DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/10/2022, 04/20/2023, and 09/19/2024 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10, 14-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0057090 (hereinafter “Gao”) in view of Gross et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0314793 (hereinafter “Gross”). In regard to claim 1, Gao teaches A system comprising: a server corresponding to a sequencing device ( Paragraphs [0029]-[0037] disclose interfacing a nucleic acid sequencing instrument with a server system that includes software. Paragraph [0153] discloses non-transitory storage media that may be executed by a machine. ) ; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of the server (Paragraph [0153]) , cause the system to: receive, from a computing device, a status query for a nucleotide sequencing taskset depicted by an active sequencing interface (Paragraphs [0029]-[0037] disclose APIs for e.g. retrieving the run status of a plan.) ; determine, for the nucleotide sequencing taskset, statuses of a sequencing run, a data-analysis transfer of base-call data generated during the sequencing run, and a variant analysis of the base-call data (Paragraphs [0029]-[0037] as cited above. Figure 2 and corresponding paragraphs [0057]-[0061] depict and disclose the server receiving log files of a run, determining a base call, and a variant call. ) . However, where Gao does not explicitly teach, Gross discloses and provide, for display within the active sequencing interface, a graphical status summary for the nucleotide sequencing taskset comprising a run status icon indicating a status of the sequencing run, a data-transfer-status icon indicating a status of the data-analysis transfer, and a variant-analysis-status icon indicating a status of the variant analysis (Gross Figure 2 depict s a user interface that includes overall statuses of running sequences, as represented by a progress bar, and completed runs represented by check marks and/or caution symbols along with additional information including current step, warnings, and failures. Figure 3 depicts sequence analysis including upload file status, variant call, and base sequence analysis with corresponding status icons. See also, paragraph [0119] disclosing providing status updates as a pipeline executes via user interface. ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Gross into that of Gao in order to improve the user experience by providing the status of pipeline processing of genomic information (Gross Paragraph [0158]). In regard to claim 3, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The system of claim 1 , further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: determine a collective pass filter metric indicating a subset of base calls generated during the sequencing run that satisfy a quality filter (Gao paragraphs [0076]-[0087] disclose including quality control (QC) parameters that may assess assay performance using thresholds at various points in the workflow.) ; and provide, for display within the active sequencing interface, the collective pass filter metric ( Gross Figure 3 discloses an interface which displays passing and failed sequences. Note the motivation to combine as used in the rejection of claim 1 is applicable . ) . In regard to claim 4, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The system of claim 1 , further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: determine an updated status of one or more of the sequencing run, the data-analysis transfer, or the variant analysis; and provide an updated graphical status summary comprising one or more of an updated run status icon indicating an updated status of the sequencing run, an updated data-transfer-status icon indicating an updated status of the data-analysis transfer, and an updated variant-analysis-status icon indicating an updated status of the variant analysis (Gross paragraph [0119] discloses that the user interface updates with the process status and QC results until the pipeline completes. See also figures 2 and 3 which depict an overall status progress bar as well as individual statuses of samples with corresponding timestamps. Note the motivation to combine as used in the rejection of claim 1 is applicable .) . In regard to claim 7, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The system of claim 1 , further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to provide the graphical status summary for display on the sequencing device, local computing device connected to a local server, or an external computing device connected to the server via a network (Gross Figures 2 and 3 illustrate a user interface display that depicts graphical summaries for sequencing runs. Note the motivation to combine as used in the rejection of claim 1 is applicable.) . Regarding claim s 8 and 15 , the claim contains limitation considered analogous to that of claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise. Regarding claim 8, the claim contains limitation considered analogous to that of claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise. In regard to claim 10, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: receive an indication of a user selection of an expand option corresponding to the graphical status summary; and based on the indication of the user selection of the expand option, provide, for display within the active sequencing interface, an expanded graphical status summary comprising a textual status summary for the run status icon, a textual status summary for the data-transfer-status icon, and a textual status summary for the variant-analysis-status icon (Gao paragraph [0038] discloses the user interface enabling the user to enter information and providing multiple pages to plan a run and monitor a run in progress and further enabling user configuration. Gross paragraph [0097] discloses user input. Figure 2 illustrates a graphical overview while Figure 3 provides a more detail summary of a specific run. Note the motivation to combine as used in the rejections of claims 1 & 8 are applicable.) . Regarding claim 14 , the claim contains limitation considered analogous to that of claim 3 and is therefore rejected on the same premise. In regard to claim 16, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The method of claim 15, wherein determining the statuses comprises: determining, for a first nucleotide sequencing taskset among the nucleotide sequencing tasksets, statuses of a first sequencing run, a first data-analysis transfer of base-call data generated during the first sequencing run, and a first variant analysis of the base-call data; and determining, for a second nucleotide sequencing taskset among the nucleotide sequencing tasksets, statuses of a second sequencing run, a second data-analysis transfer of base-call data generated during the second sequencing run, and a second variant analysis of the base-call data (Gross Figures 2-4 illustrate multiple statuses for multiple runs depicting actively running and completed sequences including base calls and variant calls (e.g. Figure 4). Note the motivation to combine as used in the rejections of claims 1 & 8 are applicable .) . In regard to claim 17, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The method of claim 16 , wherein providing the graphical status summaries for the nucleotide sequencing tasksets comprises providing, for display within the active sequencing interface: a first graphical status summary for the first nucleotide sequencing taskset comprising a first run status icon indicating a status of the first sequencing run, a first data-transfer-status icon indicating a status of the first data-analysis transfer, and a first variant-analysis-status icon indicating a status of the first variant analysis; and a second graphical status summary for the second nucleotide sequencing taskset comprising a second run status icon indicating a status of the second sequencing run, a second data-transfer-status icon indicating a status of the second data-analysis transfer, and a second variant- analysis-status icon indicating a status of the second variant analysis ( Gross Figures 2-4 illustrate multiple statuses and status icons for multiple runs depicting actively running and completed sequences including base calls and variant calls (e.g. Figure 4). Note the motivation to combine as used in the rejections of claims 1 & 8 are applicable. ) . Regarding claim 20 , the claim contains limitation considered analogous to that of claim 10 and is therefore rejected on the same premise. Claim(s) 2, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Gross and further in view of Subramaniam et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0104790 (hereinafter “Subramaniam”) . In regard to claim 2, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The system of claim 1 . However, where they do not specifically teach, Subramaniam discloses further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: determine a collective base-call-quality metric indicating an accuracy of base calls generated during the sequencing run; and provide, for display within the active sequencing interface, the collective base-call-quality metric (Subramaniam Figures 10 and 11 and paragraphs [0100]-[0103] disclose evaluating data based on quality including an expected quality value from previous runs to determine in the data is good and, if failing a threshold and/or range.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Subramaniam into that of Gao and Gross, in order to provide run-time quality control for sequencing runs (Subramanium Abstract). In regard to claim 11, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, but where they no not explicitly teach, Subramaniam discloses further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: receive an indication of a user selection of a cancel option corresponding to one or more of the sequencing run, the data-analysis transfer, or the variant analysis; and based on the indication of the user selection of the cancel option, cancel one or more of the sequencing run, the data-analysis transfer, or the variant analysis (Subramaniam paragraph [0099] and Figure 10 disclose presenting a set of actions for the user to e.g. abort a process due to certain factors.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Subramaniam into that of Gao and Gross, in order to provide run-time quality control for sequencing runs (Subramanium Abstract). In regard to claim 12, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, but where they no not explicitly teach, Subramaniam discloses further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: receive an indication of a user selection of a re-initiate option corresponding to one or more of the sequencing run, the data-analysis transfer, or the variant analysis; and based on the indication of the user selection of the re-initiate option, re-initiate one or more of the sequencing run, the data-analysis transfer, or the variant analysis (Subramaniam paragraph [0099] and Figure 10 disclose presenting a set of actions for the user to e.g. rerun a process due to certain factors.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Subramaniam into that of Gao and Gross, in order to provide run-time quality control for sequencing runs (Subramanium Abstract). Regarding claim 13 , the claim contains limitation considered analogous to that of claim 2 and is therefore rejected on the same premise. Claim(s) 5-6, 9, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Gross and further in view of Kanodia et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0070397 (hereinafter “Kanodia”). In regard to claim 5, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The system of claim 1, but where they do not explicitly teach, Kanodia discloses further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: determine a status of an external-call-data transfer of the base-call data generated during the sequencing run to an external storage; and provide the graphical status summary further comprising an external-transfer-status icon indicating a status of the external-call-data transfer ( Kanodia Figure 11 and paragraph [0132] illustrate and disclose a user interface that displays transfer statuses of files to external storage along with the speed at which they are being transferred. ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kanodia into that of Gao and Gross in order to provide rapid transfer of files from a sources to a target (Kanodia paragraphs [0001]-[0002] ) . In regard to claim 6, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The system of claim 1, but where they do not explicitly teach, Kanodia discloses further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: determine a status of an external-analysis-data transfer of data generated during the variant analysis to an external storage; and provide the graphical status summary further comprising an external-transfer-status icon indicating a status of the external-analysis-data transfer ( Kanodia Figure 11 and paragraph [0132] illustrate and disclose a user interface that displays transfer statuses of files to external storage along with the speed at which they are being transferred. ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kanodia into that of Gao and Gross in order to provide rapid transfer of files from a sources to a target (Kanodia paragraphs [0001]-[0002]). In regard to claim 9, Gao, in view of Gross, teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, but where they do not explicitly teach, Kanodia discloses further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to determine the status of the data-analysis transfer by determining a status of a transfer of base-call data generated during the sequencing run from the sequencing device to the local server ( Kanodia Figure 1 and paragraphs [0026]-[0027] disclose a network environment where a data processing unit is in communication with a server via a network. Figure 11 and paragraph [0132] illustrate and disclose a user interface that displays transfer statuses of files to external storage along with the speed at which they are being transferred ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kanodia into that of Gao and Gross in order to provide rapid transfer of files from a sources to a target (Kanodia paragraphs [0001]-[0002]). Regarding claim s 18-19 , the claim s contain limitation s considered analogous to that of claim s 5-6 and are therefore rejected on the same premise. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KEVIN K MCINNISH whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1089 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 9 am - 6 pm (Flexible Fridays) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Silver can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-8634 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEVIN K MCINNISH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6221