DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed in 21 AUGUST 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the amendment of claims 1 and 7-8 have been acknowledged.
Pending Claims: 1-10
In view of the amendment to claim 1, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been modified to change the primary prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 21 AUGUST 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claim 1, that neither Ziegler nor Jones teaches the newly amended limitations of instant claim 1 (Arguments filed 21 AUGUST 2026, Page 6 to Page 7, Paragraph 1). Therefore, instant claim 1 is allowable. Applicant’s argument is persuasive. However, Applicant’s arguments are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that instant claims 2-9 are allowable for the same reasons above because they depend upon instant claim 1 and any other referenced prior art does not cure the deficiencies of Ziegler and Jones (Arguments filed 21 AUGUST 2026, Page 7, Paragraphs 2 to 5). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because instant claim 1 is not allowable due to newly cited prior art Petro and, therefore, instant claims 2-9 are also not allowable.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 8 of the instant application includes the limitation “an adjustment liquid”, which is described in the specification as “Regarding the adjustment liquid, any of liquids generally used for liquid chromatography can be used” (Paragraph 0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petro et al, US Patent Application No. US 20060054543 A1 (hereinafter Petro), in view of Jones et al, US Patent Application No. 20060054558 A1 (hereinafter Jones).
Regarding Claim 1, Petro teaches a liquid chromatography system comprising (i.e., a liquid chromatograph comprising; Fig. 1, #100; Paragraph 0060)
a first and second pump (Fig. 1, #108 and 110) for feeding chilled (Fig. 1, #116) and heated (Fig. 1, #118) lines to a mixer to form a mobile phase (i.e., a liquid feeding portion which feeds a mobile phase to a flow channel; Paragraph 0060),
an injection valve (Fig. 1, #112) connected to reservoirs (Fig. 1, #102 and 104) via the chilled and heated lines which includes an injection port (Fig. 1, #114) for receiving samples from a sample source wherein the injection valve provides a mixing zone and is adapted for serially injecting samples into the mobile phase (i.e., a sample injection portion which is provided downstream of the liquid feeding portion in the flow channel and injects a sample into the mobile phase; Paragraph 0060),
a liquid chromatography column (i.e., a separation column; Fig. 1, #106) downstream of the injection valve (i.e., which is provided downstream of the sample injection portion in the flow channel and separates sample components in the sample; Fig. 1; Paragraph 0060),
a second temperature control element (i.e., a first temperature adjustment device, Fig. 1, #132) in thermal communication with the heated line for maintaining the line temperatures at a predetermined temperature, with an example of an electrically heated metal capillary line (i.e., which raises a temperature), which is used to heat the mobile phase feed and is able to quickly heat the column and obtain a separation across a wide temperature gradient over a short period of time (i.e., of the separation column to a first temperature during separation of the sample components by the separation column; Paragraph 0063),
a flow-through detector (i.e., a detector; Fig. 1, #126) in fluid communication with the effluent port (Fig. 1, #124) of the chromatographic column (i.e., which is provided downstream of the separation column in the flow channel) for detecting a property of at least one of the sample components (i.e., and detects sample components separated by the separation column; Paragraph 0060),
a first temperature control element (i.e., wherein the liquid chromatograph further comprises a second temperature adjustment device; Fig. 1, #130) in thermal communication with the chilled line (i.e., which is provided upstream of the separation column in the flow channel) for maintaining the line temperature at a predetermined temperature lower than that of the heated line, with examples of -30 °C to 0 °C (i.e., and lowers the temperature of the mobile phase which is equal to an initial temperature of the separation column), wherein the chilled feed is subsequently mixed with the heated feed in the injection port (i.e., before being adjusted by the first temperature device; Paragraph 0063),
wherein the particular design of the cooling element is not critical (Paragraph 0063),
a control system (i.e., a control device; Fig. 1, #128) for controlling the temperature and/or the composition of the mobile phase in the mixing zone by varying the relative flows of the feeds supplied to the mixing zone from the reservoirs and controlling the temperatures of the heated and chilled lines (i.e., which controls at least one of the liquid feeding portion and the second temperature adjustment device; Paragraph 0060),
wherein the method of characterizing a sample includes creating a mobile phase by mixing the heated and chilled lines, controlling the temperature of the column with the mobile phase, and then injection the sample into the mobile phase and delivering the sample and mobile phase through the chromatography column to separate the sample (Paragraph 0029), wherein the injection valve is switched from one position in which only mobile phase goes through the column (Fig. 2A) to a second position in which sample is injected into the mobile phase (Fig. 2B) for separation and these positions are repeatedly alternated for the injection of discrete sample volumes into the mobile phase (i.e., and the control device is configure to operate the liquid feeding portion and the second temperature adjustment device during a period after completion of the separation of the sample components and before injection of a next sample by the sample injection portion to supply the mobile phase adjusted to the second temperature by the second temperature adjustment device into the separation column which remains at a temperature higher than the initial temperature; Paragraphs 0067-0068) wherein the column is explicitly heated and cooled internally by the mobile phase to remove the need for an external heating source (i.e., such that the temperature of the separation column is reduced toward the initial temperature before the next sample is injected by the sample injection portion; Paragraph 0017).
Petro does not teach wherein the second temperature adjustment device is any one of a Peltier refrigerator, a Peltier element, a compressor refrigerator, a low-temperature thermostatic water circulation device, and a liquified carbon dioxide cylinder utilizing cooler.
However, Jones teaches that a precooling apparatus (Abstract) can be a Peltier cooler for the purpose of cooling to -10 °C with a variety of mobile phases and flow rates (i.e., wherein the second temperature adjustment device is any one of a Peltier element; Paragraph 0038) or a liquid carbon dioxide cryogenic cooler if the temperature of the mobile phase needs to be drastically lowered from about 5 °C to about -60 °C (i.e., and a liquified carbon dioxide cylinder utilizing cooler; Paragraphs 0039-0040).
Jones is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to mobile phases and their use in chromatography and specifically heating and or cooling of fluids used as mobile phases (Paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the first temperature controller for the chilled line as taught by Petro to be a Peltier cool or a liquid carbon dioxide cryogenic cooler as taught by Jones because these coolers would be capable of cooling to the requisite cooling ranges of Petro.
Regarding Claim 4, Petro further teaches a first temperature control element (i.e., wherein the second temperature adjustment device; Fig. 1, #130) in thermal communication with the chilled line (Paragraph 0063) and downstream of the pump (i.e., is installed on the flow channel between the liquid feeding portion; Fig. 1, #108) and upstream of the injection valve (i.e., and the sample injection portion; Fig. 1, #112; Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 6, Jones further teaches wherein the preheating apparatus (Fig. 2, #10) is known to be located between the injection device (Fig. 2, #14) and a chromatographic column (i.e., wherein the second temperature adjustment device is installed on the flow channel between the sample injection portion and the separation column; Fig. 2, #16).
Regarding Claim 7, Petro further teaches that the control system can control mobile phase compositional gradients and temperature gradients (i.e., wherein the mobile phase includes two or more kinds of eluents including a first eluent and a second eluent which starts to be fed for the separation of the sample later than the first eluent, and wherein the second temperature adjustment device adjusts temperature of the first eluent; Paragraph 0065).
Furthermore, the limitation “wherein the mobile phase includes two or more kinds of eluents including a first eluent and a second eluent” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Furthermore, the limitation “which starts to be fed for separation of a sample later than the first eluent, and wherein the second temperature adjustment device adjusts temperature of the first eluent” is directed toward an expected result from the practice or use of the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. Where the prior art product structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established because the devices meets the limitations of the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II).
Regarding Claim 8, Petro further teaches the use of mobile phase to internally heat or cool the column (i.e., wherein the mobile phase includes an adjustment liquid which is not used for separation of the sample, and wherein the second temperature adjustment device adjusts temperature of the adjustment liquid; Paragraph 0017).
Furthermore, the limitation “wherein the mobile phase includes an adjustment liquid” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Furthermore, the limitation “which is not used for separation of the sample, and wherein the second temperature adjustment device adjusts temperature of the adjustment liquid” is directed toward an expected result from the practice or use of the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. Where the prior art product structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established because the devices meets the limitations of the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petro in view of Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Juvet, Jr. et al, US Patent No. 3902848 A (hereinafter Juvet).
Regarding Claim 2, Petro further teaches a plurality of reservoirs (Fig. 1, #102 and 104) containing a plurality of fluids that mix to provide a mobile phase (i.e., wherein the liquid feeding portion includes a container storing the mobile phase; Paragraph 0060).
Petro in view of Jones does not teach wherein the second temperature adjustment device is installed on the container.
However, Juvet teaches a mobile phase reservoir (i.e., the liquid feeding portion includes a container storing the mobile phase; Fig. 1, #22) that is heated (i.e., and wherein the second temperature adjustment device is installed on the container) for the purpose of degassing the mobile phase and reducing noise (Col. 4, Lines 25-60).
Juvet is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to the field of liquid chromatography (Col. 1, Lines 5-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the heating system made obvious by Petro in view of Jones to comprise a heated mobile phase reservoir as taught by Juvet because the heated reservoir would remove the gas from the mobile phase and reduce noise.
Regarding Claim 10, Petro in view of Jones does not teach wherein the liquid chromatograph is an amino acid analyzer for analyzing amino acids.
However, Juvet teaches that materials such as amino acids are detectable with the liquid chromatography system (i.e., wherein the liquid chromatograph is an amino acid analyzer for analyzing amino acids; Col. 10, Lines 42-51) for the purpose of detecting minute quantities of solutes (Col. 3, Lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the liquid chromatographic column made obvious by Petro in view of Jones to be the liquid chromatographic column taught by Juvet because the liquid chromatography column would be capable of detecting minute quantities of amino acids.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petro in view of Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ieuji, US Patent Application No. 20200061494 A1 (hereinafter Ieuji).
Regarding Claim 3, Petro further teaches a plurality of reservoirs (Fig. 1, #102 and 104) containing a plurality of fluids that mix to provide a mobile phase (i.e., wherein the liquid feeding portion includes a container storing the mobile phase) and pumps (i.e., and a pump; Fig. 1, #108 and 110) that provide fluid communication between the reservoirs and the column (i.e., feeding the mobile phase in the container to the flow channel; Paragraph 0060).
Petro in view of Jones does not teach wherein the second temperature adjustment device is installed on the flow channel between the container and the pump.
However, Ieuji teaches a mobile phase supply device (Fig. 1, #10) which includes storages that contain an aqueous solution (Fig. 1, #11) and an organic solvent (Fig. 1, #12) that are supplied through a heater (i.e., wherein the second temperature adjustment device; Fig. 1, #30) before being mixed and sent to an injector by a liquid sender (Fig. 1, #15) that is a pump (i.e., is installed on the flow channel between the container and the pump; Paragraphs 0028-0033) with the purpose of providing stable supply of the mobile phase to a liquid chromatography device (Paragraph 0006).
Ieuji is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to liquid chromatography (Paragraph 0001). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the fluid delivery device made obvious by Petro in view of Jones with the pump and heater location as taught by Ieuji because locations would improve the stability of the mobile phase supplied to the liquid chromatography device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petro in view of Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gjerde et al, US Patent Application No. 20030165941 A1 (hereinafter Gjerde), in view of Fujii et al, US Patent No. 5827426 A (hereinafter Fujii).
Regarding Claim 5, Petro in view of Jones does not teach an ammonia filter column which is disposed on the flow channel between the liquid feeding portion and the sample injection portion.
However, Fujii teaches an ammonia filter (Fig. 3, #8) located between a set of buffers (Fig. 3, #1-4) and an autosampler (i.e., on the flow channel between the liquid feeding portion and the sample injection portion; Fig. 3, #9; Col. 6, Lines 55-63), which is known to have the purpose of removing ammonia ions due to their interference with amino acid performance in ion exchange chromatography.
Fujii is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to liquid chromatography (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the liquid chromatography system made obvious by Petro in view of Jones with the ammonia filter as taught by Fujii because the ammonia filter would remove ions that can interfere with ion exchange chromatography.
Petro in view of Jones in view of Fujii does not teach wherein the second temperature adjustment device is installed on the ammonia filter column.
However, Gjerde teaches a prefilter (Fig. 9, #208) which removes contaminants from incoming liquids prior to a high pressure liquid chromatography DNA analyzer column that has an elongated coil (Fig. 9, #210) for heating liquid on the outlet (i.e., wherein the second temperature adjustment device is installed on the ammonia filter column; Paragraph 0199) because optimum temperature control and pre-selection is important for accurate and reproducible high pressure liquid chromatography DNA separations (Paragraphs 0029-0030).
Gjerde is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to liquid chromatography (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the liquid chromatography system made obvious by Petro in view of Jones in view of Fujii with a heating coil on the ammonia filter as taught by Gjerde because optimum temperature control would make the high-pressure liquid chromatography DNA separations accurate and reproducible.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petro in view of Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujii.
Regarding Claim 9, Petro in view of Jones does not teach wherein the liquid chromatograph is an ion exchange chromatograph.
However, Fujii teaches that the separation column is filled with an ion exchange resin (i.e., wherein the liquid chromatograph is an ion exchange chromatograph; Abstract) for the purpose of high-speed analysis (Col. 1, Lines 5-9) of amino acids (Col. 1, Lines 15-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the liquid chromatography system made obvious by Petro in view of Jones with the ion exchange resin as taught by Fujii because the ion exchange resin would improve the speed of the analysis for amino acids.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/Ryan B Huang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772