DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to make the topmost surface where the purge gas is and where the rings are such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2011/0159211 to DuBois et al is presented below.
The Examiner notes that DuBois was previously cited, however, the limitation of the edge member, can be interpreted as an portion of 13 in DuBois that surrounds the carrier member, and does not need to be separate, has been interpreted as such. Additionally, the Examiner has added additional references in the conclusion to show potential 103 modifications to “edge member” limitations within the scope disclosed in the instant application’s specification would be overcome with 103 rejections with these references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2011/0159211 to DuBois et al.
In regards to Claim 1, DuBois teaches a reaction chamber 150 Fig. 1, 2 comprising: a chamber body (100 body of 150); a base 13 arranged in the chamber body, and including a carrier member (in yellow) configured to carry a substrate and an edge member (in blue_ arranged around the carrier member, a height of an upper surface of the carrier member being greater than a height of an upper a topmost surface of the edge member; and a first block ring 15 and a second block ring 4, wherein: the first block ring is arranged on the upper topmost surface of the edge member and around the carrier member, wherein the upper surface of the carrier member is higher than an upper surface of the first block ring (as the opening for 19 which forms part of the upper surface hits lower than that of the upper surface of the carrier member); and the second block ring is arranged on the upper surface of the first block ring and includes a body member 19, bottom surface 402 and a shield member 404 and body of 10 above 402 arranged on a side of the body member away from the first block ring, wherein: the shield member protrudes from a surface of the second block ring toward a top wall of the chamber body (as it angles upward with the top of 404); and the shield member is configured to shield an edge of an upper surface of the substrate when in process (as shown in Fig. 1, 2), wherein: a purge gas channel is formed between an inner peripheral surface of the first block ring (as highlighted in red), an inner peripheral surface of the body member of the second block ring, an upper the topmost surface of the edge member, an outer peripheral surface of the carrier member, a bottom surface of the shield member, and an outer peripheral surface and an edge of an upper surface of the substrate, and an entirety of the purge gas channel is arranged above the topmost surface of the edge member, [0021-0035], see annotated copy of Fig. 2 below:
In regards to Claim 2, DuBois teaches a lower surface of the shield member and the upper surface of the carrier member have a first predetermined vertical distance therebetween, as shown by the gap in Fig. 2.
In regards to Claim 3, DuBois teaches an upper surface of the body member 402 Fig. 2, 4 and the upper surface of the carrier member have a second predetermined vertical distance therebetween; and the second predetermined vertical distance is equal to the first predetermined vertical distance, as they share the same plane.
In regards to Claim 7, DuBois teaches the first block ring and the second block ring are coaxially arranged, as they are concentrically aligned to each other.
In regards to Claim 9, DuBois teaches the body member and the shield member are formed into an integrated single structure, as shown in Fig. 1-4.
In regards to Claim 10, DuBois teaches a reactor/chamber 150 Fig. 1 that has an exhaust gas channel (12 and space around 110 near 112) is formed between the top wall of the chamber body (top of 150), a sidewall of the chamber body (sidewalls of 150), and the second block ring 15, and the shield member 10 protrudes into the exhaust gas channel toward the top wall of the chamber body, as shown in Fig. 1,2. [0022-0023]
In regards to Claim 21, DuBois teaches a lower surface of the second block ring is lower than the upper surface of the carrier member, as 19 is below the upper surface of the carrier member.
In regards to Claim 22, DuBois teaches a first channel (portion of red in the blue edge member) that is configured to transfer the purge gas is arranged in the edge member; and a gas outlet of the first channel is located on an upper the topmost surface of the edge member (as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 2 above), and between the inner peripheral surface of the first block ring and the outer peripheral surface of the carrier member, and is configured to transfer the purge gas into the purge gas channel, (as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 2 above).
In regards to Claim 23, DuBois teaches wherein when the base is in a process position, and the second block ring is in contact with the first block ring, a gap is reserved between a lower surface of the protrusion of the shield member and the upper surface of the substrate to facilitate the purge gas to flow out from the gap, as shown in Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2011/0159211 to Du Bois et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2017/0178898 to Kang et al.
The teachings of Umotoy are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claim 8, Dubois teaches the shield member can have a thickness (specifically at the lip) of D4 which is the thickness of the shield member which is at minimum of 0.127 mm to D5, which is 1.270 mm [0032], but does not teach the thickness of 19. DuBois teaches that the dimensions can be changed the amount of deposition can be reduced as desired and varying other parameters of the ring can affect deposition and improve deposition uniformity [0033].
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. As DuBois expressly teach the ranges as taught are result effective variables for improved deposition, such that the optimization is known within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, with an articulated rationale supporting the rejection, changing the ranges is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date .
See MPEP 2144.05 II. A, B. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
DuBois does not expressly teach the thickness of the body member is between 2-8 mm.
Kang teaches ring protrusions can have a length of 0.2 inches, or about 5 mm (Claim 15, [0028]), the rings being used for processing substrate rings/ring for alignment [0014-0042].
It has been held that change of size or portion is generally recognized as being within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is noted that Applicant has not made any showing of criticality in the shape of protrusions and bottom surface/body member the size of 0.2 inches/5 mm. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent No. 6589352 to Yudovsky et al.
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716