DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to a communication received on 09/29/2025. No claim was amended. Claims 50 – 69 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 9 line 21 that “FAPs and application servers perform two entirely different function, and thus, the FAP of Liu is not a local application server”. The examiner responds that part of the function implemented in Liu disclosure in paragraphs 0031 and 0055 to 0059 is equivalent to what is claimed in claim 67, even though the name local application server is not given to Liu system.
The applicant also argues on page 11 line 16 that “”Liu simply routes traffic to either the internet or to the intended destination device. However, for at least the foregoing reasons, Liu does not teach "processing [] received data traffic and forming a selected part of said data traffic based on said processing””. Examiner responds that paragraph 0031 of Liu states “ … can analyze the received packet to determine”. The analyzing is processing that the applicant claimed in claim 67. “Forming a selected part” is done in paragraph 0052 of Liu – “Additionally or alternately, a Network address translation (NAT)/Firewall component 312 (e.g., IPv4) can be employed to modify network address information in packet headers … the NAT/Firewall component 312 can utilize a NAT function to replace the home domain IP address with the IP address of the UE 102”. The modification and the replacement are forming a selected part of the said traffic.
Applicant further argues on page 12 line 1 that “Anthony discloses a method for lawfully intercepting and offloading data at a base station that provides breakout services”. The examiner responds that Anthony also discloses offloading of internet traffic to reduce backhaul load in paragraph 0053 apart from the lawful interception it discloses. By forwarding some packet to first and some to second data path in paragraph 0056, Anthony discloses receiving and transmission of a selected part of the message.
Applicant also argues on page 14 line 6 that ““Whatever Mehta stands for, however, Mehta does not teach or suggest "receiving, a selected part of the data traffic forwarded by the local application server, the selected part of said data traffic having been processed and formed by said local application server of the local data network,"”. Liu teaches the processing and forming as shown above. Fig. 1, fig. 2, fig. 6 and fig. 13 and paragraphs 0033 and 0043 of Mehta discloses receiving selected part of the selected traffic. Paragraph 0043 – “… If, however, the mobile data traffic is designated for offload, BGW 8A establishes a breakout data path to PDN 14 for the data traffic”. The double arrows pointing in both directions in the figures 1, 2, 6 and 13 of Mehta from the mobile 16A (UE) shows it is for both transmit and receive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 67, 68, 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2017/0214622), Liu hereinafter. Liu teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning.
Regarding claim 67, Liu teaches a method in a local application server having a first network address, which is in communication with a first network node of an integrated and backhaul (IAB) communication network, the method comprising: (paragraph 0055 - As discussed previously, the routing component can route traffic between UE 102 and the DH LAN 310, UE 102 and the Internet via DH LAN 310, UE 102 and a disparate UE attached to the FAP 104, and/or UE 102 and the macro network. According to an aspect, a NAT/Firewall component 312.sub.a can be employed to facilitate network address mapping for information in packet headers that are routed via the backhaul network and/or the home network. Typically, the NAT/Firewall component 312.sub.a can employ a NAT function to replace the IP address of UE 102 in a packet header with a home network domain IP address associated with the DH LAN 310. Similarly, when the routing component 108 determines that the traffic (e.g., from DH LAN 310) can be routed to the UE 102, the NAT/Firewall component 312.sub.a can employ a NAT function to replace the home domain IP address with the IP address of the UE 102. …) transmitting, to a central application server having a second network address and being in communication with a core network, an information of the local application server; (paragraph 0078 - At 804, the received traffic can be analyzed. In one aspect, a destination address, a source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the traffic can be determined. At 806, additional information associated with the traffic, for example, information stored in a database can be analyzed. The information can include, but is not limited to, user preferences, UE parameters, femto AP parameters, service provider policies, PDF and/or PEF, etc. At 808, an optimal path can be determined to route the traffic based in part on the analysis. As an example, it can be determined whether local breakout at the femto AP is possible and the traffic can be directly routed to its destination from the femto AP, without employing macro network resources. At 810, the traffic can be routed via the optimal path. In one example, traffic from a UE can directly be routed to the Internet, without routing the traffic to the core mobility network.) receiving, a data traffic, transmitted by a user equipment (UE), wherein said data traffic meets a requirement for a local breakout from said first network node; (paragraphs 0058 and 0059 - … The service provider policies 514 can typically include one or more policies associated with routing and/or breakout at the FAP 104. In addition, the service provider policies 514 can include the PDF/PEF that can drive the selection of an optimal route, for example, by the routing component 108. Further, the attached UE parameters 512 can provide a list of currently attached UEs (502, 504) and can typically include information (e.g., device ID, SIM, USIM, a mobile number, etc.) associated with the UEs (502, 504) that are currently attached to the FAP 104. … if the destination entity is UE 504, the routing component 108 can facilitate CS media breakout at the FAP 104 and facilitate communication between the UE 502 and UE 504 without routing the call through the macro network.) processing said received data traffic and forming a selected part of said data traffic based on said processing; (paragraph 0031 - In accordance with another aspect of the system, a routing component can analyze the received packet to determine an optimal path for the packet from the FAP. Moreover, the routing component can determine a destination address, source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the packet, and/or one or more user defined rules or policies and/or user preferences, etc.) and forwarding, the selected part of said data traffic destined for the central application server to said central application server (paragraph 0031 - In accordance with another aspect of the system, a routing component can analyze the received packet to determine an optimal path for the packet from the FAP. Moreover, the routing component can determine a destination address, source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the packet, and/or one or more user defined rules or policies and/or user preferences, etc.).
Regarding claim 68, Liu teaches claim 67.
Liu further teaches wherein said information transmitted by the local application server comprises the first network address of the local application server and/or a geographical location information of the local application server (paragraphs 0052 and 0101 - Additionally or alternately, a Network address translation (NAT)/Firewall component 312 (e.g., IPv4) can be employed to modify network address information in packet headers that can be routed via the backhaul network and/or the home network. Typically, the RG can provision the femtocell with an IP address when the femtocell attaches to the home network, for example DH LAN 310. … In particular, processor 1445 can facilitate femto AP 1410 to implement configuration instructions received through communication platform 1425, which can include storing data in memory 1455. In addition, processor 1445 facilitates femto AP 1410 to process data (e.g., symbols, bits, or chips) for multiplexing/demultiplexing, such as effecting direct and inverse fast. … Moreover, memory 1455 can store configuration information such as schedules and policies; femto AP address(es) or geographical indicator(s); access lists (e.g., white lists); license(s) for utilization of add-features for femto AP 1410, and so forth.).
Regarding claim 69, Liu teaches claim 67.
Liu further teaches wherein said information of the local application server is transmitted to the central application server via an IP connection tunneled over an IAB communication link, and said data traffic, transmitted by the UE, is received via a first data path, and wherein, said selected part of the data traffic destined for the central application is forwarded to said central application server via a data path, wherein said data path comprises a second data path comprising a local IP connection between said local application server and said first network node (paragraph 0038 - Typically, a femto gateway (not shown) can aggregate regional traffic received from multiple FAPs and tunnel the traffic to the core network 109. The conventional circuit switched (CS) traffic can be routed to a Mobile Switching Center (MSC) and the packet switched (PS) traffic can be routed to a Serving GPRS Support Node (SGSN) and Gateway GPRS Support Node (GGSN). According to an aspect, the routing component 108 can facilitate communication between UE 102 and a device on a home network (not shown) by directly routing information between the UE 102 and the home network (e.g., without routing the traffic through the core network 109). Accordingly, the UE 102 can communicate with the home device over a home LAN when UE 102 is attached to the FAP 104. It can be appreciated that when UE 102 detaches from the FAP 104, the core network 109 can maintain a connection to the UE 102 via the mobility network (e.g., through base station 106). Similarly, routing component 108 can route Internet bound traffic, received from the UE 102, directly to the Internet, for example, via the home LAN.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 50 – 54, 58, 59 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, (U.S. PGPub 2017/0214622), Liu hereinafter, in view of Anthony et al. (U.S. PGPub 2014/0044019), Anthony hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 50, Liu teaches a method for a local breakout, performed in a first network node of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network being in communication with a core network, the method comprising: (paragraphs 0028 and 0030 - Systems and methods disclosed herein employ local breakout mechanisms at a femto access point (AP) that can reduce network congestion in a macro RAN and/or a backhaul network connected to the femto AP. In one aspect, a local broadband network (e.g., Digital Subscriber Line network) can facilitate access to the Internet and accordingly the Internet bound data received at the femto AP can be directly routed to the Internet by breaking out the traffic at the femto AP. Thus, network congestion on the backhaul pipe and/or the macro RAN can be significantly reduced. Further, since for example, Internet bound data is not transmitted through the core macro network, faster response and improved performance can be achieved for the end user. … The systems and methods disclosed herein, in one aspect thereof, can facilitate local breakout mechanisms at a femto access point (FAP) to reduce backhaul and/or macro network congestion. Moreover, a slave Gateway GPRS Support Node (GGSN) can be integrated within the FAP to directly route the incoming traffic from a user equipment (UE) at the FAP. In one example, Internet bound traffic can be directly routed to the Internet via a Digital home (DH) Local Area Network (LAN). In another example, traffic bound to a locally connected UE, can be directly routed to the UE from the FAP, without routing the traffic through the core macro network.) [The macro RAN and/or a backhaul network can be regarded as first network while the DSL or another network connected to the FEMTO AP can be regarded as the second network.] providing a network connection between said first network node and a local data network having a first network address; (paragraph 0031 - In accordance with another aspect of the system, a routing component can analyze the received packet to determine an optimal path for the packet from the FAP. Moreover, the routing component can determine a destination address, source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the packet, and/or one or more user defined rules or policies and/or user preferences, etc.) [FAP stands for FEMTO access point.] receiving a data traffic, transmitted by a user equipment (UE) the data traffic destined for a central application server having a second network address and being in communication with said core network; (paragraph 0091 - When an attachment attempt is successful, UE 1220 can be allowed on femtocell 1225 and incoming voice and data traffic can be paged and routed to the subscriber station through the femto AP 1230. It is to be noted also that data traffic is typically routed through a backhaul broadband wired network backbone 1240 (e.g., optical fiber backbone, twisted-pair line, T1/E1 phone line, DSL, or coaxial cable). It is to be noted that as a femto AP 1230 generally can rely on a backhaul network backbone 1240 for routing and paging, and for packet communication, substantially any quality of service can handle heterogeneous packetized traffic. Namely, packet flows established for wireless communication devices (e.g., terminals 1220.sub.A and 1220.sub.B) served by femto AP 1230, and for devices served through the backhaul network pipe 1240. It is to be noted that to ensure a positive subscriber experience, or perception, it is desirable for femto AP 1230 to maintain a high level of throughput for traffic (e.g., voice and data) utilized on a mobile device for one or more subscribers while in the presence of external, additional packetized, or broadband, traffic associated with applications (e.g., web browsing, data transfer (e.g., content upload), and the like) executed in devices within the femto coverage area (e.g., area 1225 or area 1245).) and if said data traffic meets a requirement for the local breakout from said first network node: (paragraphs 0058 and 0059 - … The service provider policies 514 can typically include one or more policies associated with routing and/or breakout at the FAP 104. In addition, the service provider policies 514 can include the PDF/PEF that can drive the selection of an optimal route, for example, by the routing component 108. Further, the attached UE parameters 512 can provide a list of currently attached UEs (502, 504) and can typically include information (e.g., device ID, SIM, USIM, a mobile number, etc.) associated with the UEs (502, 504) that are currently attached to the FAP 104. … if the destination entity is UE 504, the routing component 108 can facilitate CS media breakout at the FAP 104 and facilitate communication between the UE 502 and UE 504 without routing the call through the macro network.) forwarding, said data traffic to a local application server of the local data network; (paragraphs 0029 and 0065 - Additionally, the disclosed systems & methods enable a UE, attached to a femtocell, for example, in a home, to initiate direct communication with an application within the home (e.g., on a home network), without hairpinning the traffic from the femtocell in the home network to the core network and back to the home network. Similarly, a home based application communicating with the UE, can initiate communication via a femto access point without traffic hairpinning … In accordance with an aspect, the UE DH agent 608 can provide an authorized UE with DH services 610, such as, but not limited to, Digital Rights management (DRM), Remote User Interface (RUI), Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP), session management (SM), Universal Plug and Play (UPnP), Analog Terminal Adapter (ATA). Moreover, the UE DH Agent 608 can offload traffic to the broadband access network.) [ The services listed are server services] transmitting, the selected part of said data traffic to the central application server, whereby mitigating data traffic overload of the IAB network (paragraph 0028 - … In one aspect, a local broadband network (e.g., Digital Subscriber Line network) can facilitate access to the Internet and accordingly the Internet bound data received at the femto AP can be directly routed to the Internet by breaking out the traffic at the femto AP. Thus, network congestion on the backhaul pipe and/or the macro RAN can be significantly reduced. Further, since for example, Internet bound data is not transmitted through the core macro network, faster response and improved performance can be achieved for the end user).
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach receiving, from said local application server of the local data network, a selected part of said data traffic destined for the central application server, the selected part of said data traffic havinq been processed and formed by said local application server of the local data network.
However, in the analogous art, Anthony explicitly discloses receiving, from said local application server of the local data network, a selected part of said data traffic destined for the central application server, the selected part of said data traffic havinq been processed and formed by said local application server of the local data network; and (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0053, 0056, 0069 and 0071) - Discusses breakout - both receiving and sending data, backhaul and MIOP@eNodeB 210 residing on local network, providing breakout from the local network and also providing "caching of data, data or video compression techniques, push-based services, charging, application serving, analytics, security, data filtering, ... ". These services encompass processing and forming data traffic. (paragraph 0102 ... the data broken out and operated on by MIOP@eNodeB is Internet Protocol (IP) data requests received from the user equipment and IP data sent to the user equipment. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu's Femtocell Local Breakout Mechanisms to include Anthony's Breakout and provision of service to achieve access to server services from local application server. (paragraph 0058 Anthony).
Although the combination of Liu and Anthony teaches all the features of claim 50 as indicated above, it is noted that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations " if said data traffic meets a requirement for the local breakout from said first network node: forwarding, said data traffic to a local application server of the local data network; " are contingent limitations. Thus, the claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.
Regarding Claim 51, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 50.
Liu further teaches wherein said data traffic transmitted by the UE comprises a user data of the UE and wherein said selected part of the data traffic comprises a processed part of the user data, processed by the local application server of the local data network (paragraph 0031 - In accordance with another aspect of the system, a routing component can analyze the received packet to determine an optimal path for the packet from the FAP. Moreover, the routing component can determine a destination address, source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the packet, and/or one or more user defined rules or policies and/or user preferences, etc. Based in part on the determined information, the routing component can compute the optimal path to transfer the received packet, such that, network bandwidth is efficiently utilized. In one aspect, the routing component can determine an optimal route for a received packet by employing load-balancing techniques, to avoid network congestion. Additionally or alternately, the routing component can employ one or more machine learning techniques to facilitate efficient network and/or resource utilization. Further, the routing component can also perform a cost-benefit analysis to determine an optimal route associated with minimal billing charges.).
Regarding Claim 52, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 50.
Liu further teaches wherein said requirement is determined based on an information transmitted by the UE which comprises at least one of UE type, UE identifier, UE subscription profile, UE location information (paragraph 0078 - At 804, the received traffic can be analyzed. In one aspect, a destination address, a source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the traffic can be determined. At 806, additional information associated with the traffic, for example, information stored in a database can be analyzed. The information can include, but is not limited to, user preferences, UE parameters, femto AP parameters, service provider policies, PDF and/or PEF, etc. At 808, an optimal path can be determined to route the traffic based in part on the analysis. As an example, it can be determined whether local breakout at the femto AP is possible and the traffic can be directly routed to its destination from the femto AP, without employing macro network resources. At 810, the traffic can be routed via the optimal path. In one example, traffic from a UE can directly be routed to the Internet, without routing the traffic to the core mobility network.).
Regarding Claim 53, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 50.
Liu further teaches wherein said first network address and said second network address are internet protocol (IP) addresses and wherein said local application server having said first IP address has an IP connection to said central application server having said second IP address, and wherein said IP connection is tunneled over a backhaul communication link of the IAB network (paragraphs 0036 and 0037 - … In addition, the slave GGSN can enable anchoring of a communication session at the routing component 108 rather than the core network GGSN. In one aspect, the routing component 108 can receive traffic (e.g., voice, data, media, etc.) from the UE 102 and/or from the base station 106 (e.g., via the broadband backhaul 110), analyze the received information and determine a route for the received traffic. According to one embodiment, the routing component 108 can selectively route UE traffic away from an Iuh tunnel and send the traffic to a residential/enterprise local IP network destination, for example, via a home network, Local Area Network (LAN), and/or a broadband access network (e.g., Internet) (not shown). … check a header associated with the received packet and determine a destination address. Based in part on the determined destination address, … facilitate route determination based in part on a destination address, source address).
Regarding Claim 54, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 50.
Liu further teaches wherein said data traffic is forwarded to the local application server via a first data path, and wherein the selected part of said data traffic, received from the local application server, is received via a second data path, and wherein the selected part of said data traffic destined for the central application server is transmitted to the central application server via a data path comprising a third data path (paragraph 0059 - In one example, when UE 502 initiates a call, the routing component 108 can analyze the CS traffic from the UE 502 and determine an optimal path to route the call. As an example, the routing component 108 can analyze information stored in the database 506, such as, but not limited to user preferences 510, attached UE parameters 512 and/or service provider policies 514, to determine the optimal path. In one aspect, the routing component 108 can verify whether the destination device for the CS call is attached to the FAP 104, for example, by employing information from the attached UE parameters 512. …).
Regarding claim 58, Liu teaches a method performed in a second network node of an integrated access and backhaul, IAB, communication network, said second network node being in communication with a local data network having a first network address, and said second node being connected to a first network node of the IAB network, the method comprising: (paragraph 0055 - As discussed previously, the routing component can route traffic between UE 102 and the DH LAN 310, UE 102 and the Internet via DH LAN 310, UE 102 and a disparate UE attached to the FAP 104, and/or UE 102 and the macro network. According to an aspect, a NAT/Firewall component 312.sub.a can be employed to facilitate network address mapping for information in packet headers that are routed via the backhaul network and/or the home network. Typically, the NAT/Firewall component 312.sub.a can employ a NAT function to replace the IP address of UE 102 in a packet header with a home network domain IP address associated with the DH LAN 310. Similarly, when the routing component 108 determines that the traffic (e.g., from DH LAN 310) can be routed to the UE 102, the NAT/Firewall component 312.sub.a can employ a NAT function to replace the home domain IP address with the IP address of the UE 102. …)
and transmitting, said selected part of the data traffic of said UE to said central application server (paragraph 0028 - … In one aspect, a local broadband network (e.g., Digital Subscriber Line network) can facilitate access to the Internet and accordingly the Internet bound data received at the femto AP can be directly routed to the Internet by breaking out the traffic at the femto AP. Thus, network congestion on the backhaul pipe and/or the macro RAN can be significantly reduced. Further, since for example, Internet bound data is not transmitted through the core macro network, faster response and improved performance can be achieved for the end user).
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach receiving, from said first network node, a selected part of a data traffic transmitted by a user equipment, UE, destined for a central application server having a second network address and being in communication with a core network the selected part of said data traffic havinq been processed and formed by said local application server of the local data network
However, in the analogous art, Anthony explicitly discloses receiving, from said first network node, a selected part of a data traffic transmitted by a user equipment, UE, destined for a central application server having a second network address and being in communication with a core network the selected part of said data traffic havinq been processed and formed by said local application server of the local data network; and; (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0053, 0056, 0069 and 0071) - Discusses breakout - both receiving and sending data, backhaul and MIOP@eNodeB 210 residing on local network, providing breakout from the local network and also providing "caching of data, data or video compression techniques, push-based services, charging, application serving, analytics, security, data filtering, ... ". These services encompass processing and forming data traffic. (paragraph 0102 ... the data broken out and operated on by MIOP@eNodeB is Internet Protocol (IP) data requests received from the user equipment and IP data sent to the user equipment. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu's Femtocell Local Breakout Mechanisms to include Anthony's Breakout and provision of service to achieve access to server services from local application server. (paragraph 0058 Anthony).
Regarding claim 59, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 58.
Liu further teaches wherein said data traffic transmitted by the UE comprises a user data of the UE and wherein said selected part of the data traffic comprises a processed part of the user data, processed by a local application server of the local data network, the local data network further being in communication with said first network node (paragraph 0031 - In accordance with another aspect of the system, a routing component can analyze the received packet to determine an optimal path for the packet from the FAP. Moreover, the routing component can determine a destination address, source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the packet, and/or one or more user defined rules or policies and/or user preferences, etc. Based in part on the determined information, the routing component can compute the optimal path to transfer the received packet, such that, network bandwidth is efficiently utilized. In one aspect, the routing component can determine an optimal route for a received packet by employing load-balancing techniques, to avoid network congestion. Additionally or alternately, the routing component can employ one or more machine learning techniques to facilitate efficient network and/or resource utilization. Further, the routing component can also perform a cost-benefit analysis to determine an optimal route associated with minimal billing charges.).
Regarding claim 61, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 58.
Liu further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving the selected part of the data traffic from said first network node via a data path which comprises a backhaul communication link of the IAB network; (paragraph 0059 - In one example, when UE 502 initiates a call, the routing component 108 can analyze the CS traffic from the UE 502 and determine an optimal path to route the call. As an example, the routing component 108 can analyze information stored in the database 506, such as, but not limited to user preferences 510, attached UE parameters 512 and/or service provider policies 514, to determine the optimal path. In one aspect, the routing component 108 can verify whether the destination device for the CS call is attached to the FAP 104, for example, by employing information from the attached UE parameters 512. When the routing component 108 determines that the destination entity is not attached to the FAP 104, the routing component 108 can direct the call to the macro network via the backhaul network. Alternately, when the routing component 108 determines that the destination entity is attached to the FAP 104, for example, if the destination entity is UE 504, the routing component 108 can facilitate CS media breakout at the FAP 104 and facilitate communication between the UE 502 and UE 504 without routing the call through the macro network. … ) and transmitting said selected part of the data traffic to the central application server having the second network address via another data path which comprises an internet protocol, IP, connection between the second network node and the central application server (paragraph 0052 - Additionally or alternately, a Network address translation (NAT)/Firewall component 312 (e.g., IPv4) can be employed to modify network address information in packet headers that can be routed via the backhaul network and/or the home network.).
Claims 62- 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, (U.S. PGPub 2017/0214622), Liu hereinafter, in view of Anthony et al. (U.S. PGPub 2014/0044019), Anthony hereinafter and further in view of Mehta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2011/0235595), Mehta hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 62, Liu teaches determining, if a data traffic transmitted by a user equipment (UE) meets a requirement for a local breakout from said first network node; and if said data traffic meets the requirement: (paragraphs 0058 and 0059 - … The service provider policies 514 can typically include one or more policies associated with routing and/or breakout at the FAP 104. In addition, the service provider policies 514 can include the PDF/PEF that can drive the selection of an optimal route, for example, by the routing component 108. Further, the attached UE parameters 512 can provide a list of currently attached UEs (502, 504) and can typically include information (e.g., device ID, SIM, USIM, a mobile number, etc.) associated with the UEs (502, 504) that are currently attached to the FAP 104. … if the destination entity is UE 504, the routing component 108 can facilitate CS media breakout at the FAP 104 and facilitate communication between the UE 502 and UE 504 without routing the call through the macro network.)
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach receiving, a selected part of the data traffic forwarded by the local application server the selected part of said data traffic having been processed and formed by said local application server of the local data network.
However, in the analogous art, Anthony explicitly discloses receiving, a selected part of the data traffic forwarded by the local application server the selected part of said data traffic havinq been processed and formed bv said local application server of the local data network. (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0053, 0056, 0069 and 0071) - Discusses breakout - both receiving and sending data, backhaul and MIOP@eNodeB 210 residing on local network, providing breakout from the local network and also providing "caching of data, data or video compression techniques, push-based services, charging, application serving, analytics, security, data filtering, ... ". These services encompass processing and forming data traffic. (paragraph 0102 ... the data broken out and operated on by MIOP@eNodeB is Internet Protocol (IP) data requests received from the user equipment and IP data sent to the user equipment. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu's Femtocell Local Breakout Mechanisms to include Anthony's Breakout and provision of service to achieve access to server services from local application server. (paragraph 0058 Anthony).
Yet, Liu in view of Anthony does not expressly teach a method in a central application server, the central application server being in communication with a core network and with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) communication network, the method comprising: receiving an information from a local application server of a local data network, which is in communication with a first network node of said IAB communication network; transmitting to the UE, the information received from the local application server of the local data network.
However, in the analogous art, Mehta explicitly discloses a method in a central application server, the central application server being in communication with a core network and with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) communication network, the method comprising: (Fig.1. and paragraph 0037 - Mobile core network 7 provides session management, mobility management, and transport services between backhaul network 4 and PDN 14 to support access, by mobile devices 16, to PDN 14 and services of server 19. Mobile core network 7 is coupled to PDN 14 via communication link 22. Mobile core network 7 may comprise, for instance, a general packet radio service (GPRS) core packed-switched network, a GPRS core circuit-switched network, an IP-based mobile multimedia core network, or another type of transport network. Mobile core network 7 comprises one or more packet processing nodes to support firewall, load balancing, billing, deep-packet inspection (DPI), and other services for mobile traffic traversing the mobile core network.) receiving an information from a local application server of a local data network, which is in communication with a first network node of said IAB communication network; (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0033 to 0040 - FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an exemplary network system 1 operating according to the described techniques. In this example, network system 1 comprises packet data network (PDN) 14 coupled to server 19 and to mobile service provider network 2. … thereby bypassing both mobile core network 7 and, in some instances, elements of backhaul network 4 that lie on a forwarding path from BGWs 8 to mobile core network 7. Each of breakout links 21 comprises communication link 20.) transmitting to the UE, the information received from the local application server of the local data network; and (paragraph 0043 - … If, however, the mobile data traffic is designated for offload, BGW 8A establishes a breakout data path to PDN 14 for the data traffic. The breakout data path bypasses mobile core network 7 and, in some instances, elements of backhaul network 4. In this example, the breakout data path for the mobile data traffic includes breakout link 21A to PDN 14. In addition, BGW 8A advertises a routing identifier (e.g., an IP address) to enable PDN 14 to route downstream designated mobile data traffic to BGW 8A via communication link 20 rather than to mobile core network 7 via communication link 22. In this example, the downstream forwarding path for the designated mobile data traffic includes breakout link 21A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu's Femtocell Local Breakout Mechanisms to include Mehta‘s bypassing of some aspect of core network and backhaul to achieve breakout for offload of data traffic (paragraph 0043 Mehta).
Although the combination of Liu, Anthony and Mehta teaches all the features of claim 62 as indicated above, it is noted that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations "if said data traffic meets the requirement: transmitting to the UE, the information received from the local application server of the local data network; and receiving, a selected part of the data traffic forwarded by the local application server." are contingent limitations. Thus, the claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.
Regarding Claim 63, Liu in view of Anthony and further in view of Mehta teaches claim 62.
Liu further teaches wherein said data traffic transmitted by the UE comprises a user data of the UE and wherein said selected part of the data traffic comprises a processed part of the user data, processed by the local application server of the local data network (paragraph 0031 - In accordance with another aspect of the system, a routing component can analyze the received packet to determine an optimal path for the packet from the FAP. Moreover, the routing component can determine a destination address, source address, type of packet, type of protocol associated with the packet, and/or one or more user defined rules or policies and/or user preferences, etc. Based in part on the determined information, the routing component can compute the optimal path to transfer the received packet, such that, network bandwidth is efficiently utilized. In one aspect, the routing component can determine an optimal route for a received packet by employing load-balancing techniques, to avoid network congestion. Additionally or alternately, the routing component can employ one or more machine learning techniques to facilitate efficient network and/or resource utilization. Further, the routing component can also perform a cost-benefit analysis to determine an optimal route associated with minimal billing charges.).
Regarding Claim 64, Liu in view of Anthony and further in view of Mehta teaches claim 62.
Liu further teaches , wherein said information received from the local application server comprises a network address of the local application server and/or a geographical location information of the local application server (paragraphs 0052 and 0101 - Additionally or alternately, a Network address translation (NAT)/Firewall component 312 (e.g., IPv4) can be employed to modify network address information in packet headers that can be routed via the backhaul network and/or the home network. Typically, the RG can provision the femtocell with an IP address when the femtocell attaches to the home network, for example DH LAN 310. … In particular, processor 1445 can facilitate femto AP 1410 to implement configuration instructions received through communication platform 1425, which can include storing data in memory 1455. In addition, processor 1445 facilitates femto AP 1410 to process data (e.g., symbols, bits, or chips) for multiplexing/demultiplexing, such as effecting direct and inverse fast. … Moreover, memory 1455 can store configuration information such as schedules and policies; femto AP address(es) or geographical indicator(s); access lists (e.g., white lists); license(s) for utilization of add-features for femto AP 1410, and so forth.).
Regarding Claim 65, Liu in view of Anthony and further in view of Mehta teaches claim 62.
Liu further teaches wherein determining if the data traffic transmitted by said UE meets the requirement for a local breakout from said first network node is based on information transmitted by the UE and wherein the information transmitted by the UE comprises at least one of UE type, UE identifier, UE subscription profile, UE location information (paragraphs 0058 and 0059 - … The service provider policies 514 can typically include one or more policies associated with routing and/or breakout at the FAP 104. In addition, the service provider policies 514 can include the PDF/PEF that can drive the selection of an optimal route, for example, by the routing component 108. Further, the attached UE parameters 512 can provide a list of currently attached UEs (502, 504) and can typically include information (e.g., device ID, SIM, USIM, a mobile number, etc.) associated with the UEs (502, 504) that are currently attached to the FAP 104. … if the destination entity is UE 504, the routing component 108 can facilitate CS media breakout at the FAP 104 and facilitate communication between the UE 502 and UE 504 without routing the call through the macro network.).
Regarding Claim 66, Liu in view of Anthony and further in view of Mehta teaches claim 62.
Liu further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, via a data path, said selected part of the data traffic from a second network node of the IAB communication network, said second node being in communication with said core network; and wherein said data path comprises an internet protocol (IP) connection between the second network node and the central application server (paragraph 0059 - In one example, when UE 502 initiates a call, the routing component 108 can analyze the CS traffic from the UE 502 and determine an optimal path to route the call. As an example, the routing component 108 can analyze information stored in the database 506, such as, but not limited to user preferences 510, attached UE parameters 512 and/or service provider policies 514, to determine the optimal path. In one aspect, the routing component 108 can verify whether the destination device for the CS call is attached to the FAP 104, for example, by employing information from the attached UE parameters 512. …).
Claims 55 - 57 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Anthony and further in view of Shih et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0008218), Shih hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 55, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 50.
Yet, Liu in view of Anthony does not expressly teach wherein the IAB communication network is a multi-hop IAB communication network having at least two IAB nodes, wherein each IAB node is connected to at least one other IAB node, and wherein at least one IAB node is in communication with said local data network.
However, in the analogous art, Shih explicitly discloses wherein the IAB communication network is a multi-hop IAB communication network having at least two IAB nodes, wherein each IAB node is connected to at least one other IAB node, and wherein at least one IAB node is in communication with said local data network (paragraph 0099 - In some examples, the first UE 812 may be associated with a first number of hops associated with backhauling. For example, the first number of hops may correspond to a first number of IAB-nodes between the first UE 812 and the first IAB-donor 812 (e.g., the first number of hops may be 2 based upon the first IAB-node 806 and/or the second IAB-node 808 between the first UE 812 and the first IAB-donor 812). Alternatively and/or additionally, the third UE 802 may be associated with the first number of hops (e.g., based upon the third IAB-node 802 and/or the second IAB-node 808 between the third UE 802 and the first IAB-donor 812). The first number of hops (e.g., 2) may be associated with multi-hop backhauling. For example, a number of hops may correspond to a number of (intermediate) IAB-nodes between a UE and an IAB-donor.required.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu's Femtocell Local Breakout Mechanisms to include Shih's Multi-Hop Integrated Access And Backhaul Systems to achieve combining of IAB nodes and donors in IAB network (paragraph 0068 Shih).
Regarding Claim 56, Liu in view of Anthony and further in view of Shih teaches claim 55.
Liu further teaches wherein the method further comprises: transmitting said selected part of the data traffic via the third data path to a second network node of the IAB communication network, said second node being in communication with said core network and the central application server (paragraphs 0030, 0065 and 0067 - The systems and methods disclosed herein, in one aspect thereof, can facilitate local breakout mechanisms at a femto access point (FAP) to reduce backhaul and/or macro network congestion. Moreover, a slave Gateway GPRS Support Node (GGSN) can be integrated within the FAP to directly route the incoming traffic from a user equipment (UE) at the FAP. In one example, Internet bound traffic can be directly routed to the Internet via a Digital home (DH) Local Area Network (LAN). In another example, traffic bound to a locally connected UE, can be directly routed to the UE from the FAP, without routing the traffic through the core macro network. … In accordance with an aspect, the UE DH agent 608 can provide an authorized UE with DH services 610, such as, but not limited to, Digital Rights management (DRM), Remote User Interface (RUI), Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP), session management (SM), Universal Plug and Play (UPnP), Analog Terminal Adapter (ATA). … For example, the femto DH Agent 614 can facilitate location assisted cellular services by obtaining location of the FAP 104 from a function, application, database, and/or device attached to the DH LAN 310 and providing it to the mobility location servers.). The services listed are server services.
Regarding Claim 57, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 50.
Yet, Liu in view of Anthony does not expressly teach wherein said local data network further comprises a locally arranged central unit-user plane (CU-UP) and a local user plane function (UP F).
However, in the analogous art, Shih explicitly discloses wherein said local data network further comprises a locally arranged central unit-user plane (CU-UP) and a local user plane function (UP F) (paragraph 0067 - In some examples, Mobile-Termination (MT), gNB-Distributed Unit (gNB-DU), gNB-Central Unit (gNB-CU), User Plane Function (UPF), Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and/or Session Management Function (SMF) may be used in IAB functions and/or may be included in IAB architectures. Alternatively and/or additionally, one or more interfaces, such as NR Uu interface (associated with E-UTRA and/or UMTS Terrestrial Radio Access (UTRA)), F1 interface, NG interface, X2 interface and/or N4 interface may be used in IAB functions and/or may be included in IAB architectures. Alternatively and/or additionally, one or more functionalities such as multi-hop forwarding, may be used in IAB functions and/or may be included in IAB architectures. MT function may be a component of a Mobile Equipment. The MT function may be associated with and IAB-node terminating radio interface layers of a backhaul interface toward an IAB-donor and/or other IAB-nodes.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 55 is also applied to claim 57.
Regarding Claim 60, Liu in view of Anthony teaches claim 58.
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein said second network node is an IAB donor node being in communication with the core network and wherein said second network node comprises a central unit-control plane (CU-CP) function and a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) function, wherein said CU-CP is separated from said CU-UP, function, and wherein said second network node further comprises at least one gNB-DU.
However, in the analogous art, Shih explicitly discloses wherein said second network node is an IAB donor node being in communication with the core network and wherein said second network node comprises a central unit-control plane (CU-CP) function and a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) function, wherein said CU-CP is separated from said CU-UP, function, and wherein said second network node further comprises at least one gNB-DU (paragraphs 0067 and 0068 - In some examples, Mobile-Termination (MT), gNB-Distributed Unit (gNB-DU), gNB-Central Unit (gNB-CU), User Plane Function (UPF), Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and/or Session Management Function (SMF) may be used in IAB functions and/or may be included in IAB architectures … FIG. 6A illustrates an example architecture 600 of a network in standalone mode. For example, the network may comprise an IAB-donor 606 and/or a plurality of IAB-nodes 608. The IAB-donor may be associated with a single logical node comprising one or more functions, such as gNB-DU, gNB-CU-Control Plane (gNB-CU-CP), gNB-CU-User Plane (gNB-CU-UP) and/or one or more other functions. In some examples, the IAB-donor 606 may be split based upon the one or more functions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu's Femtocell Local Breakout Mechanisms to include Shih's Multi-Hop Integrated Access and Backhaul Systems to achieve combining of IAB nodes and donors in IAB network (paragraph 0068 Shih).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472