DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 20 July 2026.
Claim 1 was amended. Claim 4 was cancelled. No new claims were added. Therefore, claims 1-3 and 5-6 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niclass et al., US 20190004156 A1 (“Niclass”).
Regarding claim 1, Niclass discloses a lidar system, comprising:
a laser configured to generate a light pulse (Fig. 1, array of emitters 30, Paragraph [0032]);
transmit optics configured to receive the light pulse from said laser and direct the light pulse toward an external environment (Fig. 1, Collimating optics 32, Paragraph [0032]);
receive optics separate from said transmit optics for receiving light from the light pulse reflected off of an object in the external environment (Fig. 1, Light collection optics 42, Paragraph [0033]);
an array of photodetectors positioned to receive the light from the receive optics (Fig. 1, SPAD array 40, Paragraph [0033]) and generate an image corresponding to an instantaneous field of view ("iFOV") of the external environment (Fig. 2, SPAD array 40, super-pixel 72, Paragraph [0040]);
a controller configured to adjust the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser (Fig. 2, Control circuitry 56, Paragraph [0040]), wherein the iFOV is adjusted according to a predetermined, deterministic function of the time of flight that is independent of properties of the object, such that, for a shorter time of flight, the iFOV is adjusted in accordance with a larger parallax, and, for a longer time of flight, the iFOV is adjusted in accordance with a smaller parallax. (Figs. 4A-C, super-pixels 92, 94, 96, Paragraph [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Niclass discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1, wherein at least one of said photodetectors is a single-photon avalanche diode (Fig. 1, SPAD array 40, Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Niclass discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1, wherein adjusting the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser further comprises accounting for distortion by allowing a shape and a size of the iFOV to be a function of scan location (Figs. 5A-C, super-pixels 100, 102, 104, Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Niclass discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1, wherein adjusting the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser further comprises using time of flight to account for distortion due to parallax and defocusing (Figs. 4A-C, super-pixels 92, 94, 96, Paragraph [0045]-[0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niclass in view of McCord et al., US 20190162858 A1 ("McCord").
Regarding claim 3, Niclass discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1.
Niclass does not teach: wherein at least one of said photodetectors is a PIN photodiode.
However, McCord teaches a LIDAR sensor where the detector may comprise of a PIN diode (Fig. 1, detector 160a, Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the SPADs in Niclass’ pixel array with McCord’s PIN diodes. The results of this simple substitution of known detector elements would have been predictable.
Conclusion
/RACHEL NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645