Applicant’s amendment filed 1/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1,14 and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottaviano (US 20210297483) in view of Seed (US 20210306831).
Re claim 1:
Ottaviano discloses detecting by a given one of the devices of the first group a change to the control-group data provisioned at the given device (Para.[0040] Once the timer has expired (308:Y), then at 310, the leader IoT device 102′ may begin listening for commands from the remote control console 120 and/or the smart phone 123. If a command is received, the leader IoT device 102′ may perform the command at operation 312 (e.g., any command supported by the IoT device, such as on/off, increase illumination, change color, etc. for embodiments where the IoT device is a smart light bulb)),
the control-group data (i) including identification (Para.[0040] If a command is received, the leader IoT device 102′ may perform the command at operation 312 (e.g., any command supported by the IoT device, such as on/off, increase illumination, change color, etc. for embodiments where the IoT device is a smart light bulb) The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314); and
responsive to the detecting, propagating the change from the given device to each other device of the first group, to synchronize the control-group data among the devices of the first group (Para.[0040] The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314. Those other devices may respond to this rebroadcast by also performing the command received at 312).
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the control-group data (i) including identification respectively of each device of the first group (ii) including definition of one or more functional interrelationships between the devices of the first group.
Seed discloses the control-group data (i) including identification respectively of each device of the first group (ii) including definition of one or more functional interrelationships between the devices of the first group (Para.[0179-0184] At step 13, upon modification of a relationship between IoT entities, the RM Service may optionally initiate notifications of the modified relationship to the IoT entities involved in the relationship and/or other IoT entities that may be interested in knowing the relationship has been modified (e.g., the IoT entity that created the RM Policy). These notifications may contain RM State that may include information such as but not limited to the following: [0180] an updated list of identifiers of the IoT entities involved in the modified relationship; [0181] a time the relationship was modified; [0182] a planned tear-down time of the relationship; [0183] an identifier of the RM Policy used to modify the relationship; [0184] identifiers of SL resources that the RM Service modified because of the relationship modification (e.g., group, schedule, access control policies location, and subscriptions resources) and Para.[0094] A Schedule Relationship may be a relationship that is defined by the respective schedules of IoT entities. For example, light bulbs scheduled to turn on/off at the same time of day may have a schedule relationship).
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include identification respectively of each device and definition of one or more relationships as taught by Seed in order to automate managing of relationships (Seed Para.[0035]).
Re claim 2:
As discussed above, Ottaviano meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the devices of the first group include a first device, a second device, and a third device, wherein the one or more functional interrelationships includes (i) a first functional interrelationship between the first device and the second device and (ii) a second functional interrelationship between the second device and the third device, wherein the second functional interrelationship comprises the second device controlling an operational state of the third device, and wherein the operational state indicated by the control-group data comprises the operational state of the third device.
Seed discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the devices of the first group include a first device, a second device, and a third device, wherein the one or more functional interrelationships includes (i) a first functional interrelationship between the first device and the second device and (ii) a second functional interrelationship between the second device and the third device, wherein the second functional interrelationship comprises the second device controlling an operational state of the third device, and wherein the operational state indicated by the control-group data comprises the operational state of the third device (Fig.8 shows multiple devices in a first group and Para.[0102] Dependency Relationship Criteria may define IoT entities that have a functional dependency on one or more other IoT entities).
As shown above, Seed discloses the IoT entities having dependency relationships. Seed does not explicitly state a second device controls a third device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a second device can control a third device when those devices have a dependency relationship.
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include sending information on a change of members in a group as taught by Seed in order to reduce overhead and burden on IoT entities (Seed Para.[0114]).
Re claim 3:
Ottaviano discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the control-group data includes control logic executable by the second device to control the operational state of the third device (Para.[0040] If a command is received, the leader IoT device 102′ may perform the command at operation 312 (e.g., any command supported by the IoT device, such as on/off, increase illumination, change color, etc. for embodiments where the IoT device is a smart light bulb) The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314. Those other devices may respond to this rebroadcast by also performing the command received at 312).
Re claim 4:
Ottaviano discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the operational state of the third device comprises an on/off state of the third device (Para.[0040] If a command is received, the leader IoT device 102′ may perform the command at operation 312 (e.g., any command supported by the IoT device, such as on/off, increase illumination, change color, etc. for embodiments where the IoT device is a smart light bulb) The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314. Those other devices may respond to this rebroadcast by also performing the command received at 312).
Re claim 5:
Ottaviano discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the change to the control-group data represents a change of the operational state of the third device (Para.[0040] If a command is received, the leader IoT device 102′ may perform the command at operation 312 (e.g., any command supported by the IoT device, such as on/off, increase illumination, change color, etc. for embodiments where the IoT device is a smart light bulb) The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314. Those other devices may respond to this rebroadcast by also performing the command received at 312).
Re claim 6:
Ottaviano discloses the method of claim 5, wherein propagating the change includes propagating the change to the first device (Para.[0040] If a command is received, the leader IoT device 102′ may perform the command at operation 312 (e.g., any command supported by the IoT device, such as on/off, increase illumination, change color, etc. for embodiments where the IoT device is a smart light bulb) The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314. Those other devices may respond to this rebroadcast by also performing the command received at 312).
Re claim 7:
As discussed above, Ottaviano meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the change to the control-group data comprises a change of which devices are members of the first group.
Seed discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the change to the control-group data comprises a change of which devices are members of the first group (Para.[0116] A request may be initiated by the RM Service to send a notification to an IoT entity if/when a specified trigger condition is met (e.g., relationship is established, modified, or torn-down between IoT entities)).
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include sending information on a change of members in a group as taught by Seed in order to reduce overhead and burden on IoT entities (Seed Para.[0114]).
Re claim 8:
As discussed above, Ottaviano meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of devices further includes a second group of devices that are functionally interrelated with each other, wherein the devices of the second group are also provisioned with the set of control-group data, the set of control-group data 47 additionally (iv) identifying the devices of the second group, (v) defining one or more functional interrelationships between the devices of the second group, and (vi) indicating an operational state of at least one device of the second group, wherein the control-group data is further usable by the devices of the second group as a basis to control operation of the devices of the second group, the method further comprising: responsive to the given device of the first group detecting a change to the control-group data, propagating the change from the first group to the second group, to synchronize the control- group data among the devices of the first group and the devices of the second group.
Seed discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of devices further includes a second group of devices that are functionally interrelated with each other, wherein the devices of the second group are also provisioned with the set of control-group data, the set of control-group data 47 additionally (iv) identifying the devices of the second group, (v) defining one or more functional interrelationships between the devices of the second group, and (vi) indicating an operational state of at least one device of the second group, wherein the control-group data is further usable by the devices of the second group as a basis to control operation of the devices of the second group (Tables 1-3 show control-group data),
the method further comprising: responsive to the given device of the first group detecting a change to the control-group data, propagating the change from the first group to the second group, to synchronize the control- group data among the devices of the first group and the devices of the second group (Para.[0116] A request may be initiated by the RM Service to send a notification to an IoT entity if/when a specified trigger condition is met (e.g., relationship is established, modified, or torn-down between IoT entities)).
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include sending information on a change of members in a group as taught by Seed in order to reduce overhead and burden on IoT entities (Seed Para.[0114]).
Re claim 9:
As discussed above, Ottaviano meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the change of the control-group data propagated to the second group represents a change of the operational state of the at least one device of the first group.
Seed discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the change of the control-group data propagated to the second group represents a change of the operational state of the at least one device of the first group (Tables 1-3 show control-group data and Para.[0116] A request may be initiated by the RM Service to send a notification to an IoT entity if/when a specified trigger condition is met (e.g., relationship is established, modified, or torn-down between IoT entities)),
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include sending information on a change of members in a group as taught by Seed in order to reduce overhead and burden on IoT entities (Seed Para.[0114]).
Re claim 10:
As discussed above, Ottaviano meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein synchronizing control-group data facilitates later restoration of the control-group data.
Seed discloses the method of claim 1, wherein synchronizing control-group data facilitates later restoration of the control-group data (Para.[0079] An RM Service may initiate a request to the SL, on behalf of IoT entities involved in a relationship, to CREATE, RETRIEVE, UPDATE, or DELETE one or more resources hosted by the SL or an IoT entity. The requests may be initiated as a result of RM Actions defined within RM Policies – Examiner Note: Retrieving is restoration),
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include sending information on a change of members in a group as taught by Seed in order to reduce overhead and burden on IoT entities (Seed Para.[0114]).
Re claim 11:
As discussed above, Ottaviano meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising provisioning the devices of the first group with the set of control-group data.
Seed discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising provisioning the devices of the first group with the set of control-group data (Para.[0221] In a oneM2M embodiment, the RM CSF may support an RM Policy resource such as the example <rmPolicy> resource shown in FIG. 11. A<rmPolicy> resource may be created, updated, and deleted by an AE or CSE or provisioned into the RM CSF using out-of-band mechanisms, such as device management, for example. A<rmPolicy> resource may support attributes as defined in Table 4, which are based on the RM Policy attribute definitions defined in Table 1, above),
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include provisioning group control data as taught by Seed in order to reduce overhead and burden on IoT entities (Seed Para.[0114]).
Re claim 12:
Ottaviano discloses the method of claim 11, wherein provisioning the devices of the first group with the control-group data comprises downloading the control-group data from an online application marketplace and providing the downloaded control-group data to each device of the first group (Para.[0030] smart phone application 124 and Para.[0040] Once the timer has expired (308:Y), then at 310, the leader IoT device 102′ may begin listening for commands from the remote control console 120 and/or the smart phone 123. If a command is received, the leader IoT device 102′ may perform the command at operation 312 (e.g., any command supported by the IoT device, such as on/off, increase illumination, change color, etc. for embodiments where the IoT device is a smart light bulb) The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314. Those other devices may respond to this rebroadcast by also performing the command received at 312).
As shown above, Ottaviano discloses listening to a command form a smart phone application.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose downloading from an online application marketplace. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that downloading smart phone applications and data from an online marketplace is well-known for smart phone applications.
Re claim 13:
As discussed above, Ottaviano meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Ottaviano does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 11, wherein provisioning the devices of the first group with the control-group data comprises receiving user input establishing the control-group data and providing the established control-group data to each device of the first group.
Seed discloses the method of claim 11, wherein provisioning the devices of the first group with the control-group data comprises receiving user input establishing the control-group data and providing the established control-group data to each device of the first group (Para.[0265] An RM user interface may be implemented to assist a user with configuration of RM Policies and to receive notifications from the RM Service of established, modified, or torn-down relationships between IoT entities. The user interface may allow a user to configure RM Trigger Criteria and RM Actions that define a type of a relationship, criteria for establishing, modifying, or tearing-down the relationship, and actions that the RM Service performs when a relationship is established, modified, or torn down. The user interface may also display a list of one or more established relationships between IoT entities. For example, FIG. 14 shows an example user interface for the Relationship-based Smart City embodiment described herein and Para.[0116] A request may be initiated by the RM Service to send a notification to an IoT entity if/when a specified trigger condition is met (e.g., relationship is established, modified, or torn-down between IoT entities)),
Ottaviano and Seed are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ottaviano to include receiving user input to establish control-group data as taught by Seed in order to reduce overhead and burden on IoT entities (Seed Para.[0114]).
Re claim 14: Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1. Ottaviano further discloses at least one processor; at least one non-transitory data storage; and program instructions stored in the at least one non-transitory data storage and executable by the at least one processor (Para.[0045] For example, the present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product at any possible technical detail level of integration. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention. The computer readable program instructions can be stored and executed on a single computer or divided amongst different computers, at the same location or different locations, for storage and execution).
Re claim 15:
Ottaviano discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the system is distributed among the devices of the first group (Para.[0040] The leader IoT device 102′ may also rebroadcast the command and its group identifier to any/all the follower IoT devices 102 in its ad hoc network in some embodiments at 314. Those other devices may respond to this rebroadcast by also performing the command received at 312).
Re claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 17: Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 18: Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Re claim 19: Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant contends the Examiner did not establish prima facie unpatentability because the recited claim language was not addressed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed during the interview and summarized by Applicant, the preamble was not given patentable weight because the limitations were written as intended use in the preamble. The present claim amendments move the limitations to the body of the claim and positively recite what is included in the control-group data and have thus been addressed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,14, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471