DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C in which the connection component consists of a plurality of wires, corresponding to claims 1 and 5-19, in the reply filed on 9/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-H04-356974-A (a copy of which was already by Applicant on 9/12/2022).
Regarding claim 1, ‘974 discloses a semiconductor device (Figs. 6-7 which is a device including a “semiconductor relay”, Title of ‘974) comprising:
a package substrate (entirety of Figs. 6-7) including a package member (40) and a first conductive portion (conductive element seen in Fig. 6 which is directly contacted by the wire extending from 5b);
a semiconductor package (unlabeled in Fig. 6, corresponding to “photovoltaic element 3 in Fig. 2; Abstract of ‘974) provided on a first surface of the package substrate (top surface of 41 in Fig. 7) inside the package member (“inside the package member” is interpreted as within the lateral boundaries of the package member) and coupled to the first conductive portion (as Applicant set forth in the specification the concept of components being “directly coupled” but claimed only “coupled”, “coupled” is interpreted to allow for intervening components);
a first semiconductor chip (5a in Fig. 6) provided on the first surface of the package substrate inside the package member and including a first terminal (terminal contacting the wire connected to the first conductive portion);
a second semiconductor chip (5b) provided on the first surface of the package substrate inside the package member and including a second terminal (terminal contacting the wire);
and a connection component (the plurality of wires connected to the first conductive portion in Fig. 6) that couples the first and second terminals to the first conductive portion inside the package member.
Regarding claim 5, ‘974 further discloses wherein the first semiconductor chip is arranged side by side with the second semiconductor chip in a first direction parallel to the first surface, and the first conductive portion is located between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, ‘974 further discloses wherein the package substrate further includes:
a second conductive portion including a first lead portion and a second lead portion continuous with the first lead portion, the first lead portion passes through a region which is below the semiconductor package in a second direction perpendicular to the first surface (as the first lead portion is below the semiconductor package, the region through which it extends is also below the semiconductor package), and extends from a first end side of the package substrate toward a second end side of the package substrate in the first direction, and the second lead portion passes through a region which is below the semiconductor package in the second direction (as the second lead portion is below the semiconductor package, the region through which it extends is also below the semiconductor package) and extends from the first lead portion toward the first conductive portion in a third direction parallel to the first surface and intersecting the first direction (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, ‘974 further discloses wherein the first semiconductor chip includes a third terminal, the second semiconductor chip includes a fourth terminal, the third terminal is coupled to the first lead portion via a first wire, and the fourth terminal is coupled to the first lead portion via a second wire (see above).
Regarding claim 8, ‘974 further discloses the second conductive portion has a T-shaped planar shape as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, ‘974 further discloses wherein the package substrate further includes: a first die pad (die pad under first semiconductor chip) on which the first semiconductor chip is arranged; a second die pad (die pad under second semiconductor chip) on which the second semiconductor chip is arranged; a third conductive portion coupled to a fifth terminal of the semiconductor package; and a fourth conductive portion coupled to a sixth terminal of the semiconductor package.
Regarding claim 10, ‘974 further discloses wherein the package substrate further includes: a first connection terminal provided on a second surface side of the package substrate (second surface side being on the top surface of the conductive traces) which is opposite to the first surface in a second direction perpendicular to the first surface, overlapping the first die pad in the second direction, and coupled to the first die pad; a second connection terminal provided on the second surface side, overlapping the second die pad in the second direction, and coupled to the second die pad; a third connection terminal provided on the second surface side, overlapping the third conductive portion in the second direction, and coupled to the third conductive portion; and a fourth connection terminal provided on the second surface side, overlapping the fourth conductive portion in the second direction, and coupled to the fourth conductive portion (see above).
Regarding claim 11, ‘974 further discloses wherein the first to fourth connection terminals are exposed from the second surface (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, ‘974 further discloses wherein the first semiconductor chip is arranged side by side with the second semiconductor chip in a first direction parallel to the first surface, the semiconductor package is arranged in a region between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip, and the first and second semiconductor chips are arranged on the package substrate symmetrically, with a line passing through a center of the semiconductor package as an axis of symmetry (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, ‘974 further discloses wherein the semiconductor package include an optical coupling device (“photocoupler”, Title).
Regarding claim 14, ‘974 further discloses wherein each of the first and second semiconductor chips includes a transistor (“mos transistors”, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 15, ‘974 further discloses wherein the semiconductor package includes: a package layer (conductor connected to the left side of wire 43 in Fig. 6) covered with the package member (using an orientation opposite of that shown in Fig. 7 as the device is operable when rotated); and a circuit portion (wire 43) covered with the package layer.
Regarding claim 17, ‘974 further discloses wherein the connection portion includes a wire (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, ‘974 further discloses wherein the first and second semiconductor chips are sealed by the package member (the bottom surface of the chips are sealed by the package member).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘974 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rubin et al. (US 2021/0159211 A1).
Regarding claim 16, ’974 differs from the claimed invention by the substitution of a connection component comprising copper with a connection component that is not explicitly disclosed as comprising copper. However, connection components comprising copper and the corresponding function was known in the art (¶ 0044 of Rubin). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to have substituted the known element of copper connection components as taught by Rubin for the connection component material of ‘974 and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. (see MPEP § 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 19, ’974 differs from the claimed invention by the substitution of a package substrate comprising ceramic with a package substrate that is not explicitly disclosed as comprising ceramic. However, package substrates comprising ceramic and the corresponding function was known in the art (¶ 0064 of Rubin). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to have substituted the known element of ceramic package substrates as taught by Rubin for the package substrate material of ‘974 and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. (see MPEP § 2143(I)(B)).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815