DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 10/06/2025.
Claims 1-12, and 19-24 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 7, and 19 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The deficiencies to the amended claims of applicant’s response, filed 07/14/2025, and according to the Notice of Non-Compliance per 37 C.F.R. 1.121(c), filed 09/22/2025, are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 19, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin et al (US 20210112473 A1, hereinafter, “Martin”).
RE Claim 1: Martin discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a industrial Internet-of-Things (IIoT) user equipment (UE) (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2), the method comprising:
determining a set of target reselection parameters of a target cell ranks higher than a set of source reselection parameters of a source cell (predetermined signal strengths used for serving and neighbor/target cells, ¶0009; predetermined threshold Thresh_1, Thresh_2, Thresh_3; Abstract, ¶0045, ¶0076, ¶0078, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, rank such as hysteresis. ¶0072), wherein the target cell is one cell of one or more neighboring cells having a neighboring cell coverage area overlapping with a source cell coverage area of the source cell on which the IIoT UE has acquired service (cells may overlap, ¶0030, Fig. 2; device has selected a serving eNB, acquired service, and may or may not have active connection; ¶0032, Fig. 1);
setting a reselection flag to a no-reselection state, in response to one of the source cell having a source signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) equal to or exceeding a predetermined maximum SNR or by default (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041);
identifying a first predetermined SNR range of a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges stored at the UE within which the source SNR falls and a second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges within which a target SNR of the target cell falls (Cell reselection procedure by a communications device to perform measurements of the neighboring cell in accordance with a configured set of predetermined conditions with respect to signals, values and ranges stored at UE, received from the serving cell. ¶0010; Q_threshold, based on signal quality sets a threshold between two consecutive signal quality ranges, a plurality of ranges. ¶¶0077-0078; Reselection to neighbor/target cell may be based on measurements combined with restrictions such as hysteresis. ¶0071; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065);
setting the reselection flag to an allow-reselection state, in response to the second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges being greater than the first predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges and ( if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis. ¶0072; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065; Cell reselection criteria may be based on a plurality of comparable measurements which are combined by averaging or filtering. Cell reselection may include a time threshold, such that the criteria must be fulfilled for a continuous time period exceeding the time threshold. ¶¶0072-0073; The signal quality metric, RSRQ a measure of SNR, may indicate the absolute or relative extent of interference detected in the signal received by the receiver 202 of communications device 104. ¶0041. “The determination that a neighbour cell meets the criteria for reselection may be based the absolute values of the measurement of signals received from the neighbour cell or the relative values of the measurements (compared to those of either the serving cell, other neighbour cells, or both).” ¶0071. “Some or all of the thresholds may be predetermined and specified in an appropriate specification, for example 3GPP TS 36.304. In such embodiments, the thresholds may be specified as being relative to a threshold which is transmitted in broadcast signaling by the serving cell. “, ¶0084. “Each threshold may be signalled explicitly (e.g. based on encoding an absolute value) or relatively (e.g. where the difference between two thresholds is encoded), or determined according to a predetermined relationship, for example, Thresh_2 may be defined as being three times Thresh_1.”, (emphasis added) ¶0085. Examiner interpreted as the encoded difference between two thresholds is a range. With two thresholds configured, there are three ranges.):
the source SNR being lower than the predetermined maximum SNR (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7), or
the source SNR being equal to or lower than a predetermined lowest SNR (Qrxlevmin may be minimum signal required for UE to camp on serving cell. ¶0045);
reselecting to the target cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the allow-reselection state (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; neighbor cells are measured, ¶0047, based on measurements UE determines if it should reselect, ¶0069; if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074); and
maintaining the acquired service on the source cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7;).
RE Claim 4: Martin discloses:
The method, wherein the reselecting to the target cell is further in response to a target reference signal receive power (RSRP) exceeding a source RSRP by a predetermined offset power (if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis/offset power. ¶0072; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041).
RE Claim 5: Martin discloses:
The method, wherein the reselecting to the target cell in response to the target RSRP exceeding the source RSRP by the predetermined offset power and the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state. (Fig. 7; serving cell is above threshold, source criteria of SNR, per no reselect condition. Per S104 decision blocks, proceeds to measure neighbor cells, S108. Target cell reselection criteria may have other requirements, RSRP, to allow reselection. Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041;)
RE Claim 6: Martin discloses:
The method, wherein the IIoT UE includes a narrowband IoT (NBIoT) UE (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2).
RE Claim 7: Martin discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), to cause the UE to:
determine a set of target reselection parameters of a target cell ranks higher than a set of source reselection parameters of a source cell (predetermined signal strengths used for serving and neighbor/target cells, ¶0009; predetermined threshold Thresh_1, Thresh_2, Thresh_3; Abstract, ¶0045, ¶0076, ¶0078, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7 ; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, rank such as hysteresis. ¶0072), wherein the target cell is one cell of one or more neighboring cells having a neighboring cell coverage area overlapping with a source cell coverage area of the source cell on which the UE has acquired service(cells may overlap, ¶0030, Fig. 2; device has selected a serving eNB, acquired service, and may or may not have active connection; ¶0032, Fig. 1);
set a reselection flag to a no-reselection state, in response to one of the source cell having a source signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) equal to or exceeding a predetermined maximum SNR or by default (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041);
identify a first predetermined SNR range of a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges stored at the UE within which the source SNR falls and a second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges within which a target SNR of the target cell falls (Cell reselection procedure by measurements performed of the neighboring cell in accordance with a configured set of predetermined conditions with respect to signals, values and ranges stored at UE, received from the serving cell. ¶0010; Q_threshold, based on signal quality sets a threshold between two consecutive signal quality ranges, a plurality of ranges. ¶¶0077-0078; Reselection to neighbor/target cell may be based on measurements combined with restrictions such as hysteresis. ¶0071; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065);set the reselection flag to an allow-reselection state, in response the second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges being greater than the first predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges ( if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis. ¶0072; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065; Cell reselection criteria may be based on a plurality of comparable measurements which are combined by averaging or filtering. Cell reselection may include a time threshold, such that the criteria must be fulfilled for a continuous time period exceeding the time threshold. ¶¶0072-0073; The signal quality metric, RSRQ a measure of SNR, may indicate the absolute or relative extent of interference detected in the signal received by the receiver 202 of communications device 104. ¶0041. “The determination that a neighbour cell meets the criteria for reselection may be based the absolute values of the measurement of signals received from the neighbour cell or the relative values of the measurements (compared to those of either the serving cell, other neighbour cells, or both).” ¶0071. “Some or all of the thresholds may be predetermined and specified in an appropriate specification, for example 3GPP TS 36.304. In such embodiments, the thresholds may be specified as being relative to a threshold which is transmitted in broadcast signaling by the serving cell. “, ¶0084. “Each threshold may be signalled explicitly (e.g. based on encoding an absolute value) or relatively (e.g. where the difference between two thresholds is encoded), or determined according to a predetermined relationship, for example, Thresh_2 may be defined as being three times Thresh_1.”, (emphasis added) ¶0085. Examiner interpreted as the encoded difference between two thresholds is a range. With two thresholds configured, there are three ranges.) and:
the source SNR being lower than the predetermined maximum SNR (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7), or
the source SNR being equal to or lower than a predetermined lowest SNR (Qrxlevmin may be minimum signal required for UE to camp on serving cell. ¶0045);
reselect to the target cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the allow-reselection state (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; neighbor cells are measured, ¶0047, based on measurements UE determines if it should reselect, ¶0069; if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074); and
maintain the acquired service on the source cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7;).
RE Claim 10: Martin discloses:
The UE, wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to reselect to the target cell is further in response to a target reference signal receive power (RSRP) exceeding a source RSRP by a predetermined offset power (if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis/offset power. ¶0072; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041).
RE Claim 11: Martin discloses:
The UE, wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to reselect to the target cell in response to the target RSRP exceeding the source RSRP by the predetermined offset power and the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (Fig. 7; serving cell is above threshold, source criteria of SNR, per no reselect condition. Per S104 decision blocks, proceeds to measure neighbor cells, S108. Target cell reselection criteria may have other requirements, RSRP, to allow reselection. Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041;).
RE Claim 12: Martin discloses:
The UE, wherein the UE includes a narrowband IoT (NBIoT) UE (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2).
RE Claim 19: Martin discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
determining a set of target reselection parameters of a target cell ranks higher than a set of source reselection parameters of a source cell (predetermined signal strengths used for serving and neighbor/target cells, ¶0009; predetermined threshold Thresh_1, Thresh_2, Thresh_3; Abstract, ¶0045, ¶0076, ¶0078, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, rank such as hysteresis. ¶0072), wherein the target cell is one cell of one or more neighboring cells having a neighboring cell coverage area overlapping with a source cell coverage area of the source cell on which the UE has acquired service(cells may overlap, ¶0030, Fig. 2; device has selected a serving eNB, acquired service, and may or may not have active connection; ¶0032, Fig. 1);
setting a reselection flag to a no-reselection state, in response to one of the source cell having a source signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) equal to or exceeding a predetermined maximum SNR or by default (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041);
identifying a first predetermined SNR range of a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges stored at the UE within which the source SNR falls and a second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges within which a target SNR of the target cell falls Cell reselection procedure by measurements performed of the neighboring cell in accordance with a configured set of predetermined conditions with respect to signals, values and ranges stored at UE, received from the serving cell. ¶0010; Q_threshold, based on signal quality sets a threshold between two consecutive signal quality ranges, a plurality of ranges. ¶¶0077-0078; Reselection to neighbor/target cell may be based on measurements combined with restrictions such as hysteresis. ¶0071; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065);
setting the reselection flag to an allow-reselection state, in response to the second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges being greater than the first predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges ( if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis. ¶0072; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065; Cell reselection criteria may be based on a plurality of comparable measurements which are combined by averaging or filtering. Cell reselection may include a time threshold, such that the criteria must be fulfilled for a continuous time period exceeding the time threshold. ¶¶0072-0073; The signal quality metric, RSRQ a measure of SNR, may indicate the absolute or relative extent of interference detected in the signal received by the receiver 202 of communications device 104. ¶0041. “The determination that a neighbour cell meets the criteria for reselection may be based the absolute values of the measurement of signals received from the neighbour cell or the relative values of the measurements (compared to those of either the serving cell, other neighbour cells, or both).” ¶0071. “Some or all of the thresholds may be predetermined and specified in an appropriate specification, for example 3GPP TS 36.304. In such embodiments, the thresholds may be specified as being relative to a threshold which is transmitted in broadcast signaling by the serving cell. “, ¶0084. “Each threshold may be signalled explicitly (e.g. based on encoding an absolute value) or relatively (e.g. where the difference between two thresholds is encoded), or determined according to a predetermined relationship, for example, Thresh_2 may be defined as being three times Thresh_1.”, (emphasis added) ¶0085. Examiner interpreted as the encoded difference between two thresholds is a range. With two thresholds configured, there are three ranges.) and:
the source SNR being lower than the predetermined maximum SNR (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7), or
the source SNR being equal to or lower than a predetermined lowest SNR (Qrxlevmin may be minimum signal required for UE to camp on serving cell. ¶0045);
reselecting to the target cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the allow-reselection state (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; neighbor cells are measured, ¶0047, based on measurements UE determines if it should reselect, ¶0069; if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074); and
maintaining the acquired service on the source cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7;).
RE Claim 22: Martin discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the reselecting to the target cell is further in response to a target reference signal receive power (RSRP) exceeding a source RSRP by a predetermined offset power (if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis/offset power. ¶0072; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041).
RE Claim 23: Martin discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the reselecting to the target cell in response to the target RSRP exceeding the source RSRP by the predetermined offset power and the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (Fig. 7; serving cell is above threshold, source criteria of SNR, per no reselect condition. Per S104 decision blocks, proceeds to measure neighbor cells, S108. Target cell reselection criteria may have other requirements, RSRP, to allow reselection. Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041;).
RE Claim 24: Martin discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), wherein the IIoT UE includes a narrowband IoT (NBIoT) UE (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Martin in view of Kodali et al. (US 20150350976 A1 103, hereinafter, “Kodali”)
RE Claim 2:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 2:
However, Kodali discloses:
The method, further including:
monitoring for a paging signal during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX)
cycles up to a configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax, in each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles (During active DRX cycle, length and characteristics provide by network, the UE may monitor a paging channel over a period up to maximum cycles, Rmax. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073); and
incrementing a counter value for each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles in which the paging signal is decoded in the configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax (evaluate serving cell by number of paging decode failures, during DRX cycle, within certain time period up to maximum cycles Rmax, ‘failure threshold’. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073),
wherein the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the counter value being equal to or exceeding a predetermined threshold (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring paging signal error rate and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with paging decode error yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0085)
RE Claim 3:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 3:
However, Kodali discloses:
The method, further including:
detecting a decode failure by the IIoT UE of a downlink shared channel communication (paging decode failures detected and counted, ¶0073, UE may be a portable internet device or telecom device capable of wireless communication, ¶0029), wherein the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the decode failure. (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring downlink decode failures and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with downlink decode error rate yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0007, ¶0073)
RE Claim 8:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 8:
However, Kodali discloses:
The UE, the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to further cause the UE to:
monitor for a paging signal during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles up to a configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax, in each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles (During active DRX cycle, length and characteristics provide by network, the UE may monitor a paging channel over a period up to maximum cycles, Rmax. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073); and
increment a counter value for each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles in which the paging signal is decoded in the configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax (evaluate serving cell by number of paging decode failures, during DRX cycle, within certain time period up to maximum cycles Rmax, ‘failure threshold’. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073),
wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to set the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the counter value being equal to or exceeding a predetermined threshold (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring paging signal error rate and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with paging decode error yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0085)
RE Claim 9:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 9:
However, Kodali discloses:
The UE of, the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to further cause the UE to:
detect a decode failure by the UE of a downlink shared channel communication (paging decode failures detected and counted, ¶0073, UE may be a portable internet device or telecom device capable of wireless communication, ¶0029), wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to set the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the decode failure (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring downlink decode failures and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with downlink decode error rate yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0007, ¶0073)
RE Claim 20:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 20:
However, Kodali discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium, further including the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the operations further including:
monitoring for a paging signal during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles up to a configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax, in each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles (During active DRX cycle, length and characteristics provide by network, the UE may monitor a paging channel over a period up to maximum cycles, Rmax. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073); and
incrementing a counter value for each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles in which the paging signal is decoded in the configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax (evaluate serving cell by number of paging decode failures, during DRX cycle, within certain time period up to maximum cycles Rmax, ‘failure threshold’. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073),
wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the counter value being equal to or exceeding a predetermined threshold (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring paging signal error rate and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with paging decode error yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0085)
RE Claim 21:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 21:
However, Kodali discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20, further including the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the operations including:
detecting a decode failure by the IIoT UE of a downlink shared channel communication (paging decode failures detected and counted, ¶0073, UE may be a portable internet device or telecom device capable of wireless communication, ¶0029), wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the decode failure (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring downlink decode failures and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with downlink decode error rate yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0007, ¶0073)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejections have been considered. Applicant argues ” As amended and as originally written, claim 1 cites the concepts of "a first predetermined SNR range ... and a second predetermined SNR range." (Emphasis added). The plain meaning of the word "range" does not include the meaning of a single value, whether a single value measurement or single threshold value, even when given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification.” Applicant further argues that Martin does not “teach, discuss, or even imply anything about ranges.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In a cursory review of Martin, the subject matter is disclosed. The signal quality metric, RSRQ a measure of SNR, may indicate the absolute or relative extent of interference detected in the signal received by the receiver 202 of communications device 104. ¶0041. “The determination that a neighbour cell meets the criteria for reselection may be based the absolute values of the measurement of signals received from the neighbour cell or the relative values of the measurements (compared to those of either the serving cell, other neighbour cells, or both).” ¶0071. “Some or all of the thresholds may be predetermined and specified in an appropriate specification, for example 3GPP TS 36.304. In such embodiments, the thresholds may be specified as being relative to a threshold which is transmitted in broadcast signaling by the serving cell. “, ¶0084. “Each threshold may be signalled explicitly (e.g. based on encoding an absolute value) or relatively (e.g. where the difference between two thresholds is encoded), or determined according to a predetermined relationship, for example, Thresh_2 may be defined as being three times Thresh_1.”, (emphasis added) ¶0085. The encoded difference between two thresholds is a range. With two thresholds configured, there are three ranges.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220070751 A1 Lee
“METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CELL RESELECTION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM”
The present disclosure relates to cell reselection in wireless communications. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system comprises: performing a cell reselection to a cell; receiving information for a signal quality range, information for a scaling factor for the signal quality range and information for a time period for determining a number of cell reselections; based on a determination that a signal quality measured for the cell is within the signal quality range, applying the scaling factor for the signal quality range to the time period; and estimating a mobility state of the wireless device based on the time period to which the scaling factor is applied. See ¶¶0223-0226.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419