DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. D2 Explicitly teaches “or example, some operations that would use significant power may be deferred at times when temperature and/or power consumption approach a limit, while more important operations and/or operations using less power may continue to be performed.” Although D1 does not explicitly teach peak current period the art explicitly teaches peak power period and as Power is equal to current times Voltage then in most of the cases (while voltage is constant ) power limit will mean current limit. And peak current period is corresponds to period when power approaches to a limit. Also D2 teaches a temperature aggressor which consumes a lot of power can be switched off while others continue to operate and hence the power which is not used by aggressor anymore may be provided to support other circuits. (see col 17 and 18) Controlling power is not just providing the power but rather increasing or decreasing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20150109148 A1 in view of D2 US 10228746 B1.
Regarding claim 1 D1 teaches
1. An object detection device comprising:
a light emitter that emits laser light as irradiation light;[0008](lidar in cell phone)
a light receiver that receives light including reflected light of the irradiation light;([0008] lidar in cell phone)
a plurality of constituents(implicit cell phone has plurality of components which are used in lidar operation) that perform operations to detect information on an object through operations of the light emitter and the light receiver and that have an increased current period(when lidar is operational the power consumption is increased) in which a consumed current is a current larger than an average current(the power consumption is larger than average power consumption when the phone is not in use);
a common power supply that supplies power to the plurality of constituents; and(implicit battery of the phone)
but does not explicitly teach
a controller that controls the operations of the plurality of constituents so as to make a current output from the common power supply less than a predetermined upper-limit current.
D2 teaches
Cell phone(col 1 lines 20-32) which has plurality of components (fig. 11)
a controller(1010) that controls the operations of the plurality of constituents so as to make a current output from the common power supply less than a predetermined upper-limit current.(col 17 lines 29-46 and col 18-19)
wherein the plurality of constituents include at least one standard constituent element having, as the increased current period, a peak current period that occurs with a constant period, andthe controller adjusts a current supplied from the common power supply to another constituent element than the standard constituent element on the basis of the peak current period of the standard constituent element so as not to overlap the increased current period of other constituent elements with the peak current period, and the controller is configured to control other constituent elements to be OFF during the peak current period of the standard constituent element, and to allow other constituent elements to be ON during a period other than the peak current period of the standard constituent element without overlapping ON periods between other constituent elements. (col 17 lines 29-46 and col 18-19)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D2 in order to operate the phone in efficient power and temperature limits and avoid damage to the phone or malfunction due to not enough power.
Regarding claim 3, 3 D1 does not teach but D2 teaches
3. The object detection device according to claim 2, wherein the controller adjusts timing of supplying the current from the common power supply to other constituent elements in a period between the peak current periods. .(implicit / obvious col 17 lines 29-46 For example, some operations that would use significant power may be deferred at times when temperature and/or power consumption approach a limit)
4. The object detection device according to claim 2, wherein the controller adjusts an amount of the current supplied from the common power supply to other constituent elements in the period between the peak current periods. .(implicit / obvious col 17 lines 29-46 For example, some operations that would use significant power may be deferred at times when temperature and/or power consumption approach a limit)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D2 in order to operate the phone in efficient power and temperature limits and avoid damage to the phone.
Regarding claim 5, 6 Although D1 does not teach
5. The object detection device according to claim 2, comprising:
a scanner that corresponds to the standard constituent element and performs reciprocating scanning with the irradiation light; and(using scanner in lidar system is well known in the art to scan the area and build the image of surrounding)
D2 teaches
a lemitter temperature adjusting section that corresponds to the other constituent element and adjusts temperature of the light emitter. (col 17 lines 29-46)
6. The object detection device according to claim 2, comprising:
a light receiver temperature adjusting section that corresponds to the other constituent element and adjusts temperature of the light receiver. (col 17 lines 29-46)
a light emitter temperature adjusting section that adjusts temperature of the light emitter, and a light receiver temperature adjusting section that adjusts temperature of the light receiver, both the temperature adjusting sections corresponding to other constituent elements. (col 17 lines 29-46)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D2 in order to operate the phone in efficient power and temperature limits and avoid damage to the phone.
10. The object detection device according to claim 3, wherein consumed power of the standard constituent element is larger than consumed power of the other constituent element.(as selection is not defined Example can call whatever element as standard and other and select the in such way that condition is satisfied so nopatentable weight )
Claim(s) 8, 9 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20150109148 A1 in view of D2 US 10228746 B1 further in view of D3 US 20210199806 A1.
Regarding claims 8, 9 combination of D1 and D2 teaches
8. The object detection device according to claim 5, further comprising a window through which the irradiation light is emitted to an outside and the reflected light is incident from the outside, (inherent for lidar )
temperature adjusting section that adjusts temperature of different elements(col 17 lines 29-46)
a scanner that corresponds to the standard constituent element and performs reciprocating scanning with the irradiation light; (obvious component of the lidar)
But does not teach
D3 teaches
Scanner [0033]
a window temperature adjustment [0041]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D3 in order to de-ice or reduce the likelihood of water condensation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645