DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 03/28/2025.
Claims 1-12, and 19-24 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 7, and 19 are amended. Claims 13-18 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/28/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: “an average SNR value” amended to claims 1, 7, and 19. Applicant cited ¶¶0102-0103, ¶¶0108-0110, and Table 1 as support for the amendments. After review of the specification, amended 03/28/2025, it does not disclose “an average SNR” value.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Objections to the drawings is withdrawn.
112(f) interpretation of claims 13-17 are withdrawn.
112(b) rejections of claims 1, 7, 13-17, and 19 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 19, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin et al (US 20210112473 A1, hereinafter, “Martin”).
RE Claim 1: Martin discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a industrial Internet-of-Things (IIoT) user equipment (UE) (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2), the method comprising:
determining a set of target reselection parameters of a target cell ranks higher than a set of source reselection parameters of a source cell (predetermined signal strengths used for serving and neighbor/target cells, ¶0009; predetermined threshold Thresh_1, Thresh_2, Thresh_3; Abstract, ¶0045, ¶0076, ¶0078, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, rank such as hysteresis. ¶0072), wherein the target cell is one cell of one or more neighboring cells having a neighboring cell coverage area overlapping with a source cell coverage area of the source cell on which the IIoT UE has acquired service (cells may overlap, ¶0030, Fig. 2; device has selected a serving eNB, acquired service, and may or may not have active connection; ¶0032, Fig. 1);
setting a reselection flag to a no-reselection state, in response to one of the source cell having a source signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) equal to or exceeding a predetermined maximum SNR or by default (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041);
identifying a first predetermined SNR range of a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges stored at the UE within which the source SNR falls and a second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges within which a target SNR of the target cell falls (Cell reselection procedure by a communications device to perform measurements of the neighboring cell in accordance with a configured set of predetermined conditions with respect to signals, values and ranges stored at UE, received from the serving cell. ¶0010; Q_threshold, based on signal quality sets a threshold between two consecutive signal quality ranges, a plurality of ranges. ¶¶0077-0078; Reselection to neighbor/target cell may be based on measurements combined with restrictions such as hysteresis. ¶0071; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065);
setting the reselection flag to an allow-reselection state, in response to an average SNR value of the second predetermined SNR range being greater than an average SNR value of the first predetermined SNR range and ( if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis. ¶0072; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065; Cell reselection criteria may be based on a plurality of comparable measurements which are combined by averaging or filtering. Cell reselection may include a time threshold, such that the criteria must be fulfilled for a continuous time period exceeding the time threshold. ¶¶0072-0073;):
the source SNR being lower than the predetermined maximum SNR (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7), or
the source SNR being equal to or lower than a predetermined lowest SNR (Qrxlevmin may be minimum signal required for UE to camp on serving cell. ¶0045);
reselecting to the target cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the allow-reselection state (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; neighbor cells are measured, ¶0047, based on measurements UE determines if it should reselect, ¶0069; if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074); and
maintaining the acquired service on the source cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7;).
RE Claim 4: Martin discloses:
The method, wherein the reselecting to the target cell is further in response to a target reference signal receive power (RSRP) exceeding a source RSRP by a predetermined offset power (if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis/offset power. ¶0072; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041).
RE Claim 5: Martin discloses:
The method, wherein the reselecting to the target cell in response to the target RSRP exceeding the source RSRP by the predetermined offset power and the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state. (Fig. 7; serving cell is above threshold, source criteria of SNR, per no reselect condition. Per S104 decision blocks, proceeds to measure neighbor cells, S108. Target cell reselection criteria may have other requirements, RSRP, to allow reselection. Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041;)
RE Claim 6: Martin discloses:
The method, wherein the IIoT UE includes a narrowband IoT (NBIoT) UE (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2).
RE Claim 7: Martin discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), to cause the UE to:
determine a set of target reselection parameters of a target cell ranks higher than a set of source reselection parameters of a source cell (predetermined signal strengths used for serving and neighbor/target cells, ¶0009; predetermined threshold Thresh_1, Thresh_2, Thresh_3; Abstract, ¶0045, ¶0076, ¶0078, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7 ; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, rank such as hysteresis. ¶0072), wherein the target cell is one cell of one or more neighboring cells having a neighboring cell coverage area overlapping with a source cell coverage area of the source cell on which the UE has acquired service(cells may overlap, ¶0030, Fig. 2; device has selected a serving eNB, acquired service, and may or may not have active connection; ¶0032, Fig. 1);
set a reselection flag to a no-reselection state, in response to one of the source cell having a source signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) equal to or exceeding a predetermined maximum SNR or by default (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041);
identify a first predetermined SNR range of a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges stored at the UE within which the source SNR falls and a second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges within which a target SNR of the target cell falls (Cell reselection procedure by measurements performed of the neighboring cell in accordance with a configured set of predetermined conditions with respect to signals, values and ranges stored at UE, received from the serving cell. ¶0010; Q_threshold, based on signal quality sets a threshold between two consecutive signal quality ranges, a plurality of ranges. ¶¶0077-0078; Reselection to neighbor/target cell may be based on measurements combined with restrictions such as hysteresis. ¶0071; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065);
set the reselection flag to an allow-reselection state, in response to an average SNR value of the second predetermined SNR range being greater than an average SNR value of the first predetermined SNR range ( if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis. ¶0072; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065; Cell reselection criteria may be based on a plurality of comparable measurements which are combined by averaging or filtering. Cell reselection may include a time threshold, such that the criteria must be fulfilled for a continuous time period exceeding the time threshold. ¶¶0072-0073;) and:
the source SNR being lower than the predetermined maximum SNR (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7), or
the source SNR being equal to or lower than a predetermined lowest SNR (Qrxlevmin may be minimum signal required for UE to camp on serving cell. ¶0045);
reselect to the target cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the allow-reselection state (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; neighbor cells are measured, ¶0047, based on measurements UE determines if it should reselect, ¶0069; if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074); and
maintain the acquired service on the source cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7;).
RE Claim 10: Martin discloses:
The UE, wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to reselect to the target cell is further in response to a target reference signal receive power (RSRP) exceeding a source RSRP by a predetermined offset power (if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis/offset power. ¶0072; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041).
RE Claim 11: Martin discloses:
The UE, wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to reselect to the target cell in response to the target RSRP exceeding the source RSRP by the predetermined offset power and the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (Fig. 7; serving cell is above threshold, source criteria of SNR, per no reselect condition. Per S104 decision blocks, proceeds to measure neighbor cells, S108. Target cell reselection criteria may have other requirements, RSRP, to allow reselection. Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041;).
RE Claim 12: Martin discloses:
The UE, wherein the UE includes a narrowband IoT (NBIoT) UE (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2).
RE Claim 19: Martin discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
determining a set of target reselection parameters of a target cell ranks higher than a set of source reselection parameters of a source cell (predetermined signal strengths used for serving and neighbor/target cells, ¶0009; predetermined threshold Thresh_1, Thresh_2, Thresh_3; Abstract, ¶0045, ¶0076, ¶0078, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, rank such as hysteresis. ¶0072), wherein the target cell is one cell of one or more neighboring cells having a neighboring cell coverage area overlapping with a source cell coverage area of the source cell on which the UE has acquired service(cells may overlap, ¶0030, Fig. 2; device has selected a serving eNB, acquired service, and may or may not have active connection; ¶0032, Fig. 1);
setting a reselection flag to a no-reselection state, in response to one of the source cell having a source signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) equal to or exceeding a predetermined maximum SNR or by default (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041);
identifying a first predetermined SNR range of a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges stored at the UE within which the source SNR falls and a second predetermined SNR range of the plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges within which a target SNR of the target cell falls Cell reselection procedure by measurements performed of the neighboring cell in accordance with a configured set of predetermined conditions with respect to signals, values and ranges stored at UE, received from the serving cell. ¶0010; Q_threshold, based on signal quality sets a threshold between two consecutive signal quality ranges, a plurality of ranges. ¶¶0077-0078; Reselection to neighbor/target cell may be based on measurements combined with restrictions such as hysteresis. ¶0071; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065);
setting the reselection flag to an allow-reselection state, in response to an average SNR value of the second predetermined SNR range being greater than an average SNR value of the first predetermined SNR range ( if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis. ¶0072; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065; Cell reselection criteria may be based on a plurality of comparable measurements which are combined by averaging or filtering. Cell reselection may include a time threshold, such that the criteria must be fulfilled for a continuous time period exceeding the time threshold. ¶¶0072-0073;) and:
the source SNR being lower than the predetermined maximum SNR (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7), or
the source SNR being equal to or lower than a predetermined lowest SNR (Qrxlevmin may be minimum signal required for UE to camp on serving cell. ¶0045);
reselecting to the target cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the allow-reselection state (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; neighbor cells are measured, ¶0047, based on measurements UE determines if it should reselect, ¶0069; if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074); and
maintaining the acquired service on the source cell in response to the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (UE determines when serving cell exceeds Thresh_1 remain, no reselection, on cell and do not measure neighbor cells, setting UE to no-reselection state. Thresh_1 may correspond to Srx, Qrx, Qoffset and others. ¶0042, ¶0045, Fig. 4; ¶0060, Fig. 7;).
RE Claim 22: Martin discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the reselecting to the target cell is further in response to a target reference signal receive power (RSRP) exceeding a source RSRP by a predetermined offset power (if neighbor measurements satisfy reselection criteria, then UE performs necessary steps for reselection to neighbor/target cell. ¶0074; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis/offset power. ¶0072; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041).
RE Claim 23: Martin discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the reselecting to the target cell in response to the target RSRP exceeding the source RSRP by the predetermined offset power and the reselection flag being set to the no-reselection state (Fig. 7; serving cell is above threshold, source criteria of SNR, per no reselect condition. Per S104 decision blocks, proceeds to measure neighbor cells, S108. Target cell reselection criteria may have other requirements, RSRP, to allow reselection. Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041;).
RE Claim 24: Martin discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), wherein the IIoT UE includes a narrowband IoT (NBIoT) UE (¶0005, ¶0049, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Martin in view of Kodali et al. (US 20150350976 A1 103, hereinafter, “Kodali”)
RE Claim 2:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 2:
However, Kodali discloses:
The method, further including:
monitoring for a paging signal during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX)
cycles up to a configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax, in each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles (During active DRX cycle, length and characteristics provide by network, the UE may monitor a paging channel over a period up to maximum cycles, Rmax. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073); and
incrementing a counter value for each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles in which the paging signal is decoded in the configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax (evaluate serving cell by number of paging decode failures, during DRX cycle, within certain time period up to maximum cycles Rmax, ‘failure threshold’. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073),
wherein the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the counter value being equal to or exceeding a predetermined threshold (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring paging signal error rate and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with paging decode error yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0085)
RE Claim 3:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 3:
However, Kodali discloses:
The method, further including:
detecting a decode failure by the IIoT UE of a downlink shared channel communication (paging decode failures detected and counted, ¶0073, UE may be a portable internet device or telecom device capable of wireless communication, ¶0029), wherein the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the decode failure. (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring downlink decode failures and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with downlink decode error rate yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0007, ¶0073)
RE Claim 8:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 8:
However, Kodali discloses:
The UE, the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to further cause the UE to:
monitor for a paging signal during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles up to a configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax, in each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles (During active DRX cycle, length and characteristics provide by network, the UE may monitor a paging channel over a period up to maximum cycles, Rmax. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073); and
increment a counter value for each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles in which the paging signal is decoded in the configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax (evaluate serving cell by number of paging decode failures, during DRX cycle, within certain time period up to maximum cycles Rmax, ‘failure threshold’. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073),
wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to set the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the counter value being equal to or exceeding a predetermined threshold (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring paging signal error rate and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with paging decode error yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0085)
RE Claim 9:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 9:
However, Kodali discloses:
The UE of, the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to further cause the UE to:
detect a decode failure by the UE of a downlink shared channel communication (paging decode failures detected and counted, ¶0073, UE may be a portable internet device or telecom device capable of wireless communication, ¶0029), wherein the processor-readable code, executable by the at least one processor, to cause the UE to set the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the decode failure (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring downlink decode failures and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with downlink decode error rate yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0007, ¶0073)
RE Claim 20:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 20:
However, Kodali discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium, further including the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the operations further including:
monitoring for a paging signal during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles up to a configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax, in each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles (During active DRX cycle, length and characteristics provide by network, the UE may monitor a paging channel over a period up to maximum cycles, Rmax. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073); and
incrementing a counter value for each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles in which the paging signal is decoded in the configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax (evaluate serving cell by number of paging decode failures, during DRX cycle, within certain time period up to maximum cycles Rmax, ‘failure threshold’. ¶0062, Fig. 6-12, ¶0073),
wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the counter value being equal to or exceeding a predetermined threshold (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring paging signal error rate and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with paging decode error yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0085)
RE Claim 21:
Martin does not explicitly disclose the elements of Claim 21:
However, Kodali discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20, further including the instructions that, when executed by the processor (¶0029 UE includes a controller circuit which inherently has a processor and memory, Fig. 2), cause the processor to further perform the operations including:
detecting a decode failure by the IIoT UE of a downlink shared channel communication (paging decode failures detected and counted, ¶0073, UE may be a portable internet device or telecom device capable of wireless communication, ¶0029), wherein the instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform the setting the reselection flag to the allow-reselection state is further in response to the decode failure (serving cell has exceeded paging decode ‘failure threshold’, poor quality serving cell, thus searches and measurements of neighboring cells may again be performed to allow reselection. ¶0007, ¶0069, ¶0073).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Martin with the teachings of Kodali. Martin discloses determining state of reselection. Kodali teaches addition of monitoring downlink decode failures and updating the state of reselection accordingly. The combination of using SNR levels with downlink decode error rate yields the same result for improvements to minimize unnecessary reselection by the UE and conserving UE battery. (Martin: Abstract, ¶0007; Kodali: Abstract, ¶0007, ¶0073)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s first argument with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejections have been considered. Applicant argues that Martin does not disclose the following limitation of the amended claims. “As amended, claim 1 clarifies that the UE stores "a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges" and "identif[ies] a first predetermined SNR range of [that] plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges ... within which the source SNR falls and a second predetermined SNR range of [that] plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges within which a target SNR of the target cell falls."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In a cursory review of Martin, the amended features of the limitation are found. As cited by examiner with respect to the amended claim limitation: (Cell reselection procedure by a communications device to perform measurements of the neighboring cell in accordance with a configured set of predetermined conditions with respect to signals, values and ranges stored at UE, received from the serving cell. ¶0010; Q_threshold, based on signal quality sets a threshold between two consecutive signal quality ranges, a plurality of ranges. ¶¶0077-0078; Reselection to neighbor/target cell may be based on measurements combined with restrictions such as hysteresis. ¶0071; Received signal metric may be RSRP, RSRQ – a measure of SNR, or RSSI. ¶0041; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065). Therefore, Martin discloses a plurality of predetermined consecutive SNR value ranges.
Applicant’s second argument with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejections have been considered. Applicant argues that Martin does not disclose the following limitation of the amended claims. "setting the reselection flag to an allow-reselection state, in response to an average SNR value of the second predetermined SNR range being greater than an average SNR value of the first predetermined SNR range ...."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In a cursory review of Martin, the amended features of the limitation are found. As cited by examiner with respect to the amended claim limitation: (if serving cell is below Thresh_1 then start measurements of neighbors, setting UE to allow-reselection state. ¶0064, Fig. 7; Reselection criteria may include comparing signal of neighbor, second range, to signal of serving cell, with at least one parameter added to increase, greater, range such as hysteresis. ¶0072; Evaluation of neighbor cell signals may include signal quality or other measure generally indicative of a signal to noise ratio, SNR. ¶0065; Cell reselection criteria may be based on a plurality of comparable measurements which are combined by averaging or filtering. Cell reselection may include a time threshold, such that the criteria must be fulfilled for a continuous time period exceeding the time threshold. ¶¶0072-0073;) Therefore, Martin discloses an average SNR value for comparison to predetermined SNR ranges.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been considered. Applicant argues that Kodali fails to teach or suggest features of claim 2. Applicant continues that claim 2 recites “incrementing a counter value for each DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles in which the paging signal is decoded in the configured maximum number of downlink control channel repetitions, Rmax, …” (applicants’ emphasis).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kodali, ¶0073, states that the evaluation of the serving cell may be determined by the number of paging decode failures, within a certain period of time (monitoring a paging channel during active portion of DRX cycle, ¶0062), and in proportion to a total number of attempts to decode paging messages when attempting to decode paging messages. Therefore, a count exists of all attempts to decode paging messages. The count further consists of the sum of decoding failures and decoding successes, each of which are a count of paging decoding. Thus, there is a count of decoded paging signals.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419