DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 01/07/26 is acknowledged. The Examiner will withdraw the restriction and will examine claims 1-20.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation in claim 11, “a bonding layer coupling the transistor layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9,11, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Hush et al., (Hush) US 2023/0051863.
Regarding claim 1, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device comprising: a computing logic layer (124)[0038] comprising a plurality of transistors (shown in FIG. 1C); a local interconnect layer (115)(comprise metal connected to the transistor in 124) coupled to a first side of the computing logic layer (124); a plurality of global interconnect layers (120)[0038] coupled to a second side of the computing logic layer (124)(metal connecting to the transistors in 124), the second side opposite the first side; and a transistor layer (transistor shown in the memory logic area)(see FIG. 1C) formed between a first of the plurality of global interconnect layers (120) and a second of the plurality of global interconnect layers (layer below the second set of transistors)(part of 124)[0038,0039], the transistor layer comprising a second plurality of transistors [id.].
Regarding claims 2-4, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a wherein the computing logic layer is arranged as a plurality of dies (dies in 114,115); wherein interconnect structures in the local interconnect layer (115) correspond to respective dies of the computing logic layer; wherein a first of the plurality of dies (dies in 114,115) has the same structure as a second of the plurality of dies (same structure shown in FIG. 1C).
Regarding claim 5, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device wherein a global interconnect structure (120) of at least one of the plurality of global interconnect layers is coupled between two of the plurality of dies (dies in layer 124 and layer 122).
Regarding claim 6, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device wherein at least one transistor of the transistor layer forms a switch [0064], the switch coupled between a first die (in 124) and a second die (in 122) of the plurality of dies.
Regarding claims 7,8, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device further comprising a power via [0020](vias are shown as “TSV” protruding and connecting to the transistors in layer 124,122) extending through the transistor layer to the computing logic layer (124); a signal via [0020,0038] extending through the transistor layer to the computing logic layer (124).
Regarding claim 9, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device wherein the transistor layer comprises thin-film transistors (TFTs) (shown in layer 124,122) (TFT’s are typical transistor in semiconductor chip, wafers).
Regarding claim 11, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device further comprising a bonding layer coupling the transistor layer (part of 124) to one of the plurality of global interconnect layers (120).
Regarding claim 15, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a backside interconnect assembly comprising: a plurality of backside interconnect layers (in layer 115) coupled to a back side of a logic layer (124); and an active layer (in 124) formed between a first of the plurality of backside interconnect layers and a second of the plurality of backside interconnect layers (in layer 114), the active layer comprising a plurality of transistors.
Regarding claim 16, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a backside interconnect assembly, wherein the logic layer (124) comprises a plurality of dies, and the plurality of backside interconnect layers couple a first die of the logic layer (124) to a second die (in 124) of the logic layer.
Regarding claim 17, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a backside interconnect assembly (part of 115), wherein a logic device in the active layer (transistors in layer 124) alternatively couples a first die of the logic layer to a second die of the logic layer or to a third die (124 shows a pluralities of transistors that are parts of dies) of the logic layer (124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hush as applied to claims 1-9,11, 15-17, and further in view of Or-Bach et al., (Or-Bach) US 2023/0329013.
Regarding claim 10, Hush differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein the transistor layer comprises a substantially monocrystalline material having a grain size of at least 100 nm.
Or-Bach discloses [0089] a device wherein the transistor layer comprises a substantially monocrystalline material having a grain size of at least 100 nm.
Or-Bach is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Hush. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Or-Bach in the device of Hush because it will increase the yield of the device [0008].
Claim(s) 12-14, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hush as applied to claims 1-9,11, 15-17, and further in view of Kim et al., (Kim) US 2019/0221557.
Regarding claim 12-14, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device wherein a cross-section of a global interconnect structure (120) in one of the plurality of global interconnect layers has a back side parallel to the computing logic layer and a front side parallel to the computing logic layer.
Hush differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein the front side closer to the computing logic layer than the back side, wherein a length of the back side is longer than a length of the front side; wherein a first dielectric material in the first of the plurality of global interconnect layers is different from a second dielectric material in the second of the plurality of global interconnect layers; wherein the first dielectric material has a first dielectric constant, and the second dielectric material has a second dielectric constant different from the first dielectric constant.
Kim shows in FIG. 25,29, a device wherein the front side closer to the computing logic layer than the back side, wherein a length of the back side (back side of 1792) is longer than a length of the front side; wherein a first dielectric material in the first of the plurality of global interconnect layers is different from a second dielectric material in the second of the plurality of global interconnect layers [0105]; wherein the first dielectric material has a first dielectric constant, and the second dielectric material has a second dielectric constant different from the first dielectric constant [0105].
Kim is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Hush. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kim in the device of Hush because it will provide a high density device [0003].
Regarding claim 18, Hush shows in FIG. 1-C-3C, a device comprising: a logic layer comprising a plurality of transistors (in 124); a first interconnect layer (above 124 in layer 115) coupled to a first side of the logic layer (124), the first interconnect layer comprising a first dielectric (in 124); a second interconnect layer (120) coupled to a second side of the logic layer, the second side opposite the first side, the second interconnect layer comprising a second dielectric (in 102); and a transistor layer coupled to the second interconnect layer (in 124).
Hush differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein a second dielectric different from the first dielectric.
Kim shows in FIG. 25,29, a device wherein a second dielectric different from the first dielectric [0105].
Kim is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Hush. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kim in the device of Hush because it will provide a high-density device [0003].
Regarding claims 19,20, Hush in view of Kim discloses a device, further comprising a third interconnect layer (120 has multiple interconnect layers and also in 114) coupled to the transistor layer (in 124), the transistor layer between the second interconnect layer and the third interconnect layer (in 114); wherein the logic layer comprises a plurality of dies (124 comprises dies).
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813