DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the remarks filed 03/30/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the objection of claims 1, 5, and 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1, 5, and 6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered. Independent claims 1 and 6 have been amended to further clarify that the memory stores the electrocardiographic waveform detected at the electrodes associated with the lead system at the time of detection. Applicant argues that Ishida does not disclose this amended limitation. However, Ishida discloses this limitation at least at par. [0049]: the electrode signal input is stored in the memory 106. Therefore, Ishida is still eligible as prior art. The claims are now rejected as explained in the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0004487 – APPLICANT CITED ON 03/17/2023 IDS), hereinafter Ishida.
Regarding claim 1, Ishida discloses a portable electrocardiographic device (e.g. Abstract) comprising:
a plurality of electrodes configured to be brought into contact with a predetermined location of a subject's body and detect an electrocardiographic waveform (e.g. Pars. [0036]-[0037]: electrodes 14 and 16; Par. [0040]; Figs. 10, 11: measuring electrocardiographic waveform);
a setter configured to set a lead system used in detection of the electrocardiographic waveform, among a plurality of types of lead systems (e.g. Par. [0045]: settings are output; Par. [0067]: setting determined for different areas); and
a memory configured to store the electrocardiographic waveform detected at the electrodes associated with the lead system set through the setter at the time of detection (e.g. Par. [0041]: memory 106; Par. [0049]: the electrode signal input is stored in the memory 106);
wherein the predetermined location with which the electrode is to be brought into contact is changed in accordance with the lead system (e.g. Par. [0067]: determining where to make contact; Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 6, Ishida discloses an electrocardiographic measurement system (e.g. Abstract) comprising:
a portable electrocardiographic device provided with a plurality of electrodes configured to be brought into contact with a predetermined location of a subject's body and detect an electrocardiographic waveform (e.g. Pars. [0036]-[0037]: electrodes 14 and 16; Par. [0040]; Figs. 10, 11: measuring electrocardiographic waveform); and
a portable terminal provided communicably with the portable electrocardiographic device (e.g. Par. [0036]: display is being considered as the portable terminal),
wherein the electrocardiographic measurement system further includes a setter provided at the portable terminal and configured to set a lead system used in detection of the electrocardiographic waveform, among a plurality of types of lead systems (e.g. Par. [0045]: settings are output; Par. [0067]: setting determined for different areas), and
a memory configured to store the electrocardiographic waveform detected at the electrodes associated with the lead system set through the setter at the time of detection (e.g. Par. [0041]: memory 106; Par. [0049]: the electrode signal input is stored in the memory 106);
wherein the predetermined location with which the electrode is to be brought into contact is changed in accordance with the lead system (e.g. Par. [0067]: determining where to make contact; Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Ishida further discloses wherein the setter includes a display configured to perform display related to the plurality of types of lead systems (e.g. Par. [0041]: LCD display; Par. [0036]: display 10; Fig. 12: display process flowchart) and a selector by which a user selects a lead system to be set, among the plurality of types of lead systems displayed at the display (e.g. Par. [0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Ishida further discloses wherein the display is light emitters each associated with a corresponding lead system of the plurality of types of lead systems (e.g. Par. [0067]: determining settings for different areas) and the light emitter corresponding to the lead system selected by the selector emits light (e.g. Figs. 10, 11: different positions of the unit).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 12, 13, 19, and 20, Ishida further discloses wherein setting content set through the setter is stored unless predetermined release processing is performed (e.g. Par. [0041]: memory 106 stores the relevant data; Par. [0045]).
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 14-18, Ishida further discloses a processor configured to implement an analyzer configured to analyze the electrocardiographic waveform detected by the electrodes in accordance with the lead system set through the setter (e.g. Par. [0050]: the CPU analyzes the electrode signal input), wherein an analysis result of the electrocardiographic waveform analyzed by the analyzer is stored in the memory in association with the electrocardiographic waveform and the lead system (Fig. 7: step S109: data is stored).
Regarding claim 8, Ishida further discloses an explanatory display configured to cause the portable terminal to display information for explaining a lead system selectable by the selector (e.g. Fig. 7: step S105: displaying measurement guides).
Regarding claim 11, Ishida further discloses a non-transitory recording medium having recorded therein a program configured to cause the setter according to claim 6 to operate (e.g. Par. [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakoda et al. (US 2010/0168593) is directed towards a portable electrocardiograph.
Moroki et al. (US 2006/0047210) is directed towards a portable electrocardiograph.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYA ANJARIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796