DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-11, 13-16 and 18-20 are currently pending and being examined. Claim 4 has been amended. Claims 2-3, 5, 9, 12 and 17 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, under U.S.C. §102 and U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the limitation erroneously missed by Examiner, as stated in the new rejection to follow.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “sacrificial layer” doesn’t appear to be clear, more specifically in reference to element 110. 110 is introduced as the sacrificial layer and comprising SiGe. Later in the specification, layers 110 appear to act as the active layers, contradictory to their original depiction. The descriptions related to Figs. 12-14 also do not appear consistent, in part to the issue of the layers 110.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 12-14 do not appear consistent with the rest of the drawings/written description. Starting with Fig. 12, it is unknown if layers 110 and 122 are supposed to comprise the same material, as they are notated the same. With this similar notation, it appears to conflict with the stack creation in Fig. 1, which has the same material in the same level. The notation for layers 110 is inconsistent with previous Figs. with the same element number, so it is unclear if this layer is to be the same as previous depictions. Another minor issue with Fig. 14 is that layers 113 are no longer aligned with layers 110 as in previous Figs., it is unknown how the layers shifted their location. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble lists claim 18 as depending on canceled claim 17. For the purposes of examination, claim 18 will be interpreted to depend on claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10-11, and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation ”the second semiconductor device” in line 9. It is unclear if the “the second semiconductor device” recited in line 9 is the same as the “a nanosheet transistor” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the second semiconductor device” in line 9 is being interpreted as, “the nanosheet transistor.” Appropriate action is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a nanosheet transistor” in lines 10-11. It is unclear if the nanosheet transistor recited in lines 10-11 is the same as the “a nanosheet transistor” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “a nanosheet transistor” in lines 10-11 is being interpreted as, “the nanosheet transistor.” Appropriate action is required.
Claims 10-11 and 13-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for further limiting and being dependent on indefinite claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 114678329 A, hereafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method of fabricating a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
designating on a substrate (11, [0035]) a first region (see annotated Fig. 21) and a second region (see annotated Fig. 21) separated from the first region by distance to define a space therebetween;
forming a first semiconductor device (31, [0035]) on the first region, the first semiconductor device (31) including a gate dielectric (19, [0035]), wherein forming the first semiconductor device (31) comprises forming one or more semiconductor fins (see annotated Fig. 21) of a fin field-effect transistor (FinFET) (31, [0035]) in the first region; and
forming a second semiconductor device (32, [0035]) on the second region, the second semiconductor device excluding a gate dielectric (element 19 is not in this region), wherein forming the second semiconductor device comprises selectively removing at least one sacrificial nanosheet (channel forming region 15, [0035], contains the sacrificial layer, [0060], 15 will be reference number hereafter) to form at least one void (see annotated Fig. 21) between one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26, [0035]) of a nanosheet transistor in the second region (shown in Figs. 17 and 18);
forming an oxide layer (19 is deposited in Fig. 16, stated to be an oxide in [0065]) on the one or more semiconductor fins and the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26);
removing the oxide layer (19) from the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26) while maintaining the oxide layer (19) on the one or more semiconductor fins to form the gate dielectric (19) of the FinFET (depicted between Figs. 16 and 17); and
depositing a high-k dielectric layer (27 and 28, [0035], described as a high-k dielectric in [0098]) on the one or more semiconductor fins and the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26) after removing the oxide layer (19) from the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26) and maintaining the at least one void to form a gate-all-around (GAA) semiconductor device in the second region (shown between Figs. 19 and 20).
Regarding claim 6, in Fig 21 Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the oxide layer (19, [0065]) is interposed between the one or more semiconductor fins (see annotated Fig. 21) and the high-k dielectric layer (27, [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, in Fig. 21 Li teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the high-k dielectric layer (27, [0035]) included in the FinFET (31, [0035]) is formed directly on the oxide layer (19, [0065]), and the high-k dielectric layer (28, [0035]) included in the nanosheet transistor (32, [0035]) is formed directly on the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26, [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses a method of fabricating a hybrid transistor device, the method comprising:
designating on a substrate (11, [0035]) a first region (see annotated Fig. 21) and a second region (see annotated Fig. 21) separated from the first region by distance to define a space therebetween (see annotated Fig. 21);
forming on the first region a fin field-effect transistor (FinFET) (31, [0035]) including a gate dielectric (19, [0035]), wherein forming the FinFET (31) comprises forming one or more semiconductor fins in the first region (see annotated Fig. 21);
forming on the second region a nanosheet transistor (32, [0035]) excluding a gate dielectric (19 does not exist on the device), wherein forming the nanosheet transistor (32) comprises selectively removing at least one sacrificial nanosheet (15, [0035], Figs. 17 and 18) to form at least one void (see annotated Fig. 18) between one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26, [0035]) of the nanosheet transistor (32) in the second region;
forming an oxide layer (19 is deposited in Fig. 16, stated to be an oxide in [0065]) on the one or more semiconductor fins and the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26);
removing the oxide layer (19) from the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26) while maintaining the oxide layer (19) on the one or more semiconductor fins to form the gate dielectric (19); and
depositing a high-k dielectric layer (27 and 28, [0035], described as a high-k dielectric in [0098], Figs. 17 and 18) on the one or more semiconductor fins and the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26) after removing the oxide layer (19) from the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26) and maintaining the at least one void to form a gate-all-around (GAA) semiconductor device in the second region (the device in the second region, is by definition a GAA semiconductor device as the gate is fully surrounding each nanosheet).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the gate dielectric (19, [0035]) is interposed between the one or more semiconductor fins (see annotated Fig. 21) and the high-k dielectric layer (27, [0035]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the high-k dielectric layer (27, [0035]) included in the FinFET (31, [0035]) is formed directly on the gate dielectric (19, [0035]), and the high-k dielectric layer (28, [0035]) included in the nanosheet transistor (32, [0035]) is formed directly on the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26, [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 21 of Li teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate (11, [0035]) including a first region (see annotated Fig. 21) and a second region (see annotated Fig. 21) separated from the first region by distance to define a space therebetween (see annotated Fig. 21);
a first semiconductor device (31, [0035]) on the first region, the first semiconductor device (31) including a gate dielectric (19, [0035]); and
a second semiconductor device (32, [0035]) on the second region, the second semiconductor device (32) excluding a gate dielectric (19 does not exist on this device),
wherein the first semiconductor device is a fin field-effect transistor (FinFET) (31, [0035]) including one or more semiconductor fins (see annotated Fig. 21) and a first high-k dielectric layer (27, [0035], described as a high-k dielectric in [0098]) on the one or more semiconductor fins,
wherein the second semiconductor device (32) is a gate-all-around (GAA) nanosheet transistor (the device is referred to as a gate ring transistor, which is a GAA transistor [0035]) including at least one void (see annotated Fig. 18) between one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26, [0035]) and a second high-k dielectric layer (28, [0035], described as a high-k dielectric in [0098]) on the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 15, further comprising:
an input/output (I/O) device (35 in Fig. 1, [0042]) on the first region (see annotated Fig. 21) and including the first semiconductor device (31, [0035]); and
a logic device (36 in Fig. 1, [0042]) on the second region (see annotated Fig. 21) and including the second semiconductor device (32, [0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 16, further comprising:
the first high-k dielectric layer (27, [0035]) formed directly on the gate dielectric (19, [0035]) such that the gate dielectric (19) is interposed between the first high-k dielectric layer (27) and the one or more semiconductor fins (see annotated Fig. 21); and
the second high-k dielectric layer ((28, [0035]) formed directly on the one or more semiconductor nanosheets (26 in the second region, [0035]).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the semiconductor fin of claim 18, wherein the semiconductor fin (see annotated Fig. 21) comprises alternating layers of silicon germanium (SiGe) (contained in the channel forming regions 15, [0049]) and silicon (Si) (channel 26, [0049]), the alternating layers extending continuously from an upper surface of the semiconductor fin to a base of the semiconductor fin formed on an upper surface of the substrate (11, [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Balakrishnan et al. (US 2017/0338308 A1, hereafter Balakrishnan) and in further view of Cheng et al. (US 2019/0067122 A1, hereafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming the one or more semiconductor fins comprises:
forming a first nanosheet stack (see annotated Fig. 16) on [substrate (11, [0035])] (as Li does not teach a BDI layer) in the first region (see annotated Fig. 16), the first nanosheet stack including an alternating arrangement of sacrificial nanosheets (15, [0035]) and active nanosheets (26, [0035]);
forming a second nanosheet stack (see annotated Fig. 16) on [substrate (11, [0035])] (as Li does not teach a BDI layer) in the second region (see annotated Fig. 16), the second nanosheet stack including an alternating arrangement of sacrificial nanosheets (15, [0035]) and active nanosheets (26, [0035]); and
Li fails to disclose forming a bottom dielectric isolation (BDI) layer on an upper surface of the substrate.
However, Balakrishnan teaches a similar method of forming a FinFET in which a BDI (buried insulator layer, 12, [0021]) is deposited on a substrate (10, [0021]). This insulator layer acts as an etch stop layer during processing steps [0025]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li to include the buried insulator layer of Balakrishnan to protect the device during processing.
Li in view of Balakrishnan fails to disclose replacing the sacrificial nanosheets of the first nanosheet stack with a semiconductor material while maintaining the active nanosheets of the first nanosheet stack to form the one or more semiconductor fins, while maintaining the sacrificial nanosheets of the second nanosheet stack.
However, Li teaches a method of removing sacrificial nanosheets in the second nanosheet stack [0086]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to apply this technique to the other stack should removal of nanosheets be desired. Cheng teaches a similar I/O device (104, [0021]) in which sacrificial layers 105, 109, 113, and 117 ([0021]) are removed (Cheng states the other lays may be removed as well [0110], meaning they do not have to be). Then the silicon is regrown in the gaps to create the structure (1201, [0111]) of Fig. 12. This structure can be made of silicon (as are layers 103, 107, 111, 115, [0023] states 103 can be silicon, [0035] states 103, 107, 111, and 115 are in an alternating stack with 105, 109, 113, and 117, meaning all of 103, 107, 111, and 115 would comprise silicon). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FinFET of Li in view of Balakrishnan to have the fin comprise only semiconducting material as taught by Cheng using the selective removing sacrificial nanosheets of Li to get the expected result of reduced resistance within the fin(s).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Cheng.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the method of claim 9, wherein forming the one or more semiconductor fins comprises:
forming a first nanosheet stack (see annotated Fig. 16) in the first region (see annotated Fig. 16), the first nanosheet stack including an alternating arrangement of sacrificial nanosheets (15, [0035]) and active nanosheets (26, [0035]);
forming a second nanosheet stack (see annotated Fig. 16) in the second region (see annotated Fig. 16), the second nanosheet stack including an alternating arrangement of sacrificial nanosheets (15) and active nanosheets (26).
Li fails to disclose replacing the sacrificial nanosheets of the first nanosheet stack with a semiconductor material to form the one or more semiconductor fins, while maintaining the sacrificial nanosheets of the second nanosheet stack.
However, Li teaches a method of removing sacrificial nanosheets in the second nanosheet stack [0086]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to apply this technique to the other stack should removal of nanosheets be desired. Cheng teaches a similar I/O device (104, [0021]) in which sacrificial layers 105, 109, 113, and 117 ([0021]) are removed (Cheng states the other lays may be removed as well [0110], meaning they do not have to be). Then the silicon is regrown in the gaps to create the structure (1201, [0111]) of Fig. 12. This structure can be made of silicon (as are layers 103, 107, 111, 115, [0023] states 103 can be silicon, [0035] states 103, 107, 111, and 115 are in an alternating stack with 105, 109, 113, and 117, meaning all of 103, 107, 111, and 115 would comprise silicon). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FinFET of Li to have the fin comprise only semiconducting material as taught by Cheng using the selective removing sacrificial nanosheets of Li to get the expected result of reduced resistance within the fin(s).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the sacrificial nanosheets (15, [0035]) comprise silicon germanium (SiGe) [0049] and the semiconductor material (26, [0035]) comprises silicon (Si) [0049] to form a strained heterostructure semiconductor fin (see annotated Fig. 21). As the materials are there originally in Li, the strain in the fin is inherent. As XYZ teaches a final heterostructure, the semiconductor material would have to be Si.
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the semiconductor fin (see annotated Fig. 21) of claim 18.
Li fails to teach the semiconductor fin comprises silicon (Si) extending continuously from an upper surface of the semiconductor fin to a base of the semiconductor fin formed on an upper surface of the substrate.
However, Li teaches a method of removing sacrificial nanosheets in the second nanosheet stack [0086]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to apply this technique to the other stack should removal of nanosheets be desired. Cheng teaches a similar I/O device (104, [0021]) in which sacrificial layers 105, 109, 113, and 117 ([0021]) are removed (Cheng states the other lays may be removed as well [0110], meaning they do not have to be). Then the silicon is regrown in the gaps to create the structure (1201, [0111]) of Fig. 12. This structure can be made of silicon (as are layers 103, 107, 111, 115, [0023] states 103 can be silicon, [0035] states 103, 107, 111, and 115 are in an alternating stack with 105, 109, 113, and 117, meaning all of 103, 107, 111, and 115 would comprise silicon). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FinFET of Li to have the fin comprise only silicon as taught by Cheng using the selective removing sacrificial nanosheets of Li to get the expected result of reduced resistance within the fin(s).
Conclusion
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892