DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 8-22 are now pending in the application. Claims 1, 12 and 15 have been amended, and new claims 21-22 have been added by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application KR 10-2021-0124945, filed 09/17/2021 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the integrated driver" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear as to what driver does this “integrated driver” referrers to? The base claim 15 only recites separately “a first driver” and “a second driver”. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations in order to remove the indefiniteness issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (hereafter Kobayashi, of record) US 20170160550 A1 in view of Kim et al. (hereafter Kim, of record) US 20210055558 A1 in view of Machida (of record) US 20180322845 A1 and further in view of Kwon et al. (hereafter Kwon, of record) US 20200192181 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) an augmented reality (AR)-providing device (i.e. head-mounted display device, AR,VR, MR display, see abstract, 100, 100A,B, with control device 10 and display unit 20 e.g. paragraphs [5-50, 77-86, 255-280, 282-293, 330-334]) comprising:
a right eye lens having a first surface that is a top surface (optical display 26 with front surface as top surface in optics direction for and from the right eye RE, e.g. paragraphs [77-86, 255-280], Figs. 1-2, 15);
a left eye lens having a first surface that is a top surface (optical display 28 with front surface as top surface in optics direction for and from the left eye LE, e.g. paragraphs [77-86, 255-280], Figs. 1-2, 15-16);
a right eye filter overlapping the first surface of the right eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 26 in conjunction with BL221 and LCD 241 controlling light to RE, paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260]) and configured to change an illuminance of light passing through the right eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on 26 that attenuates amount of light on 26 for RE, paragraphs [82-83, 255-260]);
a left eye filter overlapping the first surface of the left eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 28 in conjunction with BL222 and LCD 242 controlling light to LE, paragraphs [82-83, 118-120,255-260]), and configured to change an illuminance of light passing through the left eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 28 that attenuates amount of light on 28 for LE, paragraphs [7-25, 82-83, 255-260]);
a display unit (20, paragraphs [78-82, 102-105, 122-129, 255-260], Figs. 1-4, 15, 18-19) comprising:
a first display panel (e.g. right back light BL, LCD panels 221, 241 for RE image, of right display driving unit 22 of 20, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-118, 146], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) on a first side surface of the right eye lens (i.e. as 221, 241 of 22 are in 21 on side surface of 26, paragraphs [79-82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and configured to provide a first image to a right eye reflector at a center of the right eye lens (second/right image for 26 and RE, e.g. paragraphs [78-82, 102-107, 128-135, 255-265, 327], as 26 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 261 and centered towards the RE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15,16); and
a second display panel (e.g. left back light BL, LCD panels 222, 242, for LE image, of left driving unit 24 of 20, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) on a first side surface of the left eye lens (i.e. as 222, 242 are in 23 on side surface of 28, paragraphs [79-82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-6), and configured to provide a second image to a left eye reflector at a center of the left eye lens (first/left image for 28, LE, e.g. paragraphs [78-82, 102-107, 128-135, 255-265, 327], as 28 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 262 and centered towards the LE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15, 16);
a right eye driver (right driving unit 22, paragraphs [78-86, 255-258]) configured to control a transmittance of the right eye filter, and configured to control a transmittance of the first image (i.e. as 22 controls R LCD, R BL with R optical system, R guide plate of 26 with dimming plate, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 103, 117-121,255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16); and
a left eye driver (right driving unit 24, paragraphs [78-86, 255-258]) configured to control a transmittance of the left eye filter, and configured to control a transmittance of the second image (i.e. as 24 controls L LCD, L BL with L optical system, L guide plate of 28 with dimming plate, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 103, 117-121,255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16);
a right eye condenser that is between the first display panel and the first side surface of the right eve lens (as optical system 251 collimate lens, between 241 and side surface of 26, paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and configured to condense the first image provided by the first display panel (as collimating lens optical system 251 for right image for 26 paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16); and
a left eve condenser that is between the second display panel and the first side surface of the left eye lens (as optical system 252 collimate lens, between 242 and side surface of 28, paragraphs [82, 120-121, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16, and configured to condense the second image provided by the second display panel (as collimating lens optical system 252 for first/left image for 28 paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and wherein the right eye lens and the left eye lens comprise transmittance control regions comprising equally sized sub-filters (i.e. as right eye lens 26 and left eye lens 28 include regions with dimming plate i.e. sub-filter on each 26, 28 front surface, where the dimming plates sub-filters have same size as depicted in Fig. 1,2, see also paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260).
But Kobayashi is not explicit about arrangement of right/left eye lenses and respective first/second display panels, namely that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens (as 221, 241, and 22 are on side surface of 26 but not necessarily orthogonal to the front surface of 26, and as 222, 242 and 24 are on side surface of 28 but not necessarily orthogonal to the front surface of 28, see e.g. Fig. 1-2), and that the right eye condenser and the left eye condenser respectively comprise at least two convex lenses (as 251, 252 optical collimating systems include collimating/convex lenses but without specifics), and that a width of the right eye reflector and a width of the left eye reflector are respectively less than a width of a pupil of an eye of a user (as the sizes of 261, 262 are not compared with pupil size).
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of electronic device and wearable electronic device (e.g. 1000, 100A, see e.g. Figs. 1-14, Abstract, paragraphs [02,05-08,53-73], also with R,L lens 100,100A, display panel parts 400,400A,410), and further teaches that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens (as display panel unit 400,410 (400A) is disposed on a first side (incidence, side) surface 110 of transmission part lens 100, (100A) for right and left eye in direction DR1 or DR2, that is orthogonal to first (emission) surface 120 of transmission part lens 100, (100A) for right and left eye, which is in plane of DR1,DR2 directions, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [58-66, 68,73], enabling that the display panel part are adjacent to the transmission lens parts and providing improved brightness and/or clearer images for the wearable electronic devices, paragraphs [05, 58,66,72]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of right/left eye lenses and respective first/second display panels of Kobayashi so that that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens according to teachings of Kim in order to enable that the display panel parts are adjacent to the transmission lens parts and provide improved brightness and clearer images for the wearable electronic devices, paragraphs [05, 58,66,72]).
However, Machida teaches in the same field of inventions of display apparatus and a head mounted display (HMD) (see Figs. 1-12, 15, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-3, 13-18, 105, 155-166, 176-183,196,202-209,231-237 e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, 18-19, for presenting virtual objects, additional information or various types of information as electronic information to a reality environment e.g. AR, VR) and further teaches that the right eye condenser and the left eye condenser respectively comprise at least two convex lenses (as HMD display apparatus optical system 112,254 between display image forming devices and side of optical lens device e.g. 120 includes two convex lenses to convert light emitted from the image forming devices into parallel light, so that the light flux formed as the parallel light in the optical lens systems are incident to the optical devices to be guided and emitted, see paragraphs [137,156-164,171,213-215,224], as depicted in Figs. 11, 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the right/left optical collimating systems of HMD of Kobayashi according to teachings of Machida to include two convex lenses, in order to provide converting light emitted from the image forming devices into parallel light, so that the light flux formed as the parallel light in the optical lens systems are incident to the optical devices to be guided and emitted, see paragraphs [137,156-164,171,213-215,224]).
Further Kwon teaches in the same field of invention of an optical device and augmented reality providing device (see Figs. 2-1,13-14, abstract, paragraphs [2,6-35,70-83,182-192], including display module DD, light collecting optics CL, prism AP, lens module LM with reflective mirror RM) and further teaches that and that a width of the right eye reflector and a width of the left eye reflector are respectively less than a width of a pupil of an eye of a user (as RM size is smaller than a pupil of user’s eye, e.g. can be less than 4 mm or less, such that the user may not recognize the reflective mirror RM, while providing brightness of the virtual image and pin-hole effect to virtual image displayed with increased depth of field, paragraphs [73-79]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the size of right and left plate mirrors of the display device of Kobayashi with the size less than a width size of a pupil of user’s eye according to teachings of Kwon in order to enable the user not to recognize the reflective mirror RM, but provide for brightness of the virtual image and provide the pin-hole effect to virtual image being displayed and having increased depth of field, (see Kwon paragraphs [73-79]).
Regarding claim 2, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) further comprising: a first temple adjacent to the right eye lens, and with the right eye driver thereon (right holding unit, temple 21 next to RE, holding R 22 unit, paragraphs [79-86,233], Figs.1-2, 15-16); and a second temple adjacent to the left eye lens, and with the left eye driver thereon (left holding unit, temple 23 next to LE, holding L 24 unit, paragraphs [79-86,233], Figs.1-2, 15-16).
Regarding claim 3, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) that the right eye driver is configured to be independently driven (i.e. 22 is driven independently by control unit 140, 190 of 10, via Tx 51, Rx 53, e.g. paragraphs [89-94, 99, 104, 120, 117,255-258],Figs. 2, 15), and wherein the left eye driver is configured to be independently driven (i.e. 24 is driven independently by control unit 140, 190 of 10, via Tx 52, Rx 54, e.g. paragraphs [89-94, 99, 104, 120, 117, 255-258],Figs. 2, 15).
Regarding claim 4, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) that the right eye reflector is between the first surface of the right eye lens, and a second surface of the right eye lens that is opposite to the first surface of the right eye lens (i.e. as 26 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 261 between front surface with dimming plate and back surface of 26, towards the RE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15), and that the left eye reflector is between the first surface of the left eye lens, and a second surface of the left eye lens that is opposite to the first surface of the left eye lens (i.e. as 28 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 262 between front surface with dimming plate and back surface of 28 towards the RE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15).
Regarding claim 5, the Kobayashi -Kim-Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) that the display unit (20, 22, 24) is configured to provide the first image to the right eye reflector (i.e. as 22 and 26 provide RE image to 261 for RE, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and is configured to provide the second image to the left eye reflector (i.e. as 24 and 26 provide LE image to 262 for LE, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16).
Regarding claim 8, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) further comprising: a support unit (20 with EL, ER) configured to support the right eye lens and the left eye lens (i.e. as image display unit 20 in form of optical eyeglass with EL, ER portions, that support and hold optical R, L display units 26, 28, paragraphs [78-85, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16); and an illuminance sensor on the support unit, and configured to detect an illuminance of external light (i.e. as image pickup unit 61 on 20,ER, detects external light scene, paragraphs [79, 84-85, 261,263], Figs. 1-2, 15-16).
Regarding claim 13, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) the right eye filter and the left eye filter (i.e. as optical displays with dimming pates 26, 28 include plurality of regions, paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260],Figs. 1-2, 15-16), comprise a film respectively attached to the first surface of the right eye lens and the first surface of the left eye lens (i.e. as optical displays 26 and 28 each has dimming pates which are thin plate-like optical elements i.e. optical films, that are disposed to cover the front side of the optical image displays 26, 28 of 20, see paragraphs [07-25,792-83, 255-260],Figs. 1-2, 15-16).
Regarding claim 14, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) further comprising an integrated drive configured to adjust the right eye filter or the left eye filter (e.g. as control unit 140, with 190,160,164 of 10, coupled to 20, and controls through Tx 51,52, Rx 53,54 the right and left driving units 22, 24 and therefore right/left back light BL, LCD panels 221/222, 241/242, R/L guide plate of 26/28 with dimming plate for RE and LE image, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-121, 146, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) to have a first transmittance so that an external world view is transmitted in an augmented mode (i.e. as control unit 140 with 190, 160, 164, performs in AR, MR display mode transmitting external light through 26 or 28, paragraphs [145, 251, 293, 329]) and configured to adjust the right eye filter or the left eye filter to have a second transmittance so that the external world view is blocked in a virtual mode (i.e. as control unit 140 with 190, 160, 164, performs in as VR display mode where outside scene cannot be visually recognized through 26 or 28, paragraphs [145, 293, 330]).
In regard to independent claim 15, Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) an augmented reality (AR)-providing device (i.e. head-mounted display device, AR,VR, MR display, see abstract, 100, 100A,B, with control device 10 and display unit 20 e.g. paragraphs [5-50, 77-86, 255-280, 282-293, 330-334]) comprising:
a right eye lens having a first surface that is a top surface (optical display 26 with front surface as top surface in optics direction for and from the right eye RE, e.g. paragraphs [77-86, 255-280], Figs. 1-2, 15);
a left eye lens having a first surface that is a top surface (optical display 28 with front surface as top surface in optics direction for and from the left eye LE, e.g. paragraphs [77-86, 255-280], Figs. 1-2, 15-16);
a display unit (image display unit 20, paragraphs [78-82, 102-105, 122-129, 255-260], Figs. 1-4, 15, 18-19), comprising:
a first display panel (e.g. right back light BL, LCD panels 221, 241 for RE image, of right display driving unit 22 of 20, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-118, 146], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) on a first side surface of the right eye lens (i.e. as 221, 241 of 22 are in 21 on side surface of 26, paragraphs [79-82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-6), and configured to provide a first image to a right eye reflector at a center of the right eye lens (second/right image for 26 and RE, e.g. paragraphs [78-82, 102-107, 128-135, 255-265, 327], as 26 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 261 and centered towards the RE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15,16); and
a second display panel (e.g. left back light BL, LCD panels 222, 242, for LE image, of left driving unit 24 of 20, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) on a first side surface of the left eye lens (i.e. as 222, 242 are in 23 on side surface of 28, paragraphs [79-82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-6), and configured to provide a second image to a left eye reflector at a center of the left eye lens (first/left image for 28, LE, e.g. paragraphs [78-82, 102-107, 128-135, 255-265, 327], as 28 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 262 and centered towards the LE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15, 16);
a support unit (eyeglasses of the 20 with EL, ER) configured to support the right eye lens, the left eye lens and the display unit (i.e. as image display unit is supported in form of optical eyeglass with EL, ER portions, and that support and hold optical R, L display units 26, 28, paragraphs [78-85, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16)
a right eye filter overlapping the first surface of the right eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 26, in conjunction with BL221 and LCD 241 controlling light to RE, paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260]), and configured to change an illuminance of light passing through the right eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on 26 that attenuates amount of light on 26 for RE, paragraphs [82-83, 255-260]);
a left eye filter overlapping the first surface of the left eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on 28 front plate, in conjunction with BL221 and LCD 241 controlling light to RE, paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260]), and configured to change an illuminance of light passing through the left eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 28 that attenuates amount of light on 28 for LE, paragraphs [7-25, 82-83, 255-260]);
a first driver coupled to the support unit (right driving unit 22 coupled to eyeglasses 20 holding unit/temple 21, paragraphs [78-86, 255-258]) configured to control a transmittance of the right eye filter, and configured to adjust a transmittance of the right eye filter (i.e. as 22 controls R LCD, R BL with R optical system, R guide plate of 26 with dimming plate, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 103, 117-121,255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16); and
a second driver separated from the first driver coupled to the support unit (left driving unit 24 coupled to eyeglasses 20 holding unit/temple 23 separate from 22, paragraphs [78-86, 255-258]), and configured to adjust a transmittance of the left eye filter independently of the transmittance of the right eye filter. (i.e. as 24 controls L LCD, L BL with L optical system, L guide plate of 28 with dimming plate, and is driven independently by control unit 140, 190 of 10, via Tx 52, Rx 54, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 89-94, 99, 103, 117-121, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16);
a right eye condenser that is between the first display panel and the first side surface of the right eve lens (as optical system 251 collimate lens, between 241 and side surface of 26, paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and configured to condense the first image provided by the first display panel (as collimating lens optical system 251 for right image for 26 paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16); and
a left eve condenser that is between the second display panel and the first side surface of the left eye lens (as optical system 252 collimate lens, between 242 and side surface of 28, paragraphs [82, 120-121, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16, and configured to condense the second image provided by the second display panel (as collimating lens optical system 252 for first/left image for 28 paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and wherein the right eye lens and the left eye lens comprise transmittance control regions comprising equally sized sub-filters (i.e. as right eye lens 26 and left eye lens 28 include regions with dimming plate i.e. sub-filter on each 26, 28 front surface, where the dimming plates sub-filters have same size as depicted in Fig. 1,2, see also paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260).
But Kobayashi is not explicit about arrangement of right/left eye lenses and respective first/second display panels, namely that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens (as 221, 241, and 22 are on side surface of 26 but not necessarily orthogonal to the front surface of 26, and as 222, 242 and 24 are on side surface of 28 but not necessarily orthogonal to the front surface of 28, see e.g. Fig. 1-2), and that the right eye condenser and the left eye condenser respectively comprise at least two convex lenses (as 251, 252 optical collimating systems include collimating/convex lenses but without specifics), and that a width of the right eye reflector and a width of the left eye reflector are respectively less than a width of a pupil of an eye of a user (as the sizes of 261, 262 are not compared with pupil size).
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of electronic device and wearable electronic device (e.g. 1000, 100A, see e.g. Figs. 1-14, Abstract, paragraphs [02,05-08,53-73], also with R,L lens 100,100A, display panel parts 400,400A,410), and further teaches that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens (as display panel unit 400,410 (400A) is disposed on a first side (incidence, side) surface 110 of transmission part lens 100, (100A) for right and left eye in direction DR1 or DR2, that is orthogonal to first (emission) surface 120 of transmission part lens 100, (100A) for right and left eye, which is in plane of DR1,DR2 directions, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [58-66, 68,73], enabling that the display panel part are adjacent to the transmission lens parts and providing improved brightness and/or clearer images for the wearable electronic devices, paragraphs [05, 58,66,72]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of right/left eye lenses and respective first/second display panels of Kobayashi so that that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens according to teachings of Kim in order to enable that the display panel parts are adjacent to the transmission lens parts and provide improved brightness and clearer images for the wearable electronic devices, paragraphs [05, 58,66,72]).
However, Machida teaches in the same field of inventions of display apparatus and a head mounted display (HMD) (see Figs. 1-12, 15, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-3, 13-18, 105, 155-166, 176-183,196,202-209,231-237 e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, 18-19, for presenting virtual objects, additional information or various types of information as electronic information to a reality environment e.g. AR, VR) and further teaches that the right eye condenser and the left eye condenser respectively comprise at least two convex lenses (as HMD display apparatus optical system 112,254 between display image forming devices and side of optical lens device e.g. 120 includes two convex lenses to convert light emitted from the image forming devices into parallel light, so that the light flux formed as the parallel light in the optical lens systems are incident to the optical devices to be guided and emitted, see paragraphs [137,156-164,171,213-215,224], as depicted in Figs. 11, 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the right/left optical collimating systems of HMD of Kobayashi according to teachings of Machida to include two convex lenses, in order to provide converting light emitted from the image forming devices into parallel light, so that the light flux formed as the parallel light in the optical lens systems are incident to the optical devices to be guided and emitted, see paragraphs [137,156-164,171,213-215,224]).
Further Kwon teaches in the same field of invention of an optical device and augmented reality providing device (see Figs. 2-1,13-14, abstract, paragraphs [2,6-35,70-83,182-192], including display module DD, light collecting optics CL, prism AP, lens module LM with reflective mirror RM) and further teaches that and that a width of the right eye reflector and a width of the left eye reflector are respectively less than a width of a pupil of an eye of a user (as RM size is smaller than a pupil of user’s eye, e.g. can be less than 4 mm or less, such that the user may not recognize the reflective mirror RM, while providing brightness of the virtual image and pin-hole effect to virtual image displayed with increased depth of field, paragraphs [73-79]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the size of right and left plate mirrors of the display device of Kobayashi with the size less than a width size of a pupil of user’s eye according to teachings of Kwon in order to enable the user not to recognize the reflective mirror RM, but provide for brightness of the virtual image and provide the pin-hole effect to virtual image being displayed and having increased depth of field, (see Kwon paragraphs [73-79]).
Regarding claim 16, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) further comprising an integrated driver coupled to the support unit, and configured to control the first driver and the second driver (e.g. control unit 140, with 190,160,164 of 10, coupled to 20, and controls through Tx 51,52, Rx 53,54 right and left driving units 22, 24 and therefore right/left back light BL, LCD panels 221/222, 241/242, R/L guide plate of 26/28 with dimming plate for RE and LE image, e.g. paragraphs [89-94, 99, 103-104, 117-121, 255-258],Figs. 2, 15).
Regarding claim 17, the Kobayashi -Kim combination Machida-Kwon teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) that the integrated drive configured to adjust the right eye filter or the left eye filter (e.g. as control unit 140, with 190,160,164 of 10, coupled to 20, and controls through Tx 51,52, Rx 53,54 the right and left driving units 22, 24 and therefore right/left back light BL, LCD panels 221/222, 241/242, R/L guide plate of 26/28 with dimming plate for RE and LE image, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-121, 146, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) to have a first transmittance so that an external world view is transmitted in an augmented mode (i.e. as control unit 140 with 190, 160, 164, performs in AR, MR display mode transmitting external light through 26 or 28, paragraphs [145, 251, 293, 329]), and configured to adjust the right eye filter or the left eye filter to have a second transmittance so that the external world view is blocked in a virtual mode (i.e. as control unit 140 with 190, 160, 164, performs in as VR display mode where outside scene cannot be visually recognized through 26 or 28, paragraphs [145, 293, 330]).
Regarding claim 18, the Kobayashi -Kim Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) further comprising an illuminance sensor on the support unit, and configured to detect an illuminance of external light (i.e. as image pickup unit 61 on 20,ER, detects external light scene, paragraphs [79, 84-85, 261,263], Figs. 1-2, 15-16).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the Kobayashi -Kim-Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) further comprising an integrated driver configured to control transmittances of the right eye filter and the left eye filter (e.g. control unit 140, with 190,160,164 of 10, coupled to 20, and controls through Tx 51,52, Rx 53,54 right and left driving units 22, 24, with 221,241 right dimming plate on 26 for RE, and with 222, 242, left dimming plate on 28 for LE e.g. paragraphs [89-94, 99, 104,117-121, 255-258],Figs. 2, 15), but is silent that it controls their transmittance based on an illuminance value sensed by the illuminance sensor (e.g. image pickup, paragraphs [79, 84-85, 261,263], Figs. 1-2, 15-16).
However, Machida teaches in the same field of inventions of display apparatus and a head mounted display (HMD) (see Figs. 1-12, 15, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-3, 13-18, 105, 155-166, 176-183,196,202-209,231-237 e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, 18-19, for presenting virtual objects, additional information or various types of information as electronic information to a reality environment e.g. AR, VR) and further teaches integrated controller that controls their transmittance of right and left eye filter based on an illuminance value sensed by the illuminance sensor (i.e. as HMD 10 includes control device 18 that controls light regulating electrochromic device 700, different regions of it e.g. 712, 711, adjusting light amount of external light incident from the outside based on measurement result of illuminance sensor 721, hence providing high contrast to the virtual image observed by the observer, and optimize the observation state of the virtual image depending on the illuminance of the surrounding environment where the display apparatus is placed (see paragraphs [114-118, 212, 234]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the display optics, dimming plates and control unit of HMD of Kobayashi with adjustable electrochromic multi region light regulating devices controlled based on external light measurement of illuminance sensor 721 according to teachings of Machida, in order to provide adjustable light control in different regions of the display device, and thus provide high contrast to the virtual image observed by the observer, and optimize the observation state of the virtual image depending on the illuminance of the surrounding environment where the display apparatus is placed (see paragraphs [114-118, 212, 234]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the Kobayashi -Kim-Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) the right eye filter and the left eye filter comprise a plurality of regions (i.e. as optical displays with dimming pates 26, 28 include plurality of regions, paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260],Figs. 1-2, 15-16) but is silent that they are configured to individually adjust transmittances.
However, Machida teaches in the same field of inventions of display apparatus and a head mounted display (HMD) (see Figs. 1-12, 15, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-3, 13-18, 105155-166, 176-183, 196,202-209,231-237] e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, for presenting virtual objects, additional information or various types of information as electronic information to a reality environment e.g. AR, VR) and further teaches the right eye filter and the left eye filter comprise a plurality of regions are configured to individually adjust transmittances (i.e. as HMD 10 includes light regulating electrochromic device 700 with different regions adjustable regions 712, 711, with the number of virtual image projection regions changed depending on the number of virtual images (or the number of a series of virtual image groups, the number of blocked virtual image groups, or the like) paragraphs [105,155-166, 176-183,196-199,202-209,231-237 e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, hence providing high contrast to the virtual image observed by the observer, and optimize the observation state of the virtual image depending on the illuminance of the surrounding environment where the display apparatus is placed (see paragraphs [114-118, 165, 212, 234]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the display optics, dimming plates and control unit of HMD of Kobayashi with adjustable multi region light regulating devices controlled based on external light measurement of illuminance sensor according to teachings of Machida, in order to provide adjustable light control in different regions of the display device where number of virtual image projection regions is changed depending on the number of virtual images (or the number of a series of virtual image groups, the number of blocked virtual image groups, or the like), and thus provide high contrast to the virtual image observed by the observer, and optimize the observation state of the virtual image depending on the illuminance of the surrounding environment where the display apparatus is placed (see paragraphs [114-118, 165, 212, 234]).
Regarding claim 11, the Kobayashi -Kim-Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) the right eye filter and the left eye filter (i.e. as modified dimming plates on 26, 28 with adjustable light regulating electro-chromic device 700 of Machida) comprise at least one lower electrode, at least one upper electrode, and an electrochromic layer interposed therebetween (i.e. as upper, lower electrodes 704, 702 and electrochromic layer 705 between, paragraphs [105, 196-199]), and wherein the regions respectively comprise one of the at least one lower electrode or one of the at least one upper electrode (i.e. as regions 711, 712 of 700, paragraphs [105,155-166, 176-183,196-199,202-209,231-237 e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11).
Regarding claim 12, the Kobayashi -Kim-Machida-Kwon combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) the right eye filter and the left eye filter comprise transmittance control regions (i.e. as optical displays with dimming pates 26, 28 include plurality of regions, paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260],Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and wherein the right eye filter and the left eye filter are separated (i.e. as dimming plates on 26, 28 are separated, Figs. 1-2, 15-16), but is silent that comprise sub-filters respectively in the transmittance control regions.
However, Machida teaches in the same field of inventions of display apparatus and a head mounted display (HMD) (see Figs. 1-12, 15, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-3, 13-18, 105155-166, 176-183, 196,202-209,231-237] e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, for presenting virtual objects, additional information or various types of information as electronic information to a reality environment e.g. AR, VR) and further teaches the right eye filter and the left eye filter comprise a plurality of regions that comprise sub-filters respectively in the transmittance control regions (i.e. as HMD 10 includes light regulating electrochromic devices 700 with different adjustable filter regions e.g. 712, 711, with number of virtual image projection regions changed depending on the number of virtual images (or the number of a series of virtual image groups, the number of blocked virtual image groups, or the like) paragraphs [105,155-166, 176-183,196-199,202-209,231-237 e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, thus providing high contrast to the virtual image observed by the observer, and optimize the observation state of the virtual image depending on the illuminance of the surrounding environment where the display apparatus is placed (see paragraphs [114-118, 165, 212, 234]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the display optics, dimming plates and control unit of HMD of Kobayashi with adjustable multi region light regulating devices according to teachings of Machida, in order to provide adjustable light control in different regions of the display devices, providing that the number of virtual image projection regions is changed depending on the number of virtual images (or the number of a series of virtual image groups, the number of blocked virtual image groups, or the like), and thus provide high contrast to the virtual image observed by the observer, and optimize the observation state of the virtual image depending on the illuminance of the surrounding environment where the display apparatus is placed (see paragraphs [114-118, 165, 212, 234]).
Regarding claim 21, the Kobayashi -Kim combination Machida-Kwon teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) that the integrated driver is configured to adjust a transmittance of the right eye filter and a transmittance of the left eye filter differently from each other (e.g. since control unit 140, with 190,160,164 of 10, coupled to 20, has separate lines and controls through separate Tx 51 Tx52 and Rx 53 Rx54 specifically the right, and left driving units 22, 24 and therefore right/left back light BL, LCD panels 221/222, 241/242, R/L guide plate of 26/28 with dimming plate for RE and LE image, paragraphs [82, 100,103, 117-121, 146, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 02/16/2025 with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Kobayashi-Kim, Machida and Kwon does not disclose the new limitation in claims 1 and 15, namely that (1) “the right eye lens and the left eye lens comprise transmittance control regions comprising equally sized sub-filters”, arguing that in Machida the sub-filters have regions but are not equally sized. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (1) as noted in the rejections above, the combination of the cited prior art of Kobayashi-Kim, Machida and Kwon disclose and render obvious all limitations of claim 1 (and 15), and Kobayashi teaches (see Figs. 1-24) an augmented reality (AR)-providing device (i.e. head-mounted display device, AR,VR, MR display, see abstract, 100, 100A,B, with control device 10 and display unit 20 e.g. paragraphs [5-50, 77-86, 255-280, 282-293, 330-334]) comprising:
a right eye lens having a first surface that is a top surface (optical display 26 with front surface as top surface in optics direction for and from the right eye RE, e.g. paragraphs [77-86, 255-280], Figs. 1-2, 15);
a left eye lens having a first surface that is a top surface (optical display 28 with front surface as top surface in optics direction for and from the left eye LE, e.g. paragraphs [77-86, 255-280], Figs. 1-2, 15-16);
a right eye filter overlapping the first surface of the right eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 26 in conjunction with BL221 and LCD 241 controlling light to RE, paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260]) and configured to change an illuminance of light passing through the right eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on 26 that attenuates amount of light on 26 for RE, paragraphs [82-83, 255-260]);
a left eye filter overlapping the first surface of the left eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 28 in conjunction with BL222 and LCD 242 controlling light to LE, paragraphs [82-83, 118-120,255-260]), and configured to change an illuminance of light passing through the left eye lens (e.g. dimming plate on front surface of 28 that attenuates amount of light on 28 for LE, paragraphs [7-25, 82-83, 255-260]);
a display unit (20, paragraphs [78-82, 102-105, 122-129, 255-260], Figs. 1-4, 15, 18-19) comprising:
a first display panel (e.g. right back light BL, LCD panels 221, 241 for RE image, of right display driving unit 22 of 20, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-118, 146], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) on a first side surface of the right eye lens (i.e. as 221, 241 of 22 are in 21 on side surface of 26, paragraphs [79-82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and configured to provide a first image to a right eye reflector at a center of the right eye lens (second/right image for 26 and RE, e.g. paragraphs [78-82, 102-107, 128-135, 255-265, 327], as 26 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 261 and centered towards the RE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15,16); and
a second display panel (e.g. left back light BL, LCD panels 222, 242, for LE image, of left driving unit 24 of 20, paragraphs [82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-6) on a first side surface of the left eye lens (i.e. as 222, 242 are in 23 on side surface of 28, paragraphs [79-82, 103, 117-118, 146, 255-258], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-6), and configured to provide a second image to a left eye reflector at a center of the left eye lens (first/left image for 28, LE, e.g. paragraphs [78-82, 102-107, 128-135, 255-265, 327], as 28 includes light guide plate/half-mirror 262 and centered towards the LE, paragraphs [82, 114,119,122, 257], Figs. 2, 15, 16);
a right eye driver (right driving unit 22, paragraphs [78-86, 255-258]) configured to control a transmittance of the right eye filter, and configured to control a transmittance of the first image (i.e. as 22 controls R LCD, R BL with R optical system, R guide plate of 26 with dimming plate, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 103, 117-121,255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16); and
a left eye driver (right driving unit 24, paragraphs [78-86, 255-258]) configured to control a transmittance of the left eye filter, and configured to control a transmittance of the second image (i.e. as 24 controls L LCD, L BL with L optical system, L guide plate of 28 with dimming plate, e.g. paragraphs [78-86, 103, 117-121,255-258], Figs. 1-2, 15-16);
a right eye condenser that is between the first display panel and the first side surface of the right eve lens (as optical system 251 collimate lens, between 241 and side surface of 26, paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and configured to condense the first image provided by the first display panel (as collimating lens optical system 251 for right image for 26 paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16); and
a left eve condenser that is between the second display panel and the first side surface of the left eye lens (as optical system 252 collimate lens, between 242 and side surface of 28, paragraphs [82, 120-121, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16, and configured to condense the second image provided by the second display panel (as collimating lens optical system 252 for first/left image for 28 paragraphs [82, 117-119, 233], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 15-16), and wherein the right eye lens and the left eye lens comprise transmittance control regions comprising equally sized sub-filters (i.e. as right eye lens 26 and left eye lens 28 include regions with dimming plate i.e. sub-filter on each 26, 28 front surface, where the dimming plates sub-filters have same size as depicted in Fig. 1,2, see also paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260).
But Kobayashi is not explicit about arrangement of right/left eye lenses and respective first/second display panels, namely that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens (as 221, 241, and 22 are on side surface of 26 but not necessarily orthogonal to the front surface of 26, and as 222, 242 and 24 are on side surface of 28 but not necessarily orthogonal to the front surface of 28, see e.g. Fig. 1-2), and that the right eye condenser and the left eye condenser respectively comprise at least two convex lenses (as 251, 252 optical collimating systems include collimating/convex lenses but without specifics), and that a width of the right eye reflector and a width of the left eye reflector are respectively less than a width of a pupil of an eye of a user (as the sizes of 261, 262 are not compared with pupil size).
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of electronic device and wearable electronic device (e.g. 1000, 100A, see e.g. Figs. 1-14, Abstract, paragraphs [02,05-08,53-73], also with R,L lens 100,100A, display panel parts 400,400A,410), and further teaches that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens (as display panel unit 400,410 (400A) is disposed on a first side (incidence, side) surface 110 of transmission part lens 100, (100A) for right and left eye in direction DR1 or DR2, that is orthogonal to first (emission) surface 120 of transmission part lens 100, (100A) for right and left eye, which is in plane of DR1,DR2 directions, as depicted in Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [58-66, 68,73], enabling that the display panel part are adjacent to the transmission lens parts and providing improved brightness and/or clearer images for the wearable electronic devices, paragraphs [05, 58,66,72]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the arrangement of right/left eye lenses and respective first/second display panels of Kobayashi so that that the first side surface of the right eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the right eye lens, and that the first side surface of the left eye lens is orthogonal to the first surface of the left eye lens according to teachings of Kim in order to enable that the display panel parts are adjacent to the transmission lens parts and provide improved brightness and clearer images for the wearable electronic devices, paragraphs [05, 58,66,72]).
However, Machida teaches in the same field of inventions of display apparatus and a head mounted display (HMD) (see Figs. 1-12, 15, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-3, 13-18, 105, 155-166, 176-183,196,202-209,231-237 e.g. figs. 1-2, 6-11, 18-19, for presenting virtual objects, additional information or various types of information as electronic information to a reality environment e.g. AR, VR) and further teaches that the right eye condenser and the left eye condenser respectively comprise at least two convex lenses (as HMD display apparatus optical system 112,254 between display image forming devices and side of optical lens device e.g. 120 includes two convex lenses to convert light emitted from the image forming devices into parallel light, so that the light flux formed as the parallel light in the optical lens systems are incident to the optical devices to be guided and emitted, see paragraphs [137,156-164,171,213-215,224], as depicted in Figs. 11, 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the right/left optical collimating systems of HMD of Kobayashi according to teachings of Machida to include two convex lenses, in order to provide converting light emitted from the image forming devices into parallel light, so that the light flux formed as the parallel light in the optical lens systems are incident to the optical devices to be guided and emitted, see paragraphs [137,156-164,171,213-215,224]).
Further Kwon teaches in the same field of invention of an optical device and augmented reality providing device (see Figs. 2-1,13-14, abstract, paragraphs [2,6-35,70-83,182-192], including display module DD, light collecting optics CL, prism AP, lens module LM with reflective mirror RM) and further teaches that and that a width of the right eye reflector and a width of the left eye reflector are respectively less than a width of a pupil of an eye of a user (as RM size is smaller than a pupil of user’s eye, e.g. can be less than 4 mm or less, such that the user may not recognize the reflective mirror RM, while providing brightness of the virtual image and pin-hole effect to virtual image displayed with increased depth of field, paragraphs [73-79]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the size of right and left plate mirrors of the display device of Kobayashi with the size less than a width size of a pupil of user’s eye according to teachings of Kwon in order to enable the user not to recognize the reflective mirror RM, but provide for brightness of the virtual image and provide the pin-hole effect to virtual image being displayed and having increased depth of field, (see Kwon paragraphs [73-79]).
Specifically, Kobayashi teaches that the right eye lens and the left eye lens comprise transmittance control regions comprising equally sized sub-filters, i.e. as right eye lens 26 and left eye lens 28 include regions with dimming plate i.e. sub-filter on each 26, 28 front surface, where the dimming plates sub-filters have same size as depicted in Fig. 1,2, see also paragraphs [07-25, 82-83, 103, 118-120,255-260). Moreover, the limitation above was treated broadly, namely that the right eye lens and the left eye lens together comprise transmittance control regions with sub-filters, where each lens may have one sub-filter. On the other hand and in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the right eye lens comprise transmittance control regions comprising equally sized sub-filters, and that the left eye lens comprise transmittance control regions with equally sized sub-filters.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Lastly, the cited prior art of Machida was note used or relied upon for teaching of the new limitation under issue (1) above.
Therefore the cited prior art of Kobayashi discloses the new limitation in claims 1 and 15.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 10 of the Remarks dated 02/16/2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872