DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 126, 133 and 140-141 have been amended.
Claims: 127-128, 130-131 and 135 have not been amended.
Claims: 1-125, 129, 132, 134, 136-139 and 142 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTES:
The examiner notes that the applicant’s current amendments to the claims filed on 03/23/26 has changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 126-128, 130-131, 133, 135 and 140-141 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 126-127, 133 and 140-141 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IANEV et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0070963 herein after referenced as Ianev963) in view of HAN et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0408293 herein after referenced as Han).
Regarding claim 126 and claim 140, Ianev963 discloses:
A method of operating a network node, the network node comprising an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), in a communication network, the method comprising: and A network node, the network node comprising an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), for use in a communication network, the network node comprising a processor and a memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, to cause said network node to: (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0044]-[0045] discloses when the UE registers with the network (i.e. reads on communication network), the UE requests DRX/eDRX and discloses the AMF (i.e. reads on a network node, the network node comprising an AMF) may enquire with the UDM/UDR for UE subscription information including subscription information related to the DRX/eDRX, the RAT being used and the PSM for this UE; Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0054]-[0055] discloses the AMF considers the DRX/eDRX requested by the UE and the DRX/eDRX, RAN type and PSM length proposed by the NWDAF or the analytical results related to the DRX/eDRX and/or PSM for that UE, the UE subscription information related to the DRX/eDRX and PSM, the UE policy rules and operator configuration and based on all these and other inputs, the AMF works out the DRX/eDRX and/or PSM customised for that UE and this way the AMF is able to assign to the UE a customised DRX/eDRX and/or PSM that are best suited for the UE in terms of connection management leading to: and discloses UE power saving such a due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic and/or scheduled communication; Ianev963, [0002] discloses AMF Access and Mobility Management Function; Ianev963, Fig. 8 & [0136] discloses a generic core network node includes a controller that controls the operation of the core network node in accordance with software stored in a memory. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device disclosed in the invention to include a controller, memory and software in order to be able to perform the indicated functionalities. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a Policy Control Function (PCF) or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
sending, to an analysis node in the communication network, the analysis node comprising a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF), a first subscription request for recommendations for network-initiated battery saving by the network node; (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0043] discloses the AMF (i.e. reads on by the network node) subscribes for analytical results information (i.e. reads on sending, a first subscription request) from the NWDAF (i.e. reads on to an analysis node in the communication network, the analysis node comprising a NWDAF) and the UE may indicate the type of analytical information it is subscribing to such as DRX/eDRX cycle and/or PSM analytics (i.e. reads on for recommendations for network-initiated battery saving) per UE and these procedures may be invoked by a Nnwdaf_EventsSubscription_Subscribe Request procedure and a Nnwdaf_EventsSubscription_Subscribe Response procedure and Fig. 2 shows the AMF transmitting Nnwdaf_EventsSubscription_Subscribe Request for DRX/eDRX, PSM to the NWDAF; Ianev963, [0050] discloses based on these inputs, the NWDAF works out a proposal (i.e. reads on recommendation) for the best DRX/eDRX cycle such as longer DRX/eDRX cycle for the UEs with requirement for power save (i.e. reads on battery saving) and the PSM length for that UE such as longer PSM interval for UEs with communication pattern that suggest a rare communication; Ianev963, [0049] discloses when the NWDAF is requested for analytical information by the AMF related to the connection management such as a customised per UE DRX/eDRX and/or RAT being used and/or PSM information, the NWDAF analyses all the collected statistic and analytics information available for that UE related to connection management such as the frequency of mobile terminated MT calls, the frequency of mobile originated MO calls, is it a scheduled communications such as the days and the time of the days the communication takes place, whether the UE is battery powered UE and if so what the current level of the UE battery is, what type of S-NSSAIs the PDU connections are requested for such as low priority applications, or delay tolerant applications and etc.; Ianev963, [0055] discloses UE power saving such as due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic and/or scheduled communication; Ianev963, [0003]-[0004] discloses NWDAF Network Data Analytics Function and discloses PSM Power Saving Mode).
receiving, from the analysis node in the communication network, a notification to reduce battery consumption of a wireless device that is connected to the communication network, (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0051] discloses the NWDAF provides (i.e. reads on receiving, from the analysis node) the AMF with a proposed DRX/eDRX cycle, RAN type and/or PSM interval and this process may be invoked by a Nnwdaf_AnalyticInfo_Response procedure where the NWDAF includes the following parameters in the Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Response message: (i.e. reads on a notification to reduce battery consumption); Ianev963, [0053] discloses DRX/eDRX/PSM (i.e. reads on a notification to reduce battery consumption) - this is to identify the type of the analytics information provided by the NWDAF related to the UE (i.e. reads on of a wireless device) whose UE_Id is included in the Nnwdf_AnalyticsInfo_Response message; Ianev963, [0055] discloses UE power saving such as due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic and/or scheduled communication (i.e. that is connected to the communication network)).
the notification to reduce battery consumption comprising a battery consumption pattern (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0054]-[0055] discloses the AMF considers the DRX/eDRX requested by the UE and the DRX/eDRX, RAN type and PSM length proposed by the NWDAF or the analytical results related to the DRX/eDRX and/or PSM (i.e. reads on the notification to reduce battery consumption comprising a battery consumption pattern and reads on based on the battery consumption pattern and reads on according to the received notification) for that UE, the UE subscription information related to the DRX/eDRX and PSM, the UE policy rules and operator configuration and based on all these and other inputs, the AMF works out the DRX/eDRX and/or PSM customised (i.e. reads on determining a battery saving policy to apply) for that UE and this way the AMF is able to assign to the UE a customised DRX/eDRX and/or PSM (i.e. reads on and adjusting one or more aspects of the connection of the wireless device to the communication network by applying the determined battery saving policy) that are best suited for the UE in terms of connection management leading to: and discloses UE power saving such a due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic (i.e. reads on battery consumption pattern) and/or scheduled communication; Ianev963, [0050] discloses based on these inputs, the NWDAF works out a proposal for the best DRX/eDRX cycle such as longer DRX/eDRX cycle for the UEs with requirement for power save and the PSM length for that UE such as longer PSM interval for UEs with communication pattern that suggest a rare communication or communication at specific times or for the UEs with predominantly MO type of communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for any type of mobile communication to consume battery power).
Ianev963 discloses receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF but fails to explicitly disclose that said notification involves handovers and therefore fails to disclose “and a notification to perform a handover for the wireless device, the notification to perform a handover comprising location information for the wireless device;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses:
and a notification to perform a handover for the wireless device, the notification to perform a handover comprising location information for the wireless device; (Han, [0059] discloses Information (i.e. reads on a notification) that is additionally provided in association with the aforementioned information may be re-processed in two forms. … The second form includes whether terminals (i.e. reads on for the wireless device) disposed in a specific area (i.e. reads on location information) can be moved (i.e. reads on to perform a handover) to a specific RAT or frequency band and an analytics or expectation value related thereto; Han, [0080] discloses providing, by the NWDAF, network analytics information related to radio network usage, which has been requested by a consumer for each interested area. The analytics information provided may include the total number of UEs being used in each area, the number of UEs used for each radio access technology RAT, or the number of UEs used for each frequency band. Additionally, the analytics information may include the number of off-loadable UEs to another radio access technology or another frequency band; Han, [0078] discloses the PCF 420 may generate an RFSP index value based on the network analytics information provided by the NWDAF 430, and may deliver the network analytics information to the AMF 410; Han, [0071] discloses In the disclosure, the PCF has been described as a consumer of the NWDAF, but the same method may be used through the AMF; Han, [0088] discloses an object of a policy related to a change in the RFSP index value may be for achieving objects from various operation viewpoints, such as a reduction of energy of a terminal, a reduction of energy of a base station, the maximization of service quality of a terminal, the maximization of the mobility of a terminal, and the minimization of an area time of a terminal).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 to incorporate the teachings of Han for the purpose of providing the system with a means to achieving objects from various operation viewpoints, such as a reduction of energy of a terminal, a reduction of energy of a base station, the maximization of service quality of a terminal, the maximization of the mobility of a terminal, and the minimization of an area time of a terminal (Han, [0088]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF, wherein the notification includes a number of UEs in a specific area may be moved or are offloadable as taught by Han) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Han) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 127, Ianev963 in view of Han discloses:
A method of claim 126, the method further comprising: (see claim 126).
receiving an indication to activate network-initiated battery saving for the wireless device (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0051] discloses the NWDAF provides the AMF with a proposed DRX/eDRX cycle, RAN type and/or PSM interval; Ianev963, [0055] discloses UE power saving such as due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic and/or scheduled communication).
Regarding claim 133 and claim 141, Ianev963 discloses:
A method of operating an analysis node, the analysis node comprising a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF), in a communication network, the method comprising: and An analysis node, the analysis node comprising a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF),for use in a communication network, the analysis node comprising a processor and a memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor to cause said analysis node to: receiving, from a network node, the network node comprising (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0043]-[0044] discloses the AMF (i.e. reads on from a network node, the network node comprising an AMF and reads on by the network node) subscribes for analytical results information (i.e. reads on receiving, a first subscription request) from the NWDAF (i.e. reads on analysis node comprising NWDAF in a communication network) and the UE may indicate the type of analytical information it is subscribing to such as DRX/eDRX cycle and/or PSM analytics (i.e. reads on for recommendations for network-initiated battery saving) per UE and these procedures may be invoked by a Nnwdaf_EventsSubscription_Subscribe Request procedure and a Nnwdaf_EventsSubscription_Subscribe Response procedure and Fig. 2 shows the AMF transmitting Nnwdaf_EventsSubscription_Subscribe Request for DRX/eDRX, PSM to the NWDAF and discloses when the UE registers with the network (i.e. reads on communication network), the UE requests DRX/eDRX; Ianev963, [0050] discloses based on these inputs, the NWDAF works out a proposal (i.e. reads on recommendation) for the best DRX/eDRX cycle such as longer DRX/eDRX cycle for the UEs with requirement for power save (i.e. reads on battery saving) and the PSM length for that UE such as longer PSM interval for UEs with communication pattern that suggest a rare communication; Ianev963, [0049] discloses when the NWDAF is requested for analytical information by the AMF related to the connection management such as a customised per UE DRX/eDRX and/or RAT being used and/or PSM information, the NWDAF analyses (i.e. reads on analysis node) all the collected statistic and analytics information available for that UE related to connection management such as the frequency of mobile terminated MT calls, the frequency of mobile originated MO calls, is it a scheduled communications such as the days and the time of the days the communication takes place, whether the UE is battery powered UE and if so what the current level of the UE battery is, what type of S-NSSAIs the PDU connections are requested for such as low priority applications, or delay tolerant applications and etc.; Ianev963, [0055] discloses UE power saving such as due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic and/or scheduled communication; Ianev963, [0003]-[0004] discloses NWDAF Network Data Analytics Function and discloses PSM Power Saving Mode; Ianev963, Fig. 8 & [0136] discloses a generic core network node includes a controller that controls the operation of the core network node in accordance with software stored in a memory. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device disclosed in the invention to include a controller, memory and software in order to be able to perform the indicated functionalities. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a Policy Control Function (PCF) or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
receiving data comprising at least one of battery level of a wireless device that is connected to the communication network and power mode of the wireless device; (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0049]-[0050] discloses the NWDAF collects statistical information (i.e. reads on receiving data) for the UEs (i.e. reads on a wireless device) from different sources such as directly from the UE, from other Network Functions NFs, from the OAM and from the service provider AFs via the network exposure, directly or via the NEF and when the NWDAF is requested for analytical information from the AMF related to the connection management such as a customized per UE DRX/eDRX and/or RAT being used and/or PSM information (i.e. reads on power mode of the wireless device), the NWDAF analyses all the collected statistic and analytics information available for that UE related to connection management such as whether the UE is battery powered UE and if so what the current level of the UE battery is (i.e. reads on battery level of a wireless device), etc. and discloses based on these inputs, the NWDAF works out a proposal for the best DRX/eDRX cycle such as longer DRX/eDRX cycle for the UEs with requirement for power save and the PSM length for that UE such as longer PSM interval for UEs with communication pattern that suggest a rare communication or communication at specific times; Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0044] discloses when the UE registers with the network).
and sending, to the network node in the communication network, a notification to reduce battery consumption of the wireless device, (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0051] discloses the NWDAF provides the AMF (i.e. reads on sending to a network node in the communication network) with a proposed DRX/eDRX cycle, RAN type and/or PSM interval and this process may be invoked by a Nnwdaf_AnalyticInfo_Response procedure where the NWDAF includes the following parameters in the Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Response message: (i.e. reads on a notification to reduce battery consumption); Ianev963, [0053] discloses DRX/eDRX/PSM (i.e. reads on a notification to reduce battery consumption) - this is to identify the type of the analytics information provided by the NWDAF (i.e. reads on sending) related to the UE (i.e. reads on of the wireless device) whose UE_Id is included in the Nnwdf_AnalyticsInfo_Response message; Ianev963, [0055] discloses UE power saving such as due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic and/or scheduled communication).
the notification to reduce battery consumption comprising a battery consumption pattern for the wireless device (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0054]-[0055] discloses the AMF considers the DRX/eDRX requested by the UE and the DRX/eDRX, RAN type and PSM length proposed by the NWDAF or the analytical results related to the DRX/eDRX and/or PSM (i.e. reads on the notification to reduce battery consumption comprising a battery consumption pattern) for that UE, the UE subscription information related to the DRX/eDRX and PSM, the UE policy rules and operator configuration and based on all these and other inputs, the AMF works out the DRX/eDRX and/or PSM customised for that UE and this way the AMF is able to assign to the UE a customised DRX/eDRX and/or PSM that are best suited for the UE in terms of connection management leading to: and discloses UE power saving such a due to assigning longer DRX/eDRX cycle and PSM interval to the UEs with predominantly MO type of traffic (i.e. reads on battery consumption pattern) and/or scheduled communication; Ianev963, [0050] discloses based on these inputs, the NWDAF works out a proposal for the best DRX/eDRX cycle such as longer DRX/eDRX cycle for the UEs with requirement for power save and the PSM length for that UE such as longer PSM interval for UEs with communication pattern that suggest a rare communication or communication at specific times or for the UEs with predominantly MO type of communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for any type of mobile communication to consume battery power).
Ianev963 discloses receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF but fails to explicitly disclose that said notification involves handovers and therefore fails to disclose “and a notification to perform a handover for the wireless device, the notification to perform a handover comprising location information for the wireless device;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses:
and a notification to perform a handover for the wireless device, the notification to perform a handover comprising location information for the wireless device; (Han, [0059] discloses Information (i.e. reads on a notification) that is additionally provided in association with the aforementioned information may be re-processed in two forms. … The second form includes whether terminals (i.e. reads on for the wireless device) disposed in a specific area (i.e. reads on location information) can be moved (i.e. reads on to perform a handover) to a specific RAT or frequency band and an analytics or expectation value related thereto; Han, [0080] discloses providing, by the NWDAF, network analytics information related to radio network usage, which has been requested by a consumer for each interested area. The analytics information provided may include the total number of UEs being used in each area, the number of UEs used for each radio access technology RAT, or the number of UEs used for each frequency band. Additionally, the analytics information may include the number of off-loadable UEs to another radio access technology or another frequency band; Han, [0078] discloses the PCF 420 may generate an RFSP index value based on the network analytics information provided by the NWDAF 430, and may deliver the network analytics information to the AMF 410; Han, [0071] discloses In the disclosure, the PCF has been described as a consumer of the NWDAF, but the same method may be used through the AMF; Han, [0088] discloses an object of a policy related to a change in the RFSP index value may be for achieving objects from various operation viewpoints, such as a reduction of energy of a terminal, a reduction of energy of a base station, the maximization of service quality of a terminal, the maximization of the mobility of a terminal, and the minimization of an area time of a terminal).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 to incorporate the teachings of Han for the purpose of providing the system with a means to achieving objects from various operation viewpoints, such as a reduction of energy of a terminal, a reduction of energy of a base station, the maximization of service quality of a terminal, the maximization of the mobility of a terminal, and the minimization of an area time of a terminal (Han, [0088]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF, wherein the notification includes a number of UEs in a specific area may be moved or are offloadable as taught by Han) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system receiving a notification for power savings from an NWDAF (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Han) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 128, 130-131 and 135 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IANEV et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0070963 herein after referenced as Ianev963) in view of HAN et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0408293 herein after referenced as Han) in view of IANEV et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0039046 herein after referenced as Ianev046) and further in view of LIU (US Patent Publication 2021/0368475 herein after referenced as Liu).
Regarding claim 128, Ianev963 in view of Han discloses:
The method of claim 126, the method further comprising: (see claim 126).
sending at least one of: an indication to the wireless device to activate (Ianev963, [0099] discloses the AMF delivers the updated UEARP to the UE; Ianev963, [0080]-[0081] discloses UE Analytics Report Policy UEARP and discloses the UE Analytics Report Policy element that is built up by the PCF based on analytics information from the NWDAF, subscription information and operators configuration policies and the UEARP is configured in the UE during the UE registration procedure or via a UE configuration update procedure and the UEARP is a set of UE analytics report policies which defines the rules for the UE analytics reporting, like what kind of analytics to be reported by the UE).
Ianev963 in view of Han discloses the UE performing analytics reporting and the NWDAF collecting battery level information and power saving mode PSM information but fails to explicitly disclose that said UE performs the battery level and power mode reporting and therefore fails to disclose “an indication to the wireless device to activate battery level reporting and an indication to the wireless device to activate power mode reporting.”
In a related field of endeavor, Ianev046 discloses:
an indication to the wireless device to activate battery level reporting (Ianev046, [0081] discloses UE battery level indication where a battery powered UE may monitor and report its battery level and the battery power level indications from the UE may help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements; Ianev046, Fig. 2 & [0097] discloses the NWDAF includes the UE analytics report AF, the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements to the NEF and Fig. 2 shows the NWDAF sends a message indicating the analytics information to be collected to the NEF that sends the message to the UDM which then sends the message to the AMF that then sends the message to the UE and the UE measures statistics based on the analytics information to be collected and provides the UE analytics information to the AMF which is sent back to the NWDAF; Ianev046, [0084]-[0085] discloses UE battery power level indication to the network may help with and discloses network adjustment to UE related parameters like periodic update time, eDRX cycle length, PSM management and more so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible; Ianev046, [0047] discloses the AMF may activate/de-activate one or more types of analytics data collection and delivery in the UE by setting related flags in the UE analytics report status parameter included in the UE registration accept message; Ianev046, [0051] discloses based on the instruction from the AMF, the UE monitors, measures and collects statistics data).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han to incorporate the teachings of Ianev046 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements and so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible (Ianev046, [0081] & [0085]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes battery power level as taught by Ianev046) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Ianev046) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 discloses the UE reporting information but fails to explicitly disclose the UE reporting its power mode and therefore fails to disclose “and an indication to the wireless device to activate power mode reporting.”
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
and an indication to the wireless device to activate power mode reporting (Liu, [0104] discloses the terminal device may report device type information to an AMF and the device type information may be used to indicate that the terminal device is a terminal in a power saving mode so that the AMF may configure the terminal to delay returning the paging response message).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 to incorporate the teachings of Liu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to know when the device is in a power saving mode so that a delay may be implemented when necessary (Liu, [0104]) and to allow the NWDAF to collect the power saving mode information (Ianev963, [0049]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes a power saving mode as taught by Liu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Liu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 130, Ianev963 in view of Han discloses:
The method of claim 126, the method further comprising: (see claim 126).
receiving, from the analysis node, a second subscription request for data (Ianev963, [0092] discloses the NWDAF provides the PCF with the UEARP analytics or with a proposal for the UEARP; Ianev963, [0095]-[0096] discloses the PCF updates the UEs UEARP based on the NWDAF proposed analytics result about the UEARP or an UEARP proposal and discloses the PCF may respond to the AMF by sending the updated UEARP; Ianev963, [0099] discloses the AMF delivers the updated UEARP to the UE; Ianev963, [0080]-[0081] discloses UE Analytics Report Policy UEARP and discloses the UE Analytics Report Policy element that is built up by the PCF based on analytics information from the NWDAF, subscription information and operators configuration policies and the UEARP is configured in the UE during the UE registration procedure or via a UE configuration update procedure and the UEARP is a set of UE analytics report policies which defines the rules for the UE analytics reporting, like what kind of analytics to be reported by the UE).
Ianev963 in view of Han discloses the UE performing analytics reporting and the NWDAF collecting battery level information and power saving mode PSM information but fails to explicitly disclose that said UE performs the battery level and power mode reporting and therefore fails to disclose “comprising at least one of battery level of the wireless device and power mode of the wireless device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Ianev046 discloses:
comprising at least one of battery level of the wireless device (Ianev046, [0081] discloses UE battery level indication where a battery powered UE may monitor and report its battery level and the battery power level indications from the UE may help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements; Ianev046, Fig. 2 & [0097] discloses the NWDAF includes the UE analytics report AF, the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements to the NEF and Fig. 2 shows the NWDAF sends a message indicating the analytics information to be collected to the NEF that sends the message to the UDM which then sends the message to the AMF that then sends the message to the UE and the UE measures statistics based on the analytics information to be collected and provides the UE analytics information to the AMF which is sent back to the NWDAF; Ianev046, [0084]-[0085] discloses UE battery power level indication to the network may help with and discloses network adjustment to UE related parameters like periodic update time, eDRX cycle length, PSM management and more so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible; Ianev046, [0047] discloses the AMF may activate/de-activate one or more types of analytics data collection and delivery in the UE by setting related flags in the UE analytics report status parameter included in the UE registration accept message; Ianev046, [0051] discloses based on the instruction from the AMF, the UE monitors, measures and collects statistics data).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han to incorporate the teachings of Ianev046 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements and so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible (Ianev046, [0081] & [0085]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes battery power level as taught by Ianev046) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Ianev046) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 discloses the UE reporting information but fails to explicitly disclose the UE reporting its power mode and therefore fails to disclose “and power mode of the wireless device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
and power mode of the wireless device (Liu, [0104] discloses the terminal device may report device type information to an AMF and the device type information may be used to indicate that the terminal device is a terminal in a power saving mode so that the AMF may configure the terminal to delay returning the paging response message).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 to incorporate the teachings of Liu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to know when the device is in a power saving mode so that a delay may be implemented when necessary (Liu, [0104]) and to allow the NWDAF to collect the power saving mode information (Ianev963, [0049]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes a power saving mode as taught by Liu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Liu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 131, Ianev963 in view of Han discloses:
The method of claim 126, the method further comprising: (see claim 126).
receiving, from the wireless device, data (Ianev963, Fig. 2 & [0044] discloses when the UE registers with the network, the UE requests DRX/eDRX and Fig. 2 shows the UE sending the UE registration request that includes the DRX/eDRX to the AMF).
Ianev963 in view of Han discloses the UE performing analytics reporting and the NWDAF collecting battery level information and power saving mode PSM information but fails to explicitly disclose that said UE performs the battery level and power mode reporting and therefore fails to disclose “comprising at least one of battery level of the wireless device and power mode of the wireless device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Ianev046 discloses:
comprising at least one of battery level of the wireless device (Ianev046, [0081] discloses UE battery level indication where a battery powered UE may monitor and report its battery level and the battery power level indications from the UE may help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements; Ianev046, Fig. 2 & [0097] discloses the NWDAF includes the UE analytics report AF, the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements to the NEF and Fig. 2 shows the NWDAF sends a message indicating the analytics information to be collected to the NEF that sends the message to the UDM which then sends the message to the AMF that then sends the message to the UE and the UE measures statistics based on the analytics information to be collected and provides the UE analytics information to the AMF which is sent back to the NWDAF; Ianev046, [0084]-[0085] discloses UE battery power level indication to the network may help with and discloses network adjustment to UE related parameters like periodic update time, eDRX cycle length, PSM management and more so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible; Ianev046, [0047] discloses the AMF may activate/de-activate one or more types of analytics data collection and delivery in the UE by setting related flags int eh UE analytics report status parameter included in the UE registration accept message; Ianev046, [0051] discloses based on the instruction from the AMF, the UE monitors, measures and collects statistics data).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han to incorporate the teachings of Ianev046 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements and so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible (Ianev046, [0081] & [0085]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes battery power level as taught by Ianev046) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Ianev046) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 discloses the UE reporting information but fails to explicitly disclose the UE reporting its power mode and therefore fails to disclose “and power mode of the wireless device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
and power mode of the wireless device (Liu, [0104] discloses the terminal device may report device type information to an AMF and the device type information may be used to indicate that the terminal device is a terminal in a power saving mode so that the AMF may configure the terminal to delay returning the paging response message).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 to incorporate the teachings of Liu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to know when the device is in a power saving mode so that a delay may be implemented when necessary (Liu, [0104]) and to allow the NWDAF to collect the power saving mode information (Ianev963, [0049]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes a power saving mode as taught by Liu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Liu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 135, Ianev963 in view of Han discloses:
The method of claim 133, the method further comprising: (see claim 133).
sending, to a mobility management node, a second subscription request for data (Ianev963, [0092] discloses the NWDAF provides the PCF with the UEARP analytics or with a proposal for the UEARP; Ianev963, [0095]-[0096] discloses the PCF updates the UEs UEARP based on the NWDAF proposed analytics result about the UEARP or an UEARP proposal and discloses the PCF may respond to the AMF by sending the updated UEARP; Ianev963, [0099] discloses the AMF delivers the updated UEARP to the UE; Ianev963, [0080]-[0081] discloses UE Analytics Report Policy UEARP and discloses the UE Analytics Report Policy element that is built up by the PCF based on analytics information from the NWDAF, subscription information and operators configuration policies and the UEARP is configured in the UE during the UE registration procedure or via a UE configuration update procedure and the UEARP is a set of UE analytics report policies which defines the rules for the UE analytics reporting, like what kind of analytics to be reported by the UE).
Ianev963 in view of Han discloses the UE performing analytics reporting and the NWDAF collecting battery level information and power saving mode PSM information but fails to explicitly disclose that said UE performs the battery level and power mode reporting and therefore fails to disclose “comprising at least one of battery level of the wireless device and power mode of the wireless device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Ianev046 discloses:
comprising at least one of battery level of the wireless device (Ianev046, [0081] discloses UE battery level indication where a battery powered UE may monitor and report its battery level and the battery power level indications from the UE may help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements; Ianev046, Fig. 2 & [0097] discloses the NWDAF includes the UE analytics report AF, the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements to the NEF and Fig. 2 shows the NWDAF sends a message indicating the analytics information to be collected to the NEF that sends the message to the UDM which then sends the message to the AMF that then sends the message to the UE and the UE measures statistics based on the analytics information to be collected and provides the UE analytics information to the AMF which is sent back to the NWDAF; Ianev046, [0084]-[0085] discloses UE battery power level indication to the network may help with and discloses network adjustment to UE related parameters like periodic update time, eDRX cycle length, PSM management and more so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible; Ianev046, [0047] discloses the AMF may activate/de-activate one or more types of analytics data collection and delivery in the UE by setting related flags in the UE analytics report status parameter included in the UE registration accept message; Ianev046, [0051] discloses based on the instruction from the AMF, the UE monitors, measures and collects statistics data).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han to incorporate the teachings of Ianev046 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to help the network automation and optimization and UE performance improvements and so that the battery life of the UE could be prolonged as much as possible (Ianev046, [0081] & [0085]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes battery power level as taught by Ianev046) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Ianev046) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 discloses the UE reporting information but fails to explicitly disclose the UE reporting its power mode and therefore fails to disclose “and power mode of the wireless device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
and power mode of the wireless device (Liu, [0104] discloses the terminal device may report device type information to an AMF and the device type information may be used to indicate that the terminal device is a terminal in a power saving mode so that the AMF may configure the terminal to delay returning the paging response message).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ianev963 in view of Han and further in view of Ianev046 to incorporate the teachings of Liu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to know when the device is in a power saving mode so that a delay may be implemented when necessary (Liu, [0104]) and to allow the NWDAF to collect the power saving mode information (Ianev963, [0049]) for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information as taught by Ianev963) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a UE reporting information, wherein the reported information includes a power saving mode as taught by Liu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a UE reporting information (i.e. as taught by Ianev963 & Liu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645