Material Data Sheet” and Thyssenkrupp Materials “Density of Aluminum” is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments.
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki et al. (US 2008/0166637) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2017/0092986) as evidenced by Aerospace Specification Metals Inc. "ASM Material Data Sheet" and Thyssenkrupp Materials "Density of Aluminum".
With regard to claims 1-2, Inagaki discloses a lithium ion battery [0005] comprising an electrode core (electrode group) [0051, 0187] housed in a casing ("resin layer" Item 10 Figure 4 and "outer package tube" Item 97 Figure 6). Inagaki discloses that the electrode core comprises a positive electrode sheet (positive electrode), negative electrode sheet (negative electrode), and a separator between the positive and negative electrode sheets [0051, 0187]. Inagaki discloses that the positive electrode sheet (positive electrode) further comprises a positive current collector and a positive electrode material layer on the current collector [0052]. Inagaki fails to disclose that the length of the lithium ion battery is 500-2500mm.
Ogawa discloses a sheet-laminated lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode sheet, a separator, and a negative electrode sheet stacked sequentially to form an electrode assembly accommodated in a sheet outer casing [Abstract], similar to the battery of Inagaki. Ogawa further discloses that the battery has a length of 50mm-2000mm and a width of 30mm-500mm [0039]. More specifically, Ogawa discloses in Example 1 a battery having a length of 600mm and a width of 50mm [0084]. Ogawa discloses that a battery with this configuration has high battery performance and can be produced at low cost with high productivity [0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the size of Inagaki's battery to have the dimensions within the range as suggested by Ogawa to provide a battery with high performance, low cost, and high productivity. Modified Inagaki discloses that the length of the battery is 50-2000mm as modified by Ogawa, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Inagaki, as modified by Ogawa above, discloses that the dimensions of the battery are 50-2000mm in length and 30-500mm in width, thus the positive electrode current collector (as part of the electrode group in the battery) would have the same dimensions. Thus modified Inagaki discloses that the positive electrode current collector has a dimension in the first direction (length) of 50-2000mm and a dimension in the second direction (width) of 30- 500mm (L= 0.05-2m and W= 0.03-0.5m). Inagaki discloses that the positive electrode current collector has a thickness of 15µm or less [0157, 0224], or 1.5x10-5 m. Inagaki teaches an aluminum positive electrode current collector which has a specific heat capacity of 896 J/kg°C (see Aerospace Specification Metal reference) and has a density of 2710kg/m3, as evidenced by Thyssenkrupp (p 1). Example 1 of Ogawa discloses L=0.6m, W=0.05m. Thus, Inagaki in view of Ogawa teaches the following values for the claimed A value:
(0.000015 m) x (2710kg/m3) x (896 J/kg°C) x (1.35 x 0.6m)/0.05m = 590
This value falls within the claimed range of 3-850.
Inagaki discloses that electrode tabs are disposed on opposite ends of the electrode group in a first direction corresponding to the length of the tabs. With regard to claim 5, the width direction of the tabs corresponds to the claimed second direction and is perpendicular to the first direction.
With regard to claim 6 the thickness, density and specific heat capacity of the positive electrode current collector are all met as noted above. With regard to the ratio of L/w being in the range of 0-30, The values of length and width suggested by Ogawa are L=0.6m, W=0.05m which yields a L/W ratio of 12.
With regard to claim 7, see above.
With regard to claim 8, the positive electrode active material layer taught by Inagaki can be formed of material including lithium-transition metal phosphate (see para [0040]). Thus, it would have been obvious to choose Fe from the groups of known transition metals in view of the apparent suitability of all transition metals. The negative electrode active material comprises graphite or carbon (see para [0041]).
With regard to claim 9 and 20, Abe discloses that the battery is a rectangular battery, as shown in Figure 2.
With regard to claims 11, see Figure 1 and “casing” layers 22 and para [0064].
With regard to claim 12, Abe discloses an encapsulation film (see PP layer in laminate packaging in para [0059]).
With regard to claims 13-15, see Figures 1 and 5.
With regard to claims 14-15, Inagaki discloses a vehicle comprising a battery pack as detailed above (see Figs 9-11 and para [0207]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2,5-9,11-15 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HOLLY RICKMAN whose telephone number is (571)272-1514. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Tues, Thurs, 9am-3pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Ruthkosky can be reached at 571-272-1291. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Holly Rickman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785