DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on December 11, 2025 was considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
RE: the rejection of claim(s) under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been fully considered but are moot as further search and consideration prompted the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes “a first resin side surface facing a first side in a first direction” and “a first chamfered portion that is connected to the first front surface as viewed in the thickness direction and that is formed on a first side in a second direction” and it is unclear if these sides refer to the same side or to different sides. If these refer to the same side, these sides appear to be in different directions in claim 1, and further, claim 5 would be further indefinite as the second side exposed portions are formed on the first side while at the same time being formed on a side opposite to the first resin side surface, which faces the first side (see claim 4 and line 5 in claim 1). For the purposes of examination, the above limitations in claim 1 will be interpreted to mean “a first resin side surface facing a first resin side in a first direction” and “a first chamfered portion that is connected to the first front surface as viewed in the thickness direction and that is formed on a first side in a second direction.” Further in claim 10 the limitation “the first tapered portion is formed on the first side in the first direction with respect to the first wall surface as viewed in the thickness direction” will be interpreted as “the first tapered portion is formed on the first resin side in the first direction with respect to the first wall surface as viewed in the thickness direction” and in claim 11 the limitation “the second tapered portion is formed on a second side in the first direction” will be interpreted to mean “the second tapered portion is formed on a second resin side in the first direction.”
Claim 4 includes “a second resin side surface facing a side opposite to the first resin side surface in the first direction,” and it is unclear if this side is the same or different side as one of the instances of “first side” in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, this “side” will be interpreted as referring to “a second resin side.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220115303A1 (“Chang”) in view of US20040100772A1 (“Chye”), further in view of US20050001292A1 (“Hatauchi”), further in view of US20030071344A1 (“Matsuzawa”)
RE: Claim 1, Chang discloses An electronic apparatus (1 in FIGs. 2-3) comprising:
an electronic part (20, [0039]);
a member (40) that covers the electronic part; and
a plurality of leads (110, [0039]) each electrically connected to the electronic part, wherein
the member includes a first side surface (the top surface of 40 in FIG. 3) facing a first side (top side of 1 in FIG. 3) in a first direction (vertical direction in FIG. 3) orthogonal to a thickness direction (vertical direction in FIG. 2) of the member,
the plurality of leads include a plurality of first side exposed portions (first top side exposed portions 110 arranged along top resin side surface in FIG. 3) arranged along the first side surface, each of the plurality of first side exposed portions being exposed from the first side surface (FIGs. 2-3 shows 110 are exposed from side surfaces; Accordingly, the first side exposed portions are exposed from the first resin side surface),
a first front surface (front top surface of top 110 in FIG. 3) that faces a same direction as the first top resin side surface in the first vertical direction and that is flush with the first resin side surface (FIGs. 2-3 show the front surface of 110 is flush with 40).
Chang does not explicitly disclose:
the member is a resin member;
the first side surface is a first resin side surface;
each of the plurality of first side exposed portions includes a first tapered portion that becomes narrower toward the first resin side surface as viewed in the thickness direction,
the first tapered portion includes the first front surface that faces a same direction as the first resin side surface in the first direction and that is flush with the first resin side surface,
in each of the plurality of first side exposed portions, the first tapered portion further includes:
a first chamfered portion that is connected to the first front surface as viewed in the thickness direction and that is formed on a first side in a second direction orthogonal to the thickness direction and the first direction,
wherein the first chamfered portion is inclined with respect to the first front surface as viewed in the thickness direction; and
a side surface that is connected to the first front surface as viewed in the thickness direction and that is formed on a second side in the second direction,
wherein
the second side in the second direction is opposite to the first side in the second direction, and
the side surface is orthogonal to the first front surface as viewed in the thickness direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Chye discloses a mold compound 112 may comprise a curable dielectric resin, e.g., a silicon particle-filled polymer, suitable for forming under heat and pressure by transfer molding and the like, [0031]. Chye further discloses the mold compound 112 surrounds five of the six sides of the centrally positioned microelectronic component 120, [0032], FIG. 2. Chye further discloses The microelectronic components 20 and 30 and the inner lengths 44 and 54 of the leads 42 and 52, respectively, may be encapsulated in a mold compound 12, [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the material in 40 with the curable dielectric resin of Chye as both are molding compounds used to surround electronic components and both are formed under heat and pressure by transfer molding, and the results would have been predictable, see MPEP 2143.
In the same field of endeavor, Hatauchi discloses In the direction indicated by arrow 10, sizes of each external lead 4, which will be referred to as widths of external lead 4, hereinafter, are determined such that one end 5 has a width B, and the other end 6 has a width b smaller than width B. Thus, external lead 4 has a portion converging in width toward the other end 6, [0041]. External lead 4 may have a form, of which width gradually decreases as the position moves from one end 5 toward the other end 6, [0046].
FIGs. 1-2 show each lead has a front surface that faces a same direction as a respective mold resin 8 side surface, and is flush with the respective mold resin 8 side surface when viewed in a thickness direction (vertical direction in FIG. 1), [0040].
Hatauchi further discloses Therefore, the effect of the invention, i.e., prevention of the short circuit between the neighboring external leads can be achieved particularly in the semiconductor package prepared by the collective molding, [0061].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form each lead 110 with a tapered portion that becomes narrower toward a respective side surface of 40 and which each have a front surface that is flush with a respective resin side surface of 40 as taught by Hatauchi in order to prevent short circuits as further taught by Hatauchi.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsuzawa discloses various shapes for a lead portion 33 in FIGs. 6A to 6G, [0053].
In FIGs. 6B, 6C, the dividing line CL would form a side facing a first (horizontal) direction.
In FIG. 6C, both side surfaces of the lead portion 33 are inclined, and these side surfaces are formed on first and second sides in a second (vertical) direction.
In FIG. 6B, one (top) side of the lead portion 33 is chamfered and formed on a first side in a second direction orthogonal to a thickness direction and the first direction, and inclined with respect to a dividing line CL which would form a front surface of the lead portion 33 after cutting the lead portion 33 along the dividing line CL, [0010], and the other opposite (bottom) side of the lead portion 33 includes a side surface formed orthogonal to the cutting line.
Matsuzawa further discloses the leadframe is capable of effectively preventing a short circuit between adjacent lead portions even if burrs are present, [0016].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tapered portion of each lead 110 to include a chamfered portion formed on a first side and a side surface formed on a second side in a second horizontal direction in Chang FIG. 3 as taught by Matsuzawa in order to effectively prevent a short circuit between adjacent leads 110 as further taught by Matsuzawa.
RE: Claim 4, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the resin member further includes a second resin side surface (bottom surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 3) facing a side opposite to the first resin side surface in the first direction,
the plurality of leads further include a plurality of second side exposed portions arranged along the second resin side surface (Chang FIG. 3 shows second side exposed portions 110 are exposed along the second resin side surface of 40),
each of the plurality of second side exposed portions being exposed from the second resin side surface (Chang FIG. 3 shows each of the plurality of second side exposed portions 110 being exposed from the second resin side surface 40), each of the plurality of second side exposed portions includes a second tapered portion that becomes narrower toward the second resin side surface as viewed in the thickness direction (As modified, each 110 includes a tapered portion that becomes narrower toward a respective resin side surface of 40; Accordingly, as modified each of the plurality of second side exposed portions 110 would include a second tapered portion that becomes narrower toward the second resin side surface as viewed in the thickness direction), and
the second tapered portion includes a second front surface that faces a same direction as the second resin side surface in the first direction and that is flush with the second resin side surface (As modified, each tapered portion includes a front surface facing the same direction as a respective resin side surface and that is flush with the respective resin side surface; Accordingly, as modified, the second tapered portion would include a second front surface that faces a same direction as the second resin side surface in the first vertical direction in Chang FIG. 3 and that is flush with the second resin side surface/bottom side surface of 40).
RE: Claim 17, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
an island lead (In Chang 101, [0039]; Chang FIG. 2 shows the electronic part 20 overlapping the island lead 101) overlapping the electronic part as viewed in the thickness direction (in the view of FIG. 3 which is flipped relative to FIG. 2, the island lead 101 overlaps the electronic part 20 as viewed in the thickness direction), wherein
the plurality of leads are arranged around the island lead (FIG. 3 shows the plurality of leads 110 are arranged around the island lead 101).
RE: Claim 18, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein flip chip bonding is used for the electronic part (Chang discloses the at least one semiconductor die 10 is installed within the package in a flip-chip manner, [0042]; Chang discloses the die 20 is adhered to the die attach pad 101, [0042]).
Claim(s) 3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Chye, further in view of Hatauchi, further in view of Matsuzawa as applied to claim 1 or 4, further in view of US20210408979A1 (“Komposch”).
RE: Claim 3, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa does not explicitly disclose The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
each of the plurality of first side exposed portions further includes a first projection portion connected to the first front surface and the first chamfered portion and protruding toward the first side in the second direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Komposch discloses in FIG. 4E:
each of a plurality of first side exposed portions (272 or 274) further includes projection portions (widest portion of 272, 274 includes left and right projection portions) connected to a first front surface (top front surface of 274 or bottom front surface of 272) and a first chamfered portion (tapered/chamfered portion of 272, 274) and protruding toward a first side (left side and right side) in a second direction (horizontal direction which is orthogonal to the first front surface facing a first direction).
Komposch further discloses RF leads 272, 274, and/or non-RF leads 275 are positioned and/or shaped (alone or in any combination) to provide desired electrical characteristics, [0076].
Komposch further teaches vertical separation or gaps between the RF leads 272, 274 and the flange 276 (e.g., RF leads with varying lead-to-ground spacing to provide desired capacitance for impedance matching and/or to reduce mutual coupling effects between bond wires 282-285), and/or plan view shapes of the leads 272 and/or 274 (e.g., with rounded edges 272 e, 274 e to reduce current crowding and/or optimize field distribution), [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each lead 110 to include projection portions as taught by Komposch in order to provide desired capacitance for impedance matching and/or reduce current crowding and/or optimize field distribution. As a result, each of the plurality of first side exposed portions (top exposed portions 110 in Chang FIG. 3) would include projection portions connected to first front surfaces and first chamfered portions and protruding toward a left side and right side in the second horizontal direction in Chang FIG. 3.
RE: Claim 5, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 4, wherein
in each of the plurality of second side exposed portions, the second tapered portion further includes a second chamfered portion that is connected to the second front surface as viewed in the thickness direction and that is formed on a side in the thickness direction and the second direction (As modified, each tapered portion of 110 in Chang FIG. 3 includes a chamfered portion that is connected to a respective front surface as viewed in the thickness direction and that is formed on a side in the thickness direction and direction perpendicular to the respective front surface of 110; Accordingly as modified, in each of the plurality of second side exposed portions of 110, the second tapered portion would further include a second chamfered portion that is connected to the second front surface of 110 as viewed in the thickness direction and that is formed on an unspecified side in the thickness direction and the second direction/horizontal direction in Chang FIG. 3).
Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa does not explicitly disclose:
the second chamfered portion is formed on the first side in the thickness direction and second direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Komposch discloses in FIG. 4E:
a first chamfered portion (chamfered portion of 274) that is connected to the first front surface (top front surface of 274) as viewed in a thickness direction (into-the-page direction) and that is formed on a first side (left side) in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the thickness direction and a first direction (vertical direction);
a second chamfered portion (chamfered portion of 272) is formed on the first side (same left side) in the thickness direction (into-the-page direction) and second direction (horizontal direction).
In Komposch, each side exposed portion (272, 274) includes projection portions (widest portion of 272 or 274 forms projection portions) connected to a front surface (top surface of 272 or bottom surface of 274 in FIG. 4E) and a chamfered portion (chamfered portion of 272 or 274) and protruding toward a first side (left side and right side) in a second direction (horizontal direction).
Komposch further discloses RF leads 272, 274, and/or non-RF leads 275 are positioned and/or shaped (alone or in any combination) to provide desired electrical characteristics, [0076].
Komposch further teaches vertical separation or gaps between the RF leads 272, 274 and the flange 276 (e.g., RF leads with varying lead-to-ground spacing to provide desired capacitance for impedance matching and/or to reduce mutual coupling effects between bond wires 282-285), and/or plan view shapes of the leads 272 and/or 274 (e.g., with rounded edges 272 e, 274 e to reduce current crowding and/or optimize field distribution), [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first chamfered portions and the second chamfered portions of the first and second pluralities of 110 to be formed on the same left side, i.e., the claimed first side, as taught by Komposch in order to provide desired capacitance for impedance matching and/or reduce current crowding and/or optimize field distribution as further taught by Komposch. The right side opposite to the first left side in Chang FIG. 3 would correspond to the claimed second side.
RE: Claim 6, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 5, wherein
each of the plurality of second side exposed portions further includes a second projection portion connected to the second front surface and the second chamfered portion and protruding toward the first side in the second direction (Komposch FIG. 4E shows each of a plurality of second side exposed portions 272 further includes second projection portions, where the widest portion of 272 forms projection portions connected to a second front surface of 272 and a second chamfered portion of 272 and protruding toward the left side and right side in the second horizontal direction; Accordingly as modified by Komposch, each of the plurality of second side exposed portions further includes a second projection portion connected to the second front surface and the second chamfered portion and protruding toward the first side in the second direction).
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Chye, further in view of Hatauchi, further in view of Matsuzawa, further in view of Komposch as applied to claim 5, further in view of US20160254214A1 (“Makino”).
RE: Claim 7, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 5, wherein
the resin member further includes
a resin main surface (top main surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 2) and a resin back surface separated in the thickness direction (bottom surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 2, seen best in FIG. 3).
Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch does not explicitly disclose:
a first resin recessed portion recessed from the resin back surface and connected to the first resin side surface, and
a second resin recessed portion recessed from the resin back surface and connected to the second resin side surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Makino discloses The semiconductor device 1 of the present embodiment is provided with the step part GP, which is continued to the side surfaces LDs, on the peripheral part side of the mounting surfaces of the leads LD. In this manner, the thickness of the bonding material JM can be increased immediately below each of the side surfaces LDs on which the concentration of the stress generated by the temperature cycle tends to be the largest. Therefore, the strength of the part on which the stress particularly tends to concentrate among the bonding parts between the leads LD and the lands LNDa can be improved, so that the connection reliability of the semiconductor device 1 can be improved, [0123].
Makino further discloses as explained by using FIG. 3, the step part GP having the side surface MRsg of the sealing body MR, the bottom surface MRg of the sealing body MR, the side surface LDsg of the lead LD, and the bottom surface LDg of the lead LD is formed, [0228].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a step part GP as taught by Makino (as shown by MRg(GP), MRsg(GP), LDsg, LDg in FIG. 3 of Makino) which would continue along leads 110 and on the periphery of 40 to improve the connection reliability of the device. As a result, 40 would be recessed along four sides thereof, would have first, second, third, fourth recessed portions on respective sides of 40, and leads 110 would be recessed and flush with the side surfaces of 40. The first resin recessed portion would correspond to the recessed portion formed along the first (top) resin side surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 3, and the second resin recessed portion would correspond to the recessed portion formed along the second (bottom) resin side surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 3.
RE: Claim 8, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch, Makino discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 7, wherein
each of the plurality of first side exposed portions further includes a first side recessed portion connected to the first resin recessed portion (Makino FIG. 3 shows side exposed portions of leads LD further including a first side recessed portion LDsg connected to a resin recessed portion MRsg; Accordingly as modified by Makino for claim 7, each of the plurality of first side exposed portions 110 further includes a first side recessed portion connected to the first resin recessed portion of 40).
RE: Claim 9, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch, Makino discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 8, wherein
each of the plurality of second side exposed portions further includes a second side recessed portion connected to the second resin recessed portion (Makino FIG. 3 shows side exposed portions of leads LD further including a first side recessed portion LDsg connected to a resin recessed portion MRsg; Accordingly as modified for claim 7, since the four sides of 40 have recessed portions, each of the plurality of second side exposed portions 110 further includes a second side recessed portion connected to the second resin recessed portion of 40).
RE: Claim 10, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch, Makino discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 7, wherein
the first resin recessed portion includes a first wall surface that is connected to the resin back surface and that faces the same direction as the first resin side surface (As modified by Makino for claim 7, each side of 40 would include a recessed wall surface connected to a resin back surface, the wall surface facing the same direction as a resin side surface, as shown by the wall surface MRsg, resin back surface MRb, resin side surface MRs in FIG. 3 of Makino; the first wall surface would be parallel to the horizontal direction in Chang FIG. 3), and
the first tapered portion is formed on the first side in the first direction with respect to the first wall surface as viewed in the thickness direction (As modified by Hatauchi, tapered portions of leads 110 would be formed on each side of 40 extending to a respective side surface of 40; As further modified by Makino, the tapered leads 110 would be recessed; Accordingly, the first tapered portion of 110 would be formed on the first top side of 40 in Chang FIG. 3 extending in and along the first vertical direction with respect to the first wall surface as viewed in the thickness direction).
RE: Claim 11, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch, Makino discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 10, wherein
the second resin recessed portion includes a second wall surface that is connected to the resin back surface and that faces the same direction as the second resin side surface (As modified by Makino for claim 7, each side of 40 would include a recessed wall surface connected to a resin back surface, the wall surface facing the same direction as a resin side surface, as shown by the wall surface MRsg, resin back surface MRb, resin side surface MRs in FIG. 3 of Makino; Accordingly, the second resin recessed portion would include a second wall surface that is connected to the resin back surface and that faces the same direction as the second (bottom) resin side surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 3; the second wall surface would be parallel to the horizontal direction in Chang FIG. 3), and
the second tapered portion is formed on a second side in the first direction with respect to the second wall surface as viewed in the thickness direction (As modified by Hatauchi, tapered portions of leads 110 would be formed on each side of 40 extending to a respective side surface of 40; As further modified by Makino, the tapered leads would be recessed; Accordingly, the second tapered portion of 110 would be formed on the second bottom side of 40 in Chang FIG. 3 extending in and along the first vertical direction with respect to the second wall surface as viewed in the thickness direction).
Claim(s) 12-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Chye, further in view of Hatauchi, further in view of Matsuzawa as applied to claim 4, further in view of Komposch.
RE: Claim 12, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 4, wherein
the resin member further includes a third resin side surface (left side surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 3) and a fourth resin side surface (right side surface of 40 in Chang FIG. 3), and
each of the third resin side surface and the fourth resin side surface is orthogonal to both the first resin side surface and the second resin side surface as viewed in the thickness direction (Chang FIG. 3 shows the left and right side surfaces of 40 being orthogonal to both the first top resin side surface and the second bottom resin side surface of 40 as viewed in the thickness direction).
Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa does not explicitly disclose:
the third resin side surface faces the first side in the second direction;
the fourth resin side surface faces the second side in the second direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Komposch discloses in FIG. 4E:
first and second chamfered portions (chamfered portions of 274, 272) facing the same lefthand direction of the package 470e, and of the base substrate 276.
Komposch further discloses RF leads 272, 274, and/or non-RF leads 275 are positioned and/or shaped (alone or in any combination) to provide desired electrical characteristics, [0076].
Komposch further teaches vertical separation or gaps between the RF leads 272, 274 and the flange 276 (e.g., RF leads with varying lead-to-ground spacing to provide desired capacitance for impedance matching and/or to reduce mutual coupling effects between bond wires 282-285), and/or plan view shapes of the leads 272 and/or 274 (e.g., with rounded edges 272 e, 274 e to reduce current crowding and/or optimize field distribution), [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first chamfered portion to be formed on the same lefthand side in Chang FIG. 3 as taught by Komposch in order to provide desired capacitance for impedance matching and/or reduce current crowding and/or optimize field distribution as further taught by Komposch. As a result, the lefthand side in Chang FIG. 3 would correspond to the claimed first side, and the righthand side in Chang FIG. 3 would correspond to the claimed second side, and the left side surface of 40 would face the first left side in the second horizontal direction, and the right side of 40 would face the second right side in the second horizontal direction.
RE: Claim 13, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 12, wherein
the plurality of leads further include a first corner exposed portion (upper left 110d in Chang FIG. 3) and a second corner exposed portion (upper right 110d in Chang FIG. 3) arranged across the plurality of first side exposed portions in the second direction,
the first corner exposed portion is exposed from the first resin side surface and the third resin side surface (Chang FIG. 3 shows the upper left 110d is exposed from the first top resin side surface and the third left resin side surface of 40), and
the second corner exposed portion is exposed from the first resin side surface and the fourth resin side surface (Chang FIG. 3 shows the upper right 110d is exposed from the first top resin side surface and the fourth right resin side surface of 40).
RE: Claim 14, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 13, wherein
the plurality of leads further include a third corner exposed portion (lower left 110d in Chang FIG. 3) and a fourth corner exposed portion (lower right 110d in Chang FIG. 3) arranged across the plurality of second side exposed portions in the second direction,
the third corner exposed portion is exposed from the second resin side surface and the third resin side surface (Chang FIG. 3 shows the lower left 110d is exposed from the second bottom resin side surface and the third left resin side surface of 40), and
the fourth corner exposed portion is exposed from the second resin side surface and the fourth resin side surface (Chang FIG. 3 shows the lower right 110d is exposed from the second bottom resin side surface and the fourth right resin side surface of 40).
RE: Claim 15, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 14, wherein
the first corner exposed portion overlaps a first resin corner portion including the first resin side surface and the third resin side surface as viewed in the thickness direction (Chang FIG. 2 shows resin corner portions CR of 40 overlapping corner exposed portions 110d, where the resin corner portions CR include resin side surfaces of 40; In the view of Chang FIG. 3, which is flipped relative to FIG. 2, each corner exposed portion 110d would overlap a respective resin corner portion CR formed by adjacent side surfaces of 40; Accordingly, the first corner exposed portion / upper left 110d in Chang FIG. 3 would overlap a first resin corner portion including the first top resin side surface and the third left resin side surface of 40), and
the third corner exposed portion overlaps a second resin corner portion including the second resin side surface and the third resin side surface as viewed in the thickness direction (In the view of Chang FIG. 3, which is flipped relative to FIG. 2, each corner exposed portion 110d would overlap a respective resin corner portion CR formed by adjacent side surfaces of 40; Accordingly, the third corner exposed portion/lower left 110d would overlap a second resin corner portion including the second bottom resin side surface and the third left resin side surface of 40).
RE: Claim 16, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 14, wherein
the second corner exposed portion (each 110d takes the shape of 110d in Chang FIG. 9, [0050]) includes:
a first end surface (top end surface of 110d in Chang FIG. 9) exposed from the first resin side surface; and
a pair of third chamfered portions (In Chang: lower pair of chamfered/inclined portions of 110d relative to the first top resin side surface of 40) connected to both sides of the first end surface in the second direction (Chang FIG. 9 shows the lower pair of chamfered/inclined portions of 110d connected to both sides of the top end surface of 110d in the first vertical direction and the second horizontal direction), and
the fourth corner exposed portion (lower right 110d in Chang FIG. 3; each 110d takes the shape of 110d in FIG. 9, [0050]) includes:
a second end surface exposed from the second resin side surfaces (the fourth corner exposed portion would be formed at the second bottom resin side surface and the fourth right resin side surface as in claim 14; as each 110d takes the shape of 110d in Chang FIG. 9 which has end surfaces exposed from adjacent side surfaces, the fourth corner exposed portion would be exposed from the second bottom side surface) and
a pair of fourth chamfered portions connected to both sides of the second end surface in the second direction (as each 110d takes the shape of 110d in Chang FIG. 9 which has a pair of chamfered portions inclined and extending toward the center of the package, and connected to both sides of the end surface, the fourth corner exposed portion would have a pair of fourth chamfered portions inclined and connected to both sides of the second end surface in the first vertical direction and the second horizontal direction).
RE: Claim 19, Chang in view of Chye, Hatauchi, Matsuzawa, Komposch discloses The electronic apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the first corner exposed portion includes a second chamfered portion inclined with respect to each of the first resin side surface and the third resin side surface (Chang FIG. 9 shows the first corner exposed portion 110d includes a second lower chamfered portion inclined with respect to each of the first top resin side surface and the third left resin side surface of 40), and
the second corner exposed portion includes a third chamfered portion inclined with respect to each of the first resin side surface and the fourth resin side surface (Chang FIG. 9 shows the first corner exposed portion 110d includes a second lower chamfered portion formed diagonally with respect to the vertical and horizontal directions; Accordingly, the second corner exposed portion, which is formed at the first top resin side surface and the fourth right resin side surface, includes a third chamfered portion formed diagonally and therefore inclined with respect to each of the first top resin side surface and the fourth right resin side surface of 40).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899