DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 19 without prejudice, disclaimer or waiver, in remarks filed July 21, 2025 has been entered and considered.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed November 11, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garner et al. (US 10879182 B2), in view of Onozawa (US 20050164485 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Garner et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
a substrate [190, 390, 490 “assembly structure layer”, Col. 9, Lines 10-15, Fig. 1-4] including a first emission area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] corresponds, Fig. 1-4]; and
a first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430 “physical objects”, Col. 4, Lines 29-32, and Col. 9, Lines 15-36, Fig. 1-4] disposed on the substrate [190, 390, 490] and emitting light of a first color, and
a plurality of channel walls [140, 220, 340, 440, Col. 9, Lines 10-15, Fig. 1-4] disposed under the substrate [190, 390, 490] and in direct physical contact with the substrate [190, 390, 490],
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] further includes a first hole [142, 342, 344, 346, 441 “wells”, Col. 5, Lines 6-16, Fig. 1-4] passing through the substrate [190, 390, 490, Fig. 1-4] in the first emission area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] corresponds, Fig. 1-4], and
at least a portion of the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] is disposed in the first hole [142, 342, 344, 346, 441].
Garner et al. does not teach:
the plurality of channel walls do not overlap the first hole.
Onozawa teaches:
the plurality of channel walls [103, paragraph [0059], Fig. 2, 4] do not overlap the first hole [20b/21a, paragraph [0059], [0061], [0067-0069], Fig. 2/4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Onozawa into the teachings of Garner et al. to include the plurality of channel walls do not overlap the first hole, for the purpose of improving sucking force for better seating of devices, and improving connections and performance.
Regarding claim 2, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 1.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4] includes a first surface [bottom] and a second surface [top] opposite to each other,
the first surface [bottom] is disposed adjacent to a lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490, Fig. 1-4],
the second surface [top] is disposed adjacent to an upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490, Fig. 1-4], and
an aspect ratio of the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4] is greater than 1.
Regarding claim 3, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 2.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein a diameter of the second surface [top] is greater than a diameter of the first surface [332/336, bottom, Fig. 3], and
the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4] further includes a side surface disposed between the first surface [bottom] and the second surface [top, Fig. 1-4].
Regarding claim 4, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 3.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the side surface of the light emitting element [336, Fig. 3] contacts an inner circumferential surface of the hole [346, Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 5, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 3.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] includes a sidewall in the first hole [142, 344, 441, Fig. 1-4], the sidewall being perpendicular to the lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490, Fig. 1-4],
a diameter of the first hole [142, 344, 346, 441, Fig. 1-4] is greater than the diameter of the first surface [bottom],
the diameter of the first hole [346, Col. 7, Lines 61-67, Fig. 3] is less than the diameter of the second surface [top], and
a portion of the first light emitting element [332, 336, Col. 7, Lines 61-67, Fig. 3] protrudes to an outside of the substrate [190, 390, 490].
Regarding claim 6, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 3.
Garner et al. further teaches:
a filler [445 “electrically conductive material”, Col. 10, Lines 37-52, Fig. 4] filling a space between the sidewall and the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4].
Regarding claim 7, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 3.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] includes a sidewall in the first hole [142, 342, 344, 346, 441, Fig. 1-4],
the sidewall includes a vertical surface perpendicular to the lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490] and an inclined surface having an angle with respect to the lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490], [Col. 6, Lines 50-56, Fig. 1-4]
the side surface of the first light emitting element [332, 336, Fig. 3] contacts the inclined surface [Fig. 3], and
the side surface of the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4] does not contact the vertical surface [Fig. 1-4].
Regarding claim 8, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 2.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein a diameter of the first surface [bottom] and a diameter of the second surface [top] are the same in a plan view. [Col. 9, Lines 4-15, Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 9, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 8.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] includes a sidewall in the first hole [142, 342, 344, 346, 441, Fig. 1-4], the sidewall having an angle with respect to the lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490],
a diameter of the light emitting element [332, 336, Fig. 3] is greater than a diameter of the hole [342, 346, Fig. 3] on the lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490]. [Col. 7, Lines 59-67 to Col. 8, Lines 1-7, Fig. 3]
the diameter of the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4] is less than a diameter of the first hole [142, 344, 441, Fig. 1-4] on the upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490], and
a portion of the light emitting element [332, 336, Col. 7, Lines 59-67 to Col. 8, Lines 1-7, Fig. 3] protrudes to an outside of the substrate [190, 390, 490].
Regarding claim 10, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 9.
Garner et al. further teaches:
a filler [445 “electrically conductive material”, Col. 10, Lines 37-52, Fig. 4] filling a space between the sidewall and the first light emitting element [430, Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 11, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 8.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] includes a sidewall in the first hole [142, 344, 441], the sidewall being perpendicular to the lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490],
the substrate [190, 390, 490] further includes a protrusion [See Fig. 3, Hole [346], exposing first surface [336]] protruding from the sidewall and integral with the substrate [190, 390, 490],
the protrusion contacts a portion of the first surface [bottom], and
the protrusion exposes another portion of the first surface [bottom].
Regarding claim 12, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 2.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein a thickness [194, Col. 5, Lines 16-42] of the substrate [190, 390, 490] is less than a length of the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430], and a portion of the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430, Col. 7, Lines 61-65, and Col. 8, Lines 4-7, Fig. 3] protrudes to an outside of the substrate [190, 390, 490].
Regarding claim 13, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 2.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein a thickness [194, Col. 5, Lines 16-42] of the substrate [190, 390, 490] is greater than a length of the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430], and the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] is disposed in the first hole [142, 342, 344, 346, 441] of the substrate [190, 390, 490].
Regarding claim 14, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 2.
Garner et al. further teaches:
a common electrode [462 “electrical contact”, Col. 10, Lines 37-52, Fig. 4] disposed on the lower surface of the substrate [490, Fig. 4] and electrically connected to the first surface [bottom] of the first light emitting element [430, Fig. 4]; and
a pixel electrode [452, Col. 9, Lines 27-31, and Col. 10, Lines 37-46, Fig. 4] disposed on the upper surface of the substrate [490, Fig. 4] and electrically connected to the second surface [top] of the first light emitting element [430, Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 15, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the display device according to claim 14.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] further includes a first circuit area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] does not correspond, Fig. 1-4] disposed adjacent to the first emission area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] corresponds, Fig. 1-4],
the display device further comprises a transistor [454 “connectivity structures”, Col. 10, Lines 37-46, Fig. 4] disposed on the upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490] in the first circuit area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] does not correspond, Fig. 1-4], and
the transistor [454, Fig. 4] is electrically connected to the pixel electrode [452, Col. 10, Lines 37-46, Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 20, Garner et al. teaches:
A method of manufacturing a display device, comprising:
preparing a substrate [190, 390, 490] including a first hole [142, 342, 344, 346, 441, Fig. 1-4] passing through the substrate [190, 390, 490];
providing a plurality of channel walls [140, 220, 340, 440, Col. 9, Lines 10-15, Fig. 1-4] disposed under the substrate [190, 390, 490, Fig. 1-4] and in direct physical contact with the substrate [190, 390, 490, Fig. 1-4];
providing a first mixed liquid [110/115, Col. 4, Lines 18-32, Fig. 1a] including a first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430, Fig. 1-4] emitting light of a first color on the substrate [190, 390, 490]; and
vertically aligning the first light emitting element [method of 336, Col. 8, Lines 1-4, Fig. 3] in the first hole [142, 342, 344, 346, 441, Fig. 1-4] by setting a first pressure of an upper portion of the substrate [190, 390, 490] to be higher than a second pressure of a lower portion of the substrate [190, 390, 490]. [Suction Force Col. 5, Lines 53-62; Col. 8, Lines 13-18; Col. 8, Lines 35-40; Col. 8 Line 67 to Col. 9, Lines 1-3; Col. 9, Lines 23-27, Fig. 1].
Garner et al. does not teach:
wherein the plurality of channel walls do not overlap the first hole.
Onozawa teaches:
wherein the plurality of channel walls [103, paragraph [0059], Fig. 2, 4] do not overlap the first hole [20b/21a, paragraph [0059], [0061], [0067-0069], Fig. 2/4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Onozawa into the teachings of Garner et al. to include wherein the plurality of channel walls do not overlap the first hole, for the purpose of improving sucking force for better seating of devices, and improving connections and performance.
Regarding claim 21, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the method according to claim 20.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430, Fig. 1-4] includes a first surface [bottom] and a second surface [top] opposite to each other, and
an aspect ratio of the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 336, 430, Fig. 1-4] is greater than 1.
Regarding claim 22, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the method according to claim 21.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein a diameter of the first surface [bottom] is less than a diameter of the second surface [top], and [Object 332 and 336, Fig. 3]
in the vertically aligning of the first light emitting elements [130, 332, 334, 336, 430], [method of 336, Col. 8, Lines 1-4, Fig. 3]
the first surface [bottom] is disposed adjacent to a lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490], and
the second surface [top] is disposed adjacent to an upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490].
Claims 16-18 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garner et al. (US 10879182 B2), in view of Onozawa (US 20050164485 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 20 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (KR 20200026702 A).
Regarding claim 16, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the method according to claim 2.
Garner et al. further teaches:
a second light emitting element [332, Col. 8, Lines 19-22, Fig. 3]
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] further includes:
a second emission area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] corresponds, Fig. 1-4] disposed adjacent to the first emission area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] corresponds, Fig. 1-4], and
a second hole [342, Fig. 3] passing through the substrate [190, 390, 490] in the second emission area [area where the physical object [130, 332, 334, 336, 430] corresponds, Fig. 1-4]
a diameter of the second hole [342, Col. 8, Lines 19-22, Fig. 3] is less than a diameter of the first hole [142, 342, 344, 441, Fig. 1-4], and
at least a portion of the second light emitting element [332, Fig. 3] is disposed in the second hole [342, Fig. 3].
Garner et al. and Onozawa do not teach:
a second light emitting element emitting light of a second color different from the first color.
Cho et al teaches:
a second light emitting element [1050, paragraph [0119], [0121], Fig. 8a-8e] emitting light of a second color different from the first color.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cho et al. into the teachings of Garner et al. and Onozawa to include a second light emitting element emitting light of a second color different from the first color, for the purpose of achieving a multi colored display device. Having light emitting elements emit different color light from each other, is a known limitation in the art and would be obvious to combine.
Regarding claim 17, Garner et al., Onozawa and Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 16.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein a diameter of the second light emitting element [332, Col. 8, Lines 19-22, Fig. 3] is less than a diameter of the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4].
Regarding claim 18, Garner et al., Onozawa and Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 16.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the second light emitting element [332, Fig. 3] includes a first surface [bottom] and a second surface [top] facing each other, and
the display device further comprising:
a common electrode [462, Fig. 4] disposed on the lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490] and electrically connected to the first surface [bottom] of the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 430, Col. 10, Lines 37-52, Fig. 1-4] and the first surface [bottom] of the second light emitting element [332/430b, Fig. 3-4];
a first pixel electrode [452a, Col. 9, Lines 27-31, Fig. 4] disposed on the upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490] and electrically connected to the second surface [top] of the first light emitting element [130, 334,430/430a, Fig. 4]; and
a second pixel electrode [452b, Col. 9, Lines 27-31, Fig. 4] disposed on the upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490] and electrically connected to the second surface [top] of the second light emitting element [332/430b, Fig. 3-4].
Regarding claim 23, Garner et al. and Onozawa teach the method according to claim 20.
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] further includes a second hole [342, Fig. 3] passing through the substrate [190, 390, 490],
the method further comprises:
providing a second mixed liquid [method of 110/115, Col. 4, Lines 18-32, Fig. 1a] including a second light emitting element [332, Fig. 3] on the substrate [190, 390, 490]; and
vertically aligning [method of 336, Col. 8, Lines 1-4, Fig. 3] the second light emitting element [332, Fig. 3] in the second hole [342, Fig. 3] by setting the first pressure to be higher than the second pressure, [Col. 8, Lines 35-40, Fig. 3]
wherein a diameter of the second hole [342, Fig. 3] is less than a diameter of the first hole [142, 344, 441], and
a diameter of the second light emitting element [332, Fig. 3] is less than a diameter of the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430].
Garner et al. and Onozawa do not teach:
a second light emitting element emitting light of a second color different from the first color.
Cho et al. teaches:
a second light emitting element [1050, paragraph [0119], [0121], Fig. 8a-8e] emitting light of a second color different from the first color.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cho et al. into the teachings of Garner et al. and Onozawa to include a second light emitting element emitting light of a second color different from the first color, for the purpose of achieving a multi colored display device. Having light emitting elements emit different color light from each other, is a known limitation in the art and would be obvious to combine.
Regarding claim 24, Garner et al., Onozawa and Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 23
Garner et al. further teaches:
wherein the substrate [190, 390, 490] further includes a third hole [346, Fig. 3] passing through the substrate [190, 390, 490],
the method further comprises:
providing a third mixed liquid [method of 110/115, Col. 4, Lines 18-32, Fig. 1a] including a third light emitting element [336, Fig. 3] on the substrate [190, 390, 490]; and
vertically aligning [method of 336, Col. 8, Lines 1-4, Fig. 3] the third light emitting element [336, Fig. 1-4] in the third hole [346, Fig. 1-4] by setting the first pressure to be higher than the second pressure,
[Suction Force Col. 5, Lines 53-62; Col. 8, Lines 35-40; Col. 8 Line 67 to Col. 9, Lines 1-3; Col. 9, Lines 23-27, Fig. 1]
wherein a diameter of the third hole [346, Fig. 1-4] is less than the diameter of the first hole [142, 344, 441] and the diameter of the second hole [342, Fig. 3], and [Col. 7, Lines 59-61, Fig. 1-4]
a diameter of the third light emitting element [336, Fig. 1-4] is less than the diameter of the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4] and the diameter of the second light emitting element [332, Fig. 3]. [Col. 8, Lines 19-25, Fig. 1-4].
Garner et al., Onozawa and Cho et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Garner et al. and Onozawa do not teach:
a third light emitting element emitting light of a third color different from the first color and the second color.
Cho et al. teaches:
a third light emitting element [1050, paragraph [0119], [0121], Fig. 8a-8e] emitting light of a third color different from the first color and the second color.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cho et al. into the teachings of Garner et al., Onozawa and Cho et al. to include a third light emitting element emitting light of a third color different from the first color and the second color, for the purpose of achieving a multi colored display device. Having light emitting elements emit different color light from each other, is a known limitation in the art and would be obvious to combine.
Regarding claim 25, Garner et al., Onozawa and Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 23
Garner et al. further teaches:
disposing a common electrode [462, Fig. 4] electrically connected to the first light emitting element [130, 334, 430, Fig. 1-4] and the second light emitting element [332, Fig. 3] on a lower surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490];
disposing a first pixel electrode [452a] electrically connected to the first light emitting element [130, 332, 334, 430, Fig. 4] on an upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490]; and
disposing a second pixel electrode [452b] electrically connected to the second light emitting element [332/430b, Fig. 3-4] on the upper surface of the substrate [190, 390, 490].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues on pages 1-3, Section: I. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a) and 103, in remarks filed November 11, 2025 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claims 1 and 20. Examiner disagrees with Applicant because after further search and consideration of the prior art, primary reference Garner et al. (US 10879182 B2) can overcome the amended limitations of claims 1 and 20.
Applicant argues on page 3, Section: I. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a) and 103, in remarks filed November 11, 2025 that dependent claims 2-18 and 21-25 should be allowable due to their dependency on independent claims 1 and 20. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
In summary, the amendments to independent claims 1 and 20 can be overcome by new considerations of primary reference Garner et al. (US 10879182 B2). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1 and 20 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 1/28/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815