DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2010/0155920).
As for claim 13, Lee disclose in Fig. 1 and the related text a semiconductor device, comprising:
a package-on-package (PoP) structure, wherein:
each of a lower package 200 and an upper package 400 of the PoP structure includes a resin layer 107 encapsulating an internal chip 112/134, and a plurality of pads 108/106/118/128,
the plurality of pads 118 and the internal chip 112 of the lower package 200 are configured in substantially the same structure (Fig. 1) and are disposed at substantially the same positions as the plurality of pads 128 and the internal chip 134 of the upper package (Fig. 1),
a vertical wire 124 is provided within the resin layer 107 of the lower package,
one end of the vertical wire 124 is electrically connected to a first pad 108/106/118 at a lower surface of the internal chip 112 of the lower package (Fig. 1),
the other end of the vertical wire 124 includes a large-width part protruding 122 from a surface of the resin layer (Fig. 1), and
the large-width part 122 is electrically connected to a second pad of the upper package 400, the second pad 128 corresponding to the first pad 108/106/118 (Fig. 1).
As for claim 14, Lee disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 13, wherein: the large-width part 122 is formed by melting the vertical wire which protrudes from the surface of the resin layer 107, and the large-width part 122 and the vertical wire 120 comprise the same material [0051].
The limitation “formed by melting the vertical wire” The recited limitation is drawn to a process by which the product is made. Even though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. Because the product by process does not change the end product, Applicant’s claimed invention does not distinguish over prior art. See MPEP § 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Co et al. in view of Yu et al. (US 2014/0021605, as disclosed in previous office action).
As for claims 1 and 7, Co et al. teach in Figs. 8A or 8B and the related text a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first substrate 12 having a first (upper) face;
a resin layer 42 which is provided on the first face and which has a second (upper) face on an opposite side to the first substrate (Fig. 1); and
a wire 32/34/52 which is provided so as to penetrate the resin layer 42 and protrude from the second face (Fig. 8A/8B), wherein: the wire has a large-width part 52 which is provided at an end of the wire that protrudes from the second face and which has a larger width than a width of the wire that penetrates the resin layer (Fig. 8A/8B),
a first distance and a second distance are the same, the first distance being an entire distance between a bottom surface of the large-width part 52 and the first face, and the second distance being an entire distance between the second face where the large-width part is not arranged and the first face (Fig. 8A-8B), and
the large-width part 52 is arranged so as to come into physical contact with the second face (FIG. 8A-8B),
a size of the large-width 52 becomes greatest toward an outer side of the second face and becomes smallest toward an inner side of the second face (Fig. 8A-8B).
Co et al. do not disclose the wire and the large-width part comprise the same material and are connected without boundary.
Yu et al. teach in Fig. 5 and the related text a wire 116 and the large-width part 114 comprise the same material and are connected without boundary (Fig. 5), and the large-width part 114 is integrally configured with the wire 116 using a same material ([0033]-[0034]).
Co et al. and Yu et al. are analogous art because they both are directed packaging devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Co et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Co et al. to include the limitations as taught by Yu et al., in order to improve properties of the wire and interconnections.
As for claim 2, Co et al. teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the wire 32/34/52 extends in a direction approximately perpendicular to the first face (Fig. 1, 8A-8B).
As for claim 8, Co et al. teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first substrate 20 further has a pad 23 provided on the first face, and the wire is provided so as to penetrate the resin layer 42 from the pad and protrude from the second face (fig. 1A).
As for claim 9, Co et al. teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising a semiconductor chip 22 which is provided on the first face and which is covered by the resin layer 42, wherein the semiconductor chip 22 is electrically connected to the wire (FIG. 1A, [0065]).
Claim 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Co et al. in view of Yu et al. and Katkar et al. (US 2017/0117243, as disclosed in previous office action).
As for claim 3, Co et al. disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, except a plurality of the wires, each including the large-width part, wherein the plurality of the large-width parts have different sizes corresponding to positions on the second face, wherein: the plurality of the large-width parts are electrically connected to a second substrate provided so as to oppose the second face, and the plurality of the large-width parts have different heights corresponding to a warpage of the second substrate, wherein the plurality of the large-width parts have different widths corresponding to intervals between the wires on the second face, wherein: the second face has a first region and a second region in which a density of the wire on the second face is higher than in the first region, and a width of the large-width part in the second region is smaller than a width of the large-width part in the first region.
Katkar et al. teach in Fig. 1A and the related text a plurality of the wires 40/41/42/13, each including the large-width part 13, wherein the plurality of the large-width parts have different sizes corresponding to positions on the second face (fig. 1A), wherein: the plurality of the large-width parts 13 are electrically connected to a second substrate 60 provided so as to oppose the second face, and the plurality of the large-width parts 13 have different heights corresponding to a warpage of the second substrate (fig. 1A), wherein the plurality of the large-width parts 13 have different widths corresponding to intervals between the wires on the second face (fig. 1A), wherein the second face has a first (outer) region and a second (inner) region in which a density of the wire on the second face is higher than in the first region (Fig. 1A), and a width of the large-width part in the second region is smaller than a width of the large-width part in the first region (Fig. 1A).
Katkar et al., Yu et al. and Co et al. are analogous art because they both are directed packaging devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the combined because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combined to include the limitations as taught by Katkar et al., in order to improve interconnections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: “the second face has a first region in an inner circumference of the second face and a second region in an outer circumference of the second face, the second region is a region with a higher density of the wires on the second face than the first region, a size of the large-width part becomes larger from the first region towards the second region, and a number of the large-width parts becomes smaller from the first region towards the second region” as recited in claim 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRANG Q TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811