Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al.(US 20220384345 A1, hereafter Park).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses:
A semiconductor device(Fig. 5) comprising:
A wafer(Fig. 5 [100]) having at least two source/drain(S/D) epi regions(Fig. 5 [60]);
A power rail(Fig. 5 [20]) arranged on a backside of the wafer(fig. 5 [100]);
A backside contact(BSCA)(Fig. 5 [90]) having a first portion comprising a backside local interconnect with a recessed surface and is configured to connect the at least two S/D epi regions(Fig. 5 [60]) together; and
A plurality of frontside signal wires(Fig. 5 [80]) connected to the backside local interconnect(Fig. 5 [90]) through a first front side contact(fig. 5 [70]).
Regarding Claim 2, Park further discloses:
The BSCA(Fig. 5 [90]) comprises a second portion(Fig. 5 [30]) connected to the power rail(Fig. 5 [20]).
Regarding Claim 3, Park further discloses:
The recessed surface of the backside local interconnect(Fig. 5 [90]) is lower than a surface of the second portion(Fig. 5 [30]) of the BSCA(Fig. 5 [90/30]) to insulate the backside local interconnect(Fig. 5 [90]) from the power rail(Fig. 5 [20]).
Regarding Claim 4, Park further discloses:
A height of the recessed surface of the backside local interconnect(Fig. 5 [90]) is lower than a surface of a buried oxide(BOX) layer(Fig. 5 [10]) adjoining a side of the BSCA(Fig. 5 [90/30]).
Regarding Claim 5, Park further discloses:
The recessed surface of the backside local interconnect(fig. 5 [90]) has a backside interlayer dielectric(BILD)(Fig. 5 See figure below) formed thereon.
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsao(US 20190080969 A1, hereafter Tsao).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsao discloses:
A semiconductor device(Fig. 2) comprising:
A wafer(Fig. 2 See figure below) having at least two source/drain(S/D) epi regions(Fig. 2 [27_1/27_2]);
A power rail(Fig. 2 [40_2]) arranged on a backside of the wafer(Fig. 2 See figure below);
A backside contact(BSCA)(Fig. 2 [50_7]) having a first portion(Fig. 2 See figure below) comprising a backside local interconnect with a recessed surface and is configured to connect the at least two S/D epi regions(Fig. 2 [27_1/27_2]) together; and
A plurality of frontside signal wires(Fig. 2 [60_5]) connected to the backside local interconnect(Fig. 2 [50_7]) through a first front side contact(Fig. 2 [65_6]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsao further discloses:
At least one S/D epi region(Fig. 2 [27_1]) connected to the backside local interconnect(Fig. 2 [50_7]) is overlapped with a second frontside contact extension(Fig. 2 [60_4]) of a device from a neighboring cell(Fig. 1C [N3]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao in view of Park.
Regarding Claim 7,
Tsao discloses a frontside contact extension(Fig. 2 [60_4]).
Tsao does not teach or disclose the second frontside contact extension is wired to signal tracks over the at least one S/D epi region with the backside local interconnect.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses an S/D epi region(Fig. 5 [60]) wherein at a frontside contact extension(Fig. 5 See figure below) is wired to signal tracks(Fig. 5 [80]) over the at least one S/D epi region(Fig. 5 [60]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Tsao along the lines of Park. One might have been motivated to wire a contact extension to a signal track in order to maintain the packing efficiency of the device, as each of the S/D and gate terminals of an integrated circuit would require the provision of signal lines in order to operate each cell. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Tsao’s device with an overlapping contact/wiring structure as disclosed by Park.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(See above rejection).
Tsao does not teach or disclose a backside power distribution network(BSPDN) connected to the power rail.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses a backside power distribution network(Fig. 5 [200b]) connected to a power rail(Fig. 5 [20]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Tsao along the lines of Park. One might have been motivated to add the BSPDN in order to power Tsao’s device. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Tsao’s device with a BSPDN on one side as disclosed by Park.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao in view of Zhang et al.(US 20210210413 A1, hereafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(See above rejection).
Tsao does not teach or disclose the at least one S/D epi region connected to the backside local interconnect comprises an S/D P-epi region and an S/D N-epi region.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses:
The at least one S/D epi region(Fig. 10 [16/18]) connected to the backside local interconnect(Fig. 10 [70]) comprises an S/D P-epi region(Fig. 10 [16]) and an S/D N-epi region(Fig. 10 [18]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Tsao along the lines of Zhang. One might have been motivated to include the S/D regions of different conductivity types in order to produce a CMOS circuit or various integrated circuits involving a plurality of transistors of different conductivity types. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Tsao’s device with a set of transistors of different conductivity.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang further discloses:
The S/D N-epi region or the S/D P-epi region(Fig. 2 [27_1/27_2]) is electrically connected to the frontside contact(Fig. 2 [65_6]).
Above: Fig. 5 of Park with frontside contact extension and backside interlayer dielectric denoted by examiner.
Above: Fig. 2 of Tsao with wafer and first portion of the interconnect denoted by examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huang et al.(US 20230197815 A1) discloses a wrap-around contact on both an N-type and P-type S/D region. Shin et al.(US 20220254928 A1) discloses a single contact that contacts a plurality of S/D structures. Seo et al.(US 20220037236 A1) discloses a back side power rail and a plurality of front side contacts.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897