DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The allowance of claims 15, 17, and 18 is hereby withdrawn in view of further consideration and/or search. Please find new ground(s) of rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informality: on lines 11 – 13, the recitation “opposing side surfaces of the second pad each extending from the one surface of the second pad are embedded in the first insulating layer to be in contact with the first insulating layer” is unclear. Examiner suggests “opposing side surfaces of the second pad each extending from the one surface of the second pad and embedded in the first insulating layer to be in contact with the first insulating layer,” if appropriate.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 – 14 and 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chun et al. (KR 10-2019-0124503).
Regarding claim 8, in Figure 19, Chun discloses a printed circuit board, comprising: a first insulating layer (top layer 210); a first pad (most right pad 224) embedded in the first insulating layer and having one surface exposed from one surface of the first insulating layer (Figure 19); and a second pad (middle pad 224) embedded in the first insulating layer and having one surface exposed from the one surface of the first insulating layer (Figure 19), wherein the one surface of the second pad and the one surface of the first insulating layer have a step difference therebetween (Figure 19), a thickness of the second pad is less than a thickness of the first pad (middle region of the most right pad 224 is thicker than middle pad 224), such that the one surface of the second pad is recessed inwardly in the first insulating layer (Figure 19), and opposing side surfaces of the second pad each extending from the one surface of the second pad are embedded in the first insulating layer to be in contact with the first insulating layer (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 9, Chun discloses wherein the one surface of the first pad is substantially coplanar with the one surface of the first insulating layer (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 10, Chun discloses wherein the one surface of the first pad and the one surface of the first insulating layer have a step difference therebetween, and wherein the step difference between the one surface of the first pad and the one surface of the first insulating layer is smaller than the step difference between the one surface of the second pad and the one surface of the first insulating layer (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 11, Chun discloses a first surface treatment layer disposed on the exposed one surface of the first pad; and a second surface treatment layer disposed on the exposed one surface of the second pad (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 12, Chun discloses wherein one surface of the second pad opposing a boundary between 10 the second pad and the second surface treatment layer and the one surface of the first insulating layer have a step difference therebetween (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 13, Chun discloses wherein the first surface treatment layer and the second surface treatment layer are made of different materials (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 14, Chun discloses wherein the first surface treatment layer includes at least one of gold (Au) and nickel (Ni), and wherein the second surface treatment layer includes an organic compound (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 21, Chun discloses wherein the one surface of the second pad is entirely exposed from the one surface of the first insulating layer in a cross-section of the printed circuit board (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 22, Chun discloses a solder resist layer disposed on the one surface of the first insulating layer to be in contact with the first insulating layer and to be spaced apart from the second pad (Figure 19).
Claims 15, and 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0353568).
Regarding claim 15, in Figure 3, Lee discloses a printed circuit board, comprising: an insulating layer (102) having one surface and another surface opposing each other; a pad (104a) embedded in the insulating layer, and having one surface (top surface of pad 104a) exposed from one surface of the insulating layer (Figure 3) and substantially coplanar with the one surface of the insulating layer (Figure 3); a first solder resist layer (114) disposed on the one surface of the insulating layer, and having an opening exposing a region of the insulating layer where the pad is embedded (Figure 3); and a gold (Au) or nickel (Ni) surface treatment layer (comprising 106/108) disposed on the pad to be in contact with the pad (paragraph [0062]; Figure 3) and to be spaced apart from the first solder resist layer (Figure 3); and a circuit pattern (comprising 110, 112, 113) disposed on the another surface of the insulating layer.
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a via penetrating through the insulating layer and connecting the circuit pattern to the pad (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses wherein the via is tapered in a direction from the circuit pattern to the pad (Figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 7, and 19 – 20 are allowed.
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847