DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng et al. (US 10,867,925 B2) in view of Li et al. (US 2016/0218158 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeng discloses a package structure (Fig. 1A), comprising:
a conductive element (combination of 122 and 124);
a first dielectric layer (123) disposed on the conductive element;
a redistribution layer (126) disposed on the first dielectric layer, wherein the redistribution layer is electrically connected to the conductive element;
a second dielectric layer (125) disposed on the first dielectric layer;
a light-shielding layer (127) disposed on the second dielectric layer;
a conductive layer (combination of 128 and 150) disposed on the redistribution layer and comprising a first conductive portion (rightmost 128 and 150) with a light reflectivity of less than 30% (Jeng discloses forming section 150 of the first conductive portion from silver which has a reflectivity at 300 nanometers of less than 30%1);
and a diode unit (combination of 142a and 142b) having a top surface and a first side surface shorter than the first top surface (see Fig. 1A), and disposed on the conductive layer without overlapping one portion of the first conductive portion (rightmost portion of the first conductive portion) in a direction which is perpendicular to the first top surface (see Fig. 1A); and
a third dielectric layer (142c) directly contacting the diode unit and the first conductive portion (see Fig. 1A).
Jeng does not explicitly disclose that the diode unit is a light-emitting diode unit.
Li, in the same field of endeavor, discloses that diodes in packaging structures may be light-emitting diodes (¶ 0017). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to use a light-emitting diode for the packaging structure of Jeng as taught by Li for the benefit of forming a display.
Regarding claim 2, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the conductive layer further comprises a second conductive portion (leftmost 128), and a light reflectivity of the second conductive portion is greater than the light reflectivity of the first conductive portion (Jeng discloses forming 128 from aluminum which has a reflectivity at 300 nanometers of greater than 70%2).
Regarding claim 3, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 2, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the second conductive portion is disposed on the redistribution layer and is in contact with the first conductive portion (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 2, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the light reflectivity of the second conductive portion is greater than 70% (Jeng discloses forming 128 from aluminum which has a reflectivity at 300 nanometers of greater than 70%3).
Regarding claim 5, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 2, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the first conductive portion is disposed on a portion of the redistribution layer (portion directly contacting 124), and the second conductive portion is disposed on a remaining portion of the redistribution layer (portion of the redistribution layer that is not directly over 124).
Regarding claim 6, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 2, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the light-shielding layer has a second top surface (topmost surface of 127), the first conductive portion has a third top surface (surface directly contacting the second top surface, which is considered a “top surface” as it is within the top half of the component), and the second conductive portion has a fourth top surface (surface directly contacting the second top surface, which is considered a “top surface” as it is within the top half of the component), the second top surface, the third top surface, and the fourth top surface are coplanar with each other (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 2, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the first conductive portion, the light-shielding layer, and the second conductive portion are in contact with each other (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 8, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the conductive element comprises a first conductive pad (combination of leftmost 122 and 124) and a second conductive pad (adjacent 122) having different shapes or sizes (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 8, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the first conductive pad comprises a first conductive block (leftmost 122) and a first conductive film (leftmost 124) in contact with each other, and the first conductive film is disposed between the first conductive block and the redistribution layer (see Fig. 1A), and an area of a bottom surface of the first conductive film is greater than or equal to an area of a fifth top surface of the first conductive block (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses a first positioning element (162) disposed on the third dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 11, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 10, as discussed above. Jeng further discloses wherein the third dielectric layer has a sixth top surface (topmost surface), and the first positioning element has a first area (area of the sidewall of 162) and the third dielectric has a second area (side surface of 170). Jeng does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of the first area to the second area is greater than 0.1 and less than 0.5. However, the ratio of the areas is determined by multiple variables which may vary (the height of the first positioning element, the height of the third dielectric, and the angle of the sidewall of the first positioning element). Varying these variables to determine workable ranges such that a ratio of the first area to the second area is greater than 0.1 and less than 0.5 therefore amount to discovering workable ranges and is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 12, Jeng in view of Li discloses the package structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Li further discloses wherein the light-emitting diode unit comprises a red light-emitting element, a green light-emitting element, and 3 a blue light-emitting element (¶ 0017).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 3/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior mapping of the components of Jeng in view of Li does not disclose the newly added limitaitons Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an alternative mapping of the components of Jeng in view of Li which does disclose the newly added limitations.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
1 Panagopoulos et al., Excimer laser treatment of copper-coated mild steel; Journal of Materials Science, 32(6):1425-1430, Fig. 2.
2 Panagopoulos et al., Excimer laser treatment of copper-coated mild steel; Journal of Materials Science, 32(6):1425-1430, Fig. 2.
3 Panagopoulos et al., Excimer laser treatment of copper-coated mild steel; Journal of Materials Science, 32(6):1425-1430, Fig. 2.