DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 2/2/2025, has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub. No. 2020/0098291) in view of Zhao (US Pub. No. 2021/0408459 A1).
As to claim 1, Wu discloses an electronic device (fig 1, [0007]), comprising:
a first inorganic insulating layer (fig 7, layer 112; [0027]);
a first substrate (110E), disposed on the first inorganic insulating layer (112) and having a top surface (top surface of 110E), a bottom surface (bottom surface of 110E) opposite to the top surface, and a side surface (side surface of 110E) connected between the top surface and the bottom surface, wherein the top surface is substantially parallel to the bottom surface (fig 7, top and bottom surfaces of 110E);
an insulating layer (114E/118E/116E), disposed on the first substrate (110E) and adjacent to the top surface of the first substrate (top surface of 110E), wherein the insulating layer (114E/118E/116E) comprises a second inorganic insulating layer (114E), a third inorganic insulating layer (118E) and a fourth inorganic insulating layer (116E), the third inorganic insulating layer (118E) is disposed between the second inorganic insulating layer (114E) and the fourth inorganic insulating layer (116E), and the second inorganic insulating layer (114E) is adjacent to the first substrate (110E); and
a plurality of electronic elements (LD 1046 and transistor 1042), disposed on the insulating layer (114E/118E/116E);
wherein a thickness of the second inorganic insulating layer is less than a thickness of the first inorganic insulating layer ([0031]),
wherein in a top-view of the electronic device, a distance between a boundary of the insulating layer and a boundary of the first substrate is greater than 0 micrometers (fig 7 shows the cross sectional view of the electronic device with a top-view such that a distance between boundary of 114E and 110E is greater than 0 micron).
Wu does not explicitly disclose the distance between a boundary of insulating layer and a boundary of the first substrate is less than or equal to 1 micrometer.
Nonetheless, Zhao discloses an organic light emitting display panel wherein the edge width is small such that the bezel of the display is improved by making is narrow ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to make the boundary of the insulating layer and first substrate of Wu greater than zero and very small such that it is less than or equal to 1 micron since Zhao teaches that if you make the edge width of a display device small then the bezel of the display can be improved by making it narrow.
As to claim 2, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the second inorganic insulating layer and the first inorganic insulating layer comprise the same material ([0028] and table 1).
As to claim 3, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a thickness of the third inorganic insulating layer is less than the thickness of the second inorganic insulating layer (Table 2).
As to claim 4, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 3 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the third inorganic insulating layer and the second inorganic insulating layer comprise different materials (Table 2, TH4 is SiNx and TH2 is SiOx).
As to claim 5, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 3 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the fourth inorganic insulating layer (116E; [0029]) is disposed between the third inorganic insulating layer (118E) and the electronic elements (1042, LD),
wherein a thickness of the fourth inorganic insulating layer is greater than the thickness of the third inorganic insulating layer (Table 2).
As to claim 6, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 5 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the thickness of the fourth inorganic insulating layer (116E) is less than the thickness of the second inorganic insulating layer (114E; Table 2).
As to claim 7, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 5 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the fourth inorganic insulating layer (116E) and the second inorganic insulating layer (114E) comprise the same material ([0027], [0029]).
As to claim 8, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the first inorganic insulating layer has a first thickness, the second inorganic insulating layer has a second thickness, the third inorganic insulating layer has a third thickness, and the fourth inorganic insulating layer has a fourth thickness,
wherein the first thickness is less than a total thickness, and the total thickness is the sum of the second thickness, the third thickness and the fourth thickness (Table 2 first embodiment: first thickness 0.57 is less than total thickness (0.54+0.06+0.29)).
As to claim 9, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a ratio of the first thickness to the total thickness is greater than or equal to 0.4 and less than or equal to 0.95 (first thickness 0.57 divided by total thickness (0.54+0.06+0.29) equals 0.64).
As to claim 10, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a ratio of the second thickness (0.54) to the first thickness (0.57) is greater than or equal to 0.7 and less than 1 (0.54/0.57 equals .947).
As to claim 11, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a ratio of the fourth thickness to the first thickness is greater than or equal to 0.4 and less than or equal to 0.8 (0.29/0.57 equals 0.508).
As to claim 12, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a ratio of the fourth thickness to the sum of the first thickness, the second thickness and the fourth thickness is greater than or equal to 0.1 and less than or equal to 0.3 (0.29/(0.57+0.54+0.29) equals 0.207).
As to claim 13, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses a second substrate (120), wherein the first inorganic insulating layer (112) is disposed between the first substrate (110E) and the second substrate (120).
As to claim 14, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the first substrate and the second substrate comprise organic materials ([0027] and [0030]).
As to claim 15, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a thickness of the first substrate is less than a thickness of the second substrate (Table 2 first embodiment).
As to claim 16, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a ratio of a thickness of the first substrate to a thickness of the second substrate is greater than or equal to 0.5 and less than 1 (9.01/9.35 equals 0.963).
As to claim 17, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a difference between a thickness of the second substrate and a thickness of the first substrate is greater than or equal to 0.1 micrometers and less than or equal to 6 micrometers (9.35-9.01 equals 0.34).
As to claim 18, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein a ratio of a first substrate thickness of the first substrate to a second substrate thickness of the second substrate is greater than or equal to 0.5 and less than 1 (9.01/9.35 equals 0.963).
As to claim 19, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Wu further discloses wherein the electronic elements comprise organic light emitting diodes, sub-millimeter light-emitting diodes, or micro-light-emitting diodes ([0035]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view Zhao and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0028932 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
As to claim 20, Wu in view of Zhao disclose the electronic device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Wu does not disclose wherein the electronic elements comprise capacitive sensors, optical sensors, or electromagnetic sensors.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses a similar display device that includes electronic elements that comprise capacitive sensors, optical sensors, or electromagnetic sensors ([0055] capacitive touch sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the capacitive touch sensors in the display device of Wu as taught by Lee since this will allow for input touch detection for the display device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Wu fails to disclose the distance between boundary of greater than zero and smaller than 1 micrometer.
Examiner disagrees because Wu discloses that the distance between the boundary is greater than zero, however, Examiner agrees that Wu does not disclose that the distance is less than 1 micrometer.
Applicant argues that claim 1 of the present application has the advantage of “the embodiment of the present disclosure may reduce the damage of the electronic device 100 (especially for the electronic element structure 30) by moisture, so as to improve the reliability and/or lifespan of the electronic device 100, and the electronic device 100 of the embodiment of the present disclosure may also have advantages in manufacture and cost reduction.”
Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s position that this is an advantage that is different from the Wu reference. Specifically, Applicant’s specification at paragraph [0089] (“That is, the insulating layer 22 may extend beyond the electronic element structure 30, and the first substrate 11 may extend beyond the insulating layer 22. Therefore, the insulating layer 22 partially overlaps the first substrate 11, and the electronic element structure 30 partially overlaps the insulating layer 22. In this way, the edges of the electronic element structure 30 may be avoided from moisture.”) explains that the overlap of the insulating layer and electronic element prevents damage caused by moisture. Therefore, the distance between boundaries being smaller than 1 micron is not taught by the Applicant’s disclosure to prevent damage by moisture. Furthermore, the Wu reference similarity teaches the overlap of the electronic elements and the insulating layer to prevent damage by moisture ([0042]).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0384526A1; US2022/0357816A1 and US 2019/0081077A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 2/18/2026