Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 12, 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US 20200135677 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a circuit package (Fig. 23), comprising:
a first component (22) comprising a plurality of contact pads (42) on a first surface (See annotated figure);
a second component (71) comprising a plurality of bump interconnects (106 with 96, further citations are provided later in the claim) on a second surface (See annotated figure for surface designation),
wherein each of the plurality of bump interconnects is coupled (coupled at least by 112) to one of the plurality of contact pads on the first surface of the first component and comprises a side surface (See annotated figure for surface designation) extending in a first direction (See annotated figure for direction designation) between the first surface and the second surface (sandwiched between);
a polymer layer (110; [0031]: “formed of a polymer”; [0048]: “candidate materials”) disposed on the side surface of each of the plurality of bump interconnects (directly on) and on the second surface of the second component (“on” in the first direction), surrounding each of the plurality of bump interconnects (laterally surrounding, See annotated figure for direction designation); and
a passivation layer (98. Note: this layer is enclosing, and thereby protecting underlying structures. Thus, it is “a passivation layer”.) disposed between the polymer layer and the second surface of the second component (sandwiched between) around each the plurality of bump interconnects (laterally around, without any specific first direction configuration in relation to the bumps),
wherein each of the plurality of bump interconnects further comprises:
a contact pad (96) comprising a metal layer ([0045]: “seed metal layer…plating RDLs”) having a first diameter (lateral diameter) disposed on the second surface, the contact pad comprising a pad surface having a first area (lateral area) and the first diameter; and
a pillar (106) comprising:
a base surface (See annotated figure for surface designation) coupled to the pad surface (directly coupled) in the first area (completely in the first area of 96); and
the side surface extending from the pad surface (directly from, in the first direction); and
wherein the passivation layer does not extend onto the first area of the pad surface (passivation layer 98 is entirely laterally aside from pad 96 and does not cover any portion of pad 96 in the first direction).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 23 of Chang.
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein: the polymer layer disposed on the second surface comprises a first thickness in the first direction (See annotated figure for measurement arrows); and the polymer layer disposed on the side surface of each of the plurality of bump interconnects extends farther in the first direction than the first thickness (See annotated figure for measurement arrows. Note: the gradually decreasing thickness of layer 110 includes a shape reasonably encompassed by the claim.).
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 2 (Fig. 23), wherein: the side surface of each of the plurality of bump interconnects extends in the first direction a first distance (the entire distance of the side surface) beyond the first thickness of the polymer layer ([0034]: “an intermediate height”; [0048]: “the candidate formation methods, and the candidate structures of protection layer 60”); and the polymer layer disposed on the side surface extends in the first direction at least half of the first distance ([0034]: “Ratio H2/H1 may be equal to 1.0, or in the range between 0.5 and about 1.0”).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein the polymer layer comprises a polyimide ([0031]: “polyimide”).
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein, in each of the plurality of bump interconnects, the polymer layer is disposed directly on a second area of the pad surface of the contact pad (See annotated figure for area designation, layer 110 is directly on this area of pad 96) around the first area and not directly between the base surface and the contact pad in the first direction (polymer layer 110 is only laterally aside the base surface of 106).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein, in each of the plurality of bump interconnects, the passivation layer is not disposed directly between the polymer layer and a second area of the pad surface of the contact pad around the first area (See annotated figure for area designation, no portion of layer 98 is sandwiched between polymer 110 and the area of 96).
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein each of the plurality of bump interconnects further comprises: a contact end of the pillar (See annotated figure for end designation); and a solder tip (112) disposed on the contact end, wherein each of the plurality of bump interconnects coupled to the one of the plurality of contact pads on the first surface of the first component further comprises the solder tip disposed between the contact end of the pillar and the one of the plurality of contact pads (solder tips 112 are sandwiched between each of the pillars 106 and pads 42 in the first direction).
Regarding claim 15, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein: a first one of the first component and the second component comprises a semiconductor die (mapping “a semiconductor die” here to the first component; [0015]: “includes semiconductor substrate”; [0038]: “dies”); and the second one of the first component and the second component comprises one of a semiconductor die, an interposer, and a package substrate (mapping “a semiconductor die” here to the second component component; [0040]: “a semiconductor substrate”; [0041]: “dies”).
Regarding claim 16, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein the plurality of bump interconnects comprise controller collapse chip connect (C4) bumps (the bump interconnects illustrated in the prior art are consistent with Applicant’s definition of C4 bumps in [0057] and Figs. 10-11 of the disclosure).
Regarding claim 17, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein the plurality of bump interconnects comprise a two-dimensional array of bump interconnects (at least a 1x2 array is illustrated with a 1-to-1 correspondence to other bumps 54; [0029]: “arranged as an array or allocated in other repeated patterns”).
Regarding claim 18, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23) integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set-top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smartphone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter (selecting a computer; [0041]: “Central Computing Unit”).
Regarding independent claim 19, Chang discloses a method of fabricating a circuit package (Fig. 23), comprising:
forming a first component (22) comprising a plurality of contact pads (42) on a first surface (See annotated figure);
forming a second component (71) comprising a plurality of bump interconnects (106 with 96, further citations are provided later in the claim) on a second surface (See annotated figure for surface designation),
wherein each of the plurality of bump interconnects couples (couples at least by 112) to one of the plurality of contact pads on the first surface and comprises a side surface (See annotated figure for surface designation) extending in a first direction (See annotated figure for direction designation) between the first surface and the second surface (sandwiched between);
forming a polymer layer (110, [0031]: “formed of a polymer”; [0048]: “candidate materials”) disposed on the side surface of each of the plurality of bump interconnects (directly on) and on the second surface of the second component (“on” in the first direction), surrounding each of the plurality of bump interconnects (laterally surrounding, See annotated figure for direction designation); and
forming a passivation layer (98. Note: this layer is enclosing, and thereby protecting underlying structures. Thus, it is “a passivation layer”.) between the polymer layer and the second surface of the second component (sandwiched between) around each the plurality of bump interconnects (laterally around, without any specific first direction configuration in relation to the bumps),
wherein each of the plurality of bump interconnects further comprises:
a contact pad (96) comprising a metal layer ([0045]: “seed metal layer…plating RDLs”) having a first diameter (lateral diameter) on the second surface and comprising a pad surface having a first area (lateral area) and the first diameter; and
a pillar (106) comprising:
a base surface (See annotated figure for surface designation) coupled to the pad surface (directly coupled) in the first area (completely in the first area of 96); and
the side surface extending from the pad surface (directly from, in the first direction); and
wherein the passivation layer does not extend onto the first area of the pad surface (passivation layer 98 is entirely laterally aside from pad 96 and does not cover any portion of pad 96 in the first direction).
Regarding claim 20, Chang discloses the method of claim 19 (Fig. 23), further comprising: employing thermal compression bonding to couple the plurality of bump interconnects on the second component to the plurality of contact pads on the first component ([0049]: “a reflow process”. Note: A reflow process necessarily includes a thermal component to wet the solder, and a compression component to bring 22 and 71 towards each other, thus, producing the resultant bulged 112 of Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 21, Chang discloses the method of claim 19 (Fig. 23), wherein forming the polymer layer further comprises: spin-coating the polymer layer ([0036]: “spin-on coating”; [0048]: “the formation method, and the structure of protection layer 110 may be selected from the candidate materials, the candidate formation methods, and the candidate structures of protection layer 60”) onto the second surface of the second component (“on” in the first direction) and the side surface (directly on) and an end surface of each of the plurality of bump interconnects (as shown in the method step of Fig. 7, which shows 60 completely covering all exposed surfaces); and etching the polymer layer from the end surface of each of the plurality of bump interconnects (as shown in the method step of Fig. 9; [0037]: “portions…are removed”).
Regarding independent claim 22, Chang discloses a semiconductor die (Fig. 23: 71) configured to be coupled in a circuit package (the package includes at least the collection of 22 and 71), the semiconductor die comprising:
a plurality of bump interconnects (106 with 96, further citations are provided later in the claim) on a surface of the semiconductor die (See annotated figure for surface designation), wherein:
each of the plurality of bump interconnects is configured to couple to a corresponding contact pad (42) on a surface (See annotated figure) of a circuit component (22) of the circuit package; and
each of the plurality of bump interconnects comprises a side surface (See annotated figure for surface designation) extending orthogonal to the surface of the semiconductor die (annotated as “First Direction”, See annotated figure for direction designation);
a polymer layer (110, [0031]: “formed of a polymer”; [0048]: “candidate materials”) disposed on the surface of the semiconductor die (“on” in the first direction) and on the side surface of each of the plurality of bump interconnects (directly on), surrounding each of the plurality of bump interconnects (laterally surrounding, See annotated figure for direction designation); and
a passivation layer (98. Note: this layer is enclosing, and thereby protecting underlying structures. Thus, it is “a passivation layer”.) disposed around each the plurality of bump interconnects (laterally around, without any specific first direction configuration in relation to the bumps),
wherein each of the plurality of bump interconnects further comprises:
a contact pad (96) comprising a metal layer ([0045]: “seed metal layer…plating RDLs”) having a first diameter (lateral diameter) disposed on the surface of the semiconductor die and comprising a pad surface having a first area (lateral area) and the first diameter; and
a pillar (106) comprising a base surface (See annotated figure for surface designation) coupled (directly coupled) to the first area of the pad surface (completely in the first area of 96) and
the side surface extending from the pad surface of the contact pad (directly from, in the first direction); and
wherein the passivation layer does not extend onto the first area of the pad surface (passivation layer 98 is entirely laterally aside from pad 96 and does not cover any portion of pad 96 in the first direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Lin (US 20130069225 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 4 (Fig. 23), however, fails to teach “wherein the polyimide does not comprise a photosensitive polymer” because Chang teaches the polyimide being photosensitive ([0037]: “photo resist”).
Lin discloses a polyimide in the same field of endeavor (170; [0048]: “polyimide”), wherein the polyimide is photosensitive, or does not comprise a photosensitive polymer ([0049]: “developing process” and “blanket etched”, respectively). Modifying the polyimide of Chang, by producing the same resultant structure using the alternative non-photosensitive polyimide method of Lin would arrive at the claimed polyimide configuration.
Since Chang and Lin each teach polyimide firstly conformally covering an entirety of a second component (Chang: as shown in Fig. 7; Lin: Fig. 3h: 170 covers 158 and 122); and secondly being removed from uppermost portions of bump interconnects (Chang: Fig. 9: removed from 56; Lin: 170 becoming 180 when removed from 158), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have readily recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for polyimide configurations. These predictable solutions include photosensitive and non-photosensitive configurations as these may be chosen from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions useful for producing the same resultant patterned polyimide (Lin: [0037]). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation, the resultant polyimide is a patterned polyimide. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try using a different polyimide configuration. Thus, the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technique grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. __, 82USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR). MPEP 2143 (1)(E).
Regarding claim 6, Chang in view of Lin discloses a circuit package (Chang: Fig. 23), further comprising an organic underfill (114; [0050]: “a polymer”) on the polymer layer between the first component and the second component around each of the plurality of bump interconnects.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20210225708 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses the circuit package of claim 1 (Fig. 23), wherein:
each of the plurality of bump interconnects comprises a center axis extending in a longitudinal direction of the bump interconnect (a line running centrally through 106 in the first direction, See dashed reference line); and
a center-to-center pitch distance (See annotated figure for measurement markings) from a center axis of a first bump interconnect to a center axis of a nearest adjacent bump interconnect of the plurality of bump interconnects is between 20 and 30 microns.
Chang, fails to teach specific range endpoints for the center-to-center pitch distance. Thus, Chang fails to teach “a center-to-center pitch distance […] is between 20 and 30 microns”.
Lee discloses bump interconnects (Fig. 6A: 34 including 32 and 33 therein; [0188]: “same specifications as…Fig. 1E”), and further teaches a known suitable range for a center-to-center pitch distance is between 20 and 30 microns ([0126]: “from 20 to 150 micrometers”).
Chang teaches having contact pads with high density (and necessarily the corresponding bump interconnects) is a design incentive that would enable packages with reduced size and increased function ([0001]: “smaller…more functions”). Lee teaches the pitch range is high density ([0013]: “fine pitch metal pads” is referring to analogous structures sharing the same specification; [0176]: “same specifications as…Fig. 1E”, thus each structure includes high density pitch range). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date could have implemented the pitch range of Lee for the pitch of Chang because each pitch is high density. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to include the pitch range of Lee with the bumps of Chang, because it would enable packages with reduced size and increased function (Chang: [0001]: “smaller…more functions”). Doing so would arrive at the claimed pitch configuration and would have had predictable results because each pitch (of Chang and Lee) is a high density pitch applied to similar bump interconnects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have “a center-to-center pitch distance from a center axis of a first bump interconnect to a center axis of a nearest adjacent bump interconnect of the plurality of bump interconnects is between 20 and 30 microns” because it would enable small packages with increased function. MPEP 2143(I)(F).
Regarding claim 14, Chang in view of Lee discloses a circuit package (Chang, Fig. 23), wherein the center-to-center pitch distance is 25 microns (25 microns is squarely within the range of Lee; [0126]: “from 20 to 150 micrometers”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Chang does not disclose that the “patterned passivation layer 44” does not extend onto the "metal pad 42.” In particular, paragraph 0023 of Chang states that “portions of passivation layer 44 may cover the edge portions of the metal pads 42.” For at least this reason, Applicant respectfully submits that Chang does not disclose or suggest the features of claim 1. […]
For at least the above reasons, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1. Claims 19 and 22 recite subject matter similar to that of claim 1 and are also not disclosed or suggested by Chang”. Remarks at pg. 9.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed 3/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 19, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of other structures in the Chang reference meeting the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817