DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on November 30th 2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the method described in claims 1-2 must be shown (using a flowchart or suitable alternative) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-22 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 4-22 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claims 4, 7-8, 12 and 21-22 are objected to because they depend on a multiple dependent claim (claim 3).
Claims 9-11 and 13-20 are objected to because they depend on a multiple dependent claim (claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The meaning of the limitation “an evaluation of the evolution to come by an integral” is not clear to one of ordinary skill in the art, and the specification does not provide a clear understanding. The term ‘evolution’ seems to refer to a slope, however evaluating an integral would result in the area.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the evolution" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 is further rejected because the it is not clear if the “reference threshold” in line 7 is the same as the “detection voltage threshold” in line 12.
Claims 2-3 are rejected because they depend on Claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "i.e." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rutkowski et al. (US 20120074904 A1) in view of Doepke et al (US 20090121721 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Rutkowski teaches a method (Fig. 5) for detecting abnormal operating conditions of a single battery element or of a plurality of the set of single elements (412, 424) comprising the following steps:
sampling at least one voltage proportional to the voltage at the terminals of the single element or of the set of single elements (¶[38] “At 502, routine 500 determines tracked variables of a battery pack. Tracked variables may include but are not limited to battery voltage”);
comparing the detected voltage with a reference threshold (504);
characterized in that said comparison with said reference threshold triggers the implementation of (¶[40] “If the tracked variable exceeds a threshold level at 504 routine 500 essentially starts to integrate one or more parameters related to the one of more tracked variables”):
an evaluation of the evolution to come by an integral, evaluated analogically or digitally (508, ¶[47] “By proceeding through 508 or 510, routine 500 integrates a parameter related to a tracked battery variable”);
a comparison of this evaluation with a detection voltage threshold Td (¶[48] “At 512, routine 500 judges whether or not the integrated parameter related to a battery pack tracked variable exceeds a threshold amount or level”) from which a disconnection of the single element or of the set of monitored single elements is carried out with respect, at least, to the terminals of the battery (514, ¶[50] “At 514, routine 500 commands a battery pack contactor to an open state so that the battery pack is electrically decoupled from loads and sources external to the battery pack”).
Rutkowski does not teach sampling, at the common point of at least two resistors of a divider bridge with at least two resistors, at least one voltage.
Doepke teaches sampling, at the common point of at least two resistors (R4, R5) of a divider bridge with at least two resistors (S1), at least one voltage (¶[29] “The reference threshold voltage is compared with a part of the cell voltage, which is tapped off via a voltage divider comprising the resistors R4 and R5. The values of the resistors R4 and R5 define the predetermined division ratio for the part of the cell voltage”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rutkowski to incorporate the teachings of Doepke to provide sampling, at the common point of at least two resistors of a divider bridge with at least two resistors, at least one voltage because voltage dividers are a well-known and reliable method to measure a fraction of a voltage.
Regarding Claim 3, Rutkowski teaches a battery management systems (BMS) for accumulators (BCM 438), said batteries being capable of being constituted by a single element or several single elements that can be arranged in a modular assembly and connected in series, in parallel or in a plurality of series modular assemblies associated in parallel to form a battery (¶[16] “The battery modules 16 may include a plurality of battery cells configured to store energy. Although a plurality of battery modules are illustrated, it will be appreciated that in other examples a single battery module may be utilized”),
characterized in that said system comprises means suitable for performing the steps of a detection method according to one of the preceding claims (as taught by Rutkowski and Doepke in claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to disclose the further inclusion of and combination with:
steps for calculating the evolution slope (P) of the voltage curve by using at least two measurements taken;
at least one step of comparing the calculated slope with a stored “RapidThreshold” value, i.e., if the slope exceeds the “RapidThreshold” value, applying a weight coefficient increasing the acceleration of the evolution of the integral so that it crosses the trigger voltage threshold Td more quickly, or if it is not exceeded, a weight coefficient without acceleration effect.
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859