Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14, 16-17 and 20-21 are pending in this application.
Applicant elected without traverse Invention I, Species A in the reply filed on April 22, 2025.
Claims 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 22, 2025.
The Examiner notes that claims 1-14 and 20-21 are examined and claims 16-17 are withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-046753, filed on March 23, 2022.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed August 3, 2026. Claims 1, 14, and 20 are amended. Claim 15 is cancelled. Claims 16-17 remain withdrawn. Claim 21 is newly added. The Examiner notes that claims 1-14 and 20-21 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the core layer" in lns. 21 and 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this action, “the core layer” in claim 20 will be interpreted to mean “the second insulator.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0198509 A1) in view of Hinoue (US 2022/0285387 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Kim teaches in Fig. 16:
semiconductor memory device (construction 10) comprising:
a substrate (base 22);
a layer stack (stack 12) in a first direction above the substrate; and
a pillar (channel material pillar that includes insulative material 48, channel material 46, tunneling materials 40, 42, and 44) penetrating the layer stack in the first direction, wherein the layer stack includes:
a first conductor (conductive material 58); and
a first insulator (second material 20, which is insulative per para. 22) on an upper surface of the first conductor along the first direction,
the pillar includes:
a second insulator (insulative material 48) extending along an extending direction of the pillar;
a semiconductor layer (channel material 46) covering a circumference of the second insulator; and
a stacked film (tunneling layers 40, 42, and 44) covering a side surface of the semiconductor layer at a height of the layer stack, and
Kim fails to teach:
the second insulator includes a fourth part having a void, a fifth part in contact with a lower end of the fourth part and having no voids at a height of the first conductor, and a sixth part in contact with an upper end of the fourth part and having no voids at the height of the first conductor, the diameter of the second insulator in the fourth part is larger than that of the core layer in the fifth part and that of the core layer in the sixth part, and the second insulator has the same thickness in the fourth part, the fifth part and the sixth part.
Hinoue teaches in Fig. 5J:
the second insulator (dielectric core 62) includes a fourth part having a void (cavities 69), a fifth part in contact with a lower end of the fourth part and having no voids at a height of the first conductor (42), and a sixth part in contact with an upper end of the fourth part and having no voids at the height of the first conductor,
the diameter of the second insulator in the fourth part is larger than that of the core layer in the fifth part and that of the core layer in the sixth part,
and the second insulator has the same thickness in the fourth part, the fifth part and the sixth part ([0092] “The dielectric core layer 62C can be deposited by a conformal deposition method”).
Kim discloses the claimed invention except for the void and thicknesses of portions of the second layer. Hinoue discloses that it is known in the art to provide a void within the insulative layer in a memory pillar due to using a conformal deposition process to fill a trench with nonuniform thickness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a void within the insulative layer for the purpose of having flexibility in manufacturing processes that allows for a method of forming the core layer that includes a void. See MPEP 2144.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 and 21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 1, prior art of record does not fairly disclose or make obvious the claimed device as a whole as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
In the previous office action, claim 1 was rejected as anticipated by Lim (US 2021/0066346 A1) and as obvious over Higuchi (US 2017/0271527 A1) in view of Yoo (US 2015/0333186 A1). The newly amended limitations are known in Hinoue (US 2022/0285387 A1) as described in the rejection of claim 20 above. However, upon consideration of the claim as a whole the Examiner determines it would not be obvious to modify Lim or Higuchi/Yoo by Hinoue to meet the claim limitation. The modification is nonobvious because none of Lim, Highuchi, or Yoo have a core layer that has a thickness that thicker at the level of the conductive layers of the stack, so depositing the core layer by the conformal process of Hinoue would not lead to the claimed limitations. Modifying the core layer of Lim or Higuchi/Yoo would require a change in the thickness of other layers that may interfere with the operation of the device and cause other limitations of claim 1 to no longer be met.
Dependent claims 2-14 and 21 are found allowable at least for the same reason as independent claim 1 upon which they depend.
Upon completing an updated prior art search and considering the combination of limitations as presented as a whole for the claims, the features highlighted above are considered an improvement over the prior art and have not been found to be anticipated or rendered obvious by a combination of prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-16, filed August 3, 2026, with respect to claim 1 and its dependents have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art rejections of claims 1-14 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897