Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 10/20/2025 claims 1 and 2-20 are pending. Claims 1, 5-9, 12-13, 16-18, and 20 are amended. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1, 16, and 20 are independent.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 10/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has amended the claims by adding structural limitations found in cancelled claim 2 into independent claims 1, 16, and 20 and modified the original limitation language. The amendments made by the applicant have changed the scope of the limitations.
The applicant argues on page 12 of the Remarks dated 10/20/2025 that Qin fails to explicitly teach “control the first power output module and the second power output module to be electrically connected to the second charging interface to charge the second battery” (emphasis added). The applicant states that “Qin describes a system in which the number of power sources 1201 is smaller than or equal to the number of to-be-charged batteries 130” (emphasis added). However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In pages 9-10 of the Office Action dated 08/01/2025, the examiner cites Qin in a situation wherein the controller is configured to connect two power sources to one to-be-charged battery, see citation on pages 9-10 in particular “control the 1st power source 1201 and the 2nd power source 1201 to be electrically connected to the 2nd and 3rd charging interfaces 1203 to charge the 2nd battery 130”.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The drawing objections are withdrawn in part. 37 CFR § 1.83(a) states, “The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box)” (emphasis added). Thus, the drawings are objected to below because the applicant has not included the first battery pack, the second battery pack, and the functional steps based on the load states in the drawings as claimed. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings) or cancel the claimed features.
The specification objections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The claim objections are withdrawn in part. Claim 17 is objected to below for improper dependency. Furthermore, new objections are made necessitated by the amendments made by the applicant.
The 35 USC § 112(b) and 112(d) rejections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first battery pack, the second battery pack, and the functional steps based on the load states must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7 of claim 1 replace “the second charging interface” with --the first charging interface-- and in line 8 of claim 1 replace “the first charging interface” with --the second charging interface-- so that it reads “the first charging interface via a third switch and connected to the second charging interface via a fourth switch” as supported by the applicant’s disclosure and drawings in Figs. 1-2, 4, and 7. Claims 16 and 20 are objected to for the same reasons as claim 1. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as “the first charging interface via a third switch and connected to the second charging interface via a fourth switch”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 13 of claim 1 replace “the third switch” with --the fourth switch-- so that it reads “the second switch and the fourth switch to electrically connect the first power output module and the second power output module to the second charging interface to charge the second battery pack” as supported by the applicant’s disclosure and drawings in Figs. 1-2, 4, and 7. Claims 16 and 20 are objected to for the same reasons as claim 1. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as “the second switch and the fourth switch to electrically connect the first power output module and the second power output module to the second charging interface to charge the second battery pack”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 replace “fourth” with --third-- so that it reads “third switch” as supported by the applicant’s disclosure and drawings in Figs. 1-2, 4, and 7. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as the third switch, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5 add --charging-- before “interface” so that it reads “the first charging interface” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as the first charging interface, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 replace “third” with --fourth-- so that it reads “fourth switch” as supported by the applicant’s disclosure and drawings in Figs. 1-2, 4, and 7. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as the third switch, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5 add --charging-- before “interface” so that it reads “the second charging interface” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as the second charging interface, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5 replace “fourth” with --third-- so that it reads “third switch” and in line 6 replace “third” with --fourth-- so that it reads “fourth switch” as supported by the applicant’s disclosure and drawings in Figs. 1-2, 4, and 7. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as the third switch, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 6 replace “fourth” with --third-- so that it reads “third switch” and replace “third” with --fourth-- so that it reads “fourth switch” as supported by the applicant’s disclosure and drawings in Figs. 1-2, 4, and 7. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as the third switch, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1 replace “18” with --16-- so that it reads “claim 16”. For examination purposes below, this will be interpreted as claim 17 depending from independent claim 16, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (USPGPN 20220166232; for a detailed illustration of the “black boxes” in the figures please refer to the drawings of the WIPO publication WO-2021027882-A1).
With respect to claim 1, Qin teaches a charging device (Fig. 3; a charging management system).
Qin teaches a first charging interface connectable to a first battery pack (Fig. 3; a 1st charging interface 1203 connected to a 1st battery 130).
Qin teaches a second charging interface connectable to a second battery pack (Fig. 3; a 3rd charging interface 1203 connected to a 2nd battery 130).
Qin teaches a first power output module connected to the first charging interface via a first switch and connected to the second charging interface via a second switch (Fig. 3; a 1st power source 1201 connected to the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 1st switch 1202 and connected to the 2nd charging interface 1203 via a 2nd switch 1202).
Qin teaches a second power output module connected to the second charging interface via a third switch and connected to the first charging interface via a fourth switch (Interpreting this limitation as stated in the claim objections above. Fig. 3; a 2nd power source 1201 connected to the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 4th switch 1202 and connected to the 2nd charging interface 1203 via a 3rd switch 1202. For both cases, the connections are made through the 1st and 2nd battery 130.
See annotated Fig. 3 from the WIPO publication below. The connection flow path for “the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 4th switch 1202” case would be 2nd power source 1201 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 4th switch 1202 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 4th charging interface 1203 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 1st battery 130 -[Wingdings font/0xE0] the 1st charging interface 1203. The connection flow path for “the 2nd charging interface via a 3rd switch 1202” case would be 2nd power source 1201 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 3rd switch 1202 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 3rd charging interface 1203 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 2nd battery 130 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 2nd charging interface 1203).
Qin teaches a controller configured to when the first battery pack is fully charged and connected to the first charging interface or not connected to the first charging interface, control at least the second switch and the third switch to electrically connect the first power output module and the second power output module to the second charging interface to charge the second battery pack (Interpreting this limitation as stated in the claim objections above. Figs. 3-7; a microprocessor 110 is configured to when the 1st battery 130 is fully charged or not connected to the 1st charging interface 1203, control the 2nd switch 1202 and the 3rd switch to electrically connect the 1st power source 1201 and the 2nd power source 1201 to the 2nd / 3rd charging interfaces 1203 to charge the second battery pack 130).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach the first charging interface connected to the first and the second switches and the second charging interface connected to the third and the fourth switches.
Using MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts (see below) each charging interface would have a corresponding switch connected to it. The advantage of this being increased fault tolerance in the event a switch or a charging interface fails, improved tracing and debugging when troubleshooting the circuits, and improved scalability when expanding the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented a one-to-one mapping between each switch and its respective charging interface in order to achieve improved fault isolation, simplified control, and enhanced scalability. The advantage of this being these are well-known to offer clearer operational boundaries and reduced interdependence between components.
MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts:
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
With respect to claim 16, Qin teaches a charging device (Fig. 3; a charging management system).
Qin teaches a first charging interface connectable to a first battery pack (Fig. 3; a 1st charging interface 1203 connected to a 1st battery 130).
Qin teaches a second charging interface connectable to a second battery pack (Fig. 3; a 3rd charging interface 1203 connected to a 2nd battery 130).
Qin teaches a first power output module connected to the first charging interface via a first switch and connected to the second charging interface via a second switch (Fig. 3; a 1st power source 1201 connected to the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 1st switch 1202 and connected to the 2nd charging interface 1203 via a 2nd switch 1202).
Qin teaches a second power output module connected to the second charging interface via a first switch and connected to the second charging interface via a second switch (Interpreting this limitation as stated in the claim objections above. Fig. 3; a 2nd power source 1201 connected to the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 4th switch 1202 and connected to the 2nd charging interface 1203 via a 3rd switch 1202. For both cases, the connections are made through the 1st and 2nd battery 130.
See annotated Fig. 3 from the WIPO publication below. The connection flow path for “the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 4th switch 1202” case would be 2nd power source 1201 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 4th switch 1202 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 4th charging interface 1203 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 1st battery 130 -[Wingdings font/0xE0] the 1st charging interface 1203. The connection flow path for “the 2nd charging interface via a 3rd switch 1202” case would be 2nd power source 1201 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 3rd switch 1202 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 3rd charging interface 1203 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 2nd battery 130 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 2nd charging interface 1203).
Qin teaches a controller configured to control at least the second switch and the third switch to electrically connect the first power output module and the second power output module to the second charging interface to charge the second battery pack in a charging mode (Interpreting this limitation as stated in the claim objections above. Figs. 3-7; a microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 2nd switch 1202 and the 3rd switch to electrically connect the 1st power source 1201 and the 2nd power source 1201 to the 2nd / 3rd charging interfaces 1203 to charge the second battery pack 130 in a charging mode).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach the first charging interface connected to the first and the second switches and the second charging interface connected to the third and the fourth switches.
Using MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts (see below) each charging interface would have a corresponding switch connected to it. The advantage of this being increased fault tolerance in the event a switch or a charging interface fails, improved tracing and debugging when troubleshooting the circuits, and improved scalability when expanding the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented a one-to-one mapping between each switch and its respective charging interface in order to achieve improved fault isolation, simplified control, and enhanced scalability. The advantage of this being these are well-known to offer clearer operational boundaries and reduced interdependence between components.
MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts:
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
With respect to claim 20, Qin teaches a control method for a charging device (Fig. 3; a charging management system).
Qin teaches wherein the charging device comprises a first charging interface connectable to a first battery pack (Fig. 3; a 1st charging interface 1203 connected to a 1st battery 130).
Qin teaches a second charging interface connectable to a second battery pack (Fig. 3; a 3rd charging interface 1203 connected to a 2nd battery 130).
Qin teaches a first power output module connected to the first charging interface via a first switch and connected to the second charging interface via a second switch (Fig. 3; a 1st power source 1201 connected to the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 1st switch 1202 and connected to the 2nd charging interface 1203 via a 2nd switch 1202).
Qin teaches a second power output module connected to the second charging interface via a third switch and connected to the first charging interface via a fourth switch (Interpreting this limitation as stated in the claim objections above. Fig. 3; a 2nd power source 1201 connected to the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 4th switch 1202 and connected to the 2nd charging interface 1203 via a 3rd switch 1202. For both cases, the connections are made through the 1st and 2nd battery 130.
See annotated Fig. 3 from the WIPO publication below. The connection flow path for “the 1st charging interface 1203 via a 4th switch 1202” case would be 2nd power source 1201 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 4th switch 1202 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 4th charging interface 1203 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 1st battery 130 -[Wingdings font/0xE0] the 1st charging interface 1203. The connection flow path for “the 2nd charging interface via a 3rd switch 1202” case would be 2nd power source 1201 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 3rd switch 1202 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 3rd charging interface 1203 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 2nd battery 130 [Wingdings font/0xE0] the 2nd charging interface 1203).
Qin teaches wherein the control method comprises controlling at least the second switch and the third switch to electrically connect the first power output module and the second power output module to the second charging interface to charge the second battery pack when the first battery pack is fully charged and connected to the first charging interface or not connected to the first charging interface (Interpreting this limitation as stated in the claim objections above. Figs. 3-7; a microprocessor 110 is configured to when the 1st battery 130 is fully charged or not connected to the 1st charging interface 1203, control the 2nd switch 1202 and the 3rd switch to electrically connect the 1st power source 1201 and the 2nd power source 1201 to the 2nd / 3rd charging interfaces 1203 to charge the second battery pack 130).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach the first charging interface connected to the first and the second switches and the second charging interface connected to the third and the fourth switches.
Using MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts (see below) each charging interface would have a corresponding switch connected to it. The advantage of this being increased fault tolerance in the event a switch or a charging interface fails, improved tracing and debugging when troubleshooting the circuits, and improved scalability when expanding the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented a one-to-one mapping between each switch and its respective charging interface in order to achieve improved fault isolation, simplified control, and enhanced scalability. The advantage of this being these are well-known to offer clearer operational boundaries and reduced interdependence between components.
MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts:
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Claims 3-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin and further in view of Isaji et al. (USPGPN 20240300380).
With respect to claim 3, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1.
First, the examiner notes a load state is defined by the applicant as whether the battery pack is connected to the charging interface in Fig. 3 and ¶ [32]. For examination purposes a load state will be interpreted as whether the battery pack is connected to the charging interface.
Further, Qin teaches comprising determining a load state of the first charging interface and determining a load state of the second charging interface (Figs. 4-7; as part of the methods illustrated it is determined if the batteries 130 are connected to the charging management system through charging interfaces 1203).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach a first detection device communicatively coupled to the first charging interface and a second detection device communicatively coupled to the second charging interface.
Isaji teaches a first detection device and a second detection device (Fig. 1; first detecting unit 14F and second detecting unit 14G detect the state of the current flowing for batteries 10A and 10B respectively, see ¶ [38]. One of ordinary skill understands this is used to determine a load state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qin’s charging management system by adding Isaji’s detection devices in order to connect detection devices to the charging interfaces. The advantage to this modification being allowing for monitoring the conduction state of the plurality of batteries between a series connection and a parallel connection (see abstract of Isaji), thereby improving efficiency and increasing the lifespan of the batteries.
With respect to claim 4, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Qin teaches wherein the load state of the first charging interface is used for indicating whether the first charging interface is connected to the first battery pack and a state of charge of the first battery pack, and the load state of the second charging interface is used for indicating whether the second charging interface is connected to the second battery pack and a state of charge of the second battery pack (Figs. 4-7; it is determined if the battery 130 is connected to the charging management system through its respective charging interface 1203 and the electric quantity parameter of the battery is determined. One of ordinary skill understands the SOC is an electric quantity parameter, see ¶’s [57-60]).
With respect to claim 5, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Qin teaches the controller is configured to control the first switch, the second switch, the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned on or off based on the load state of the first charging interface and the load state of the second charging interface (In ¶ [38], the microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th switches 1202 to be turned on or off. Figs. 4-7; it is determined if the battery 130 is connected to the charging management system through its respective charging interface 1203 and the electric quantity parameter of the battery is determined. One of ordinary skill understands the SOC is an electric quantity parameter).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach a first charging interface connected to a first and a second switch and a second charging interface connected to a third and fourth switch.
Using MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts (see below) each charging interface would have a corresponding switch connected to it. The advantage of this being increased fault tolerance in the event a switch or a charging interface fails, improved tracing and debugging when troubleshooting the circuits, and improved scalability when expanding the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented a one-to-one mapping between each switch and its respective charging interface in order to achieve improved fault isolation, simplified control, and enhanced scalability. The advantage of this being these are well-known to offer clearer operational boundaries and reduced interdependence between components.
MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Duplication of Parts:
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
With respect to claim 6, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Qin teaches wherein the controller is configured to turn off the first switch and the fourth switch when the load state of the first charging interface determined is that the first charging interface is not connected to the first battery pack or the first battery pack is fully charged and connected to the first interface (Being interpreted as stated above in the claim objections. Figs. 4-7; the microprocessor 110 is configured to turn off the 1st switch 1202 and the 4th switch 1202 when the load state (i.e., connection status and electric quantity parameter status) of the 1st battery 130 is determined to not be connected or fully charged. One of ordinary skill understands the load state of the charging interface refers to the load state of the battery).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach the first detection device.
Isaji teaches the first detection device (Fig. 1; first detecting unit 14F detect the state of the current flowing for battery 10A, see ¶ [38]. One of ordinary skill understands this is used to determine a load state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qin’s charging management system by adding Isaji’s detection devices. The advantage to this modification being allowing for monitoring the conduction state of the plurality of batteries between a series connection and a parallel connection (see abstract of Isaji), thereby improving efficiency and increasing the lifespan of the batteries.
With respect to claim 7, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Qin teaches wherein the controller is configured to turn off the second switch and the third switch when the load state of the second charging interface determined is that the second charging interface is not connected to the second battery pack or the second battery pack is fully charged and connected to the second interface (Being interpreted as stated above in the claim objections. Figs. 4-7; the microprocessor 110 is configured to turn off the 2nd switch 1202 and the 3rd switch 1202 when the load state (i.e., connection status and electric quantity parameter status) of the 2nd battery 130 is determined to not be connected or fully charged. One of ordinary skill understands the load state of the charging interface refers to the load state of the battery).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach the second detection device.
Isaji teaches the second detection device (Fig. 1; first detecting unit 14G detect the state of the current flowing for battery 10B, see ¶ [38]. One of ordinary skill understands this is used to determine a load state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qin’s charging management system by adding Isaji’s detection devices. The advantage to this modification being allowing for monitoring the conduction state of the plurality of batteries between a series connection and a parallel connection (see abstract of Isaji), thereby improving efficiency and increasing the lifespan of the batteries.
With respect to claim 8, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Qin teaches when the load state of the first charging interface is that the first charging interface is connected to the first battery pack and the first battery pack is not fully charged and the load state of the second charging interface is that the second charging interface is not connected to the second battery pack, the controller is configured to control the first switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and control the second switch and the third switch to be turned off (Being interpreted as stated above in the claim objections. Figs. 4-7; when it is determined that the 1st battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 1st battery 130 indicates it is not fully charged, the microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 1st switch 1202 and the 4th switch 1202 to be turned on and control the 2nd switch 1202 and the 3rd switch 1203 to be turned off).
With respect to claim 9, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Qin teaches when the load state of the first charging interface is that the first charging interface is connected to the first battery pack and the first battery pack is not fully charged and the load state of the second charging interface is that the second charging interface is connected to the second battery pack and the second battery pack is fully charged, the controller is configured to control the first switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and control the second switch and the third switch to be turned off (Being interpreted as stated in the claim objections above. Figs. 4-7; when it is determined that the 1st battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 1st battery 130 indicates it is not fully charged and it is determined that the 2nd battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 2nd battery 130 indicates it is fully charged, the microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 1st switch 1202 and the 4th switch 1202 to be turned on and control the 2nd switch 1202 and the 3rd switch 1203 to be turned off).
With respect to claim 10, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Qin teaches when the load state of the first charging interface is that the first charging interface is not connected to the first battery pack and the load state of the second charging interface is that the second charging interface is not connected to the second battery pack, the controller is configured to control the first switch, the second switch, the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned off (Figs. 4-7; when it is determined that the 1st battery 130 is not connected to the charging system it is determined that the 2nd battery 130 is not connected to the charging system, the microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 1st-4th switches 1202 to remain off).
With respect to claim 11, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Qin teaches when the load state of the first charging interface is that the first charging interface is connected to the first battery pack and the first battery pack is fully charged and the load state of the second charging interface is that the second charging interface is connected to the second battery pack and the second battery pack is fully charged, the controller is configured to control the first switch, the second switch, the third switch and the fourth switch to be turned off (Figs. 4-7; when it is determined that the 1st battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 1st battery 130 indicates it is full and when it is determined that the 2nd battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 2nd battery 130 indicates it is full, the microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 1st-4th switches 1202 to be turned off).
With respect to claim 12, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Qin teaches when the load state of the first charging interface is that the first charging interface is connected to the first battery pack and the first battery pack is not fully charged and the load state of the second charging interface is that the second charging interface is connected to the second battery pack and the second battery pack is not fully charged, the controller is configured to control the first switch and the third switch to be turned on and control the second switch and the fourth switch to be turned off (Figs. 4-7; when it is determined that the 1st battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 1st battery 130 indicates it is not fully charged and when it is determined that the 2nd battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 2nd battery 130 indicates it is not fully charged, the microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 1st and 3rd switches 1202 to be turned on and the 2nd and 4th control switches 1202 to be turned off (i.e., based on the status of first and second power sources 1201)).
With respect to claim 13, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Qin teaches when the load state of the first charging interface is that the first charging interface is connected to the first battery pack and the first battery pack is not fully charged and the load state of the second charging interface is that the second charging interface is connected to the second battery pack and the second battery pack is not fully charged, the controller is configured to control the second switch and the fourth switch to be turned on and control the first switch and the third switch to be turned off (Figs. 4-7; when it is determined that the 1st battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 1st battery 130 indicates it is not fully charged and when it is determined that the 2nd battery 130 is connected to the charging system and that the electric quantity parameter of the 2nd battery 130 indicates it is not fully charged, the microprocessor 110 is configured to control the 2nd and 4th switches 1202 to be turned on and the 1st and 3rd control switches 1202 to be turned off (i.e., based on the status of first and second power sources 1201)).
With respect to claim 14, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Qin teaches wherein the load state comprises at least the state of charge of the first battery pack or the second battery pack (Figs. 4-7; the electric quantity parameters of the 1st and 2nd battery 130 is used to execute methods of Qin. One of ordinary skill understands the SOC is an electric quantity parameter obtained to be evaluated as a load state of the battery, ¶’s [57-60]).
With respect to claim 17, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 18 (being interpreted as depending upon claim 16). First, the examiner notes a load state is defined by the applicant as whether the battery pack is connected to the charging interface in Fig. 3 and ¶ [32]. For examination purposes a load state will be interpreted as whether the battery pack is connected to the charging interface.
Further, Qin teaches further comprising determining a load state of the first charging interface and determining a load state of the second charging interface (Figs. 4-7; as part of the methods illustrated it is determined if the batteries 130 are connected to the charging management system through charging interfaces 1203).
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach a first detection device communicatively coupled to the first charging interface and a second detection device communicatively coupled to the second charging interface.
Isaji teaches a first detection device and a second detection device (Fig. 1; first detecting unit 14F and second detecting unit 14G detect the state of the current flowing for batteries 10A and 10B respectively, see ¶ [38]. One of ordinary skill understands this is used to determine a load state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qin’s charging management system by adding Isaji’s detection devices in order to connect detection devices to the charging interfaces. The advantage to this modification being allowing for monitoring the conduction state of the plurality of batteries between a series connection and a parallel connection (see abstract of Isaji), thereby improving efficiency and increasing the lifespan of the batteries.
With respect to claim 18, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Further, Qin teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, and the fourth switch according the load state of the first charging interface and the load state of the second charging interface (Figs. 4-7; the microprocessor 110 is configured to control 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th switches 1202 according to the connection status and the electric quantity parameters of the 1st and 2nd batteries 130. One of ordinary skill understands the load state of the batteries corresponds with the status of its connected respective charging interface 1203 and the SOC is an electric quantity parameter obtained to be evaluated as a load state of the batteries 130).
With respect to claim 19, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 18. Further, Qin teaches wherein the load state of the first charging interface is used for indicating whether the first charging interface is connected to a first battery pack and a state of charge of the first battery pack, and the load state of the second charging interface is used for indicating whether the second charging interface is connected to a second battery pack and a state of charge of the second battery pack (Figs. 4-7; the “load state” includes the connection status of the 1st and 2nd batteries 130 to the charging system and the electric quantity parameter of the 1st and 2nd batteries 130 which is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be SOC, ¶’s [57-60]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin and Isaji, and further in view of Jeon et al. (USPGPN 20220385085).
With respect to claim 15, Qin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 14.
However, Qin fails to explicitly teach further comprising a first communication interface and a second communication interface; wherein the first communication interface is connected to the first battery pack to acquire at least the state of charge of the first battery pack, and the second communication interface is connected to the second battery pack to acquire at least the state of charge of the second battery pack.
Jeon teaches comprising a first communication interface and a second communication interface (Fig. 2; first interface 208 and second interface 210).
Jeon teaches wherein the first communication interface is connected to the first battery pack to acquire at least the state of charge of the first battery pack, and the second communication interface is connected to the second battery pack to acquire at least the state of charge of the second battery pack (Fig. 2; the first interface 208 receives a first SOC information of the first power receiving device 220 and the second interface 210 receives a second SOC information of the second power receiving device 230, see ¶ [11]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Qin and Isaji with Jeon’s communication interfaces. The advantage to this modification being receiving the state of charge information of the power receiving devices allows determining a charging voltage that enables charging in an efficient manner (see ¶ [14] of Jeon) thereby improving the battery lifespan.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859