DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 4/22/2026. Claims 1, 3, 17, and 27-29 have
been amended. Claim 4 have been canceled. Claim 31 have been added. Claims 1-3, 5-31 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/22/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/22/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 12-17), filed on 4/22/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of
claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot because new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Ganesan et al.) are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11-18, 27-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0146094 Al, hereinafter “Wu”) in view of Sadiq et al. (US 2019/0268118 Al, hereinafter “Sadiq”) and in further view of Ganesan et al. (US 2023/0361955 Al, hereinafter “Ganesan”).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses:
A transmitter user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (An apparatus for wireless communications at a first UE, Wu: [0008]):
one or more memories (apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, Wu: [0008]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (the processor 840 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller, Wu: [0179]):
transmit, to a receiver UE, a request for sensing information, wherein the request for sensing information includes (the first UE may first transmit a request message (e.g., a first message) to the second UE. In some cases, this request message may include a set of parameters for the first UE, such as transmit or receive capabilities of the first UE. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Wu: [0005], [0087]):
an indication that the receiver UE is to perform sensing using a first spatial filtering coefficient quasi co-located with a second spatial filtering coefficient of a select beam having a beam direction of one or more transmit beam directions of one or more transmit beams configured for communications between the transmitter UE and the receiver UE (Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam or receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. UE may transmit to the second UE a radio resource configuration message including a request to establish a unicast connection over a sidelink. a receiving UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by a base station 105 or a transmitting UE 115 in different directions, and the receiving UE 115 may report to the base station 105 or the transmitting UE 115 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality, Wu: [0005], [0086]-[0089], [0139], [0167]); and
Wu does not explicitly disclose:
receive, from the receiver UE based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions, one or more resource sets associated with the select beam.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sadiq teaches:
receive, from the receiver UE based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions, one or more resource sets associated with the select beam (a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using. the second wireless device may update the resource set any time an active transmit beam of the first wireless device changes. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station or a receiving device, such as a UE) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station. The resource set may include an identifier of a reference signal that is associated with an active transmit beam. an identifier of a reference signal that is associated with the currently active transmit beam being used for a channel may refer to the transmit beam being used for the channel being the same as the transmit beam being used for the reference signal. the first wireless device may maintain the special resource set of the CSI resource setting that is associated with some or all of the active transmit beams of the second wireless device, Sadiq: [0009], [0043], [0063]-[0064], [0087]-[0091], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu in view of Sadiq in order to further modify receiving UE based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions, one or more resource sets associated with the select beam from the teachings of Sadiq.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using (Sadiq: [0009]).
Yet, Wu in view of Sadiq does not explicitly disclose:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed (a TCI state indicating an RX spatial filter and/or RX beam used for receiving 1st sidelink control information (SCI) may be signaled to an RX UE as part of PC5 RRC signaling (or PC5-S signaling). at least two TCI states may be configured for an index such that one TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSSCH (e.g.,along with SCI) from the TX UE to the RX UE and the second TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSFCH from the RX UE to the TX UE, Ganesan: [0081]-[0083], [0110]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu and Sadiq in view of Ganesan in order to further modify one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed from the teachings of Ganesan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there may be beam establishment and best beam feedback reception for unicast with channel state information ("CSI") reference signal ("RS")
("CSI-RS") transmission, beamforming for the transmission of 1st sidelink control information ("SCI"), 2nd SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel ("PSSCH"), configuration of sidelink dedicated transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") table for unicast, TCI and/or cast type state indication in SCI for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and a beamforming aspect for physical sidelink feedback channel ("PSFCH") transmission and TX UE may signal a dedicated sidelink TCI table configuration to be used during sidelink unicast communication using PC5 RRC signaling in various embodiments (Ganesan: [0052], [0080]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the request for the one or more resource sets is a request for the receiver UE to perform sensing based at least in part on the one or more transmit beam directions and to transmit the sensing information to the transmitter UE (data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 or a first UE 115 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a second UE. receiving UE 115 may report to the base station 105 or the transmitting UE 115 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality, Wu: [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more transmit beam directions correspond to one or more transmit beam directions associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE (Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105, a first UE 115, or a receiving device, such as a second UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Wu: [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more transmit beam directions correspond to one or more transmit beam directions to be used by the receiver UE for performing a sensing operation (receiving device may use a single receive beam to receive along a single beam direction (e.g., when receiving a data signal). The single receive beam may be aligned in a beam direction determined based at least in part on listening according to different receive beam directions (e.g., a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio, or otherwise acceptable signal quality based at least in part on listening according to multiple beam directions), Wu: [0089]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit traffic information that indicates at least one of a payload size, an estimated modulation coding scheme, a periodicity, or a priority associated with a transmission (Receiver 510 may receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels ( e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to beam reporting for active beams, etc.), Wu: [0118])
Regarding claim 9, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
transmit the request for the sensing information periodically based at least in part on a configured interval or an interval that is indicated by radio resource control information (To maintain this unicast connection on sidelink 230, UE 115-a and/or UE 115-b may transmit a keep alive message (e.g., RRCDirectLink:Alive message, a fourth RRC message, etc.). In some cases, the keep alive message may be triggered periodically or ondemand (e.g., event-triggered), Wu: [0120]).
Wu in view of Ganesan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the sensing information, are configured to transmit the request for the sensing information in accordance with a transmission occasion, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the sensing information in accordance with the transmission occasion, are configured to:
transmit the request for the sensing information each time that a transport block is to be transmitted by the transmitter UE; or
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sadiq teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the sensing information, are configured to transmit the request for the sensing information in accordance with a transmission occasion, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the sensing information in accordance with the transmission occasion, are configured to (Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station. UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality, Sadiq: [0063]-[0064]]):
transmit the request for the sensing information each time that a transport block is to be transmitted by the transmitter UE (first wireless device may be configured with CSI reference signal (RS) resources, SS/PBCH block resources, or both CSI-RS and SS/PBCH block resources, Sadiq: [0098]-[0099]); or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu and Ganesan in view of Sadiq in order to further modify transmitting the request for the sensing information in accordance with the transmission occasion and transmitting the request for the sensing information each time that a transport block is to be transmitted by the transmitter UE from the teachings of Sadiq.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using (Sadiq: [0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive resource information from the receiver UE that indicates a plurality of resources for performing a transmission (the request message, the response message, and the connection complete message may be transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. Additionally, the unicast connection may be established based on parameters (e.g., capabilities, connection parameters, etc.) for the first UE and/or the second UE that are transmitted in the respective request message and/or response message, Wu: [0067], [0133]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select a resource from the plurality of resources, and perform a transmission of one or more packets via the selected resource (the request message, the response message, and the connection complete message may be transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. Additionally, the unicast connection may be established based on parameters (e.g., capabilities, connection parameters, etc.) for the first UE and/or the second UE that are transmitted in the respective request message and/or response message, Wu: [0067], [0133]).
Regarding claim 13, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to select the resource from the plurality of resources, are configured to combine one or more transmitter UE resources with the plurality of resources to generate a combined resource set, and select the resource from the combined resource set (a wireless communications resource may refer to a combination of a radiofrequency spectrum resource, a time resource, and a spatial resource (e.g., spatial layers), and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate for communications with a UE. one or more PHY layer parameters may include one or more of a transmit format for the unicast connection, a radio resource configuration for the unicast connection, or a supported band for the unicast connection., Wu: [0099], [0133]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify a sleep occasion or a sleep cycle based at least in part on resource information that is received from the receiver UE (MAC CE, or a discontinous reception (DRX) cycle may be used. entering a power saving "deep sleep" mode when not engaging in active communications, or operating over a limited bandwidth (e.g., according to narrowband communications), Wu: [0076], [0124]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication of the sleep occasion or the sleep cycle to the receiver UE (UEs 115 may be configured to employ operating modes that reduce power consumption. power conservation techniques for UEs 115 include entering a power saving "deep sleep" mode when not engaging in active communications, or operating over a limited bandwidth (e.g., according to narrowband communications), Wu: [0076]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the transmitter UE is configured to enable or disable sensing operations by the transmitter UE, and wherein transmitting the request for the sensing information comprises transmitting the request for the sensing information based at least in part on receiving a packet from an upper layer device (the connection establishment 225 may be a third RRC message (e.g., an RRCDirectConnectionSetupComplete message). Each of the connection request 215, the connection response 220, and the connection establishment 225 may use a basic capability when being transported from one of the UEs 115 to the other UE 115 to enable each UE 115 to be able to receive and decode a corresponding transmission (e.g., RRC message), Wu: [0115]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses:
A receiver user equipment (UE) for wireless communication at a receiver user equipment (UE), comprising (An apparatus for wireless communications at a second UE, Wu: [0033]):
one or more memories (The apparatus may include a processor, memory, Wu: [0033]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, Wu: [0033]):
receive, from a transmitter UE, a request for sensing information, wherein the request for sensing information includes (the first UE may first transmit a request message (e.g., a first message) to the second UE. In some cases, this request message may include a set of parameters for the first UE, such as transmit or receive capabilities of the first UE. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Wu: [0005], [0087]):
an indication that the receiver UE is to perform sensing using a first spatial filtering coefficient quasi co-located with a second spatial filtering coefficient of a select beam having a beam direction of one or more transmit beam directions of one or more transmit beams configured for communications between the transmitter UE and the receiver UE (Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam or receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. UE may transmit to the second UE a radio resource configuration message including a request to establish a unicast connection over a sidelink. a receiving UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by a base station 105 or a transmitting UE 115 in different directions, and the receiving UE 115 may report to the base station 105 or the transmitting UE 115 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality, Wu: [0005], [0086]-[0089], [0139], [0167]): and
transmit, to the transmitter UE, an indication of the one or more resource sets associated with the select beam (receiving UE may report to the transmitting UE an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality. UE may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions or transmitting a signal in a single direction, Wu: [0087]-[0088]).
Wu does not explicitly disclose:
perform a sensing operation associated with the select beam; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sadiq teaches:
perform a sensing operation associated with the select beam (The second wireless device may perform channel measurements on the reference signals that are identified in the resource set and transmit feedback signals to the first wireless device based on the channel measurements. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Sadiq: [0009], [0063]-[0064]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu in view of Sadiq in order to further modify performing a sensing operation associated with the select beam from the teachings of Sadiq.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using (Sadiq: [0009]).
Yet, Wu in view of Sadiq does not explicitly disclose:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed (a TCI state indicating an RX spatial filter and/or RX beam used for receiving 1st sidelink control information (SCI) may be signaled to an RX UE as part of PC5 RRC signaling (or PC5-S signaling). at least two TCI states may be configured for an index such that one TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSSCH (e.g.,along with SCI) from the TX UE to the RX UE and the second TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSFCH from the RX UE to the TX UE, Ganesan: [0081]-[0083], [0110]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu and Sadiq in view of Ganesan in order to further modify one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed from the teachings of Ganesan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there may be beam establishment and best beam feedback reception for unicast with channel state information ("CSI") reference signal ("RS")
("CSI-RS") transmission, beamforming for the transmission of 1st sidelink control information ("SCI"), 2nd SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel ("PSSCH"), configuration of sidelink dedicated transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") table for unicast, TCI and/or cast type state indication in SCI for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and a beamforming aspect for physical sidelink feedback channel ("PSFCH") transmission and TX UE may signal a dedicated sidelink TCI table configuration to be used during sidelink unicast communication using PC5 RRC signaling in various embodiments (Ganesan: [0052], [0080]).
Regarding claim 18, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the request for the sensing information is not multiplexed with data (the request message, the response message, and the connection complete message may be transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, Wu: [0067]).
Regarding claim 27, Wu discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter user equipment, comprising (UE) (A method of wireless communications at a first UE (e.g., an initiating UE), Wu: [0007]):
transmitting, to a receiver UE, a request for sensing information wherein the request for sensing information includes (the first UE may first transmit a request message (e.g., a first message) to the second UE. In some cases, this request message may include a set of parameters for the first UE, such as transmit or receive capabilities of the first UE. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Wu: [0005], [0087]):
an indication that the receiver UE is to perform sensing using a first spatial filtering coefficient quasi co-located with a second spatial filtering coefficient of a select beam having a beam direction of one or more transmit beam directions of one or more transmit beams configured for communications between the transmitter UE and the receiver UE (Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam or receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. UE may transmit to the second UE a radio resource configuration message including a request to establish a unicast connection over a sidelink. a receiving UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by a base station 105 or a transmitting UE 115 in different directions, and the receiving UE 115 may report to the base station 105 or the transmitting UE 115 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality, Wu: [0005], [0086]-[0089], [0139], [0167]); and
Wu does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from the receiver UE based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions, one or more resource sets associated with the select beam.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sadiq teaches:
receiving, from the receiver UE based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions, one or more resource sets associated with the select beam (a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using. the second wireless device may update the resource set any time an active transmit beam of the first wireless device changes. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station or a receiving device, such as a UE) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station. The resource set may include an identifier of a reference signal that is associated with an active transmit beam. an identifier of a reference signal that is associated with the currently active transmit beam being used for a channel may refer to the transmit beam being used for the channel being the same as the transmit beam being used for the reference signal. the first wireless device may maintain the special resource set of the CSI resource setting that is associated with some or all of the active transmit beams of the second wireless device, Sadiq: [0009], [0043], [0063]-[0064], [0087]-[0091], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu in view of Sadiq in order to further modify receiving UE based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions, one or more resource sets associated with the select beam from the teachings of Sadiq.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using (Sadiq: [0009]).
Yet, Wu in view of Sadiq does not explicitly disclose:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed (a TCI state indicating an RX spatial filter and/or RX beam used for receiving 1st sidelink control information (SCI) may be signaled to an RX UE as part of PC5 RRC signaling (or PC5-S signaling). at least two TCI states may be configured for an index such that one TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSSCH (e.g.,along with SCI) from the TX UE to the RX UE and the second TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSFCH from the RX UE to the TX UE, Ganesan: [0081]-[0083], [0110]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu and Sadiq in view of Ganesan in order to further modify one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed from the teachings of Ganesan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there may be beam establishment and best beam feedback reception for unicast with channel state information ("CSI") reference signal ("RS")
("CSI-RS") transmission, beamforming for the transmission of 1st sidelink control information ("SCI"), 2nd SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel ("PSSCH"), configuration of sidelink dedicated transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") table for unicast, TCI and/or cast type state indication in SCI for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and a beamforming aspect for physical sidelink feedback channel ("PSFCH") transmission and TX UE may signal a dedicated sidelink TCI table configuration to be used during sidelink unicast communication using PC5 RRC signaling in various embodiments (Ganesan: [0052], [0080]).
Regarding claim 28, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 27 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more transmit beam directions correspond to one or more transmit beam directions associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE or one or more transmit beam directions to be used by the receiver UE for performing a sensing operation (Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105, a first UE 115, or a receiving device, such as a second UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Wu: [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 29, Wu discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a receiver user equipment (UE), comprising (A method of wireless communications at a second UE (e.g., a target UE), Wu: [0032]):
receiving, from a transmitter UE, a request for sensing information, wherein the request for sensing information includes (the first UE may first transmit a request message (e.g., a first message) to the second UE. In some cases, this request message may include a set of parameters for the first UE, such as transmit or receive capabilities of the first UE. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Wu: [0005], [0087]):
an indication that the receiver UE is to perform sensing using a first spatial filtering coefficient quasi co-located with a second spatial filtering coefficient of a select beam having a beam direction of one or more transmit beam directions of one or more transmit beams configured for communications between the transmitter UE and the receiver UE (Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam or receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. UE may transmit to the second UE a radio resource configuration message including a request to establish a unicast connection over a sidelink. a receiving UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by a base station 105 or a transmitting UE 115 in different directions, and the receiving UE 115 may report to the base station 105 or the transmitting UE 115 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality, Wu: [0005], [0086]-[0089], [0139], [0167]); and
transmitting, to the transmitter UE, an indication of one or more resource sets associated with the select beam (receiving UE may report to the transmitting UE an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality. UE may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions or transmitting a signal in a single direction, Wu: [0087]-[0088]).
Wu does not explicitly disclose:
performing a sensing operation associated with the select beam; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sadiq teaches:
performing a sensing operation associated with the select beam (The second wireless device may perform channel measurements on the reference signals that are identified in the resource set and transmit feedback signals to the first wireless device based on the channel measurements. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station, Sadiq: [0009], [0063]-[0064]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu in view of Sadiq in order to further modify performing a sensing operation associated with the select beam from the teachings of Sadiq.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using (Sadiq: [0009]).
Yet, Wu in view of Sadiq does not explicitly disclose:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more the transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches:
one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more the transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed (a TCI state indicating an RX spatial filter and/or RX beam used for receiving 1st sidelink control information (SCI) may be signaled to an RX UE as part of PC5 RRC signaling (or PC5-S signaling). at least two TCI states may be configured for an index such that one TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSSCH (e.g.,along with SCI) from the TX UE to the RX UE and the second TCI state is applied for the transmission of PSFCH from the RX UE to the TX UE, Ganesan: [0081]-[0083], [0110]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu and Sadiq in view of Ganesan in order to further modify one or more of a transmission configuration information indicator, a beam codebook indicator, or a precoder index associated with a possible transmission by the transmitter UE indicating the one or more transmit beam directions over which the sensing is to be performed from the teachings of Ganesan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there may be beam establishment and best beam feedback reception for unicast with channel state information ("CSI") reference signal ("RS")
("CSI-RS") transmission, beamforming for the transmission of 1st sidelink control information ("SCI"), 2nd SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel ("PSSCH"), configuration of sidelink dedicated transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") table for unicast, TCI and/or cast type state indication in SCI for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and a beamforming aspect for physical sidelink feedback channel ("PSFCH") transmission and TX UE may signal a dedicated sidelink TCI table configuration to be used during sidelink unicast communication using PC5 RRC signaling in various embodiments (Ganesan: [0052], [0080]).
Regarding claim 31, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 27 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the request for the sensing information is a request for the receiver UE to perform sensing based at least in part on the one or more transmit beam directions and to transmit the one or more resource sets to the transmitter UE (a resource set of the CSI resource setting may be created for active transmit beams of the first wireless device. Generally, the resource set may include a reference signal identifier for some or all of the currently active transmit beam(s) that the first wireless is using. The second wireless device may update the resource set any time an active transmit beam of the first wireless device changes. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station or a receiving device, such as a UE) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station. The resource set may include an identifier of a reference signal that is associated with an active transmit beam. an identifier of a reference signal that is associated with the currently active transmit beam being used for a channel may refer to the transmit beam being used for the channel being the same as the transmit beam being used for the reference signal. the first wireless device may maintain the special resource set of the CSI resource setting that is associated with some or all of the active transmit beams of the second wireless device, Sadiq: [0009], [0043], [0063]-[0064], [0087]-[0091], [0102]).
Claims 6, 10, 19-26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view
of Sadiq and in further view of Ganesan and in further view of Farag (US 2021/0250772 Al, hereinafter “Farag”).
Regarding claim 6, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication of a time window or a resource selection window during which resource information is to be received by the transmitter UE from the receiver UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication of a time window or a resource selection window during which resource information is to be received by the transmitter UE from the receiver UE (sidelink resource may be randomly selected from available sidelink resources for the sidelink resource selection window, Farag: [0012], [0015]-[0017]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify resource selection window during which resource information is to be received from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the sensing information, are configured to transmit a request for sensing information that is multiplexed with data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the sensing information, are configured to transmit a request for sensing information that is multiplexed with data (the first SCI format is multiplexed on a PSCCH and the second SCI format is multiplexed along with SL data on a PSSCH that is transmitted in physical resources indicated by the first SCI format, Farag: [0141], [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify the sensing information that is multiplexed with data from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 18 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine that the receiver UE is capable of performing the sensing operation during a time window based at least in part on scheduling information associated with the receiver UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine that the receiver UE is capable of performing the sensing operation during a time window based at least in part on scheduling information associated with the receiver UE (sidelink resource may be selected from available sidelink resources for the sidelink resource selection time window. gNB schedules a UE on the sidelink and conveys scheduling information to the UE transmitting on the sidelink through a DCI format, Farag: [0012], [0015]-[0017], [0142]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify determining the capability of performing the sensing operation during a time window based from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 20, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan-Farag teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE indicating that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation during the time window.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE indicating that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation during the time window (sidelink resource may be selected from available sidelink resources for the sidelink resource selection time window. physical SL feedback channels conveying hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in response to correct (ACK value) or incorrect (NACK value) transport block receptions in respective PSSCHs, Farag: [0012], [0015]-[0017],[0147]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify transmitting an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE indicating that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation during the time window from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 21, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the request for the sensing information is multiplexed with data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the request for the sensing information is multiplexed with data (the first SCI format is multiplexed on a PSCCH and the second SCI format is multiplexed along with SL data on a PSSCH that is transmitted in physical resources indicated by the first SCI format, Farag: [0141], [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify the sensing information that is multiplexed with data from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 22, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan-Farag teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 21 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE based at least in part on decoding the data, transmit an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE based at least in part on decoding the data and determining that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation, or
transmit first feedback to the transmitter UE associated with the data via a first resource and transmitting second feedback to the transmitter UE associated with the request for the sensing information via a second resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE based at least in part on decoding the data, transmit an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE based at least in part on decoding the data and determining that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation (UE can attempt to decode a transport block (TB) in a PSSCH reception if the UE detects an SCI format scheduling the TB reception through a corresponding PSSCH. if the UE fails to correctly decode the TB, the UE multiplexes a negative acknowledgement (NACK) in a PSFCH transmission, Farag: [0248]-[0251]), or
transmit first feedback to the transmitter UE associated with the data via a first resource and transmitting second feedback to the transmitter UE associated with the request for the sensing information via a second resource (if the UE correctly decodes the TB, the UE multiplexes an ACK in a PSFCH transmission. if the UE does not correctly decode the TB, the UE multiplexes a NACK in a PSFCH transmission, Farag: [0248]-[0251]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify transmitting an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE based at least in part on decoding the data and transmitting feedback to the transmitter UE from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 23, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, to perform the sensing operation associated with the select beam, are configured to sense a channel using the select beam during a time window.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to perform the sensing operation associated with the select beam, are configured to sense a channel using the select beam during a time window (sidelink resource may be randomly selected from available sidelink resources for the sidelink resource selection window, Farag: [0012], [0015]-[0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify performing the sensing operation associated with the select beam and configuring to sense a channel using the select beam during a time window from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 24, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan-Farag teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 23 above.
Wu further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to sense the channel using the select beam, are configured to set a spatial filtering coefficient to a spatial filtering coefficient that is quasi co-located with a candidate receiver beam and to perform the sensing operation for the one or more transmit beam directions during the time window (Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device ( e.g., a base station 105 or a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam or receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device, Wu: [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 25, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication of a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication of a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE (UE can determine preferred resources based on a UE identity (ID), on a data priority level of a sidelink transmission, on a location of the UE, and/or on other UE characteristics, Farag: [0295]-[0297]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify transmitting an indication of a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 26, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan-Farag teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 25above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the preferred resource or the non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE, are configured to transmit the indication of the preferred resource or the non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE at a time after an end of a sensing window.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the preferred resource or the non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE, are configured to transmit the indication of the preferred resource or the non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE at a time after an end of a sensing window (timing restrictions for sidelink resource selection may include sidelink resource occurs no earlier than a maximum delay from an end of the sidelink resource selection window, Farag: [0015]-[0017], [0256]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify transmitting the indication of the preferred resource or the non-preferred resource to the transmitter UE at a time after an end of a sensing window from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Regarding claim 30, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 29 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
further comprising transmitting an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE indicating that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation during a time window.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches:
further comprising transmitting an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE indicating that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation during a time window (sidelink resource may be selected from available sidelink resources for the sidelink resource selection time window. physical SL feedback channels conveying hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in response to correct (ACK value) or incorrect (NACK value) transport block receptions in respective PSSCHs, Farag: [0012], [0015]-[0017],[0147]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Farag in order to further modify transmitting an acknowledgement message to the transmitter UE indicating that the receiver UE is to perform the sensing operation during the time window from the teachings of Farag.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Farag: [0117]).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Sadiq and in further view of Ganesan and in further view of DI GIROLAMO et al. (US 2023/0171738 Al, hereinafter “Di”).
Regarding claim 8, Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the sensing information, are configured to
transmit a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message, sidelink control information (SCI), or a sidelink medium access control (MAC) message, via a sidelink channel, that includes the request for the sensing information;
transmit the sidelink RRC message, the SCI, or the sidelink MAC message, via a dedicated channel for requesting sensing information, that includes the request for the sensing information; or
transmit the request for the sensing information as a sequence via the dedicated channel, wherein a resource associated with the sequence is based at least in part on a transmitter UE identifier, a receiver UE identifier, or a group identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Di teaches:
transmit a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message, sidelink control information (SCI), or a sidelink medium access control (MAC) message, via a sidelink channel, that includes the request for the sensing information (UE may send a request for assistance information. This request may be sent via an RRC message, a MAC CE message, a field in the Sidelink Control Information (SCI), Di: [0129]-[0132]);
transmit the sidelink RRC message, the SCI, or the sidelink MAC message, via a dedicated channel for requesting sensing information, that includes the request for the sensing information (MAC layer may need to consider any configured sidelink grants as well as sensing information, Di: [0081]-[0084]); or
transmit the request for the sensing information as a sequence via the dedicated channel, wherein a resource associated with the sequence is based at least in part on a transmitter UE identifier, a receiver UE identifier, or a group identifier (there are multiple requests from multiple requester UEs, the assistant UE may combine the assistance information and transmit the information to all of Requestor UEs together. the assistant UE may multiplex multiple assistance information and transmit via groupcast or broadcast, Di: [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu-Sadiq-Ganesan in view of Di in order to further modify indicating at least one of a payload size, an estimated modulation coding scheme, a periodicity, or a priority associated with a transmission from the teachings of Di.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because MAC PDU is built by selecting data from the logical channels that have traffic to the destination and each of UEs may implement a transmit path for transmitting in the sidelink to another one of UEs and may implement a receive path for receiving in the sidelink from another one of UEs (Di: [0225]).
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467