DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the election received November 18, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 13-19 in the reply filed on November 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 18, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATOBE et al (6,113,218) in view of OBER et al (2009/0258315) and ARIMITSU et al (2017/0293225).
The claimed invention recites the following:
ATOBE et al report a method for manufacturing an inkjet head. Applicants are directed to column 21 and 22 wherein the photo-resist pattern is formed on a substrate which has been thermally-oxidization-treated in an oxygen-steam atmosphere at 1100o C for 4 hours which essentially places functional groups/membranes such as SiO2 on the surface of the substrate, see col. 21, lines 55-60 and col. 22, lines 7-12, see below:
The photo-resist composition pattern corresponds to the outlines of the shapes of the nozzle holes.
OBER et al disclose known photoresist composition for forming fabricating micro- and nano-size patterns which can also be used to manufacturing inkjet print heads, see (PAENG et al (2013/0169715), para. [0044] to [0045]). The components of the photoresist composition include a photoacid/photo base, (para. [0154])., an epoxy compound (para. [0141]) and salicylic acid, (para. [0142]), see below:
ARIMITSU et al report a photosensitive composition comprising a photo base, a base proliferator and an epoxy resin, see para. [0012] and [0017] below:
Para. [0017] is on page 3
These components meet the claimed photo base generator, epoxy compound and aromatic compound of general formula (1) recited in claim 13.
Claim 14 is met by salicylic acid in OBER et al.
Claims 15 and 16 are met by the disclosed content of the salicylic acid and low molecular weight component above meet the claims 15 and 16 when the crosslinker is in a content of 1 to 25 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the solids in the composition.
Claims 17-19 are met by the disclosure above in ARIMITSU et al wherein the use of a base proliferating compound such as a urethane is added to a photosensitive composition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of inkjet head manufacture to use the known photosensitive composition of OBER et al or ARIMITSU et al to form an photoresist pattern for forming an inkjet printhead as disclosed in ATOBE et al wherein the substrate is treated with an oxygen-steam at 1100o C for 4 hours to form a substrate which is excellent in adhesion to the photosensitive composition of OBER et al with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for high pattern formation and simultaneously be environmentally friendly.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KAWAMURA et al (2008/0014530) and (7,393,567) disclose treatment of substrates to forming hydroxyl, carboxyl and amino groups by corona discharge treatment. see page 11, para. [0165] in ‘530 and col. 5, lines 55-64 in ‘567.
KATAGIRI et al (2018/0155568) discloses that treatment of a substrate by atmospheric-pressure treatment, plasma treatment, corona discharge treatment and ultraviolet irradiation treatment introduces hydrophilic groups such as OH to the surface of the treated substrate.
KUNZ et al (2005/0147919) disclose production of strongly adherent coatings by wherein plasma treatment, corona discharge treatment or a flame treatment on substrates have especially strong adhesion to photocurable composition, see para. [0009], page 1.
NAKANO et al (2013/0202810) disclose corona discharge treatment, thermal oxidation, plasma treatment as ways to incorporate positive or negative charge to a material, see para. [0003].
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
February 6, 2026