DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration. A complete action on the merits of pending claims 9-15 appears herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-9 of copending Application No. 17/951,387 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the two sets of claims contain overlapping subject matter with minor grammatical changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “an energy transfer element disposed at a position where one of the proximal side sandwiching strut and the distal side sandwiching strut of the main strut such that the energy transfer element sandwiches biological tissue” This limitation renders the claim unclear as to the position of the energy transfer element relative to the one of the proximal side sandwiching strut and the distal side sandwiching strut. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “an energy transfer element disposed at a position where one of the proximal side sandwiching strut and the distal side sandwiching strut of the main strut such that the energy transfer element sandwiches biological tissue” is interpreted as “an energy transfer element disposed on one of the proximal side sandwiching strut and the distal side sandwiching strut of the main strut such that the energy transfer element sandwiches biological tissue” Claims 10-15 are rejected due to their respective dependencies on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goedeke (US 2018/0161577 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Goedeke teaches
a plurality of main struts arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction and extending along an axis of the expansion body, (Fig. 36E, Char. 3632: splines) each of the main struts includes a proximal side main strut, (Attached “Annotated Goedeke Fig 36E” below: the portion of splines (3632) labelled “proximal side main strut,” between the proximal hub and the point of spline (3632) labelled Point A) a proximal side sandwiching strut, (Attached “Annotated Goedeke Fig 36E” below: the portion of splines (3632) labelled “proximal side sandwiching strut” between the points of spline (3632) labelled Point A and Point B.) a distal side sandwiching strut, (Attached “Annotated Goedeke Fig 36E” below: the portion of splines (3632) labelled labelled “distal side sandwiching strut” between the points of spline (3632) labelled Point B and Point C.) and a distal side main strut; (Attached “Annotated Goedeke Fig 36E” below: the portion of splines (3632) labelled “distal side main strut” between the point of spline (3632) labelled Point C and the distal hub.)
each of the proximal side main struts being inclined so as to increase in a radial direction from a distal portion of the outer tube (Fig. 36D, Char. 3607: proximal hub) toward a distal direction, and the distal side main strut is inclined so as to increase in the radial direction from a force reception portion (Fig. 36D, Char. 3608: distal hub) toward a proximal direction of the expansion body; (Fig. 36E)
each of the proximal side sandwiching struts being inclined so as to decrease in the radial direction from a distal portion of the proximal side main strut toward the distal direction; (Fig. 36E)
each of the distal side sandwiching struts being inclined so as to decrease in the radial direction from a proximal portion of the distal side main strut toward the proximal direction; (Fig. 36E)
wherein the proximal side sandwiching strut and the distal side sandwiching strut are connected to each other by an inward protruding portion protruding inward in the radial direction; and (Attached “Annotated Fig. 36E” below: The portion of spline (3632) at point B at which the angle of said spline relative to the longitudinal axis is zero)
each of the plurality of main struts including an energy transfer element disposed at a position where one of the proximal side sandwiching strut and the distal side sandwiching strut of the main strut such that the energy transfer element sandwiches biological tissue with another of the proximal side sandwiching strut and the distal side sandwiching strut of the main strut. (Fig. 36C and 36E; and Par. [0835]: Electrodes shown in Fig. 36C are disposed on the portions of splines (3632) labelled “proximal side sandwiching strut” and “distal side sandwiching strut” in attached “Annotated Goedeke Fig 36E” below.)
Annotated Goedeke Fig. 36E
Regarding claim 14, Goedeke further teaches a pulling shaft (Fig. 36C, Char. 3628: actuator wire) configured to be disposed at least partially inside the outer tube, the pulling shaft being connected to the expansion body. (Fig. 36C; and Par. [0921])
Regarding claim 15, Goedeke further teaches the pulling shaft includes an inner tube movable inside the outer tube in an axial direction, and an engagement portion fixed to a distal portion of the inner tube, (The point of attachment between actuator wire (3628) and the distal hub) the engagement portion configured to be pulled toward a proximal direction by the inner tube to compress the expansion body in the axial direction. (Fig. 36C; and Par. [0921]: Rotation and/or longitudinal movement of the actuation mechanism (3612) can cause the actuator wire (3628) to proximally retract)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goedeke (US 2018/0161577 A1) in view of Pomeranz (US 5,345,936).
Regarding claim 10, Goedeke, as applied to claim 9 above, is silent regarding a plurality of sub-struts connected to the plurality of main struts, the plurality of sub-struts include a distal side sub-strut on a distal side of the inward protruding portion, and a proximal side sub-strut on a proximal side of the inward protruding portion.
Pomeranz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches disposing a plurality of sub-struts (Fig. 1, Char. 46: fibers) to connect adjacent basket splines. (Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lines 10-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Goedeke, as applied to claim 9 above, to incorporate the teachings of Pomeranz, and include the fibers (46) of Pomeranz along the splines (3632) of Goedeke, including a distal side fiber on a distal side of the inward protruding portion, and a proximal side fiber on a proximal side of the inward protruding portion. Doing so would help ensure substantially uniform circumferential spacing between the splines (3632) of Goedeke, as suggested in Pomeranz.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goedeke (US 2018/0161577 A1) in view of Pomeranz (US 5,345,936) in view of Wang (CN 112120780 A).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Goedeke/Pomeranz, as applied to claim 10 above, is silent regarding a distal side support strut at a distal portion of the distal side sub-strut, the distal side support strut being connected to two circumferentially adjacent distal side main struts; and a proximal side support strut at a proximal portion of the sub-strut, the proximal side support strut being connected to two circumferentially adjacent distal side sandwiching struts.
Wang, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a basket catheter structure (Fig. 4) comprising a support strut (Fig. 4, Char. 231: wave crest) being connected to two circumferentially adjacent main strut portions located distal to the support strut (Fig. 4, Char. 251: first connecting rod) and two circumferentially adjacent main strut portions located proximal to the support strut (Fig. 4, Char. 271: second connecting rod) via distal connecting struts and proximal connecting struts respectively. (Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combination of Goedeke/Pomeranz, as applied to claim 10 above, to incorporate the teachings of Wang, and configure the fibers (60) of Pomeranz to include support struts connected to circumferentially adjacent portions of the splines (3632) of Goedeke located distally and proximally to the support strut. Doing so would provide more structural support for the basket structure due to the increased number of support struts between splines (3632).
In this combination, fibers (60) of Pomeranz disposed longitudinally between the distal side main strut portion of splines (3632) of Goedeke and the distal side sandwiching strut portion of splines (3632) would have the distally extending support struts attach to the distal side main strut portion of splines 3632 and the proximally extending support struts attach to the distal side sandwiching strut portion of splines 3632.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the combination of Goedeke/Pomeranz/Wang, as applied to claim 11 above, is silent regarding the proximal side sub-strut is connected to two circumferentially adjacent proximal side main struts, the proximal side sub-strut including two inclined struts inclined with respect to an axis of the expansion body when viewed from a radially outer side; wherein the two inclined struts extend toward the proximal direction while approaching the respective circumferentially adjacent proximal side main struts, and are connected to each other at a merging portion, and wherein the two inclined struts connected to the merging portion are plane-symmetrical with respect to a plane passing through the merging portion and the axis of the expansion body.
However, absent a statement of criticality AND unexpected results for the specifically claimed sub-strut structure it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the support struts taught by Wang and fibers (60) of Pomeranz in the claimed configuration because, as best understood by examiner, applicant has not disclosed that the specifically claimed sub-strut arrangement of claims 12 and 13 provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the support strut/fiber arrangement in the Goedeke/Pomeranz/Wang combination applied to claim 11 above and applicant’s invention to perform equally well because both sub-strut arrangements would perform the same function of strengthening/supporting the basket structure. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the combination of Goedeke/Pomeranz/Wang, as applied to claim 11 above, to obtain the invention as specified in claims 12-13 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration.
Conclusion
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/N.S.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3794