DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
New art was given below that clearly shows teachings of rotating unipole transmitters/receivers.
Drawings
As discussed in a prior action, the drawings of 03/18/25 are accepted.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 101
In view of the applicant’s amendments of 09/24/25, claims 1-20 qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
The claims have been amended to include the following limitations:
{claim 1} wherein the plurality of unipole sonic receivers are coupled with one or more rotational actuators configured to provide rotational motion and control of a rotational position of the plurality of unipole sonic receivers and the at least one rotating unipole transmitter within the casing
{claim 10} the sonic tool including a rotating unipole sonic transmitter, and one or more unipole sonic receivers with rotation capability, and one or more actuators, the actuators configured to provide rotational motion and control of a rotational position of the sonic tool
{claim 18} wherein the sonic receiver is coupled with one or more rotational actuators configured to provide rotational motion and control of a rotational position of the unipole sonic receivers and rotating unipole transmitters within the casing
Under step 2A, prong two, these amended limitations are indicative of integration into a practical application because they apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)). Here, much more structural detail has been given to the rotating unipole transmitters and receivers, such that the limitations were considered much more than a general linking of the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
As such, the claims are not directed to a judicial exception. They qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose et al (US PgPub 20180149019) in view of Wang et al (US PgPub 20110280102) and Chang et al (WO2017172805A1).
With respect to claim 1, Bose et al discloses:
A method comprising (abstract):
receiving, at sonic receivers, a set of waveforms propagated through a casing of a borehole by at least one transmitter positioned within the borehole, wherein one or more portions of the casing include a cement layer bonding the casing to an inner surface of the borehole (figure 1A; paragraphs 0054-0057; Paragraph 0054 states, “There are two types of acoustic measurements that are commonly used for used diagnosis of the condition of the placed cement …” Paragraph 0055 states, “FIG. 1A shows a schematic illustration of an ultrasonic logging tool, which includes a transmitter 103 and two receivers 105A, 105B …”; Paragraph 0057 states, “For the pulse-echo measurement, the transceiver 107 emits an acoustic beam pulse at normal incidence to the casing inner wall and receives the return echo … At normal incidence … and leads to a resonant response for the received waveform …” See also figures 3A-B and paragraph 0062, which states, “In one embodiment, the sonic logging tool may include one or more monopole sources (transmitters) for generating acoustic waveforms that travel into the casing and the formation … and an array of receivers 30 that record the waveforms to obtain sonic data.”)
perform a slowness-frequency analysis on the waveforms to extract a dispersion of a target set of A0 waves (figure 5E; paragraph 0059 states, “The quasi-Lamb modes received by the far and near receivers 105A, 105B can include the zeroth-order anti-symmetric mode (A0) referred to as the flexural mode …”; Paragraph 0029 states, “FIG. 5E are dispersion plots that illustrate the slowness-frequency variation of various wellbore guided modes …” Paragraph 0065 states, “FIG. 5E shows dispersion plots showing slowness-frequency variation of various wellbore guided modes of FIGS. 5A-5D. Note that these modes probe deeper and are sought to be used in a cased hole to diagnose, in particular, the annular fill and bond condition …” See further slowness/frequency teachings throughout disclosure of Bose et al, including in paragraph 0092, which states, “the type of formation … imposes constraints on the ranges of frequencies/slownesses in which to search for the distinguishing features …”)
With respect to claim 1, Bose et al differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
a plurality of unipole sonic receivers with rotation capability
at least one rotating unipole transmitter
wherein the plurality of unipole sonic receivers are coupled with one or more rotational actuators configured to provide rotational motion and control of a rotational position of the plurality of unipole sonic receivers and the at least one rotating unipole transmitter within the casing
perform a slowness-frequency semblance analysis (Bose et al discloses slowness-frequency, as discussed above. Bose et al also the concept of similarity (paragraphs 0073, 0078, and 0082), but it does not explicitly use the phrase “semblance” in the context of slowness-frequency.)
generating a slowness-frequency amplitude map in a slowness-frequency domain
extracting an amplitude for the target set of A0 waves from the slowness-frequency amplitude map using a slowness-frequency window determined by the slowness-frequency semblance analysis; and
generating, by an image processor, a two-dimensional cement bonding image representing bonding conditions behind the casing based on the extracted amplitude of the target A0 waves
With respect to claim 1, Wang et al discloses:
a plurality of unipole sonic receivers with rotation capability (figures 1 and 3, references 120 and 140; paragraph 0022 states, “As shown in FIG. 1, and described in more detail below with respect to FIG. 3, LWD tool 100 includes at least one unipole transmitter 120 and at least one linear array 140 of longitudinally spaced unipole receivers.”; Claim 1 states, “rotating an acoustic logging while drilling tool in a borehole, the tool including at least one acoustic transmitter and a linear array of longitudinally spaced acoustic receivers …” Claim 2 specifies unipole transmitter and unipole receivers.)
at least one rotating unipole transmitter (figures 1 and 3; paragraph 0022; paragraph 0060 states, “the controller may be configured to make acoustic logging while drilling measurements, in which making the measurements includes causing a unipole transmitter to transmit an acoustic waveform at three or more toolface angles while rotating in the borehole …”)
wherein the plurality of unipole sonic receivers are coupled with one or more rotational actuators configured to provide rotational motion and control of a rotational position of the plurality of unipole sonic receivers and the at least one rotating unipole transmitter within the casing (paragraph 0060 states, “The controller may be disposed, for example, to execute the method steps described above … For example, the controller may be configured to make acoustic logging while drilling measurements, in which making the measurements includes causing a unipole transmitter to transmit an acoustic waveform at three or more toolface angles while rotating in the borehole, recording the toolface angle when the transmitter is fired, and causing an array of unipole receivers to receive corresponding acoustic waveforms.” Rotational actuators are inherent to the logging while drilling tool, as it would be impossible for there to be rotation in the borehole absent rotational actuators.)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al into the invention of Bose et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of improved logging while drilling determinations that are less sensitive to tool eccentricity.
With respect to claim 1, Chang et al discloses:
perform a slowness-frequency semblance analysis (figure 3; paragraph 0039 states, “FIG. 3 illustrates a 2D semblance map for a dipole source firing in a fluid-filled borehole surrounded by a soft formation. Such a map can be a differential phase frequency semblance or coherence map having multiple slowness values for each frequency. As illustrated, multiple peaks, each corresponding to different modes or noise, are present in the slowness-frequency semblance map …”)
generating a slowness-frequency amplitude map in a slowness-frequency domain (Paragraphs 0039-0040 of Chang et al states, “FIG. 3 illustrates a 2D semblance map … Such a map can be a differential phase frequency semblance or coherence map … In the context of the present disclosure, the prior information from the sonic data includes the formation compressional slowness value (DTC) and the amplitude spectrum of target waveforms … The amplitude spectra information can also be considered as an important quality control (QC) measure for the wave modes themselves. Thus, it is practical and effective to use the spectral amplitude to monitor the quality of the waveforms and further determine the slowness-frequency range.” See also paragraphs 0064, 0067, 0070, 0076, and 0085 of Chang et al. Forming a map based on known data in a known domain would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.)
extracting an amplitude for the target set of A0 wave from the slowness-frequency amplitude map using a slowness-frequency window determined by the slowness-frequency semblance analysis (Paragraph 0039 of Chang et al states, “In other words, accurately determining and constraining the slowness-frequency window is essential for advanced sonic data processing as it helps locate the correct modes and their frequencies.” Extracting data using a disclosed technique would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.)
generating, by an image processor, a two-dimensional cement bonding image representing bonding conditions behind the casing based on the extracted amplitude of the target A0 waves (This limitation is obvious in view of the combination with primary reference Bose et al. Bose et al discloses using A0 waves (paragraph 0059). Bose et al further discloses using a cement bond-log to determine bonding conditions (figure 10, reference 1005; paragraph 0062 states, “The near monopole excitation can also provide the Cement-Bond-Log (CBL) signal … Typically, the amplitude of the early-arriving part of the CBL signal is correlated to the presence of cement in the annulus with the signal being high whenever there is a lack of cement or a lack of good cement bond to the casing.” Chang et al discloses the amplitude extraction, slowness-frequency map, and semblance analysis. Both references disclose display of relevant information. Please note paragraph 0122 of Bose et al, which states, “The methodology described herein for analyzing cement integrity in a casing string can be performed by a processing system … The processing system may include a graphical user interface (GUI) so that a user can interact with the processing system. The processing system may also include one or more processors … for executing any of the methods and processes described above.”)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chang et al into the invention of Bose et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of enhanced and more detailed evaluation of cement integrity.
Independent claim 10 represents a variation of claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons. It additionally discloses the following limitations that are disclosed by Bose et al.
A system (abstract)
a sonic tool configured to be lowered into a casing within a borehole of a wellbore extending into a subterranean formation, the sonic tool including a sonic transmitter and one or more sonic receivers with rotation capability (figure 1; claim 26; paragraph 0056; As shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, Wang et al teaches the amended limitations regarding rotating unipole transmitters/receivers/actuators.)
wherein the sonic transmitter is configured to generate and transmit into the casing a sonic signal comprising AO waveforms (paragraph 0059)
wherein the one or more sonic receivers are configured to receive waveforms propagated through the casing (figure 1A, references 105A-105B; figures 4 and 5A-5C; paragraph 0059)
and a processor configured to input the received waveforms (paragraph 0122)
Independent claim 18 represents a variation of claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons. It additionally discloses the following limitations that are disclosed by Bose et al.
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having program code stored thereon and executable by a processor to cause the processor to (paragraphs 0122-0124)
input a set of waveforms representing sonic waves propagated through a casing of a borehole by one or more transmitters and detected by one or more directional receivers of a sonic tool, wherein one or more portions of the casing include a cement layer bonding the casing to an inner surface of the borehole (figures 1 and 4-5; paragraph 0059; see waveform teachings discussed in claim 1 above; As shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, Wang et al teaches the amended limitations regarding rotating unipole transmitters/receivers/actuators.)
With respect to claims 2 and 11, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
detecting a presence of a channel in the cement layer (positioned around the casing - in claim 11) based on the two-dimensional cement bonding image (obvious in view of combination; the identification of areas with A0 waves in the context of cement bond logging (as taught in Bose et al) and the associated data related to the A0 waves (such as the amplitude information taught in Chang et al) are indicative of channels and free pipe. Bose et al also recognizes channels in paragraph 0067, in stating the limitations of some sonic logging tools.)
With respect to claims 3, 12, and 20, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
further comprising applying a time-spatial window to the target set of A0 waves, and wherein the target set of A0 waves include frequencies in a range of 500 to 40000 Hz inclusive (figure 5E of Bose shows significant activity in the ranges of 1 – 8 KHz; see also slowness frequency graph in figure 3 of Chang et al, which also has an X axis ranging along similar ranges as that shown in figure 5E of Bose; One of ordinary skill in the art also recognizes that slowness-frequency windows (like that taught in Chang) can be broadly considered to be a time-spatial window, where frequency corresponds to time and slowness corresponds to space. Please also note that Bose teaches a Parzen window in paragraph 0084, which one of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize to be broadly considered to be a time-spatial window when applied to the context of A0 waves.)
With respect to claim 4, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein generating the slowness-frequency amplitude map includes using one of a beamforming method, a Prony method, a matrix-pencil method, or a Differential-Phase Frequency-semblance method (obvious in view of combination; paragraph 0039 of Chang et al states, “Such a map can be a differential phase frequency semblance or coherence map …”)
With respect to claim 5, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein control of a rotational position includes controlling both a depth position within the casing and an azimuthal orientation position of the unipole sonic receivers and the rotating unipole transmitter (obvious in view of combination; As discussed with respect to claim 1 above, Wang et al discloses controlling rotation for unipole transmitter and receivers. Paragraph 0061 also discloses “A suitable controller may also optionally include other controllable components, such as … a depth detection sensor, or an accelerometer, gyro or magnetometer to detect borehole azimuth …” Paragraph 0010 of Wang also discloses azimuthal position.)
With respect to claim 7, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein receiving the set of waveforms propagated through the casing of the borehole includes receiving the set of waveforms from the casing through a wall of a production tubing positioned with an annulus encircled by the casing (suggested by figures 8-9 of Bose et al, which shows sonic logging tool with multiple layers of casing 380 and multiple layers of annulus 390)
With respect to claim 8, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
transmitting, using a sonic transmitter, a set of transmitted sonic waves directed toward and induced in the casing in order to generate the set of waveforms dispersed by the casing of the borehole (figure 1, reference 103; paragraph 0062 states, “the sonic logging tool may include one or more monopole sources (transmitters) …”)
With respect to claim 9, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein generating a two-dimensional cement bonding image based on the extracted amplitude of the target AO waves comprises:
selecting a base value identified from a good-bond zone within the two-dimensional cement bonding image (obvious in view of teachings of Bose et al; paragraph 0059 of Bose et al states, “Attributes of the quasi-Lamb modes (particularly, the flexural mode) as they propagate along the surface of the casing depends on the properties of the cement in the annular space beyond the casing and its bond to the casing. Such attributes can be extracted from the received signals …” Bose et al proceeds to discuss various effects of various attributes. Bose et al teaches throughout its disclosure the purpose of ensuring cement integrity (abstract; paragraphs 0006, 0009, and 0015). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize there to be an inherent baseline between what would be considered cement integrity and when there is a lack of cement integrity, such that a well may need to be plugged and abandoned (paragraph 0007). Selecting this base value based on the waveform data analysis is obvious.)
calculating a bonding condition based on a difference between an AO amplitude value and the base value (obvious in view of stated purpose of Bose et al, as well as its vast analysis data, which includes the A0 data)
With respect to claim 14, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein the sonic tool is configured to be positioned within a tubing positioned present within an annulus encircled by the casing within the wellbore (suggested by Bose figures 8-9)
wherein the one or more sonic receivers are configured to receive waveforms from the casing through a wall of the tubing (suggested by Bose figures 8-9)
With respect to claim 15, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein receiving the set of waveforms propagated through the casing of the borehole includes receiving the set of waveforms from the casing through a wall of a production tubing positioned with an annulus encircled by the casing (suggested by figures 8-9 of Bose et al, which shows sonic logging tool with multiple layers of casing 380 and multiple layers of annulus 390)
With respect to claim 16, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein the sonic transmitter is a unipole transmitter and the one or more sonic receivers are unipole receivers, wherein the sonic transmitter and the one or more sonic receivers are located on a same side of the sonic tool (Bose figure 1C and 3B shows transmitter and receiver on same side; Bose paragraph 0062 discloses “monopole sources (transmitters)”. The receivers of data from these monopole sources are broadly construed to serve as unipole receivers. Please note paragraph 0071, which states, “monopole, dipole, and/or quadrupole modalities of the sonic logging tool … can be processed …” One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize such modalities to include unipole receivers as an obvious variant amongst the different available choices.)
With respect to claim 17, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein the sonic transmitter and the one or more sonic receivers are mounted on a rotary head configured to rotate and to transmit and receive one or more sonic signals at different azimuthal orientations within the borehole (obvious in view of combination; Chang et al paragraphs 0022-0023 state, “As bit 14 rotates, it creates a borehole 16 that passes through various formations 18 … A downhole tool 26, such as a sonic logging tool, can be integrated into the bottom-hole assembly near bit 14.”; Paragraphs 0073 and 0078 of Bose et al discloses azimuthal coverage at different depths and directions.)
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose et al (US PgPub 20180149019) in view of Wang et al (US PgPub 20110280102) and Chang et al (WO2017172805A1), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, 14-18, and 20 above, and further in view of Tunget (GB 2494780 A).
With respect to claims 6, 13, and 19, Bose et al, as modified, discloses:
The method of claim 1 (as applied to claim 1 above)
The system of claim 10 (as applied to claim 10 above)
The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 18 (as applied to claim 18 above)
receiving data generated by a third interface echo (figures 13A-D)
generate a tubing eccentricity information from the data generated by the third interface echo (Paragraph 0039 states, “FIGS. 13A, 13B, 13C and 13D illustrate inner casing eccentering (with respect to outer casing). FIG. 13A shows the third interface echo obtained with the flexural wave imaging modality …”; see also third interface echo teachings in paragraphs 0059 and 0074)
With respect to claims 6, 13, and 19, Bose et al, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
generate an eccentricity calibration based at least in part on the tubing eccentricity information
calibrate the amplitude of the target AO waves by removing a tubing eccentricity effect based on the eccentricity calibration
With respect to claims 6, 13, and 19, Tunget discloses:
generate an eccentricity calibration based at least in part on the tubing eccentricity information (Paragraph 0107 states, “If eccentric conduits are not separated when, e.g., penetrating the conduits and circulating down the innermost production passageway (114) and returning through either the production conduit annulus (110) or intermediate conduit annulus (111), a channel (207) of higher velocity flow will occur through the lowest fluid friction areas that will reduce to a near zero flow rate through the higher friction areas (209) where conduits touch or are closely spaced … which may result in a leak path over time, even if the arrangement holds pressure from above initially, as lighter fluids and/or subterranean pressures find their way to the surface, by eroding contaminated or poorly bonded barriers.” Paragraphs 0123-0128 state, “With regard to controllable factors during logging and cementation, it is difficult to predict the exact cement-like bond status behind casing if conduits are eccentralized … Accordingly, the present invention provides significant improvement over prior art and conventional logging by centralizing a logging tool and at least one inner conduit … The present invention provide significant benefit over prior art through the use of benchmarking, testing, developing and improving in such fast formation aged geologies, wherein data may still be calibrated via impaired conventional logging …” Paragraph 0196 states, “the inner conduit (90) may be severed and the coupling tool (83AK) displaced into a lower end of the wellbore (10) to allow conventional logging tools to calibrate and/or confirm the empirical measurements …”)
calibrate the amplitude of the target AO waves by removing a tubing eccentricity effect based on the eccentricity calibration (obvious in view of Tunget’s recognition of the problems caused by eccentricity (and its remedial actions as a result) combined with the A0 teachings of modified Bose et al)
With respect to claims 6, 13, and 19, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tunget into the invention of modified Bose et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of mitigating eccentricity issues.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mickael (CA2747275C) discloses a method and apparatus for measuring formation anisotropy while drilling.
Oshima et al (US PgPub 20180045844) discloses a multi-mode acoustic tool and method.
Wang (US PgPub 20110286307) discloses acoustic logging while drilling tool having raised transducers.
Wang (US PgPub 20110280101) discloses unipole and bipole acoustic logging while drilling tools.
Syresin et al (US PgPub 20190179048) discloses systems and methods for acquiring orthogonal pairs of waveforms for acoustic well logging.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEONARD S LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2857 02/02/26
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857