DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 10-2021-0039532 A; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a light-emitting device comprising: a first electrode (110) (Fig. 1 and pages 2 and 4-5); a second electrode (180) facing the first electrode (Fig. 1 and pages 2-4); a middle region (a region including 140 and 150 with 150 including an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer) comprising an emission layer (140) between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 1 and pages 2 and 11-12), an electron transport region (the electron transport layer of 150) between the second electrode and the emission layer, and an electron injection layer (the electron injection layer of 150) between the second electrode and the electron transport region (Fig. 1 and pages 11 and 17); and an anti-oxidation layer (171) between the second electrode and the electron transport region (Fig. 1 and pages 2-3 and 18), wherein the electron transport region comprises an inorganic electron transport layer that comprises a metal oxide layer comprising a metal oxide (the electron transport layer of 150 formed of an inorganic metal oxide) (pages 2-3), wherein the electron injection layer comprises Sc, Y, Ce, Tb, Yb, Gd, or any combination thereof (the electron injection layer of 150 formed of a rare earth metal such as Sc) (page 17), wherein the electron injection layer and the anti-oxidation layer comprise different materials from each other (for example, the electron injection layer of 150 formed of Sc and 171 formed of ITO) (pages 17-18), and wherein the second electrode is an Ag electrode (180 formed of Ag) (page 4).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the anti-oxidation layer comprises a transparent conductive oxide (171 formed of ITO) (page 18).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the transparent conductive oxide comprises indium-tin oxide (ITO), aluminum-doped zinc oxide (AZO), indium-zinc oxide (IZO), or a mixture thereof (171 formed of ITO) (page 18).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the anti-oxidation layer is in contact with the second electrode (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the metal oxide of the inorganic electron transport layer is represented by Formula 1: MxOy, Formula 1 wherein, in Formula 1, M is at least one metal or metalloid selected from the group consisting of elements belonging to Groups 1 to 14 of the Periodic Table of Elements, and x and y are each independently an integer from 1 to 5 (page 3, ZnO).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches wherein M comprises Zn, Ti, W, Sn, In, Nb, Fe, Ce, Sr, Ba, In, Al, Nb, Si, Mg, Ga, or a combination thereof (page 3, ZnO).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches wherein the metal oxide of the inorganic electron transport layer is represented by Formula 2: M1αM2βOy, Formula 2 wherein, in Formula 2, M1 and M2 are each independently at least one different metal or metalloid selected from the group consisting of elements belonging to Groups 1 to 14 of the Periodic Table of Elements, and 0<α≤2, 0<β≤2, and 1<y≤5 are satisfied (page 3, BaSnO3).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches wherein M1 comprises Zn, Ti, W, Sn, In, Nb, Fe, Ce, Sr, Ba, In, Al, Nb, or a combination thereof, and M2 comprises Ti, Sn, Si, Mg, Al, Ga, In, or a combination thereof (page 3, BaSnO3).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches that the electron transport region further comprises at least one layer selected from a buffer layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron control layer, and an electron transport layer (page 12).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches wherein the metal oxide is a zinc-containing oxide (page 3, ZnO).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches wherein the inorganic electron transport layer comprises 50 parts by weight or more of the metal oxide based on 100 parts by weight of the entire inorganic electron transport layer (page 3, ZnO).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches wherein the inorganic electron transport layer is organic-free (page 3, ZnO).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches wherein the emission layer comprises quantum dots (141) (page 11).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a method of manufacturing a light-emitting device, the method comprising: providing an emission layer (140) on a first electrode (120) (Fig. 1 and pages 4-5, 11, and 18); providing, on the emission layer, an inorganic electron transport layer (an electron transport layer of 150) comprising a metal oxide (the electron transport layer of 150an inorganic metal oxide) (Fig. 1 and pages 2-3 and 11-12); providing, on the inorganic electron transport layer comprising the metal oxide, an electron injection layer (an electron injection layer of 150) comprising Sc, Y, Ce, Tb, Yb, Gd, or any combination thereof (the electron injection layer of 150 formed of a rare earth metal such as Sc) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 11-12 and 17); providing an anti-oxidation layer (171) on the inorganic electron transport layer (Fig. 1 and pages 2-3 and 18); and forming a second electrode (180) on the anti-oxidation layer (Fig. 1 and pages 2-4), wherein the electron injection layer and the anti-oxidation layer comprise different materials from each other (for example, the electron injection layer of 150 formed of Sc and 171 formed of ITO) (pages 17-18), and wherein the second electrode is an Ag electrode (180 formed of Ag) (page 4).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches that the second electrode is provided by vacuum deposition (pages 2 and 18. For example, 180 formed by a vacuum deposition method).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches wherein the inorganic electron transport layer is provided by inkjet printing of a composition comprising the metal oxide or by vacuum deposition of the metal oxide (paragraphs 2 and 18. For example, the electron transport layer is formed by a vacuum deposition method).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches an electronic apparatus comprising the light-emitting device according to claim 1 (pages 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim.
Regarding claim 4, while Kim does not explicitly teach that the anti-oxidation layer (171) has a thickness of 50 Å to 100 Å, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust and obtain the optimal thickness for the anti-oxidation layer, including the claimed thickness of 50 Å to 100 Å, as a routine experimentation. It has held that discovering an optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches that the anti-oxidation layer formed of a transparent conductive oxide (171 formed of ITO) (page 18). While Kim does not explicitly teach that the anti-oxidation layer is formed by a physical vapor deposition (PVD) process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to deposit a desired layer by the readily available PVD process in the semiconductor fabrication for obtaining the predictable coating/deposition characteristics.
Regarding claim 20, Kim does not explicitly teach further comprising a color filter, a color conversion layer, a touch screen layer, a polarizing layer, or any combination thereof. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include at least one of the color filter, the color conversion layer, the touch screen layer, and the polarizing layer in combination with the light-emitting device for desired usage of the light-emitting device such as the color filter formed on the light-emitting device in order to provide desired light emitting output.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893