DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/16/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made Nagakubo (Pub No 20220264564) in view of Zheng (CN 116527193 A) and Lee (Pub No 20090067389).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach reassigning resources that were previously assigned to a different device
The examiner relies on newly cited Zheng (CN 116527193 A) to teach the limitation.
Applicant also argues that the prior art does not teach the beacon message including the reassignment slots.
However the examiner relies on newly cited Zheng to teach the reassignment of slots which is then modified by the beacon message for indicating scheduling as taught by Lee meaning the newly reassigned slots would be indicated in a beacon to all the devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo (Pub No 20220264564) in view of Zheng (Pub No 20090067389) and Lee (Pub No 20090067389).
Regarding claim 1 and 14,
Nagakubo teaches A method comprising:
a controller (Root node fig. 3A) within a wireless network for a first frame, slots to a plurality of wireless nodes within a wireless network, wherein each of the plurality of wireless nodes has a plurality of allocated slots for transmission or retransmission of data at least for the first frame, and wherein each frame includes a plurality of slots; (interpreted as fig. 8 S11: transmit data by child node, fig. 8. Also see assigning a slot group in the multi-hop network in FIG. 3A. FIG. 3C is a diagram illustrating an example of transmission/reception slots in one frame of the wireless node C in FIG. 3A, see para [0044])
determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, that there is a failed data transmission from a first wireless node (child node A fig. 3A) to the controller via a plurality of slot of a first set of slots that were allocated to the first wireless node; (interpreted as Next, the parent node records whether the reception is possible (reception success or reception failure) for each slot (step S12). Subsequently, the parent node transmits the ACK information (reception possible/impossible information) for each slot, in the basic slot (in FIG. 8, the slot corresponding to ID1) (step S13), see para [0066])
determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, that data was received by the controller from a second wireless node (child node B fig. 3A) via a plurality of slot of a second set of slots allocated to the second wireless node; and (interpreted as Next, the parent node records whether the reception is possible (reception success or reception failure) for each slot (step S12), see para [0066]. Also see slot assigned for each node fig. 3B)
to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller (rejected because the limitation is an intended use of the allocated/reallocated slots, but is not a positively stated claimed limitation) during the second frame, data for which there was a failed data transmission during the first frame, via the reallocated a plurality of slot. (interpreted as the child node transmits the non-transmitted data in the slot where the reception has succeeded, and transmits again the data in the slot where the transmission has failed (step S14). In FIG. 8, the child node transmits again only the data B, and transmits new data (data D and E) in the other slots, see para [0067])
However, Nagakubo does not teach reallocating slots that were originally allocated to a different node.
Zheng teaches reallocating, by the controller after the first frame, a plurality of slot of the second set of slots originally allocated to the second wireless node for data transmission to the first wireless node to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller, during the second frame, data for which there was a failed data transmission during the first frame; information indicating that the a plurality of slot of the second set of slots has been reallocated to the first wireless node; (interpreted as when the first PHY has a fault, so in the time slot distributed by the first network device for the first FlexE client, the time slot associated with the first PHY is no longer available, the remaining time slot is the first available time slot, does not satisfy the bandwidth requirement of the first FlexE client, the first network device re-allocates at least part of the time slot allocated to the second FlexE client lower than the first FlexE client priority to the first FlexE client, pg. 2 lines 33-38)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo with the reallocation as taught by Zheng with the motivation to successfully retransmit the packets in situations of a packet failure.
However Nagakubo in view of Lee does not teach transmitting the slot allocation in a beacon message.
Lee teaches transmitting, by the controller to a plurality of wireless nodes including at least the first wireless node and the second wireless node, a message including slot allocation or reallocation information for the second frame, including information indicating that the a plurality of slot of the second set of slots has been reallocated to the first wireless node (interpreted as the network coordinator 105 puts control information needed to operate the network and messages for the devices 110 into a beacon and broadcasts the beacon throughout the network. The devices 110 synchronize the time of the time slots based on the time when the beacon is received, and prepare for data transmission/reception based on the control information and the messages in the beacon, see para [0050]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo in view of Zheng with the beacon as taught by Lee with the motivation to signal devices for time slot synchronization and assigning the resources.
Regarding claim 10 and 13,
Nagakubo teaches A method comprising:
of a first set of slots for transmission or retransmission of data at least for a first frame, and wherein each frame includes a plurality of slots; (interpreted as fig. 8 S11: transmit data by child node, fig. 8. Also see assigning a slot group in the multi-hop network in FIG. 3A. FIG. 3C is a diagram illustrating an example of transmission/reception slots in one frame of the wireless node C in FIG. 3A, see para [0044])
transmitting, by the first wireless node to the controller, a packet via each of the slots of the first set of slots allocated to the first wireless node; and (interpreted as fig. 8 S11: transmit data by child node, fig. 8. Also see assigning a slot group in the multi-hop network in FIG. 3A. FIG. 3C is a diagram illustrating an example of transmission/reception slots in one frame of the wireless node C in FIG. 3A, see para [0044])
to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller, (rejected because the limitation is an intended use of the allocated/reallocated slots, but is not a positively stated claimed limitation) during the second frame, data for which there was a failed data transmission during the first frame. (interpreted as the child node transmits the non-transmitted data in the slot where the reception has succeeded, and transmits again the data in the slot where the transmission has failed (step S14). In FIG. 8, the child node transmits again only the data B, and transmits new data (data D and E) in the other slots, see para [0067])
However Nagakubo does not teach reallocating slots to a first node that were originally allocated to a second node.
Zheng teaches information indicating that a plurality of slot of a second set of slots, which were previously allocated to another wireless node for data transmission, has been reallocated to the first wireless node to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller during the second frame data for which there was a failed transmission during the first fame; (interpreted as when the first PHY has a fault, so in the time slot distributed by the first network device for the first FlexE client, the time slot associated with the first PHY is no longer available, the remaining time slot is the first available time slot, does not satisfy the bandwidth requirement of the first FlexE client, the first network device re-allocates at least part of the time slot allocated to the second FlexE client lower than the first FlexE client priority to the first FlexE client, pg. 2 lines 33-38)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo with the reallocation as taught by Zheng with the motivation to successfully retransmit the packets in situations of a packet failure.
However Nagakubo in view of Lee does not teach receiving a beacon messaging including slot allocation or reallocation information for a second frame
Lee teaches receiving a beacon messaging including slot allocation or reallocation information for a second frame (interpreted as the network coordinator 105 puts control information needed to operate the network and messages for the devices 110 into a beacon and broadcasts the beacon throughout the network. The devices 110 synchronize the time of the time slots based on the time when the beacon is received, and prepare for data transmission/reception based on the control information and the messages in the beacon, see para [0050]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo in view of Zheng with the beacon as taught by Lee with the motivation to signal devices for time slot synchronization and assigning the resources.
Regarding claim 2,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, that data was received by the controller from a second wireless node via a plurality of slot of a second set of slots allocated to the second wireless node comprises: determining, by the controller, that there was no failed data transmission from the second wireless node to the controller during the first frame. (interpreted as For example, the ACK information for the communication slot used in the data transmission to the parent node may be received in the transmission slot for the parent node and the determination may be performed (see FIG. 8). Moreover, for example, unicast communication may be performed and the ACK information for confirming the delivery may be sent back just after the transmission (see FIG. 9), see para [0064]) See child node 2 and child node 4 child reception fig. 7)
Regarding claim 3,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the transmitting comprises: data for which there was a failed data transmission during the first frame. (interpreted as the child node transmits the non-transmitted data in the slot where the reception has succeeded, and transmits again the data in the slot where the transmission has failed (step S14). In FIG. 8, the child node transmits again only the data B, and transmits new data (data D and E) in the other slots, see para [0067])
However does not teach transmitting, by the controller, the message including slot allocation or reallocation information for the second frame, including information indicating that all slots of the second set of slots, which were allocated to the second wireless node, have been reallocated to the first wireless node to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller, during the second frame,
Lee teaches transmitting, by the controller, the message including slot allocation or reallocation information for the second frame, including information indicating that all slots of the second set of slots, which were allocated to the second wireless node, have been reallocated to the first wireless node to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller, during the second frame, (interpreted as The network coordinator 105 schedules the guaranteed time slots 235 of the contention-free period 225 based on the guaranteed time slot request information transmitted from the devices 110 in the contention access period 220, puts the result in a beacon, and broadcasts the beacon to the devices of the network, see para [0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo with the reallocation as taught by Lee with the motivation to successfully retransmit the packets in situations of a packet failure.
Regarding claim 6,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, that there is the failed data transmission from the first wireless node to the controller via a plurality of slot of a first set of slots that were allocated to the first wireless node comprises: determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, (see fig. 6 one frame)that there was no packet received by the controller from the first wireless node via a plurality of slot of a first set of slots that were allocated to the first wireless node, wherein the first wireless node is enabled to transmit either a data packet or a null or empty packet on each slot of the first set of slots allocated to the first wireless node. (interpreted as In FIG. 9, the data transmission succeeds in the additional slot corresponding to ID4, but fails in the slots corresponding to ID2 and ID3, see para [0069] Also see Next, the parent node records whether the reception is possible (reception success or reception failure) for each slot (step S12), see para [0066])
Regarding claim 8,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 1, wherein a first subset of slots are used by the wireless nodes for transmission of data, and a second subset of slots are used by the wireless nodes for retransmission of data for which there was a failed data transmission to the controller. (interpreted as Next, the child node transmits the non-transmitted data in the slot where the transmission has succeeded, and transmits retransmission data in the other slots (step S24), see para [0070])
Regarding claim 11,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the transmitting, by the first wireless node to the controller, a packet via each of the slots of the first set of slots allocated to the first wireless node comprises transmitting either a data packet, or a null or empty packet, via each of the slots of the first set of slots allocated to the first wireless node (interpreted as fig. 8 S11: transmit data by child node, fig. 8. Also see assigning a slot group in the multi-hop network in FIG. 3A. FIG. 3C is a diagram illustrating an example of transmission/reception slots in one frame of the wireless node C in FIG. 3A, see para [0044]).
Regarding claim 12,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 10, further comprising:
determining, by the first wireless node, that there was a failed data transmission of a data packet during the first frame; and (interpreted as In FIG. 9, the data transmission succeeds in the additional slot corresponding to ID4, but fails in the slots corresponding to ID2 and ID3, see para [0069])
retransmitting a data packet, associated with data or the data packet for which there was a failed transmission, during the second frame. (interpreted as Next, the child node transmits the non-transmitted data in the slot where the transmission has succeeded, and transmits retransmission data in the other slots (step S24), see para [0070])
However Nagakubo does not teach via the reallocated a plurality of slot that was reallocated to the first wireless node.
Lee teaches via the reallocated a plurality of slot that was reallocated to the first wireless node. (interpreted as The network coordinator 105 schedules the guaranteed time slots 235 of the contention-free period 225 based on the guaranteed time slot request information transmitted from the devices 110 in the contention access period 220, puts the result in a beacon, and broadcasts the beacon to the devices of the network, see para [0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo with the reallocation as taught by Lee with the motivation to successfully retransmit the packets in situations of a packet failure.
Regarding claim 15,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 14, wherein determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, that there is the failed data transmission from the first wireless node during the first frame comprises: determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, that there was no packet received by the controller from the first wireless node via a plurality of initial slot (see fig. 6 initial slots for child reception) allocated to the first wireless node, wherein the first wireless node is enabled to transmit either a data packet or a null or empty packet on each initial slot allocated to the first wireless node. (interpreted as In FIG. 9, the data transmission succeeds in the additional slot corresponding to ID4, but fails in the slots corresponding to ID2 and ID3, see para [0069] Also see Next, the parent node records whether the reception is possible (reception success or reception failure) for each slot (step S12), see para [0066])
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo (Pub No 20220264564) in view of Zheng (CN 116527193 A), Lee (Pub No 20090067389), and Wang (Pub No 201300337842)
Regarding claim 4,
Nagakubo in view of Lee and Zheng teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein: each wireless node is connected to a sensor that collects patient data for transmission to the controller.
Wang teaches wherein: each wireless node is connected to a sensor that collects patient data for transmission to the controller. (interpreted as The patient data acquired from the sensors 20 is concurrently transmitted to a controller 22 in the corresponding MBAN device, see para [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the sensors taught by Nagakubo in view of Lee with the sensors for medical use as taught by Wang with the motivation being to improve packet transmission reliability in a patient network.
Regarding claim 5,
Nagakubo in view of Lee and Zheng teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the wireless network comprises a medical body area network in which patient data is sensed and/or collected from a patient and transmitted, via of the wireless nodes, to the controller.
Wang teaches wherein the wireless network comprises a medical body area network in which patient data is sensed and/or collected from a patient and transmitted, via of the wireless nodes, to the controller.(interpreted as The patient data acquired from the sensors 20 is concurrently transmitted to a controller 22 in the corresponding MBAN device, see para [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the sensors taught by Nagakubo in view of Lee with the sensors for medical use as taught by Wang with the motivation being to improve packet transmission reliability in a patient network.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo (Pub No 20220264564) in view of Zheng (CN 116527193 A), Lee (Pub No 20090067389), and Park (Pub No 20230269032)
Regarding claim 7,
Nagakubo teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame, that there is the failed data transmission from the first wireless node to the controller via a plurality of slot of a first set of slots that were allocated to the first wireless node comprises determining, by the controller based on data transmissions performed during the first frame and the control information received by the controller from the first wireless node, that no data was received by the controller from the first wireless node via a plurality of slot for which the control information indicated that data was or will be transmitted during the first frame. (interpreted as In FIG. 9, the data transmission succeeds in the additional slot corresponding to ID4, but fails in the slots corresponding to ID2 and ID3, see para [0069] Also see Next, the parent node records whether the reception is possible (reception success or reception failure) for each slot (step S12), see para [0066])
However Nagakubo in view of Lee does not teach receiving, by the controller from the first wireless node, control information indicating slots, of the first set of slots that were allocated to the first wireless node, for which data will be transmitted or was transmitted during the first frame;
Park teaches receiving, by the controller from the first wireless node, control information indicating slots, of the first set of slots that were allocated to the first wireless node, for which data will be transmitted or was transmitted during the first frame; (interpreted as A bitmap format may be considered as the CSI reporting format of the above-described proposal 1. In this case, each bit of the bitmap may indicate success/failure in decoding of each slot. For example, if N=100 is configured or agreed, the UE may use 100 bits to indicate success/failure in decoding of 100 slots, and report the corresponding 100 bits to the base station, see para [0218]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo in view of Lee with the reporting of slots as taught by Park with the motivation being to indicate decoding success/failure so that packets that have failed to transmit can be retransmitted.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo (Pub No 20220264564) in view of Zheng (CN 116527193 A), Lee (Pub No 20090067389), and Tsiatsikas (Pub No 20200007466)
Regarding claim 9,
Nagakubo in view of Lee teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the message including slot allocation or reallocation information for the second frame, further includes information indicating a reallocation of an empty slot to the first wireless node, wherein the empty slot was not allocated to any wireless nodes or used for transmission during the first frame, to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller, during the second frame, data for which there was a failed data transmission during the first frame, via the reallocated empty slot.
Tsiatsikas teaches wherein the message including slot allocation or reallocation information for the second frame, further includes information indicating a reallocation of an empty slot to the first wireless node, wherein the empty slot was not allocated to any wireless nodes or used for transmission during the first frame, to enable the first wireless node to retransmit to the controller, during the second frame, data for which there was a failed data transmission during the first frame, via the reallocated empty slot. (interpreted as if the second client has unused slots, re-assigning the unused slots to a pool so as to be available for the first client, or to another client exceeding the acceptable predetermined number of register requests from the number of clients, see para [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Nagakubo in view of Lee with the reporting of slots as taught by Tsiatsikas with the motivation being to indicate via the available slots to be used for retransmission.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagakubo (Pub No 20220264564) in view of Zheng (CN 116527193 A), Lee (Pub No 20090067389), and Lee (Pub No 20170257728)
Regarding claim 16,
Nagakubo in view of Lee’389 teaches The method of claim 14, however does not teach wherein the retransmission slot allocation beacon message is provided within a beacon packet or message that is transmitted a plurality of the following: beginning of a frame, or end of a frame.
Lee’728 teaches wherein the retransmission slot allocation beacon message is provided within a beacon packet or message that is transmitted a plurality of the following: beginning of a frame, or end of a frame. (interpreted as The IoT device receives control information from an AP through a control slot with the start of the frame to receive a frame length, slot allocation information, see para [0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the reallocation taught by Nagakubo in view of Lee’389 with the position of the allocation as taught by Lee’728 with the motivation being
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461