DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-11, and 13-15 are presented for examination, wherein claims 1, 10, and 14 are currently amended; plus, species B (pressure relief mechanism actuated in response to an internal temperature) is withdrawn. Claims 3, 8-9, and 12 are cancelled.
The objection to the drawings is withdrawn, as a result of the explanation, as provided in the May 62, 2026 filing.
The applicant’s request to participate in the Patent Prosecution Highway, dated November 25, 2024, was granted by the USPTO on December 19, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2005/0181272).
Regarding newly amended independent claim 1, Kim teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (e.g. item 100 or 200) comprising:
a battery can (e.g. item 120 or 220) having a rectangular parallelepiped shape including at least one or more notch safety vent(s) (e.g. item 125 or 225 and 226);
a cap assembly (e.g. item 140) comprising a cap plate (e.g. item 141 or 241) on an open top of said battery can and welded thereto; and,
an electrode assembly (e.g. item 110 or 210) incorporated within said battery can, wherein said electrode assembly is formed by winding up a positive electrode plate (e.g. item 111), a negative electrode plate (e.g. item 112), and an isolation film (e.g. item 113) therebetween,
wherein said battery can (e.g. item 120 or 220) having said rectangular parallelepiped shape comprises
a pair of plate-shaped first walls (e.g. items 121 or 221), each located on opposite sides of said battery can to one another, the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped first walls in the length and width directions;
a pair of plate-shaped second walls (e.g. items 122 or 222), each having an area smaller than each of said first walls, each second wall located on opposite sides of said battery can to one another, the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped second walls in the length and thickness directions,
said first walls and said second walls intersecting one another at right angles; and,
said open top and a plate-shaped bottom third wall (e.g. item 123 or 223), each having an area smaller than each of said second walls,
said open top and said plate-shaped bottom third wall on opposite sides of said battery can, the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped third wall in the width and thickness directions,
wherein in said rectangular parallelepiped shape, said length direction is greater than said width direction; and, said width direction is greater than said thickness direction,
wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) (e.g. item 125 or 225 and 226) may be located on at least one of said first walls and have a line shape that is oriented in the middle thereof and parallel to a longitudinal side of said pair of second walls of the can,
said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) may be composed of a notch (e.g. item 225) and an auxiliary notch (e.g. item 226),
said notch formed on an inside surface of said battery can and said auxiliary notch formed on an outside surface of said battery can corresponding with said notch, such that only a thin-wall portion remains between said notch and said auxiliary notch,
said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) provides enhanced safety and reliability by being easily destroyed under a low pressure,
said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) may have a length corresponding to 50% through 90% of a length of the longitudinal side of the pair of second walls
(e.g. ¶¶ 0016-34, 51-52, 54-56, and 62-71 plus e.g. Figures 2B-E and 3A-D, see also Annotated Figures 1B and 2D, infra), reading on “battery cell,” said battery comprising:
(1) said battery can (e.g. item 120 or 220) having said rectangular parallelepiped shape comprising:
(1a) said pair of plate-shaped first walls (e.g. items 121 or 221), each located on opposite sides of said battery can to one another, the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped first walls in the length and width directions;
(1b) said pair of plate-shaped second walls (e.g. items 122 or 222), each having said area smaller than each of said first walls, each second wall located on opposite sides of said battery can to one another, the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped second walls in the length and thickness directions,
said first walls and said second walls intersecting one another at right angles;
(1c) said open top and a plate-shaped bottom third wall (e.g. item 123 or 223), each having said area smaller than each of said second walls, the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped third wall in the width and thickness directions,
wherein in said rectangular parallelepiped shape, said length direction is greater than said width direction; and, said width direction is greater than said thickness direction; and,
said electrode assembly (e.g. item 110 or 210) incorporated within said battery can (e.g. supra), said electrode assembly understood to be incorporated within a space within said battery can that is accessible through said open top of said battery can,
one of said taught pair of plate-shaped first walls (e.g. items 121 or 221) corresponding with the claimed “second board extending along the length direction…the second board being perpendicular to the thickness direction”;” and,
one of said taught pair of plate-shaped second walls (e.g. items 122 or 222) corresponding with the claimed “first board extending along the length direction…the first board being perpendicular to the width direction,”
reading on the limitations “a housing;” “a dimension of the housing along a length direction of the battery cell being greater than a dimension of the housing along a thickness direction of the battery cell and a dimension of the housing along a width direction of the battery cell;” “an accommodation space opened from at least one end of the accommodation space,” the previously amended limitation “the housing including a first board extending along the length direction…the first board being perpendicular to the width direction;” and, the previously added limitation “a second board extending along the length direction and intersecting the first board…the second board is perpendicular to the thickness direction;”
(2) said electrode assembly (e.g. item 110 or 210) incorporated within said battery can (e.g. supra), wherein said electrode assembly is understood to be incorporated within said space within said battery can (e.g. supra), reading on “an electrode assembly disposed in the accommodation space,”
wherein said electrode assembly (e.g. item 110 or 210) is formed by winding up said positive electrode plate (e.g. item 111), said negative electrode plate (e.g. item 112), and said isolation film (e.g. item 113) therebetween (e.g. supra), wherein said electrode assembly is formed by positioning said isolation film between said positive electrode plate and said negative electrode plate then winding to form the electrode assembly (e.g. ¶0052, see also e.g. ¶¶ 0005-06, plus e.g. Figures 1B-D and 2B-D), which is understood to be a “stacked” electrode assembly, by nature of having said isolation film between said positive and negative electrodes,
said electrode assembly (e.g. item 110 or 210) is incorporated within said battery can, the description supra incorporated herein by reference, wherein a portion of said electrode assembly is in contact said first wall (e.g. item 121 or 221) of said battery case; plus, a portion of said isolation film (e.g. item 113) is positioning between said positive electrode plate and said negative electrode plate, adjacent to one of said second walls is at an opposite side of said case to the other second wall (e.g. supra; e.g. ¶¶ 0017, 28, 53, and 55; plus, e.g. Annotated Figures 1B and 2D infra), noting that said positive and negative electrodes have a “gap between,” wherein said isolation film fills that gap and thereby maintains said gap between adjacent positive and negative electrodes,
a combination of said taught positive electrode plate (e.g. item 111) and said negative electrode plate (e.g. item 112) corresponding with the claimed “plurality of electrode plates stacked along the thickness direction;”
said portion of said combination of said electrode plates with a portion of said taught first wall (e.g. item 121) corresponding with the claimed “the electrode plates being stacked together with the second board along the thickness direction;” and,
said portion of said isolation film (e.g. item 113), which is positioning between said positive electrode plate and said negative electrode plate, adjacent to one of said second walls is at an opposite side of said case to the other second wall (see e.g. Annotated Figure 1B, infra) corresponds with the claimed “one or more gaps between adjacent electrode plates being disposed opposite to the first board,” as claimed,
severably establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed ranges “plurality” and “one or more,” see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on the previously added limitation “the electrode assembly including a plurality of electrode plates stacked along the thickness direction, and the electrode plates being stacked together with the second board along the thickness direction, one or more gaps between adjacent electrode plates being disposed opposite to the first board,” as claimed; and,
(3) said cap assembly (e.g. item 140) comprising said cap plate (e.g. item 141 or 241) on said open top of said battery can and welded thereto (e.g. supra), reading on “a cover configured to cover the opening.”
Regarding the previously amended limitations further defining the previously claimed “board” as the “first board,” such that the claimed pressure relief mechanism is disposed at the “first board” in the previously amended limitations “a pressure relief mechanism is disposed at the first board and configured to be actuated, in response to an internal pressure or temperature of the housing reaching a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure; in the length direction, an extension dimension of the pressure relief mechanism is greater than or equal to 1/4 of an extension dimension of the first board; and the first board includes a first part and a second part that are arranged side by side, the first part is fixed to the second part by welding, a weld is formed at a joint between the first part and the second part, and the pressure relief mechanism includes the weld,”
Kim teaches said electrode assembly (e.g. item 110 or 210) incorporated within said battery can, is formed by winding up said positive electrode plate (e.g. item 111), said negative electrode plate (e.g. item 112), and said isolation film (e.g. item 113) therebetween;
said pair of plate-shaped first walls (e.g. items 121) with broad surfaces in the length and width directions;
said pair of plate-shaped second walls (e.g. items 122) each having said area smaller than each of said first walls, with broad surfaces of said plate-shaped second walls in the length and thickness directions, said first walls and said second walls intersecting one another at right angles; and,
said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) (e.g. item 125 or 225 and 226) may be located on at least one of said first walls and have a line shape that is oriented in the middle thereof and parallel to a longitudinal side of said pair of second walls of the can,
wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s)may be composed of said notch (e.g. item 225) and said auxiliary notch (e.g. item 226), said notch formed on said inside surface of said battery can and said auxiliary notch formed on said outside surface of said battery can corresponding with said notch, such that only said thin-wall portion remains between said notch and said auxiliary notch (e.g. supra),
but does not expressly teach said notch safety vent(s) located on at least one of said taught second walls, such that it reads on said limitations.
However, a pressure event would result in gas passing through said battery can, and it would have been obvious to incorporate said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) on at least one of said pair of plate-shaped second walls (e.g. items 122) in order to direct said gas in a desired direction, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), noting that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice,
Further, it would have been obvious to incorporate said notch safety vent(s) on at least one of said pair of plate-shaped second walls in the same size, orientation and arrangement to the teachings as provided for being incorporated in said first walls, since Kim teaches the said size, orientation, and arrangement are suitable for use in a battery can,
reading on the previously amended limitation “a pressure relief mechanism is disposed at the first board and configured to be actuated, in response to an internal pressure or temperature of the housing reaching a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure;” and, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “in the length direction, an extension dimension of the pressure relief mechanism is greater than or equal to 1⁄4 of an extension dimension of the first board.”
Regarding the previously amended, previously added limitation, “the first board includes a first part and a second part that are arranged side by side, the first part is fixed to the second part by welding, a weld is formed at a joint between the first part and the second part, and the pressure relief mechanism includes the weld,” Kim teaches said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) (e.g. item 125 or 225 and 226) may have said line shape that is oriented in the middle thereof and parallel to said longitudinal side of said pair of second walls of the can, wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s)may be composed of said notch (e.g. item 225) and said auxiliary notch (e.g. item 226), said auxiliary notch formed on said outside surface of said battery can corresponding with said notch, such that only said thin-wall portion remains between said notch and said auxiliary notch (e.g. supra), further, a pair of wall portions defining said notches are arranged side-by-side and narrow down to said thin-wall portion, said pair of wall portions defining said notches corresponding with the claimed “first part and a second part” and said thin-wall portion corresponding with the claimed “joint” and a structure associated with one resulting from a “welding” process, wherein the process limitations “welding” and “weld is formed at a joint” does not patentably distinguish the instant invention, see also e.g. MPEP § 2113, reading on said previously added limitation “the board includes a first part and a second part that are arranged side by side, the first part is fixed to the second part by welding, a weld is formed at a joint between the first part and the second part, and the pressure relief mechanism includes the weld,” as claimed.
Regarding the newly added limitation incorporating the limitation of former claim 8, Kim teaches said pair of plate-shaped first walls (e.g. items 121 or 221), the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped first walls in the length and width directions; and, said pair of plate-shaped second walls (e.g. items 122 or 222), the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped second walls in the length and thickness directions, wherein said first walls and said second walls intersecting one another at right angles, said length direction is greater than said width direction, and said width direction is greater than said thickness direction (e.g. supra), reading on the limitation “an area of the first board is less than an area of the second board.”
Regarding previously amended claims 2 and 5-7, Kim teaches the battery of claim 1, wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) (e.g. item 125 or 225 and 226) may be located on at least one of said second walls and have said line shape that is oriented in the middle thereof and parallel to said longitudinal side of said pair of second walls of the can, wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s)may be composed of said notch (e.g. item 225) and said auxiliary notch (e.g. item 226), said notch formed on said inside surface of said battery can and said auxiliary notch formed on said outside surface of said battery can corresponding with said notch, such that only said thin-wall portion remains between said notch and said auxiliary notch, said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) may have said length corresponding to 50% through 90% of said length of the longitudinal side of the pair of second walls (e.g. supra), reading on the previously amended limitations “the pressure relief mechanism is located in a middle region of the first board” (claim 2); “the pressure relief mechanism includes a notch groove disposed at the first board” (claim 5); the notch groove is disposed at an outer surface of the first board, the outer surface facing away from the accommodation space (claim 6); and, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “along a direction perpendicular to the first board, a corresponding dimension of the first board at the notch groove is 1⁄4 to 3⁄4 of a dimension of the first board in a region other than the notch groove” (claim 7).
Regarding previously amended claim 4, Kim teaches the battery of claim 1, wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) (e.g. item 125 or 225 and 226) may be located on at least one of said second walls and have said line shape that is oriented in the middle thereof and parallel to said longitudinal side of said pair of second walls of the can, wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s)may be composed of said notch (e.g. item 225) and said auxiliary notch (e.g. item 226), said notch formed on said inside surface of said battery can and said auxiliary notch formed on said outside surface of said battery can corresponding with said notch, such that only said thin-wall portion remains between said notch and said auxiliary notch, wherein said thin-wall portion corresponding with the claimed “joint” and a structure associated with one resulting from a “welding” process (see e.g. supra), wherein the process limitations “welding” and “weld is formed at a joint” does not patentably distinguish the instant invention, see also e.g. MPEP § 2113, reading on “the weld runs through the board along the length direction,” as claimed.
Regarding claims 10-11 and 13-15, Kim is applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding newly amended independent claim 10 and independent claim 14, Kim teaches said lithium ion secondary battery (e.g. item 100 or 200), but does not expressly teach it comprises “a plurality of battery cells arranged side by side along a thickness direction of each of the plurality of battery cells,” wherein “each of the plurality of battery cells” is as claimed identically as in claim 1 (claims 10 and 14) or the “electrical device comprising a battery” (claim 14).
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to connect two or more batteries together, since such a connection would increase the current and/or voltage of said resulting battery, which is also an “electrical device comprising a battery.”
Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange said two or more batteries next to one another in said thickness direction, in order to minimize the length of a interconnector used to connect said batteries, since minimizing the length of such an interconnector would minimize the amount of material used, potential current loss due to e.g. resistance, and/or cost of said interconnector, reading on said claims.
Still regarding newly amended claims 11 and 15, Kim teaches said battery of claims 10 and 14, wherein said third wall (e.g. item 123), the broad surfaces of said plate-shaped third wall in the width and thickness directions; and, said at least one or more notch safety vent(s) (e.g. item 125 or 225 and 226) may be located on at least one of said first walls and have a line shape that is oriented in the middle thereof and parallel to a longitudinal side of said pair of second walls of the can, wherein said at least one or more notch safety vent(s)may be composed of said notch (e.g. item 225) and said auxiliary notch (e.g. item 226), said notch formed on said inside surface of said battery can and said auxiliary notch formed on said outside surface of said battery can corresponding with said notch, such that only said thin-wall portion remains between said notch and said auxiliary notch (e.g. supra), but does not expressly teach said notch safety vent(s) located on said third wall, such that it reads on the previously amended limitation “the first board of one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is located at a bottom of the one battery cell with respect to a vertical direction of the one battery cell.” (claims 11 and 15).
However, since a pressure event would result in gas passing through said battery can, and it would have been obvious to oriented said notch safety vent of claim 1 so that it is at a bottom of at least one battery cell with respect to a vertical direction of said at least one battery cell, in order to direct said gas in a desired direction, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), noting that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice, reading on said limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the applicant alleges the following.
Independent claim 1, as amended, recites a battery cell including, for example, “a housing, a dimension of the housing along a length direction of the battery cell being greater than a dimension of the housing along a thickness direction of the battery cell and a dimension of the housing along a width direction of the battery cell, the housing including a first board extending along the length direction, a second board extending along the length direction and intersecting the first board, and an accommodation space opened from at least one end of the accommodation space, the first board being perpendicular to the width direction, and the second board being perpendicular to the thickness direction, wherein an area of the first board is less than an area of the second board...,” where “a pressure relief mechanism is disposed at the first board and configured to be actuated, in response to an internal pressure or temperature of the housing reaching a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure...” (Emphasis added). Kim fails to disclose or suggest at least these elements.
Thus, amended claim 1 requires the pressure relief mechanism be disposed at the smaller first board. In the rejection of claim 1, the Office alleges that notch safety vent(s) 125/225/226 located on larger first walls 121/221 of Kim are analogous to Applicant’s pressure relief mechanism. Office Action at 5 and 10. Further, the Office alleges that it would be obvious to relocate safety vent of Kim from the large first walls 121/221 to the smaller second walls 221/222 under MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) (rearrangement of parts). Id., at 10, 11, and 13. Applicant respectfully disagrees, and submits that the location of safety vent of Kim on the large first walls is not an arbitrary design choice; rather, it is functionally critical to the operation of the vent.
Kim is directed to a lithium ion secondary battery in which a safety vent as a safety device for a swelling phenomenon functions under a low pressure. Kim, Abstract. Without acquiescing to the Office’s assertions, Applicant notes that the entire safety vent design of Kim is predicated on the swelling mechanics of the large first walls. Kim discloses that during swelling, the large first walls expand outward, generating a large tensile stress on the outer surface (id., at ¶¶[0011], [0013], [0014], [0032], and [0061]). The notch is formed on the inner surface specifically so that only a thin wall portion remains on the outer surface where the tensile stress is greatest, enabling mechanical destruction of the vent under a relatively low pressure. Kim explicitly discloses that this is the mechanism that “maximiz[es]” safety and reliability (id., at ¶¶[0032] and [0061]). Further, Kim discloses that during swelling, the smaller second walls and third wall do not expand outward; instead, they bend outward at both ends and contract inwardly at the central portions (id., at [0011]).
Therefore, relocating the safety vent of Kim to the smaller second walls would defeat the mechanical advantage Kim specifically relies upon, because the tensile stress behavior on the second walls is fundamentally different from the first walls. This is not mere "rearrangement of parts;" rather, it would render safety vent mechanism of Kim inoperative or unreliable, contrary to express teachings of Kim. In other words, it would not be obvious to relocate safety vent of Kim from the large first walls to the smaller second walls. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Kim fails to disclose or suggest "a pressure relief mechanism is disposed at the first board," where "an area of the first board is less than an area of the second board," as recited in amended claim 1.
(Remarks, at e.g. 9:4-11:3, emphasis in the original.)
In response, the examiner respectfully notes that the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the art’s disclosure.
Here, while the art provides a variety of express examples, it does not provide an express example of said safety vent on said second wall.
However, the broad teachings of the art expressly provides that said safety vent may be provided on a pair of the second walls.
[0027] The present invention also provides a lithium ion secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly formed by winding up a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate and an isolation film; a can having: a pair of first walls having a plate shape, which are separated from each other by a predetermined distance; a pair of second walls having a plate shape, which have an area less than that of the pair of first walls and which connect two longitudinal sides of the pair of first walls; a third wall having a plate shape, which has an area less than that of the pair of second walls and which is connected to both of the pair of first walls and the pair of second walls; and an opening which is provided to be opposed to the third wall and which allows the electrode assembly to be coupled thereto; a cap assembly welded to the pair of first walls and the pair of second walls, which closes the opening of the can and which prevents the electrode assembly from being detached from the can; an electrolyte injected into the can, in the lithium ion secondary battery, and a safety vent, obtained by forming a notch and an auxiliary notch on an inner surface and an outer surface of at least one of the pair of first walls and the pair of second walls, the third wall and the cap plate, respectively.
(Kim, at e.g. ¶0027, emphasis added.)
Further, the art expressly provides said safety vent on one of the smallest surfaces of said rectangular parallelepiped shape battery can.
[0027] The present invention also provides a lithium ion secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly formed by winding up a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate and an isolation film; a can having: a pair of first walls having a plate shape, which are separated from each other by a predetermined distance; a pair of second walls having a plate shape, which have an area less than that of the pair of first walls and which connect two longitudinal sides of the pair of first walls; a third wall having a plate shape, which has an area less than that of the pair of second walls and which is connected to both of the pair of first walls and the pair of second walls; and an opening which is provided to be opposed to the third wall and which allows the electrode assembly to be coupled thereto; a cap assembly welded to the pair of first walls and the pair of second walls, which closes the opening of the can and which prevents the electrode assembly from being detached from the can; an electrolyte injected into the can, in the lithium ion secondary battery, and a safety vent, obtained by forming a notch and an auxiliary notch on an inner surface and an outer surface of at least one of the pair of first walls and the pair of second walls, the third wall and the cap plate, respectively.
…
[0051] As shown in the figures, the lithium ion secondary battery according to the present invention comprises an electrode assembly 110 to generate a potential difference, a can 120 having a rectangular parallelepiped shape to receive the electrode assembly 110, a cap assembly 140 coupled to a top portion of the can 120 to prevent the electrode assembly 110 from being detached from the can, and an electrolyte (not shown) injected into the can 120 to allow ions to be moved in the electrode assembly.
…
[0067] As shown in the figures, in the lithium ion secondary battery 300 according to another embodiment of the present invention, the notch 344 for the safety vent is formed on an inner surface 341_1 of the cap plate 341 of the cap assembly, not the can 320. The auxiliary notch 345 is further formed on an outer surface 341_2 of the cap plate 341 corresponding to the notch 344. The notch 344 is formed in a predetermined depth by pressing the inner surface 341_1 of the cap plate 341, and includes a first slant surface 344_1 and a second slant surface 344_2 forming a predetermined angle. In addition, the auxiliary notch 345 is formed in a predetermined depth by pressing the outer surface 341_2 of the cap plate 341, and includes a first slant surface 345_1 and a second slant surface 345_2, which form a predetermined angle. The notch 344 has a depth larger than that of the auxiliary notch 345, but the present invention is not limited to the depth. That is, as shown in FIG. 3D, the depth of the notch 344 may be larger than or equal to that of the auxiliary notch 345. In the figures, the notch 344 and the auxiliary notch 345 have almost a circle shape as seen from the upside thereof, but the present invention is not limited to the circle shape, and the shape of the notch or auxiliary notch may include an elliptical shape, a triangular shape, a pentagonal shape, etc.
(Id, at e.g. ¶¶ 0027, 51, and 67, emphasis added.)
Second, the applicant alleges the following.
Independent claims 10 and 14, although different in scope from independent claim 1, recite elements similar to those of claim 1 discussed above. Thus, for reasons similar to those discussed above, claims 10 and 14 are allowable. Claims 2, 4-7, 11, 13, and 15 are also allowable at least by virtue of their dependence from claim 1, 10, or 14.
(Remarks, at e.g. 11:4-12:1.)
In response, the examiner respectfully refers supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He et al (US 2021/0175572); and,
Goda et al (US 2003/0077505).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723