DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In an Amendment filed on 09/04/2025, claim 2 was cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1. 3-5 are still pending in this Application.
Response to amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks, on page 4, with respect to rejections to claims 1-5 under double patenting rejection have been fully considered but they are respectfully not persuasive. For the reasons provided in detail hereinbelow, the amendments to the claims are not sufficient to overcome the nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been maintained.
The applicants argues/requests to hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance until a terminal disclaimer is submitted. However, this is respectfully unpersuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been maintained.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 4-5, with respect to rejections to claims 2 under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on page 5,, with respect to rejections to claims 1 and 4 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1)/(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, rejections to claims have been withdrawn due to the amendments.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 5-8, with respect to rejections to claims under 35 USC § 103(a) have been fully considered but they respectfully unpersuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been changed based on the amendments.
On pages 6-7, the Applicant argues that:
“The PTO's assertion regarding the modification to Horino based on the
teachings of Yang is erroneous because the disclosure in Yang is directed to a device
for adjusting the height of a chuck used to hold a semiconductor wafer (see Yang, Specifically, the portion of Yang cited by the PTO is directed to controlling the up and down movement distance of the height of the chuck by increasing or decreasing the number and pitch of the screw threads (43) formed in the outer circumferential surface of the chuck body ( 41) ( see Yang, paragraph bridging pages 2 and 3, fust two paragraphs on page 3, and Fig. 3). Yang discloses that the chuck height adjusting device allows for easy adjustment of the height of the chuck to an optimized position by simply rotating the chuck. In light of the above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the chuck having a threaded outer circumferential surface disclosed in Yang is not a tap used to machine a workpiece”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive…”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Also, In response to the arguments above, Yang was not cited to teach a tap tool.
it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the invention as claimed reads in the control of a machine tapping tool being control in forward direction (discharging) and backward direction (evacuation process). The primary reference Horino teaches these two steps without explicitly stating that the tool is a tap tool. The secondary reference Wakabayashi was cited to teach that a tapping tool is controlled in a forward direction and evacuation direction based on stored parameters.
The claimed invention then requires the calculation of a distance based on stored parameters such as pitch and tap rotation values to control the movement of the tool during the discharging operation. Horino teaches or suggests that the tapping tool is controlled to certain distance without explicitly teaching how this is performed. the formula of distance related to groove pitch and tap rotation is a well-known mathematical formula. Yang was cited to teach calculating an operation distance based on a groove pitch and a tap rotation number (see page 3 last paragraph) to control the movement of a tool according to the distance calculated. Thus, Yang is a reference that is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in is relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. (See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992)). Yang when combined with other references solves the problem of moving a tool to a desired distance, by using the groove pitch and tap rotation number. This of course has to be translated to a current and time being applied to a motor, which are steps that the instant application is omitting. Therefore, the combination of references read and reasonable suggest the claimed subject matter.
Double Patenting
Instant Application 17938379
US Patent 12314030
As per claim 1, A control device for a machine tool in which a tap used to machine a workpiece is mounted to a main spindle that is relatively movable with respect to the workpiece, the control device comprising:
a parameter preparing unit that stores a predetermined parameter regarding a control in advance;
an evacuation unit that causes the tool to perform an evacuation operation from the workpiece;
and a chip discharging unit that causes the tool to perform a chip discharging operation,
the parameter preparing unit stores a chip discharge groove pitch of the tap and a tap rotation number set in advance (see claim 5 of the US patent),
wherein the evacuation operation of the tool by the evacuation unit and the chip discharging operation by the chip discharging unit are performable at respective predetermined timings.
the chip discharging unit calculates a chip discharging operation distance based on the chip discharge groove pitch and the tap rotation number, and causes the tap to perform a feed operation and a rotating operation causing movement equal to the discharging operation distance in a direction same as a machining direction.
As per claim 3, the control device for the machine tool according to claim 2,
wherein the parameter preparing unit identifies in advance an operation distance in which chips are dischargeable and evacuation is possible without damage to the tap or the workpiece, and determines the tap rotation number based on the operation distance identified in advance and the chip discharge groove pitch.
As per claim 5, the control device for the machine tool according to claim 1, comprising
an evacuation diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is normal or not,
wherein the predetermined timing to perform the chip discharging operation by the chip discharging unit is when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses the evacuation operation as abnormal and causes the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit to be canceled.
As per claim 4, the control device for the machine tool according to claim 1, further comprising a machining diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the machining of the workpiece is normal or not, wherein the predetermined timing to perform the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is when the machining is diagnosed as abnormal by the machining diagnosing unit.
As per claim 4, A control device for a machine tool that includes a tool mounted on a main spindle relatively movable with respect to a workpiece and machines the workpiece using the tool, the control device comprising:
a parameter preparing unit that preliminarily stores a predetermined parameter relating to a control;
an evacuation unit that causes the tool to perform an evacuation operation from the workpiece;
a chip discharging unit that causes the tool to perform a discharge operation of chip, and
an evacuation diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the evacuation operation is normal, wherein when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses that the evacuation operation is abnormal, the evacuation operation is cancelled, and
when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses that the evacuation operation is abnormal, the control device causes the chip discharging unit to perform the discharge operation of chip after cancelling the evacuation operation (this suggest that the evacuation and discharging operation happens at different predetermined times) .
Claim 5 The control device for the machine tool according to claim 4, wherein the tool is a tap, the parameter preparing unit stores a pitch of a chip discharge groove of the tap and a preset tap rotation number, and the chip discharging unit, when the evacuation operation is diagnosed to be abnormal by the evacuation diagnosing unit, calculates a discharging operation distance of chip from the pitch of the chip discharge groove and the tap rotation number, and causes the tap to perform a feeding movement and a rotating movement by the discharging operation distance in a direction same as a processing direction.
As per claim 6, the control device for the machine tool according to claim 5, wherein the parameter preparing unit is capable of discharging chip, preliminarily identifies an operational distance that allows an evacuation without a damage on the tap or the workpiece, and determines the tap rotation number based on an identification result and the pitch.
Claim 4 …
an evacuation diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the evacuation operation is normal, wherein
when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses that the evacuation operation is abnormal, the evacuation operation is cancelled, and
when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses that the evacuation operation is abnormal, the control device causes the chip discharging unit to perform the discharge operation of chip after cancelling the evacuation operation.
…As per claim 2, the control device for the machine tool according to The control device for the machine tool according to claim 1, further comprising a machining diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the machining of the workpiece is normal, wherein the evacuation unit causes the tool to perform the evacuation operation from the workpiece when the machining is diagnosed to be abnormal by the machining diagnosing unit.
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims and 4-6, of US Patent 12,314,030. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the US Patent is narrower than this instant application. Claims 4-6 of the US patent 12,314,030 teaches or suggest all of the elements of the current application claims 1, 3, and 5 and further includes other limitations that make the claim narrower. For instance, claim 1 of the instant invention is taught or suggested by claim 5 and 4; Claim 3 is taught or suggested by claim 6 of the patent; and Claim 5 is taught or suggested by claim 4 of the patent. It has been held in court that the generic patented invention has been anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993);
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over US Patent 12,314,030 claim 4 in view of Horino et al (JP 2002086330, as supported by the machine translation provided in the IDS).
Claim 4, US Patent 12,314,030 teaches the control device for the machine tool according to claim 1, but it does not explicitly teach further comprising a machining diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the machining of the workpiece is normal or not, wherein the predetermined timing to perform the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is when the machining is diagnosed as abnormal by the machining diagnosing unit.
However, Horino further teaches a machine comprising a machining diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the machining of the workpiece is normal or not, wherein the predetermined timing to perform the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is when the machining is diagnosed as abnormal by the machining diagnosing unit (see [0015-0017] “… Step 4: Compare the load on the cutting tool with a threshold. In this step, the load (load detection value) acting on the cutting tool detected in the previous step 3 is compared with the load level as a preset threshold value. In the present embodiment, since both the load applied to the tool spindle and the load applied to the feed axis are detected as the load acting on the cutting tool, the load level is also the load level for the tool spindle and the load level for the feed axis. Will be set in advance. Therefore, if the load on the tool spindle is greater than the load level for the tool spindle or the load on the feed axis is greater than the load level for the feed axis, it acts on the cutting tool. It is determined that the load has become higher than the preset load level. In this step, when the load acting on the cutting tool becomes larger than the preset load level, the process proceeds to step 5…”; also, see [0018] “[0018] Step 7: The cutting tool is retracted, and the residual chips in the processed hole are discharged. In this step, if the count value of the retry counter in the previous step 6 has not reached the preset count-up value (step 6N), the cutting tool at the cutting interruption position is moved to the preset retract position…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified US Patent 12,314,030’ invention as taught above to include diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the machining of the workpiece is normal or not, wherein the predetermined timing to perform the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is when the machining is diagnosed as abnormal by the machining diagnosing unit as taught by Horino in order to determining abnormalities during the machining/tapping process and avoid breakage of the tool (see [0015-0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horino et al (JP 2002086330, as supported by the machine translation provided in the IDS) in view of WAKABAYASHI (WO2020161881A1, as supported by the machine translation provided in the IDS) and Yang (KR 200184169 Y1, as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 1, Horino teaches a control device for a machine tool in which a tool/ (see [0004] “numerically controlled machine tool…”; also, see [0012] “Step 1: The movement of the cutting tool is started at the rapid feed speed. In the cutting of machine tools including numerically controlled machine tools, in order to shorten the processing time, generally, the cutting tool is moved to a position near the work piece at a rapid feed speed faster than the cutting speed, and then the cutting is performed. The cutting tool is moved at the cutting speed to the end position…”; also, see [0014] “,,,Focusing on the fact that the cutting resistance becomes larger than usual just before the cutting tool wears or breaks, this influence increases the load on the tool spindle that rotates the cutting tool and the cutting tool in the cutting direction. This is to detect an increase in the load on the moving feed shaft. Regarding the load applied to the tool spindle and the load applied to the feed axis, it is sufficient to detect the load using the function of monitoring the load state such as the torque and the current value, which each control device for the tool spindle and the feed axis has…”), the control device comprising:
a parameter preparing unit that stores a predetermined parameter regarding a control in advance (see [0024] “…. The set value 3 is the above-mentioned load level and is set as a variable on the NC machining program or parameter data of the control device. A plurality of these setting values can be set for each cutting tool or the same tool…”; also, see [0012-0012]);
an evacuation unit that causes the tool to perform an evacuation operation from the workpiece (see [0006] “…If the count value of the retry counter has not reached the preset count-up value, the cutting tool is temporarily retracted to the preset retracted position, and then the cutting tool at this retracted position is moved to the cutting interruption position. …” and see [0018] “Step 7: The cutting tool is retracted, and the residual chips in the processed hole are discharged.; also, see [0020]); and
a chip discharging unit that causes the tool to perform a chip discharging operation (see [0006] and see [0018] “Step 7: The cutting tool is retracted, and the residual chips in the processed hole are discharged. In this step, if the count value of the retry counter in the previous step 6 has not reached the preset count-up value (step 6N), the cutting tool at the cutting interruption position is moved to the preset retract position. It is evacuated once, and the residual chips in the processed hole are discharged by this operation. Regarding the retracted position, this may be set in advance at a position where the tip of the cutting tool is far from the opening of the machining hole, enough to discharge the residual chips from the machining hole”; also, the discharging operation seem to include a forward/feed operation and a rotating operation in a direction same as a machining direction, which suggests that this operation performs a remachining/recutting operation and the chip discharge happens during this time, Horino discloses in [0019-0020]),
wherein
,
the evacuation operation of the tool by the evacuation unit and the chip discharging operation by the chip discharging unit are performable at respective predetermined timings (see [0018] the evacuation is started at a predetermined point and retracted far from the hole wherein the discharge of the chips is performed), and
the chip discharging unit calculates a chip discharging operation distance (see [0019] “Step 8: Start the movement of the cutting tool toward the re-cutting start position at the rapid feed speed. In this step, the cutting tool temporarily retracted for discharging the residual chips in the previous step 7 is moved to the re-cutting start position stored in the previous step 5, that is, a position before the cutting interruption position by a predetermined amount. Start moving at a fast-forward speed. Regarding the point where the re-cutting start position is not the cutting interruption position but a position a predetermined amount before the cutting interruption position, it is highly likely that the cutting interruption position itself is a place where cutting has not yet been completed. This is taken into consideration when an excessive load may be applied in the vicinity of the cutting interruption position if the cutting position is moved to the position at the rapid feed speed. It should be noted that it is sufficient to set the position before the predetermined amount by about 1 to 2 mm”).
Thus, Horino teaches moving the tool (feed and rotation) in the same direction as a machining process by a predetermined distance which might not be the same point where cutting was interrupted but any desired distance of movement in the forward direction (see 0019), however, Horino does not explicitly teach wherein the tool is a tap, the parameter preparing unit stores a chip discharge groove pitch of the tap and a tap rotation number set in advance, and calculates the chip discharging operation distance based on the chip discharge groove pitch and the tap rotation number.
However, WAKABAYASHI teaches a tapping tool being raised and lowered by a predetermined distance for performing evocation and chip discharging (see [0045] “Therefore, in the present embodiment, while the number of rotation reciprocating movements is repeated by the value pointed out by the operator in advance, the arithmetic processing unit 91 monitors the occurrence of the R-axis torque abnormality based on the current value of the elevating motor 65. (Steps S9 and S10). Then, when an R-axis torque abnormality occurs (“YES” in step S9), the arithmetic processing unit 91 temporarily stops the drive of the elevating motor 65 and the rotary drive motor 83, and rotates and reciprocates the machining tool 100. Is interrupted, and then reverse drive is performed at a low speed by a certain amount…On the other hand, if an R-axis torque abnormality occurs while the machining tool 100 is being rotated in the reverse direction and raised in the Z2 direction, the machining tool 100 is rotated in the forward direction by a certain amount and lowered in the Z1 direction. After that, the process returns to step S8 and the rotary reciprocating movement of the machining tool 100 is restarted.; also, see [0042]), stores the parameters in advance, and controls the movement of the tool based on the stored parameters (see [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Horino’s invention to include a tapping tool being raised and lowered by a predetermined distance for performing evacuation and chip discharging as taught by WAKABAYASHI in order to avoid too breakage during the evacuation operation (see [0045] and [0042]).
However, Horino-WAKABAYASHI still does not explicitly teach the parameter preparing unit stores a chip discharge groove pitch of the tap and a tap rotation number set in advance, and calculates the chip discharging operation distance based on the chip discharge groove pitch and the tap rotation number.
However, Yang teaches a machine comprising calculating an operation distance based on a groove pitch and a tap rotation number (see page 3 last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Horino-WAKABAYASHI’s combination as taught above to include the teachings of Yang including calculating an operation distance based on a groove pitch and a tap rotation number as taught by Yang in order to easily calculate the chip discharging operation distance based on the chip discharge groove pitch and the tap rotation number, using stored values of groove pitch and tap rotation number as suggested by WAKABAYASHI’s to control the direction of a tool in any desired direction and at the desired calculated distance (see page 3 last paragraph).
As per claim 4, Horino-WAKABAYASHI-Yang teaches the control device for the machine tool according to claim 1, Horino further teaches further comprising a machining diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the machining of the workpiece is normal or not, wherein the predetermined timing to perform the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is when the machining is diagnosed as abnormal by the machining diagnosing unit (see [0015-0017] “… Step 4: Compare the load on the cutting tool with a threshold. In this step, the load (load detection value) acting on the cutting tool detected in the previous step 3 is compared with the load level as a preset threshold value. In the present embodiment, since both the load applied to the tool spindle and the load applied to the feed axis are detected as the load acting on the cutting tool, the load level is also the load level for the tool spindle and the load level for the feed axis. Will be set in advance. Therefore, if the load on the tool spindle is greater than the load level for the tool spindle or the load on the feed axis is greater than the load level for the feed axis, it acts on the cutting tool. It is determined that the load has become higher than the preset load level. In this step, when the load acting on the cutting tool becomes larger than the preset load level, the process proceeds to step 5…”; also, see [0018] “[0018] Step 7: The cutting tool is retracted, and the residual chips in the processed hole are discharged. In this step, if the count value of the retry counter in the previous step 6 has not reached the preset count-up value (step 6N), the cutting tool at the cutting interruption position is moved to the preset retract position…”).
As per claim 5, Horino-WAKABAYASHI-Yang teaches the control device for the machine tool according to claim 1, Horino does not explicitly teaches comprising an evacuation diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is normal or not, wherein the predetermined timing to perform the chip discharging operation by the chip discharging unit is when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses the evacuation operation as abnormal and causes the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit to be canceled.
However, WAKABAYASHI teaches an evacuation diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is normal or not (see [0045]), wherein the predetermined timing to perform the chip discharging operation by the chip discharging unit is when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses the evacuation operation as abnormal and causes the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit to be canceled (see [0045] “Therefore, in the present embodiment, while the number of rotation reciprocating movements is repeated by the value pointed out by the operator in advance, the arithmetic processing unit 91 monitors the occurrence of the R-axis torque abnormality based on the current value of the elevating motor 65. (Steps S9 and S10). Then, when an R-axis torque abnormality occurs (“YES” in step S9), the arithmetic processing unit 91 temporarily stops the drive of the elevating motor 65 and the rotary drive motor 83, and rotates and reciprocates the machining tool 100. Is interrupted, and then reverse drive is performed at a low speed by a certain amount…On the other hand, if an R-axis torque abnormality occurs while the machining tool 100 is being rotated in the reverse direction and raised in the Z2 direction, the machining tool 100 is rotated in the forward direction by a certain amount and lowered in the Z1 direction. After that, the process returns to step S8 and the rotary reciprocating movement of the machining tool 100 is restarted.; also, see [0042])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Horino’s combination as taught above to include an evacuation diagnosing unit that diagnoses whether the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit is normal or not (see [0045]), wherein the predetermined timing to perform the chip discharging operation by the chip discharging unit is when the evacuation diagnosing unit diagnoses the evacuation operation as abnormal and causes the evacuation operation by the evacuation unit to be canceled as taught by WAKABAYASHI in order to avoid too breakage during the evacuation operation (see [0045] and [0042]).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horino et al (JP 2002086330, as supported by the machine translation provided in the IDS) in view of WAKABAYASHI (WO2020161881A1, as supported by the machine translation provided in the IDS) and Yang (KR 200184169 Y1 as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of BORDIGNON (EP 1775049).
As per claim 3, Horino-WAKABAYASHI-Yang teaches the control device for the machine tool according to claim 2, Horino wherein the parameter preparing unit identifies in advance an operation distance in which chips are dischargeable and evacuation is possible without damage to the tap or the workpiece (see [0019]. The distance moved is a predefined position before the point where the cutting was suspended. Thus, at this distance the tool and workpiece cannot be possible damaged since not a big load torque exists, chips are discharged by the movement and evacuation is possible), -WAKABAYASHI also teaches these previous limitations (see [0045]), while Yang teaches the formula that distance is determined from pitch and number of rotations, Horino-WAKABAYASHI-Yang does not explicitly teach determines the tap rotation number based on the operation distance identified in advance and the chip discharge groove pitch.
However, BORDIGNON teaches a tapping machine comprising determining a tap rotation number based on a distance and a pitch (see page 4 last three pars. “a pre-established number of revolutions performed by the chuck - and calculated on the basis of the actual pitch of the threads to be cut - is counted starting from such instant, an information is produced relating to the travel length covered by the chuck, or the depth reached by the same chuck, starting of course from the beginning of the tapping operation. The tapping operation itself goes on until the total number of revolutions completed by the chuck reaches up to a pre-established value corresponding to the length of the tapping travel to be covered or the number of threads to be cut”, thus, the rotation number/number of revolutions is calculated based on the pitch and corresponding to a travel length/distance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Horino-WAKABAYASHI-Yang’s combination as taught above to include determining a tap rotation number based on a distance and a pitch as taught by BORDIGNON in order to calculate the number of revolution necessary to reach a desired length and control the movement of the tool until the number of revolutions is achieved and thus the desired distance is reached (see page 4 last three pars.).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of sill the in the applicant's art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
Nishimura (JP 2006088299, see page 2 par. 3, page 3 par. 3) and Uchiyama (JP 2006315094, see page 2 par 1, see page 5 par. 3-4) teach a tapping tool performing a tap discharging operation and an evacuation operation, wherein abnormalities/overload are detected during these operations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117