DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 23rd January, 2026.
Claims 1, 13 and 14 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-16 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
The objections to specification have been withdrawn.
The objections to claims 1 and 13 have been withdrawn.
The rejections to claims 13 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14-17, filed on 23rd January 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 14-17, Perenzoni teaches that any lower S/N ratio should be avoided ([0011]-[0013], [0018]-[0022]). As such, Perenzoni also teaches away form an arrangement where the received light intensity determining part obtains “at least once….having an S/N higher than that of the fist received light intensity as…..of times of flights”. Perenzoni likewise does not provide any rationale for modifying Fuji to arrive at the claimed subject matter.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Perenzoni disclosed in paragraph [0079], a further advantage, determined by the fact that the second processing unit 7 is configured so as to cyclically perform, at the moment of each measuring operation Ai, said sequence of actions, consists in a periodical adaption of the position, shape and/or size of said region of interest, constituted by said Nu sensitive unit 4 (equivalent to control part controls the position of region of interest; due to the change of region of interest, expected the sensitivity of the light receiving part will be changed), when the position of the reference object O with respect to the measuring device 1 varies and/or when the light intensity on the receiving means 3 varies due to a change occurred in the external environmental conditions or in the emitted light radiation R itself (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051], emission means 2 are configured to emit, at each time interval I related to each one of the measuring operation Ai (equivalent to control part controls at least one of an intensity of the pulse light emitted from the light emitting part)); [0080], the measuring device 1 of the invention is capable of dynamically varying the position, shape and/or size of said region of interest (equivalent to control part controls the position of region of interest; due to the change of region of interest, expected the sensitivity of the light receiving part will be changed) based on the light condition detected during previous measuring operating A-1 (equivalent to 1st received light intensity), for the purpose of improving the signal-to-noise ratio (equivalent to an S/N ratio higher than that of the 1st received light intensity) and, Consequently, thus increasing precision in the determination of said distance d during each measuring operation Ai (equivalent to 2nd received light intensity). Accordingly, Perenzoni disclosed when the emitted light radiation changes, the control can adjust the position, shape and/or size of region of interest (implies due to the change of region of interest, expected the sensitivity of the light receiving part will be changed) such that the following measurement has higher S/N ratio compared to the previous measurement. Therefore, Fuji modified in view of Perenzoni teaches the claim 1 limitation. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (JP 2019039715 A, hereinafter “Fujii”), modified in view of Perenzoni et al. (US 20190018118 A1, hereinafter “Perenzoni”).
Regarding claim 1, Fujii teaches a rangefinder comprising:
a light emitting part that emits pulsed light a plurality of times in each emission direction (Fujii; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0017], the LD 21 output pulsed laser light; [0040], the object recognition unit 6 recognizes the distance to the object, the position of the object, etc. based on multiple distance data obtained by multiple scans, and generates object information including these recognition results and outputs it to the measurement control unit 5; this implies a multiple scans is conducted by the system);
a light receiving part that receives reflected light of the pulsed light (Fujii; Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0015], a light receiving optical system 12 (receiving the reflected light [0018]) and a detection system 13);
a calculating part that uses a time of flight of the reflected light received by the light receiving part to calculate a measurement target distance, which is a distance to a reflective object that reflects the pulsed light and outputs the reflected light (Fujii; Fig. 1, [0021], a time calculation unit 15 calculates the TOF based on electrical signal generated by the detection system 13 (photoelectrically convers the reflected light and generates an electrical signal [0019]); and
the calculating part includes:
a received light intensity determining part that determines a received light intensity for each of a plurality of times of flight (Fujii; Fig. 14, [0048], shows the relationship between the object distance, the peak intensity of the target peak 85, and the estimated range of the noise voltage. This implies the calculation unit 15 determines a received light intensity for each of the plurality of TOF),
a peak detecting part that detects a time of flight corresponding to a peak of the received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight (Fujii; Fig. 1, [0021], a time calculation unit 15 calculates the TOF based on electrical signal generated by the detection system 13; Fig. 6, [0039], illustrating a method for calculating the TOF Δt of light including an irradiation pulse 81 and light receiving pulse 82 which implies a peak detection process to detect the time on the peak),
a distance calculating part that calculates a distance from the detected time of flight corresponding to the peak (same as above), and
a distance determining part that uses the distance calculated by the distance calculating part to determine the measurement target distance (Fujii; Fig. 1, [0040], the light flight time Δt calculated by the time calculation unit 15 is output to the measurement control unit 5 then sent to the object recognition unit as distance data. The object recognition unit 6 recognizes the distance to the object, the position of the object based on multiple distance data obtained by multiple scans and generates object information including these recognition results and outputs it to the measurement control units), wherein
the distance determining part uses a first distance and a second distance to determine the measurement target distance (Fujii; Fig. 1, [0040], the light flight time Δt calculated by the time calculation unit 15 is output to the measurement control unit 5 then sent to the object recognition unit as distance data. The object recognition unit 6 recognizes the distance to the object, the position of the object based on multiple distance data obtained by multiple scans and generates object information including these recognition results and outputs it to the measurement control units).
Fujii does not teach,
a control part that controls at least one of an intensity of the pulsed light emitted from the light emitting part, and sensitivity of the light receiving part to the reflected light received, wherein
the control part controls at least one of an intensity of the pulsed light emitted from the light emitting part, and the sensitivity of the light receiving part to the reflected light received, so that the received light intensity determining part obtains, at least once in the plurality of times the pulsed light is emitted, a first received light intensity as the received light intensity of each of the plurality of times of flight, and the received light intensity determining part obtains, at least once in the plurality of times the pulsed light is emitted, a second received light intensity having an S/N ratio higher than that of the first received light intensity as the received light intensity of each of the plurality of times of flight, and
a first distance, which is the distance calculated based on the first received light intensity, and a second distance, which is the distance calculated based on the second received light intensity
Perenzoni teaches,
a control part that controls at least one of an intensity of the pulsed light emitted from the light receiving part, and sensitivity of the light receiving part to the reflected light received, (Perenzoni; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051], invention comprises emission means 2 are configured to emit, at each time interval I related to each one of the measuring operation Ai; [0080], disclosed capable of dynamically varying the position, shape and/or size of said region of interest (implies due to the change of region of interest, expected the sensitivity of the light receiving part will be changed) based on the light conditions detected during the previous measuring operation to improving the signal to noise ration. This implies that the previous measuring operation (1st received intensity) has lower SNR than current measuring operation (2nd received intensity), thus improved the SNR (2nd received intensity has Higher SNR than 1st received intensity) after dynamically varying the position, shape and/or size of region of interest) on the light receiving part in which a received light intensity is determined), wherein
the control part controls at least one of an intensity of the pulsed light emitted from the light emitting part, and the sensitivity of the light receiving part to the reflected light received, and the position of the region of interest so that the received light intensity determining part obtains, at least once in the plurality of times the pulsed light is emitted, a first received light intensity as the received light intensity of each of the plurality of times of flight, and the received light intensity determining part obtains, at least once in the plurality of times the pulsed light is emitted, a second received light intensity having an S/N ratio higher than that of the first received light intensity as the received light intensity of each of the plurality of times of flight (Perenzoni; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051], invention comprises emission means 2 are configured to emit, at each time interval I related to each one of the measuring operation Ai; [0080], disclosed capable of dynamically varying the position, shape and/or size of said region of interest (implies due to the change of region of interest, expected the sensitivity of the light receiving part will be changed) based on the light conditions detected during the previous measuring operation to improving the signal to noise ration. This implies that the previous measuring operation (1st received intensity) has lower SNR than current measuring operation (2nd received intensity), thus improved the SNR (2nd received intensity has Higher SNR than 1st received intensity) after dynamically varying the position, shape and/or size of region of interest) on the light receiving part in which a received light intensity is determined), and
a first distance, which is the distance calculated based on the first received light intensity, and a second distance, which is the distance calculated based on the second received light intensity (Perenzoni; [0079], [0080], disclosed capable of dynamically varying the position, shape and/or size of said region of interest (implies due to the change of region of interest, expected the sensitivity of the light receiving part will be changed) based on the light conditions detected during the previous measuring operation to improving the signal to noise ration and consequently, thus increasing precision in the determination of said distance d during each measuring operation. This implies that the previous measuring operation (1st received intensity) has lower SNR than current measuring operation (2nd received intensity) or 2nd received intensity has higher SNR than previous measurement and also implies the distance is calculated for both previous measuring operation and current measuring operation such that can increasing precision in the determination of distance during each measuring operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to dynamically vary the position, shape and/or size of said region of interest (implies due to the change of region of interest, expected the sensitivity of the light receiving part will be changed) based on the light conditions detected during the previous measuring operation to improving the signal to noise ration and consequently, thus increasing precision in the determination of said distance d during each measuring operation (Perenzoni; [0079], [0080]).
Claim(s) 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Sarmast et al. (US 20130050426 A1, hereinafter “Sarmast”).
Regarding claim 2, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 1.
Fujii does not teach, wherein
the control part causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the first received light intensities by causing the light emitting part to emit first pulsed light, and causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the second received light intensities by causing the light emitting part to emit second pulsed light having an intensity higher than an intensity of the first pulsed light.
Sarmast teaches, wherein
the control part causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the first received light intensities by causing the light emitting part to emit first pulsed light, and causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the second received light intensities by causing the light emitting part to emit second pulsed light having an intensity higher than an intensity of the first pulsed light (Sarmast; [0040] In one embodiment, a first light pulse of a first light intensity is projected into the environment 300 and captured by capture device 20. Subsequently, a second light pulse of a second light intensity is projected into the environment 300 and captured by capture device 20. The first light intensity may be of a lower light intensity than the second light intensity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use different intensity for different distance measurement. For instance, lower light intensity may be used to capture depth information associate with close object while higher light intensity may be used to capture depth information associated with a farther object (Sarmast; [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 2, wherein the light emitting part has a first emission mode in which a first irradiated region having a predetermined size is scanned and irradiated with the second pulsed light, and a second emission mode in which a second irradiated region corresponding to a scan area of the first emission mode is irradiated with the first pulsed light (Sarmast; [0040] In one embodiment, a first light pulse of a first light intensity is projected into the environment 300 (equivalent to a first irradiated region equivalent to a predetermined size) and captured by capture device 20. Subsequently, a second light pulse of a second light intensity is projected into the environment 300 (equivalent to a second irradiated region corresponding to a scan area of the first emission mode) and captured by capture device 20. The first light intensity may be of a lower light intensity than the second light intensity; this implies the first emission mode and second emission mode can be emitted into the same region), and
the control part causes the light emitting part to emit the first pulsed light by operating the light emitting part in the second emission mode, and causes the light emitting part to emit the second pulsed light by operating the light emitting part in the first emission mode (same as above; this also implies that the control can emitted two different light emission mode; please also see the claim 2 mapping and rationale).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Sarmast, in view of Maeno et al. (US 20120069319 A1, hereinafter “Maeno”).
Regarding claim 3, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 2, further comprising:
a casing that houses the light emitting part and the light receiving part and provided with a window that transmits the pulsed light and the reflected light (Fujii; [0029], the light projection system 11 and the light receiving optical system 12 are installed in the same housing with opening which are closed by light transmitting windows 75), wherein
Fujii does not teach,
the intensity of the first pulsed light is at such a level that the light receiving part cannot recognize reception of the reflected light of the first pulsed light reflected off the window.
Maeno teaches using the emission window made of a material having a high transparency, and the surface roughness and the haze value of the emission window are set to small values to prevent light scattering on the incident surface and the output surface of the emission window. Further, an anti-reflection film (AR coat) is formed on each of the incident surface and the output surface of the emission window to prevent internal reflection of the emission window (Maeno; [0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the choice of the window with minimal reflection is to decrease the reflected light and prevent the internal reflection of the window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to choose the emission window with minimal reflection (e.g., high transparency, small surface roughness and with AR coating) such that to decrease the reflected light and prevent the internal reflection of the window (Maeno; [0033]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Crawford (US 6650404 B1, hereinafter “Crawford”).
Regarding claim 4, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 1.
Fujii does not teach,
the sensitivity of the light receiving part to received light can be adjusted, and
the control part causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the first received light intensities by decreasing the sensitivity to received light, and causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the second received light intensities by increasing the sensitivity to received light.
Crawford teach,
the sensitivity of the light receiving part to received light can be adjusted, and
the control part causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the first received light intensities by decreasing the sensitivity to received light, and causes the received light intensity determining part to obtain the second received light intensities by increasing the sensitivity to received light (Crawford; column 7, line 39, the receiver will be set for lower sensitivity (higher threshold of detection) for near-field (short-range) echoes, which are generally higher in amplitude, while the receiver will be set to higher sensitivity (lower threshold of detection) for far-field (longer-range) echoes, which are generally weaker. This is known as time-variable gain or sensitivity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include adjust the sensitivity of receiver taught by Crawford with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to adjust the sensitivity (decreasing or increasing) which associated with the different rang condition (short-range or longer-range) (Crawford; column 7, line 39).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Nobayashi (US 20160337576 A1, hereinafter “Nobayashi”).
Regarding claim 5, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 1.
Fujii does not teach, further comprising:
a distance image generating part that generates a distance image, which is an image showing a position and the measurement target distance of the reflective object, wherein
the distance image generating part combines a first distance image including the first distance determined for each emission direction and a second distance image including the second distance determined for each emission direction to generate an integrated distance image.
Nobayashi teaches,
a distance image generating part that generates a distance image, which is an image showing a position and the measurement target distance of the reflective object (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160], first, to generate the first distance image, the fifth image is selected as the standard image, and the sixth image is selected as the reference image. Then to generate the second distance image, the seventh image is selected as the standard image, and the eighth image is selected as the reference image), wherein
the distance image generating part combines a first distance image including the first distance determined for each emission direction and a second distance image including the second distance determined for each emission direction to generate an integrated distance image (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0163], step S107 is a step of integrating the first distance image and the second distance image to generate a signal distance image (integrated distance image)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to using 1st and 2nd image to calculate the distance to the object and generate 1st and 2nd distance image. Using 1st and 2nd confidence images to weight the 1st and 2nd distance image and further integrated both distance image to a single distance image. In other words, the 1st confidence image and the 2nd confidence image are compared, and the 1st and the 2nd distance image are averaged such that the ratio of the distance having a higher confidence becomes higher, whereby the integrated distance image is acquired (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0077], [0158], [0160], [0163]).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Sarmast, in view of Maeno, in view of Nobayashi.
Regarding claim 6, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 3.
Fujii does not teach, further comprising:
a distance image generating part that generates a distance image, which is an image showing a position and the measurement target distance of the reflective object, wherein
the distance image generating part combines a first distance image including the first distance determined for each emission direction and a second distance image including the second distance determined for each emission direction to generate an integrated distance image.
Nobayashi teaches,
a distance image generating part that generates a distance image, which is an image showing a position and the measurement target distance of the reflective object (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160] First, to generate the first distance image, the fifth image is selected as the standard image, and the sixth image is selected as the reference image. Then to generate the second distance image, the seventh image is selected as the standard image, and the eighth image is selected as the reference image), wherein
the distance image generating part combines a first distance image including the first distance determined for each emission direction and a second distance image including the second distance determined for each emission direction to generate an integrated distance image (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0163], step S107 is a step of integrating the first distance image and the second distance image to generate a signal distance image (integrated distance image)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to using 1st and 2nd image to calculate the distance to the object and generate 1st and 2nd distance image. Using 1st and 2nd confidence images to weight the 1st and 2nd distance image and further integrated both distance image to a single distance image. In other words, the 1st confidence image and the 2nd confidence image are compared, and the 1st and the 2nd distance image are averaged such that the ratio of the distance having a higher confidence becomes higher, whereby the integrated distance image is acquired (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0077], [0158], [0160], [0163]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Nobayashi, in view of Drader et al. (US 20150144767 A1, hereinafter “Drader”), in view of Sakimura et al. (US 20220413108 A1, hereinafter “Sakimura”).
Regarding claim 7, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 5,
the distance image generating part generates the first distance image using the first distance calculated based on the first time of flight (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160], first, to generate the first distance image, the fifth image is selected as the standard image, and the sixth image is selected as the reference image; please also see claim 5 mapping and rationale), and
the distance image generating part generates the second distance image using the second distance calculated based on the second time of flight (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160], to generate the second distance image, the seventh image is selected as the standard image, and the eighth image is selected as the reference image; please also see claim 5 mapping and rationale).
Fujii as modified in view of Perenzoni, Nobayashi does not teach,
a first storage part that stores the time of flight corresponding to a maximum received light intensity, and a second storage part that stores a histogram showing the received light intensity for each of the plurality of times of flight, wherein
in response to the received light intensity determining part sequentially determining the first received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight, the received light intensity determining part updates and stores a time of flight corresponding to a higher received light intensity in the first storage part, and
the received light intensity determining part sequentially determines the second received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight, and creates the histogram and stores the created histogram in the second storage part, wherein
the peak detecting part detects the time of flight stored in the first storage part as a first time of flight, which is the time of flight of the peak, and detects a second time of flight, which is a time of flight of the peak, from a histogram obtained by accumulating the histogram stored in the second storage part, and
Drader teaches,
a first storage part that stores the time of flight corresponding to a maximum received light intensity (Drader; [0011], disclosed storing a local maximum value of the intensity of the flux (reflected from a reference object [0010]) and the corresponding time of flight).
in response to the received light intensity determining part sequentially determining the first received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight, the received light intensity determining part updates and stores a time of flight corresponding to a higher received light intensity in the first storage part (Drader; [0010], during the movement, storing multiple time of flight values and the corresponding flux intensities; and constructing the reference curve form the stored values; [0011], the reference curve may be selected from a set of multiple reference curves assigned to different reflectance values, according to the steps of measuring changes in the intensity of flux; storin a local maximum value of the intensity of the flux and the corresponding time of flight; and finding in the set of curves the curve that provides the intensity closest to the stored local maximum value), and
the peak detecting part detects the time of flight stored in the first storage part as a first time of flight, which is the time of flight of the peak (same as above),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include storing and determine the first time of flight based on the received light intensities taught by Drader with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to storage and determine the time of flight based on the received reflected intensity ((Drader; [0010], [0011]).
However, Fujii as modified in view of Perenzoni, Nobayashi, Drader still not teach,
a second storage part that stores a histogram showing the received light intensity for each of the plurality of times of flight, wherein
the received light intensity determining part sequentially determines the second received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight, and creates the histogram and stores the created histogram in the second storage part, wherein
the peak detecting part detects a second time of flight, which is a time of flight of the peak, from a histogram obtained by accumulating the histogram stored in the second storage part, and
Sakimura further teaches,
a second storage part that stores a histogram showing the received light intensity for each of the plurality of times of flight (Sakimura; [0068], the histogram generator accumulates results of the TOF measurement for a plurality of times by TDCs (included in a light receiving device [0024]) within the TDC block and generates a histogram. By virtue of the time of flight being measured for a plurality of times, it is possible to distinguish between a background light and the reflected light of the light outputted from the light source section 7), wherein
the received light intensity determining part sequentially determines the second received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight, and creates the histogram and stores the created histogram in the second storage part (Sakimura; [0068], the histogram generator accumulates results of the TOF measurement for a plurality of times by TDCs within the TDC block and generates a histogram. It should be noted that the histogram generator may average the time of flight measured for a plurality of times to generate a histogram), wherein
the peak detecting part detects a second time of flight, which is a time of flight of the peak, from a histogram obtained by accumulating the histogram stored in the second storage part (Sakimura; [0068], the histogram generator accumulates results of the TOF measurement for a plurality of times. As long as a peak of the histogram is obtained, a distance from the ranging device 1 to the subject OBJ can be calculated), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include storing and determine the first time of flight based on the received light intensities taught by Drader, include storing and determine the second time of flight based on the accumulated histogram generated by the received light intensities taught by Sakimura with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to accumulate results of the time of flight measured for a plurality of times to generate histogram and determine a distance between the ranging device and the subject OBJ based on the peak of the histogram (Sakimura; [0068]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Sarmast, in view of Maeno, in view of Nobayashi, in view of Yano (US 20120288152 A1, hereinafter “Yano”), in view of Afrouzi et al. (US 20190114798 A1, hereinafter “Afrouzi”).
Regarding claim 8, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 6, wherein
the distance image generating part combines:
a first image and a second image to generate the integrated distance image (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], [0160], [0163], step S107 is a step of integrating the first distance image and the second distance image to generate a signal distance image (integrated distance image) please also see claim 6 mapping and rationale).
Fujii as modified in view of Perenzoni, Sarmast, Maeno, Nobayashi does not teach,
a first partial image of the first distance image that shows a position of and a distance to the reflective object within a threshold distance of the rangefinder, and
a second partial image of the second distance image that shows a position of and a distance to the reflective object at a distance larger than the threshold distance from the rangefinder, to
Yano teaches, a first partial image of the first distance image that shows a position of and a distance to the reflective object within a threshold distance of the rangefinder (Yano; [0045], in step S305, the object recognition unit 40 determines whether the partial region image clipped out by the region extraction unit 20 is the recognition target object based on the feature amounts obtained by the feature extraction unit 30. The object recognition unit determines that the partial region image is the object if the distance to the projective plane is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value, and otherwise determines that the partial region image is not the object. The result is output to the object region output unit 50 along with information indicating the position and magnification factor of the partial region that was subjected to processing; this implies that if the distance is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold value, the object will be recorded otherwise the image will be clipped out by the region extraction unit), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include generate a partial image based on the distance is equal to or less then the predetermined threshold taught by Yano with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to extract the object larger than the predetermine distance and keep the object which is equal to or less then the predetermine distance for image process (Yano; [0045]).
However, Fujii as modified in view of Perenzoni, Sarmast, Maeno, Nobayashi, Yano still not teach,
a second partial image of the second distance image that shows a position of and a distance to the reflective object at a distance larger than the threshold distance from the rangefinder, to
Afrouzi teaches, a second partial image of the second distance image that shows a position of and a distance to the reflective object at a distance larger than the threshold distance from the rangefinder (Afrouzi; [0044], line 33, the processor uses thresholding in identifying an area of overlap wherein areas or objects of interest within an image may be identified using thresholding as different area or objects have different ranges of pixel intensity. For instance, an object captured in an image, the object having high range of intensity can be separated from a background having low range of intensity by thresholding wherein all pixel intensities below a certain threshold are discarded or segmented, leaving only the pixels of interest), to
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include generate a partial image based on the distance is equal to or less then the predetermined threshold taught by Yano, include generate a partial image based on the distance is larger than the threshold value taught by Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use threshold value to separate different areas or objects have different ranges of pixel intensity. For instance, an object captured in an image, the object having high range of intensity, can be separated from a background having low range of intensity by thresholding wherein all pixel intensities below a certain threshold are discarded or segmented and leaving only the pixels of interest (Afrouzi; [0044]).
Claim(s) 9 and claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Sarmast, in view of Maeno, in view of Nobayashi, in view of Yano, in view of Afrouzi, in view of Sakimura, in view of Pacala et al. (US 20230176223 A1, hereinafter “Pacala”).
Regarding claim 9, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 8.
Fujii does not teach, wherein
the received light intensity determining part has a histogram generating part that creates a histogram representing the received light intensity for each of a plurality of times of flight, and
the peak detecting part determines a range of times of flight at which the received light intensities are higher than an intensity threshold value in the histogram, and detects a time of flight of a peak of the received light intensities within the determined range.
Sakimura teaches,
the received light intensity determining part has a histogram generating part that creates a histogram representing the received light intensity for each of a plurality of times of flight (Sakimura; [0068] The histogram generator 15, for example, accumulates results of the time of flight measured for a plurality of times by the TDCs within the TDC block 13 and generates a histogram), and
the peak detecting part determines a range of times of flight at which the received light intensities, and detects a time of flight of a peak of the received light intensities within the determined range (Sakimura; [0068], it should be noted that the histogram generator may average the time of flight measured for a plurality of times to generate a histogram. The histogram generator accumulates results of the TOF measurement for a plurality of times. As long as a peak of the histogram is obtained, a distance from the ranging device 1 to the subject OBJ can be calculated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include generate a partial image based on the distance is equal to or less then the predetermined threshold taught by Yano, include generate a partial image based on the distance is larger than the threshold value taught by Afrouzi, include storing and determine the time of flight based on the accumulated histogram generated by the received light intensities taught by Sakimura with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to accumulate results of the time of flight measured for a plurality of times to generate histogram and determine a distance between the ranging device and the subject OBJ based on the peak of the histogram (Sakimura; [0068]).
However, Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, Sarmast, Maeno, Nobayashi, Yano, Afrouzi, Sakimura, still not teach,
at which the received light intensities are higher than an intensity threshold value in the histogram.
Pacala teaches, the received light intensities are higher than an intensity threshold value in the histogram (Pacala; abstract, multiple peaks can be detected using recursive or iterative techniques to identify a largest remaining peak at each stage. Instead of iterating through histogram memory multiple times, a threshold can be pre-calculated based on an estimated ambient noise level, and peaks can be detected in a single pass; [0011], 2nd last sentence, the system may also set a threshold for detecting peaks in the optical measurement using the ambient background noise)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include generate a partial image based on the distance is equal to or less then the predetermined threshold taught by Yano, include generate a partial image based on the distance is larger than the threshold value taught by Afrouzi, include storing and determine the time of flight based on the accumulated histogram generated by the received light intensities taught by Sakimura, include set a threshold to remove the ambient noise taught by Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that instead of iterating through histogram memory multiple times, a threshold can be pre-calculated based on an estimated ambient noise level, and peaks can be detected in a single pass such that the ambient background noise level can be removed from the histogram of photo counts (Pacala; abstract, [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 9, further comprising:
wherein the light emitting part emits the first pulsed light as a first emission of the pulsed light, and emits the second pulsed light as a second and subsequent one or more emissions of the pulsed light (Sarmast; [0040] In one embodiment, a first light pulse of a first light intensity is projected into the environment 300 and captured by capture device 20. Subsequently, a second light pulse of a second light intensity is projected into the environment 300 and captured by capture device 20. The first light intensity may be of a lower light intensity than the second light intensity; please also see claim 2 for mapping and rationale),
the distance image generating part generates the first distance image using the first distance calculated based on the first time of flight (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160], first, to generate the first distance image, the fifth image is selected as the standard image, and the sixth image is selected as the reference image; please also see claim 6 mapping and rationale), and
the distance image generating part generates the second distance image using the second distance calculated based on the second time of flight (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160], to generate the second distance image, the seventh image is selected as the standard image, and the eighth image is selected as the reference image; please also see claim 6 mapping and rationale).
a storage part that stores the received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight (Sakimura; [0068], the histogram generator accumulates results of the TOF measurement for a plurality of times by TDCs within the TDC block and generates a histogram. It should be noted that the histogram generator may average the time of flight measured for a plurality of times to generate a histogram),
the histogram generating part generates the histogram by accumulating a received light intensity obtained within a predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the pulsed light one after another each time the pulsed light is emitted from the first emission to the last emission, and storing an accumulated received light intensity in the storage part (Sakimura; [0068] The histogram generator 15, for example, accumulates results of the time of flight measured for a plurality of times by the TDCs within the TDC block 13 and generates a histogram),
in response to the received light intensity obtained within the predetermined period of time including the time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the first pulsed light of the first emission being stored in the storage part and the histogram being generated, the peak detecting part detects a first time of flight of the peak using the histogram (same as above; [0068], it should be noted that the histogram generator may average the time of flight measured for a plurality of times to generate a histogram. The histogram generator accumulates results of the TOF measurement for a plurality of times. As long as a peak of the histogram is obtained, a distance from the ranging device 1 to the subject OBJ can be calculated; please see claim 9 for mapping and rationale), and
in response to the histogram being generated by accumulating a received light intensity obtained within the predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the first or second pulsed light one after another each time the first or second pulsed light is emitted from the first emission to the last emission, and storing an accumulated received light intensity in the storage part, the peak detecting part detects a second time of flight of the peak using the histogram (same as above), and
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Sarmast, in view of Maeno, in view of Nobayashi, in view of Yano, in view of Afrouzi, in view of Sakimura, in view of Pacala, in view of Huggett (US 20210216046 A1, hereinafter “Huggett”).
Regarding claim 10, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 9, further comprising:
wherein the light emitting part emits the first pulsed light as a first emission of the pulsed light, and emits the second pulsed light as a second and subsequent one or more emissions of the pulsed light (Sarmast; [0040] In one embodiment, a first light pulse of a first light intensity is projected into the environment 300 and captured by capture device 20. Subsequently, a second light pulse of a second light intensity is projected into the environment 300 and captured by capture device 20. The first light intensity may be of a lower light intensity than the second light intensity; please also see claim 2 for mapping and rationale),
the distance image generating part generates the first distance image using the first distance calculated based on the first time of flight (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160], first, to generate the first distance image, the fifth image is selected as the standard image, and the sixth image is selected as the reference image; please also see claim 6 mapping and rationale), and
the distance image generating part generates the second distance image using the second distance calculated based on the second time of flight (Nobayashi; Fig. 9A, [0158], Step S103 is the same as step S3 (calculating a distance to the object based on the 1st image and 2nd image [0077]) in Embodiment 1, except that two patterns of distance images are generated; [0160], to generate the second distance image, the seventh image is selected as the standard image, and the eighth image is selected as the reference image; please also see claim 6 mapping and rationale).
a storage part that stores the received light intensities of the plurality of times of flight (Sakimura; [0068], the histogram generator accumulates results of the TOF measurement for a plurality of times by TDCs within the TDC block and generates a histogram. It should be noted that the histogram generator may average the time of flight measured for a plurality of times to generate a histogram),
the histogram generating part stores a received light intensity obtained within a predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the first pulsed light of the first emission in the storage part and generates the histogram (Sakimura; [0068] The histogram generator 15, for example, accumulates results of the time of flight measured for a plurality of times by the TDCs within the TDC block 13 and generates a histogram), and
the histogram generating part generates the histogram by accumulating a received light intensity obtained within the predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the second pulsed light one after another each time the second pulsed light is emitted from the second emission to a last emission, and storing an accumulated received light intensity in the storage part (Sakimura; [0068] The histogram generator 15, for example, accumulates results of the time of flight measured for a plurality of times by the TDCs within the TDC block 13 and generates a histogram; please also see claim 9 mapping and rationale), and
Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, Sarmast, Maeno, Nobayashi, Yano, Afrouzi, Sakimura, Pacala does not teach,
and clears the storage part when the peak detecting part detects a first time of flight, which is a time of flight of the peak, using the histogram, and
and clears the storage part when the peak detecting part detects a second time of flight, which is a time of flight of the peak, using the histogram, and
Huggett disclosed to store the histogram and determine the peak location and confidence and then the histogram has to be cleared before the start of the next frame. Thus, the update of the readout is tied to the number of laser pulses comprising a frame (Huggett; [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include generate a partial image based on the distance is equal to or less then the predetermined threshold taught by Yano, include generate a partial image based on the distance is larger than the threshold value taught by Afrouzi, include storing and determine the time of flight based on the accumulated histogram generated by the received light intensities taught by Sakimura, include set a threshold to remove the ambient noise taught by Pacala, include cleared the stored histogram before the start of the next frame taught by Huggett with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to store the histogram and determine the peak location and confidence and then the histogram has to be cleared before the start of the next frame. Thus, the update of the readout is tied to the number of laser pulses comprising a frame (Huggett; [0002]).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Nobayashi, in view of Waschura et al. (US 11988775 B1, hereinafter “Waschura”).
Regarding claim 12, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 1.
Fujii does not teach, wherein
the distance image generating part identifies, in the first distance image, a first high intensity region in which the received light intensity is equal to or higher than a first threshold intensity,
the distance image generating part identifies, in the second distance image, a second high intensity region in which the received light intensity is equal to or higher than a second threshold intensity,
the distance image generating part identifies a region of the second high intensity region of the second distance image excluding a region corresponding to the first high intensity region as a flare region, which is a region representing a flare, and
the distance image generating part acquires an image obtained by excluding the flare region from the second distance image as the integrated distance image.
Waschura teaches the sensor system configuration determination component 126 can also generate one or more emitter system configuration signals 128 to control aspects of the sensor systems 104 to implement the determined change in emitter system 110 (e.g., voltage/current supplies, a projection system, an LCD/mask). The sensor system 104 may then generate a next iteration of the sensor data 114 (equivalent to the second distance image) with the sensor system 104 reconfigured according to the emitter system configuration signals 126. This Dynamically changing illumination of one or more regions of a FOV of the sensor can reduce the effects of glare (equivalent to flare region) in subsequent frames. For instance, by dynamically reducing illumination power at regions of a FOV of a TOF sensor corresponding to certain object (highly reflective or very close to the sensor), pixels in the sensor data that would be substantially completely saturated (equivalent to flare region), can be improved to reduce saturation, thereby, allowing for better recognition of objects (Waschura; column 10, line 42). In other words, Waschura disclosed dynamically adjusting the illumination power in a subsequence TOF measurement such that to improve the image accuracy especially for the object which is highly reflective or very close to the sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include dynamically adjusting the illumination power in a subsequence TOF measurement to prevent the image flare taught by Waschura with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is dynamically adjusting the illumination power in a subsequence TOF measurement such that to improve the image accuracy especially for the object which is highly reflective or very close to the sensor. This may be particularly useful in configuration in which the TOF sensor is relied upon to sense object in close proximity to a vehicle (Waschura; column 10, line 42).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii, modified in view of Perenzoni, in view of Sarmast, in view of Maeno, in view of Nobayashi, in view of Korekado et al. (US 20120177252 A1, hereinafter “Korekado”).
Regarding claim 15, Fujii as modified above teaches the rangefinder as recited in claim 6.
Fujii does not teach, wherein,
the distance image generating part combines a first partial image of the first distance image that shows a position of and a distance to the reflective object within a first threshold distance of the rangefinder, and
the distance image generating part combines a second partial image of the second distance image that shows a position of and a distance to the reflective object at distance that is larger than a second threshold distance from the rangefinder,
to generate the integrated distance image, and
the first threshold distance is larger than the second threshold distance.
Korekado teaches in Figs. 3A and B the characteristic curves, which represent image capturing conditions that are optimum for measuring the distance up to the subject 131 and the subject 132 (both have similar profile but different distance). With different image capturing conditions disclosed in the invention, for accurately measuring distance up to the subject 132, an image of the subject 132 is captured under the image capturing conditions that are represented by a characteristic curve 142 and the distance Z7 serve as a threshold value (equivalent to 1st threshold). For accurately measuring the distance up to the subject 131, an image of the subject 131 is captured under the image capturing condition that are represented by the characteristic curve 141 and the distance Z5 serve as a threshold value (equivalent to 2nd threshold). Where the 1st threshold distance is larger than the 2nd threshold distance (Korekado; [0046]-[0047]). In the case where a plurality of subjects are present in a large distance range including a short distance and long distance, if both the short distance and the long distance are to be measured with high accuracy, then it is necessary to selectively combine pixel values generated under two or more different image capturing conditions to generate image distance with a wide dynamic range (Korekado; [0046]-[0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the rangefinder taught by Fujii to include the control part controls the position of the region of interest taught by Perenzoni, include the control part to emit 1st and 2nd pulse light receiving part to receive related pulse corresponding to 1st and 2nd pulse light taught by Sarmast, include setup a minimum range such that the reflected light from the window is not detected taught by Maeno, include the distance image generating part to generate and combine a first distance image and a second distance image taught by Nobayashi, include selectively combine pixel values generated under two or more different image capturing conditions to generate image distance with a wide dynamic range taught by Korekado with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that in the case where a plurality of subjects are present in a large distance range including a short distance and long distance, if both the short distance and the long distance are to be measured with high accuracy, then it is necessary to selectively combine pixel values generated under two or more different image capturing conditions to generate image distance with a wide dynamic range (Korekado; [0046]-[0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other claimed feature:
wherein after emission of the first pulsed light as the first emission and before emission of the second pulsed light as the second emission, the control part uses the first distance calculated based on the first time of flight to determine a high reflection direction, which is a direction relative to the rangefinder of a region of a predetermined size including a high reflectance object whose reflectance is higher than a predetermined value, and
for a direction that is not the high reflection orientation, the histogram generating part generates the histogram by accumulating a received light intensity obtained within the predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the second pulsed light one after another each time the second pulsed light is emitted from the second emission to the last emission, and storing an accumulated received light intensity in the storage part, and
for the high reflection direction, the histogram generating part generates the histogram by accumulating a received light intensity obtained within the predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the second pulsed light one after another each time the second pulsed light is emitted from the second emission to a particular emission the particular emission being after the second emission and before the last emission, and storing an accumulated received light intensity in the storage part.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other claimed feature:
wherein after emission of the first pulsed light as the first emission and before emission of the second pulsed light as the second emission, the control part uses the first distance calculated based Page 9 of 17 on the first time of flight to determine a high reflection direction, which is a direction relative to the rangefinder of a region of a predetermined size including a high reflectance object whose reflectance is higher than a predetermined value, and
for a direction that is not the high reflection direction, in response to the histogram being generated by accumulating a received light intensity obtained within the predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the first or second pulsed light one after another each time the first or second pulsed light is emitted from the first emission to the last emission, and storing an accumulated received light intensity in the storage part, the histogram generating part detects a second time of flight of the peak using the histogram, and
for the high reflection direction, in response to the histogram being generated by accumulating a received light intensity obtained within the predetermined period of time including a time of flight of the reflected light corresponding to the first or second pulsed light one after another each time the first or second pulsed light is emitted from the first emission to a particular emission, the particular emission being after the second emission and before the last emission, and storing an accumulated received light intensity in the storage part, the histogram generating part detects a second time of flight of the peak using the histogram.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fiess et al. (US 20100165323 A1) disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0024], the control of micromechanical mirror 10 at a frequency results in a reduced mirror motion 11 about axis of rotation 12. As a result, scanning beam 5 sweeps a second scanning region 14, which is smaller than first scanning region 13 as illustrated in figure 1. The Lidar system 1 resolves a specified number of pixels, regardless of size of scanning region 13, 14. When scanning region 13, 14 is reduced, the spatial resolution rises as a result, and small objects or objects located far away are able to be reproduced at a higher resolution. Reducing scanning region 13, 14 additionally causes scanning beams 5 to sweep a smaller area and illuminate it with a greater intensity. This may be utilized to improve the signal-to-noise ratio in the evaluation. In driving operation, scanning regions 13, 14 may be adapted continuously, it being possible to detect objects lying at a distance by increasing the radiation power of laser 2 in addition. In the near range, it may be advantageous to reduce the radiation power of laser 2.
Kubota et al. (US 20200300985 A1) disclosed in paragraph [0034], the pixels 12 in the light receiving area 16 each output the intensity of the received light. If the light is not uniformly radiated to the whole light receiving area 16 and is radiated only to some of the pixels 12, separately outputting the signals from the respective pixels 12 enables the use of only the signals of the pixels 12 irradiated with the light. This makes it possible to eliminate noise from the pixels 12 not irradiated with the light, accordingly leading to an improved signal to noise ratio (SNR). Because the light irradiation in the light receiving area 16 is non-uniform and because this non-uniformity increases as a result of narrowing the focus of light, separately outputting the signals improves SNR.
Herschbach (US 20140240721 A1) disclosed in paragraph [0012], a size and/or a shape of said selected, spatially delimited region around said illumination point is dynamically adjustable. Adaptations of the position, the size and the shape of the region selecting light for detection are preferably done in order to improve signal-to-noise ratio, or to facilitate tracking of the illumination spot, or to facilitate calibration procedures for a deterministic tracking of the illumination spot or to provide additional functionality like improved detection of objects in situations of bad atmospheric conditions.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645