DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to applicant’s filing dated 12/27/2024. Claim 1 is canceled. Claims 2-21 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “allowing the human driver to perform a second lane change at the different fleet vehicle,” appears to be grammatically incorrect. It is unclear what is meant by “at the different fleet vehicle.” Examiner suggests possibly amending the claim to recite ““allowing the human driver to perform a second lane change in front of the different fleet vehicle.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the recitation “where the fleet entity controls a plurality of human driven vehicles, appears to be indefinite. It is unclear whether the vehicles are human driven or entity controlled? The claim, as presently written, fails to reasonably inform one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of control attributed to the fleet entity and whether the vehicles are controlled by a human driver or claimed by a fleet entity Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naoki Nagasaka et al., US 9475491B1, in view of Matthew Roy, US 11017665B1, hereinafter as Nagasaka and Roy, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Nagasaka discloses a self-driving fleet vehicle of a self-driving fleet, comprising;
a signaling subsystem comprising a turn signal (Lane change module can be configured to activate the appropriate turn signals of the vehicle – See at least column 10, lines 60-65);
a sensor subsystem comprising a front camera (Camera – See at least column 6, lines 24-29);and
a control and data subsystem comprising at least a processor and a non- transitory computer-readable medium, where the non-transitory computer-readable medium includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the self- driving fleet vehicle to (The data store can include volatile and/or non-volatile memory. The data store can be a component of the processor, or the data store can be operatively connected to the processor for use thereby – See at least column 4, lines 17-25):
request a lane change to a driver of a second vehicle via the turn signal (a driver or other passenger of the vehicle can be prompted to provide permission to implement the alternative lane changing maneuver. In some arrangements, such prompting may occur only if it is determined that there is sufficient time to receive a responsive input from the driver or passenger to implement the alternative lane changing maneuver – See at least column 15, lines 45-51. Driver or passenger can provide an input through engagement with one or more vehicle components (e.g., turn signal) – See at least column 15, lines 60-65 and column 16, lines 1-6. The signaling system of the vehicle can be activated to indicate an intention of the vehicle to change travel lanes. For instance, as is shown in FIG. 3B, the right turn signal lights of the vehicle can be activated. Thus, the rearward vehicle and/or the driver of the rearward vehicle can be apprised of the intention of the vehicle to merge into the second travel lane – See at least column 17, lines 60-65);
detect an acceptance of the lane change from the driver via the front camera (The one or more cameras can be located in any suitable portion of the vehicle. For instance, one or more of the cameras can be located within the vehicle – See at least column 6, lines 43-50. In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20);
responsive to the acceptance, cause the self-driving fleet vehicle to execute the lane change (In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20).
Nagasaka fails to disclose a communication subsystem comprising a cellular modem, document a transaction record, the transaction record comprising a driver identification associated with the second vehicle, a fleet vehicle identification associated with the self-driving fleet vehicle, and a credit value reimbursable from any vehicle of the self-driving fleet; and transmit the transaction record to a transaction ledger via the communication subsystem.
However, Roy teaches:
a communication subsystem comprising a cellular modem (The self-driving vehicle depicted by way of example in FIG. 1 further includes a data transceiver, e.g. a cellular data transceiver, a satellite transceiver or any other radiofrequency data transceiver. The data transceiver may be any suitable wireless data transceiver for transmitting and receiving data wirelessly. In one main embodiment, the data transceiver is a cellular data transceiver – See at least column 5, lines 50-55);
document a transaction record, the transaction record comprising a driver identification associated with the second vehicle, a fleet vehicle identification associated with the self-driving fleet vehicle, and a credit value reimbursable from any vehicle of the self-driving fleet (The V2V messaging enables the two vehicles to automatically negotiate a price (i.e. transaction record) or other valuable consideration for giving preferential traffic treatment to one of the two vehicles to the detriment of the other, e.g. letting one vehicle pass the other – See at least column 7, lines 30-35. The V2V messaging may begin with a synchronization message broadcast to vehicles in the vicinity. In one embodiment, the vehicle may use a machine vision algorithm recognize a license plate number and then to look up the license plate in a database, then to transmit the request to a specific number, address, etc. of the vehicle (i.e. driver identification – See at least column 7, lines 40-45. Thus, the system and method may utilize its own internal currency to create credits and debits among users or subscribers. The payment in one embodiment comprises a transfer to the second vehicle of redeemable points that are stored in a database and are redeemable for a subsequent traffic prioritization in favor of the second vehicle – See at least column 9, lines 50-55); and
transmit the transaction record to a transaction ledger via the communication subsystem (Assuming the transaction proceeds because both parties agree to the price, the first vehicle communicates via a base station transceiver of a wireless network via the internet (or other data network) with a first bank server or payment processing server associated with a first user of the first AV. The AV transfers a payment electronically (via the internet) to the second bank server or payment processing server which then notifies the second AV of the transfer via a wireless communication transmitted by the base station transceiver (or by a different base station transceiver if the second AV a uses a different wireless carrier) – See at least column 10, lines 30-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of document a transaction record, the transaction record comprising a driver identification associated with the second vehicle, a fleet vehicle identification associated with the self-driving fleet vehicle, and a credit value reimbursable from any vehicle of the self-driving fleet; and transmit the transaction record to a transaction ledger via the communication subsystem, as taught by Roy, to obtain an improved autonomous fleet transaction system that accurately identifies vehicles and records transaction activity while transmitting such records to a ledger.
Regarding claim 3, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the sensor subsystem further comprises a rear camera and where the driver identification is based on an image of a license plate captured via the rear camera.
However, Roy teaches where the sensor subsystem further comprises a rear camera and where the driver identification is based on an image of a license plate captured via the rear camera (A fifth sensor is in this illustrated embodiment a rear (backup) camera – See at least column 4, lines 50-51. The V2V messaging may begin with a synchronization message broadcast to vehicles in the vicinity. In one embodiment, the vehicle may use a machine vision algorithm recognize a license plate number and then to look up the license plate in a database, then to transmit the request to a specific number, address, etc. of the vehicle – See at least column 7, lines 41-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of where the sensor subsystem further comprises a rear camera and where the driver identification is based on an image of a license plate captured via the rear camera, as taught by Roy, because the orientation of a camera (front-facing versus rear-facing) is a predictable variation that does not change the fundamental operation of the imaging system, which is to capture visual data of the vehicles surroundings.
Regarding claim 4, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the cellular modem transmits the transaction record with best effort delivery.
However, Roy teaches where the cellular modem transmits the transaction record with best effort delivery (The self-driving vehicle depicted by way of example in FIG. 1 further includes a data transceiver, e.g. a cellular data transceiver, a satellite transceiver or any other radiofrequency data transceiver. The data transceiver may be any suitable wireless data transceiver for transmitting and receiving data wirelessly. In one main embodiment, the data transceiver is a cellular data transceiver – See at least column 5, lines 50-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of where the cellular modem transmits the transaction record with best effort delivery, as taught by Roy, to enhance vehicle/driver identification using sensor subsystem.
Regarding claim 6, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the control and data subsystem further comprises a neural network processor and where the credit value is determined by the neural network processor.
However, Roy teaches where the control and data subsystem further comprises a neural network processor and where the credit value is determined by the neural network processor (In this example, the first autonomous vehicle exchanged V2V messages with the second autonomous vehicle to negotiate a payment for a traffic reprioritization. Assuming the transaction proceeds because both parties agree to the price, the first vehicle communicates via a base station transceiver of a wireless network via the internet (or other data network) with a first bank server or payment processing server associated with a first user of the first AV. The AV transfers a payment electronically to the second bank server or payment processing server which then notifies the second AV of the transfer via a wireless communication transmitted by the base station transceiver (or by a different base station transceiver if the second AV uses a different wireless carrier) – See at least column 10, lines 35-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of where the control and data subsystem further comprises a neural network processor and where the credit value is determined by the neural network processor, as taught by Roy, in order to automate and improve the accuracy, reliability and efficiency of determining the credit value based on sensor derived vehicle identification data, yielding predictable results consistent with known machine-learning processing techniques.
Regarding claim 7, Nagasaka discloses a vehicle chassis configured to convey a human passenger (According to arrangements herein, the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle. As used herein, “autonomous vehicle' means a vehicle that configured to operate in an autonomous mode. “Autonomous mode” means that one or
more computing systems are used to navigate and/or maneuver the vehicle along a travel route with minimal or no input from a human driver. – See at least column 3, lines 10-24).
Regarding claim 8, Nagasaka discloses where the control and data subsystem is removably mounted to the vehicle chassis (The processor and/or the autonomous driving module may be operable to control the navigation and/or. maneuvering of the vehicle by controlling one or more of the vehicle systems and/or components thereof – See at least column 13, lines 65-67 and column 14, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Nagasaka discloses a self-driving fleet vehicle, comprising;
a signaling subsystem comprising a brake signal (For instance, the signaling system can include brake lights – See at least column 13, lines 1-4);
a sensor subsystem comprising a rear camera (In one or more arrangements, one or more of the environment sensors can include one or more cameras. "Camera' is defined as any device, component, and/or system that can capture at least visual data. – See at least column 6, lines 24-29);
a communication subsystem comprising a cellular modem (Mobile communication – See at least column 13, lines 45-50); and
a control and data subsystem comprising at least a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium, where the non-transitory computer-readable medium includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the self- driving fleet vehicle to (The data store can include volatile and/or non-volatile memory. The data store can be a component of the processor, or the data store can be operatively connected to the processor for use thereby – See at least column 4, lines 17-25):
detect a lane change request from a driver of a second vehicle via the rear camera (The one or more cameras can be located in any suitable portion of the vehicle. For instance, one or more of the cameras can be located within the vehicle – See at least column 6, lines 43-50. In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20);
signal an acceptance to the driver via the brake signal (For instance, the driver or passenger can input the grant or denial of permission using one or more components of the input system – See at least column 15, lines 59-65. The one or more cameras can be located in any suitable portion of the vehicle. For instance, one or more of the cameras can be located within the vehicle – See at least column 6, lines 43-50. In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20);
create space for the driver (The lane change module can be configured to determine whether the size of the target gap is acceptable or unacceptable. “Acceptable” means that the size of the target gap is such that vehicle can safely maneuver into the target gap in the other travel lane. “Safely maneuver” means that there is little or no risk of impinging upon the vehicles forming the gap – See at least column 11, lines 5-10).
Nagasaka fails to disclose determine whether the driver has a credit within a local ledger of credits; responsive to a successful lane change, document a transaction record, the transaction record comprising a driver identification associated with the second vehicle, a fleet vehicle identification associated with the self-driving fleet vehicle, and a debit to reimburse the credit; and transmit the transaction record to a transaction ledger via the communication subsystem.
However, Roy teaches:
determine whether the driver has a credit within a local ledger of credits (Thus, the system and method may utilize its own internal currency to create credits and debits among users or subscribers. The payment in one embodiment comprises a transfer to the second vehicle of redeemable points that are stored in a database and are redeemable for a subsequent traffic prioritization in favor of the second vehicle – See at least column 9, lines 50-55);
responsive to a successful lane change, document a transaction record, the transaction record comprising a driver identification associated with the second vehicle, a fleet vehicle identification associated with the self-driving fleet vehicle, and a debit to reimburse the credit (The V2V messaging enables the two vehicles to automatically negotiate a price (i.e. transaction record) or other valuable consideration for giving preferential traffic treatment to one of the two vehicles to the detriment of the other, e.g. letting one vehicle pass the other – See at least column 7, lines 30-35. The V2V messaging may begin with a synchronization message broadcast to vehicles in the vicinity. In one embodiment, the vehicle may use a machine vision algorithm recognize a license plate number and then to look up the license plate in a database, then to transmit the request to a specific number, address, etc. of the vehicle (i.e. driver identification – See at least column 7, lines 40-45. Thus, the system and method may utilize its own internal currency to create credits and debits among users or subscribers. The payment in one embodiment comprises a transfer to the second vehicle of redeemable points that are stored in a database and are redeemable for a subsequent traffic prioritization in favor of the second vehicle – See at least column 9, lines 50-55); and
transmit the transaction record to a transaction ledger via the communication subsystem (Assuming the transaction proceeds because both parties agree to the price, the first vehicle communicates via a base station transceiver of a wireless network via the internet (or other data network) with a first bank server or payment processing server associated with a first user of the first AV. The AV transfers a payment electronically (via the internet) to the second bank server or payment processing server which then notifies the second AV of the transfer via a wireless communication transmitted by the base station transceiver (or by a different base station transceiver if the second AV a uses a different wireless carrier) – See at least column 10, lines 30-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of document a transaction record, the transaction record comprising a driver identification associated with the second vehicle, a fleet vehicle identification associated with the self-driving fleet vehicle, and a credit value reimbursable from any vehicle of the self-driving fleet; and transmit the transaction record to a transaction ledger via the communication subsystem, as taught by Roy, to obtain an improved autonomous fleet transaction system that accurately identifies vehicles and records transaction activity while transmitting such records to a ledger.
Regarding claim 10, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the driver identification comprises an image of a license plate captured via the rear camera.
However, Roy teaches where the sensor subsystem further comprises a rear camera and where the driver identification is based on an image of a license plate captured via the rear camera (A fifth sensor is in this illustrated embodiment a rear (backup) camera – See at least column 4, lines 50-51. The V2V messaging may begin with a synchronization message broadcast to vehicles in the vicinity. In one embodiment, the vehicle may use a machine vision algorithm recognize a license plate number and then to look up the license plate in a database, then to transmit the request to a specific number, address, etc. of the vehicle – See at least column 7, lines 41-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of where the sensor subsystem further comprises a rear camera and where the driver identification is based on an image of a license plate captured via the rear camera, as taught by Roy, because the orientation of a camera (front-facing versus rear-facing) is a predictable variation that does not change the fundamental operation of the imaging system, which is to capture visual data of the vehicles surroundings.
Regarding claim 11, Nagasaka discloses where the sensor subsystem further comprises a front camera and where the successful lane change is based on footage captured by the front camera (The one or more cameras can be located in any suitable portion of the vehicle. For instance, one or more of the cameras can be located within the vehicle – See at least column 6, lines 43-50. The driver or passenger can grant or deny permission to implement the alternative lane changing maneuver in any suitable manner. For instance, the driver or passenger can input the grant or denial of permission using one or more components of the input system – See at least column 15, lines 59-65)
Regarding claim 12, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the cellular modem transmits the transaction record with best effort delivery.
However, Roy teaches where the cellular modem transmits the transaction record with best effort delivery (The self-driving vehicle depicted by way of example in FIG. 1 further includes a data transceiver, e.g. a cellular data transceiver, a satellite transceiver or any other radiofrequency data transceiver. The data transceiver may be any suitable wireless data transceiver for transmitting and receiving data wirelessly. In one main embodiment, the data transceiver is a cellular data transceiver – See at least column 5, lines 50-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of where the cellular modem transmits the transaction record with best effort delivery, as taught by Roy, in order to reliably transmit vehicle and transaction data over existing cellular networks.
Regarding claim 13, Nagasaka discloses a vehicle chassis configured to convey a human passenger (According to arrangements herein, the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle. As used herein, “autonomous vehicle' means a vehicle that configured to operate in an autonomous mode. “Autonomous mode” means that one or
more computing systems are used to navigate and/or maneuver the vehicle along a travel route with minimal or no input from a human driver. – See at least column 3, lines 10-24).
Regarding claim 14, Nagasaka discloses where the control and data subsystem is removably mounted to the vehicle chassis (The processor and/or the autonomous driving module may be operable to control the navigation and/or. maneuvering of the vehicle by controlling one or more of the vehicle systems and/or components thereof – See at least column 13, lines 65-67 and column 14, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 15, Nagasaka discloses a method for human-to machine negotiation, comprising:
requesting a first lane change to a human driver via a first fleet vehicle of a fleet entity (a driver or other passenger of the vehicle can be prompted to provide permission to implement the alternative lane changing maneuver. In some arrangements, such prompting may occur only if it is determined that there is sufficient time to receive a responsive input from the driver or passenger to implement the alternative lane changing maneuver – See at least column 15, lines 45-51. Driver or passenger can provide an input through engagement with one or more vehicle components (e.g., turn signal) – See at least column 15, lines 60-65 and column 16, lines 1-6. The signaling system of the vehicle can be activated to indicate an intention of the vehicle to change travel lanes. For instance, as is shown in FIG. 3B, the right turn signal lights of the vehicle can be activated. Thus, the rearward vehicle and/or the driver of the rearward vehicle can be apprised of the intention of the vehicle to merge into the second travel lane – See at least column 17, lines 60-65);
detecting an acceptance from the human driver via the first fleet vehicle (The one or more cameras can be located in any suitable portion of the vehicle. For instance, one or more of the cameras can be located within the vehicle – See at least column 6, lines 43-50. In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20);
responsive to the acceptance, executing the first lane change via the first fleet vehicle (The one or more cameras can be located in any suitable portion of the vehicle. For instance, one or more of the cameras can be located within the vehicle – See at least column 6, lines 43-50. In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20)
detecting a lane change request from the human driver via a different fleet vehicle of the fleet entity (The one or more cameras can be located in any suitable portion of the vehicle. For instance, one or more of the cameras can be located within the vehicle – See at least column 6, lines 43-50. In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20);
allowing the human driver to perform a second lane change at the different fleet vehicle (In some instances, the target gap GT may not initially be acceptable, but it can Subsequently become acceptable. Accordingly, the vehicle can substantially maintain the condition shown in FIG. 3B to determine whether the size of the target gap GT becomes acceptable. For instance, in response to the activation of the right turn signals of the vehicle, the rearward vehicle may reduce its speed such that the size of the target gap GT increases, as is shown in FIG. 3C. In such case, the vehicle can be caused to implement a lane changing maneuver from the first travel lane to the second travel lane as is shown in FIG.3C. – See at least column 18, lines 10-20. The vehicle can be prompted to provide permission to implement the alternative lane changing maneuver. In some arrangements, such prompting may occur only if it is determined that there is sufficient time to receive a responsive input from the driver or passenger to implement the alternative lane changing maneuver – See at least column 15, lines 45-51. Driver or passenger can provide an input through engagement with one or more vehicle components (e.g., turn signal) – See at least column 15, lines 60-65 and column 16, lines 1-6).
Nagasaka fails to disclose documenting a first transaction record, the first transaction record comprising a driver identification and a credit value; and responsive to a successful second lane change, documenting a second transaction record, the second transaction record comprising the driver identification and a debit value.
However, Roy teaches:
documenting a first transaction record, the first transaction record comprising a driver identification and a credit value (The V2V messaging enables the two vehicles to automatically negotiate a price (i.e. transaction record) or other valuable consideration for giving preferential traffic treatment to one of the two vehicles to the detriment of the other, e.g. letting one vehicle pass the other – See at least column 7, lines 30-35. The V2V messaging may begin with a synchronization message broadcast to vehicles in the vicinity. In one embodiment, the vehicle may use a machine vision algorithm recognize a license plate number and then to look up the license plate in a database, then to transmit the request to a specific number, address, etc. of the vehicle (i.e. driver identification – See at least column 7, lines 40-45. Thus, the system and method may utilize its own internal currency to create credits and debits among users or subscribers. The payment in one embodiment comprises a transfer to the second vehicle of redeemable points that are stored in a database and are redeemable for a subsequent traffic prioritization in favor of the second vehicle – See at least column 9, lines 50-55); and
responsive to a successful second lane change, documenting a second transaction record, the second transaction record comprising the driver identification and a debit value (The V2V messaging enables the two vehicles to automatically negotiate a price (i.e. transaction record) or other valuable consideration for giving preferential traffic treatment to one of the two vehicles to the detriment of the other, e.g. letting one vehicle pass the other – See at least column 7, lines 30-35. Thus, the system and method may utilize its own internal currency to create credits and debits among users or subscribers. The payment in one embodiment comprises a transfer to the second vehicle of redeemable points that are stored in a database and are redeemable for a subsequent traffic prioritization in favor of the second vehicle – See at least column 9, lines 50-55. As an example, consider a scenario in which the second AV and the third AV are traveling side by side in two adjacent lanes preventing the first AV from passing. The first AV may broadcast a request to both the second AV and the third AV to offer a payment in exchange for letting the first AV pass one of the two vehicles. If the second AV replies before the third AV, the first AV performs the transaction with the second AV only. In this case, the offer is a conditional offer – See at least column 11, lines 50-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the features of document a transaction record, the transaction record comprising a driver identification associated with the second vehicle, a fleet vehicle identification associated with the self-driving fleet vehicle, and a credit value reimbursable from any vehicle of the self-driving fleet; and transmit the transaction record to a transaction ledger via the communication subsystem, as taught by Roy, to obtain an improved autonomous fleet transaction system that accurately identifies vehicles and records transaction activity while transmitting such records to a ledger.
Regarding claim 18, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the first transaction record and the second transaction record are stored within a transaction ledger.
However, Roy teaches where the first transaction record and the second transaction record are stored within a transaction ledger (In the above implementations, the vehicles perform V2V messaging individually between vehicles to negotiate discrete traffic reprioritization events. In another paradigm, a central server, server cluster, server farm or cloud-based manager can act as a central intermediary for all offers and acceptances for vehicles traveling through a given geographical area - See at least Column 12, line(s) 61-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the feature of where the first transaction record and the second transaction record are stored within a transaction ledger, as taught by Roy, to generate a customized view of a blockchain transaction.
Regarding claim 19, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the human driver is associated with a user account and the fleet entity is associated with a fleet account of the transaction ledger.
However, Roy teaches where the human driver is associated with a user account and the fleet entity is associated with a fleet account of the transaction ledger (In the above implementations, the vehicles perform V2V messaging individually between vehicles to negotiate discrete traffic reprioritization events. In another paradigm, a central server, server cluster, server farm or cloud-based manager can act as a central intermediary for all offers and acceptances for vehicles traveling through a given geographical area - See at least Column 12, line(s) 61-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the feature of where the human driver is associated with a user account and the fleet entity is associated with a fleet account of the transaction ledger, as taught by Roy, to generate a customized view of a blockchain transaction.
Regarding claim 20, Nagasaka fails to disclose where the transaction ledger is distributed across multiple entities.
However, Roy teaches where the transaction ledger is distributed across multiple entities (In the above implementations, the vehicles perform V2V messaging individually between vehicles to negotiate discrete traffic reprioritization events. In another paradigm, a central server, server cluster, server farm or cloud-based manager can act as a central intermediary for all offers and acceptances for vehicles traveling through a given geographical area - See at least Column 12, line(s) 61-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagasaka and include the feature of where the transaction ledger is distributed across multiple entities, as taught by Roy, to generate a customized view of a blockchain transaction.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka et al., US 9475491B1, in view of Matthew Roy, US 11017665B1, as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Ditty et al., US 20190258251 A1, hereinafter as Nagasaka, Roy and Ditty, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nagasaka and Roy fail to disclose where the front camera has a visual range of 100 to 300 yards and a field of view 35°.
However, Ditty teaches where the front camera has a visual range of 100 to 300 yards and a field of view 35° (Thus, self-driving vehicle includes a plurality of cameras, capturing images around the entire periphery of the vehicle. Camera type and lens selection depends on the nature and type of function. The vehicle preferably has a mix of camera types and lenses to provide complete coverage around the vehicle – See at least ¶129. These embodiments include a sensor implemented as a small device that may be embedded into the front, sides or corners of vehicles, and is advertised as providing up to 35-degree vertical field of view, with 200-meter range – See at least ¶144).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nagasaka and Roy and include the features of where the front camera has a visual range of 100 to 300 yards and a field of view 35°, as taught by Ditty, to generate appropriate responses to relevant objects and events.
Claims 16, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka et al., US 9475491B1, in view of Matthew Roy, US 11017665B1, as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Jordan Simons, US 20200213329 A1, hereinafter as Nagasaka, Roy and Simons, respectively.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Nagasaka and Roy fail to disclose where the fleet entity controls a plurality of self-driving vehicles.
However, Simons teaches where the fleet entity controls a plurality of self-driving vehicles (Fleet management includes autonomous vehicles – See at least ¶16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nagasaka and Roy and include the features of where the fleet entity controls a plurality of self-driving vehicles, as taught by Simons, to optimize efficiencies of operating vehicles together as a platoon.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Nagasaka and Roy fail to disclose where the fleet entity controls a plurality of human driven vehicles.
However, Simons teaches where the fleet entity controls a plurality of human driven vehicles (The present technology may seamlessly adjust either human-driven or autonomous vehicle directions, navigation and scheduling according to the needs of the passengers and according to the availability of fleet assets able to serve passengers– See at least ¶18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nagasaka and Roy and include the features of where the fleet entity controls a plurality of human driven vehicles, as taught by Simons, to optimize efficiencies of operating vehicles together as a platoon.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Nagasaka and Roy fail to disclose where the fleet entity communicates with the first fleet vehicle and the different fleet vehicle according to best effort delivery.
However, Simons teaches where the fleet entity communicates with the first fleet vehicle and the different fleet vehicle according to best effort delivery (The blockchain may be utilized according to the disclosed systems and methods to improve the efficiencies and customer experiences for business operations where the timing of delivery of a product or service is important to customers and providers of the product or service - See at least 195 - See at least ¶195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nagasaka and Roy and include the feature of where the fleet entity communicates with the first fleet vehicle and the different fleet vehicle according to best effort delivery, as taught by Simons, to generate a customized view of a blockchain transaction.
Conclusion
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/David P. Merlino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665