DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 6 January 2026.
No claims were amended. No claim was cancelled. New claims 4-6 were added. Therefore, claims 1-6 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 4 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Ma does not disclose “a controller configured to adjust the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Applicant noted, in Paragraph [0049], Ma discloses “a processing circuit 13 synchronizes the trigger signals of the emitter 11 and the collector 12 to process the photon detection signals output by the pixels collecting photons.” In Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0052], Ma discloses the synchronously activated sampling area 204 that corresponds to a reflected light beam from the transmitter. After a calibration measurement, only sensing area 203 is activated. Thus, Ma discloses a processor which activates and adjusts the active sampling area, or iFOV, according to the expected time of flight of a light beam generated by the transmitter. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al., CN 112198519 A ("Ma").
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a lidar system, comprising: a laser configured to generate a light pulse (Fig. 1, transmitter 11, light source 111, light beam 30, Paragraph [0046]-[0047]); transmit optics configured to receive the light pulse from said laser and direct the light pulse toward an external environment (Fig. 1, emitting optical element 112, Paragraph [0047]); receive optics separate from said transmit optics for receiving light from the light pulse reflected off of an object in the external environment (Fig. 1, receiving optical element 123, target 20, reflected light beam 40, Paragraph [0046], [0048]); an array of photodetectors positioned to receive the light from the receive optics (Fig. 1, pixel unit 121, Paragraph [0048]) and generate an image corresponding to an instantaneous field of view ("iFOV") of the external environment (Fig. 2, sampling area 204, three sensing areas 201, 202, 203, Paragraph [0052]); a controller configured to adjust the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser (Fig. 1, processing circuit 13, Paragraph [0049]; See also Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Ma discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1, wherein at least one of said photodetectors is a single-photon avalanche diode (Fig. 2, SPAD 205, Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Ma discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1, wherein adjusting the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser further comprises, for a shorter time of flight, adjusting the iFOV in accordance with a larger parallax, and, for a longer time of flight, adjusting the iFOV in accordance with a smaller parallax (Fig. 2, sampling area 204, three sensing areas 201, 202, 203, Paragraph [0052]; Note: the three sensing areas account for shifting from object at different distances).
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1, wherein adjusting the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser further comprises using time of flight to account for distortion due to parallax and defocusing (Fig. 2, sampling area 204, three sensing areas 201, 202, 203, Paragraph [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of McCord et al., US 20190162858 A1 ("McCord").
Regarding claim 3, Ma discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1.
Ma does not teach: wherein at least one of said photodetectors is a PIN photodiode.
However, McCord teaches a LIDAR sensor where the detector may comprise of a PIN diode (Fig. 1, detector 160a, Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the SPADs in Ma’s pixel array with McCord’s PIN diodes. The results of this simple substitution of known detector elements would have been predictable.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Dussan et al., US 20170242108 A1 ("Dussan ").
Regarding claim 5, Ma discloses the lidar system as set forth in claim 1.
Ma does not teach: wherein adjusting the iFOV as a function of a time of flight of the light pulse generated by said laser further comprises accounting for distortion by allowing a shape and a size of the iFOV to be a function of scan location.
However, Dussan teaches an adaptive ladar receiver that adapts the active region of the photodetector array. The pixels are activated based on the targeted range point and other parameters, such as potential off-axis beam aberrations (Fig. 12, step 1208, Paragraph [0097]; See also Fig. 11B, subset 1130).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma’s processor by adding functionality to adjust the active sensing area based on beam aberrations, which is disclosed by Dussan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “increase the size of the active sensor region based on the derived information”, as suggested by Dussan (Paragraph [0097]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645