Detailed Action
Specification Objection Withdrawal
Applicant’s amendment of the title of the invention is acknowledged. Thus, the objection to specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections Withdrawal
Applicant’s cancellation of Claim 2 is acknowledged. Thus, the rejection under 112 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0381436) of record, in view of Lu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0262965).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Noh discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor [0028] substrate (102), wherein a plurality of active areas (AC) are formed in the semiconductor substrate, and the plurality of active areas are isolated by an isolation structure (104), wherein the isolation structure comprises a plurality of first areas and a plurality of second areas, wherein a dimension of a given one of the plurality of second areas in a first direction (X) is larger than a dimension of a given one of the plurality of first areas in the first direction (FIG. 2D); and a plurality of word line structures (WL) located below a surface of the substrate and extending in the first direction, wherein the plurality of word line structures cross through the isolation structure and the plurality of active areas, a given one of the plurality of word line structures comprises a first sub-word line structure (wider shorter) located in a given one of the first areas and a second sub-word line structure (longer) located in a given one of the second areas, wherein the first sub-word line structure has a first dimension in a second direction (Y), the second sub-word line structure has a second dimension, wherein an included angle (90o) is formed between the second direction and the first direction; wherein both of the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Noh is silent with respect to “the second sub-word line structure has a second width at least larger than the first width in the second direction” and “in the second direction, the second sub-word line structure comprises a first portion having the first width being same as the first sub-word line structure and a second portion having the second width, wherein the second portion is located above the first portion”.
FIG. 1 of Lu discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a first sub-word line structure (146) located in a given one of the first areas and a second sub-word line structure (152) located in a given one of the second areas, wherein the first sub-word line structure has a first width in a second direction, the second sub-word line structure has a second width at least larger than the first width in the second direction. Furthermore, the width of the second sub-word line structure continuously changes from less than the first width at bottom portion to greater than the first width at top portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that in the second direction, the second sub-word line structure comprises a first portion having the first width being same as the first sub-word line structure and a second portion having the second width, wherein the second portion is located above the first portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Noh, as taught by Lu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Noh in the above manner for purpose of improving retention performance ([0002] of Lu).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 2 of Noh discloses a given one of the plurality of word line structures further comprises a third sub-word line structure (narrower shorter) located in a given one of the plurality of active areas (AC); wherein the third sub-word line structure has a third width less than or equal to the first width in the second direction.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 2C of Noh discloses a depth of the third sub-word line structure is less than or equal to a depth of the first sub-word line structure. FIG. 4 of Yoon discloses the depth of the first sub-word line structure is less than a depth of the second sub-word line structure.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 2D of Noh discloses the plurality of active areas are arranged alternatively and at intervals in the second direction (Y), and the included angle between the first direction and the second direction is greater than 30 degrees.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 2D of Noh discloses the plurality of first areas and the plurality of second areas are arranged alternately and at intervals in the first direction.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 1 of Lu discloses a ratio of the second width to the first width is in a range of 1.2 to 3.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 1 of Lu discloses a height ratio of the second portion (upper portion 152) to the first portion (lower portion 152) in a direction perpendicular to the substrate is in a range of 0.5 to 10.
Pertinent Art
U.S. Patent No. 11056175, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0344343, 20200161306, 20170213834, 20140110786, 20150340313, 20190123051, 20200051921, 20210358920, CN 112992901 and CN 110896046.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. During examination proceedings, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and a claim must be read in accordance with the percepts of English grammar and words should be given their plain, ordinary meaning. In re Hyatt, 708 F2d 712, 218 USPQ 195 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F. 2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897