DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/6/2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the cited U.S. patent publication entry is missing publication data and inventor(s). It has been placed in the application file, but not all of the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an object information acquisition unit configured to repeatedly acquire..”;
“a roadside object extraction unit configured to extract”…; and
“an axis deviation angle estimation unit configured to estimate…” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure is found described at page 9 of the specification (e.g. processor) and throughout the specification (algorithm) in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 7-9 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,228,681. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims clearly anticipate the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Concerning claim 8, the claim requires map information to be “used”, “when map information indicating the travel path and an area around the travel path includes information on a position of the roadside object”. However the claim is directed to a radar device; no map information is previously introduced. It is not clear if map information does in fact “indicate” as claimed, or what limitation this condition puts on the radar itself. Is it the intent that the radar device includes stored map information? The metes and bounds of the limitation imposed on the radar by the “wherein” statement are not clear.
Similarly concerning claim 9, the claim requires “the vertical axis deviation angle is estimated when the radar device includes a front radar device… and a rear radar device”. With the use of “when”, it is not clear if the radar device does in fact include front and rear radar devices. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as though they are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Breddermann et al. (US 2022/0349995).
Concerning claim 1, Breddermann discloses a radar device comprising at least computer (300) and corresponding software ([0042]) to implement the claimed axis deviation estimation device for estimating an axis deviation of the radar device when the radar device is mounted on a moving object, the radar device comprising: an object information acquisition unit configured to (0035]) repeatedly acquire object information including an object distance (105) and an object azimuth angle (106), the object distance being a distance between the radar device and a reflection object corresponding to a reflection point of a radar wave that is detected by the radar device, the object azimuth angle being an azimuth angle at which the reflection object is located (notably, while Breddermann emphasizes elevation angle, it is implicitly taught that azimuth information is likewise acquired, e.g. at least in the embodiment where a reference object such as a guardrail on the side of the road is detected over time, as without resolution in azimuth it would not be possible to associate reflections as being from the same reference object, [0038], [0020]; a conventional feature of vehicle FMCW radar [0036]);
a roadside object extraction unit configured to extract roadside object information from the object information based on a predetermined extraction condition, the roadside object information being information on the reflection point on a roadside object provided in accordance with a predetermined condition on a side of a travel path at a higher position than the travel path in a direction in which the travel path extends, the travel path being a path in which the moving object travels ([0020]; “Furthermore, the reference object can be such an object for which the elevation angle (which is to say the direction of the object) is greater than 0, and thus above the vehicle.”; and
an axis deviation angle estimation unit configured to estimate a vertical axis deviation angle from the roadside object information including information on a plurality of the reflection points, the vertical axis deviation angle being an angle of deviation of an actual mounting direction from a reference mounting direction in a vertical direction, the actual mounting direction being an actual direction of the radar device, the reference mounting direction being a direction of the radar device when the radar device is mounted in a reference state ([0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Breddermann discloses the claimed constant position in a height direction ([0019]).
Regarding claim 3, Breddermann performs the claimed straight line approximation (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Breddermann discloses estimating when the moving object is traveling in a straight line ([0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breddermann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Treptow et al. (US2016/0161597).
Breddermann is not found to disclose weighting roadside object information located more than a predetermined distance away from the moving object. Treptow discloses determining elevation axis deviation by weighting information on objects more that a predetermined distance away (e.g. [0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to weight information more than a preset distance away in the invention of Breddermann to ensure reflections from objects such as a trailer of the moving vehicle or other unwanted sources are not mistakenly used for deviation estimation.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breddermann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shingyoji (US2010/0295722)
Breddermann is not found to indicate that when a degree of variation in position of reflection points on the roadside object is a predetermined value or more the axis deviation estimation unit is configured not to determine the deviation angle. However, determining variation in data and refraining from making calculations based on highly variable data was a well known concept demonstrated for example by in a vehicle radar application by Shingyoji ([0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Breddermann to determine variation in the position of the reflection points and not to estimate the deviation angle when it is above a predetermined value so as not to generate erroneous angle corrections, e.g. due to multiple reflections as demonstrated by Shingyoji with predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breddermann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maucher et al. (US 2021/0303879).
Breddermann does not disclose map information used to extract the roadside object information. However, employing maps, including guard rails to support vehicle sensing systems was a known practice as demonstrated by Maucher (e.g. [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include map information in extracting the roadside object information of Breddermann with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve processing with knowledge of the surface of the reflection object as suggested by Maucher ([0016]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breddermann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuriyama et al. (US 2022/0289245).
Breddermann discloses a rear radar device and is not found to disclose that the radar device includes both a front and a side radar. Kuriyama discloses a similar radar axis deviation estimation device which also relies on stationary objects such as guardrails. Kuriyama discloses both front and side radars (10A, 10B; Fig 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to add front and side radar devices to the radar device of Breddermann for the conventional advantage of monitoring the entire vehicle periphery (Kuriyama [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art relates to axis deviation angle estimation in the area of vehicle sensor technology.
/MATTHEW M BARKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646