DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s reply filed 8/5/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16, and 18-19 are pending.
Claims 5-6 are currently withdrawn.
Claims 7, 15, 17 and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-14, 16, and 18-19 (all pending, non-withdrawn claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20180109300 A, using attached English machine translation) in view of Ishii (US Pub. 2003/0173030) and Yoshikawa (US Pub. 2015/0155139).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an apparatus for processing a substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0027], substrate processing apparatus 10), comprising:
a process chamber configured to define an interior space for internally processing a substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0028], process chamber 100 defines treatment space 101 for treating a substrate within);
a substrate support unit configured to support the substrate in the interior space (Kim, Fig. 1, [0033], substrate supporting unit 200 supports substrate W in processing space 101);
a dielectric plate disposed above the substrate support unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], dielectric plate 700 is disposed above substrate supporting unit 200);
an antenna unit disposed over or above the dielectric plate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], antenna 500 is disposed above dielectric plate 700), and including a through-hole (Kim, Fig. 1, [0048], hole 502 in center of antenna 500);
a microwave application unit configured to apply microwaves to the antenna unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0039], microwave applying unit 400 applies microwaves to the antenna 500), wherein an inner conductor of the microwave application unit is coupled via the through-hole (Figs. 1-2, #434 coupled to #500 via #502);
a slow-wave plate disposed on the antenna unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0049], wave plate 600 is disposed on antenna 500); and
wherein an entirety of an inner sidewall of the process chamber is directly exposed to plasma generated within the process chamber (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], processing space 101 is open to the inner sidewalls of chamber 100, within which plasma is generated), and the antenna unit has side surfaces formed with a plurality of slots (Fig. 2, plurality of slots #501).
Kim fails to teach an antenna unit shaped into a frustum, having a truncated cone or prismoidal shape;
an air gap interposed between the antenna unit and the dielectric plate, and
the air gap is shaped into the frustum, having the truncated cone or prismoidal shape.
However, Ishii teaches an antenna unit shaped into a frustum, having a truncated cone or prismoidal shape (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped);
an air gap interposed between the antenna unit and the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, bottom outside edges of conductive plate 31A are in contact with dielectric plate 13, and there is a gap between the remainder of conductive plate 31A not in contact with dielectric 13), and
the air gap is shaped into the frustum, having the truncated cone or prismoidal shape (Ishii, Fig. 19, bottom outside edges of conductive plate 31A are in contact with dielectric plate 13, and there is a gap between the remainder of conductive plate 31A not in contact with dielectric 13).
Ishii is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. When the antenna 500 having a central through-hole of Kim (Kim, Fig. 1) is modified to be conically shaped in the manner of conductive plate 31A of Ishii (Ishii, Fig. 19), the claim limitations are met. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
The Examiner notes that the combination of references would necessarily teach wherein the inner conductor (Kim) is coupled to the air gap (Ishii) via the through-hole (Kim).
Modified Kim does not teach wherein the plurality of slots are arranged more densely toward the antenna-unit top and farther apart from one another toward the antenna-unit bottom.
However, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the plurality of slots are arranged more densely toward the middle and farther apart from one another toward the periphery (Yoshikawa – Fig. 4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the arrangement of the plurality of slots of modified Kim to that of Yoshikawa in order to improve power distribution amongst the slots, enhance plasma stability, and increase in-plane symmetry of plasma (Yoshikawa – [0093]-[0094]).
The Examiner notes the middle/periphery zones of Yoshikawa would correspond to the top and bottom of the modified Kim apparatus, meeting the limitations of the claim as a combination.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the antenna unit has a bottom end that is in contact with an edge of the dielectric plate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], bottom end of antenna 500 is in contact with edge of dielectric plate 700).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the slow-wave plate surrounds outer surfaces of the antenna unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0049], wave plate 600 is disposed on antenna 500).
Regarding claim 4, Kim fails to teach wherein the antenna unit is shaped into a truncated cone.
However, Ishii teaches wherein the antenna unit is shaped into a truncated cone (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped).
When the antenna 500 having a central through-hole of Kim (Kim, Fig. 1) is modified to be conically shaped in the manner of conductive plate 31A of Ishii (Ishii, Fig. 19), the claim limitations are met. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim fails to teach wherein the antenna unit has a trapezoidal cross section cut in a direction perpendicular to a top surface of the dielectric plate.
However, Ishii teaches wherein the antenna unit has a trapezoidal cross section cut in a direction perpendicular to a top surface of the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped).
When the antenna 500 having a central through-hole of Kim (Kim, Fig. 1) is modified to be conically shaped in the manner of conductive plate 31A of Ishii (Ishii, Fig. 19), the resulting truncated cone shape of the antenna has a cross section that is a trapezoid, wherein the top and bottom are flat, connected by sloping sides on each end. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim fails to teach wherein the antenna unit has varying cross-sections cut in a direction parallel to a top surface of the dielectric plate to provide gradually increasing cross- sections from top to bottom ends of the antenna unit.
However, Ishii teaches wherein the antenna unit has varying cross-sections cut in a direction parallel to a top surface of the dielectric plate to provide gradually increasing cross- sections from top to bottom ends of the antenna unit (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped, where the diameter of conductive plate 31A increases moving from top to bottom).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches an apparatus for processing a substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0027], substrate processing apparatus 10), comprising:
a process chamber configured to define an interior space for internally processing a substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0028], process chamber 100 defines treatment space 101 for treating a substrate within);
a substrate support unit configured to support the substrate in the interior space (Kim, Fig. 1, [0033], substrate supporting unit 200 supports substrate W in processing space 101);
a dielectric plate disposed above the substrate support unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], dielectric plate 700 is disposed above substrate supporting unit 200);
an antenna unit disposed over or above the dielectric plate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], antenna 500 is disposed above dielectric plate 700);
a microwave application unit configured to apply microwaves to the antenna unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0039], microwave applying unit 400 applies microwaves to the antenna 500); wherein an inner conductor of the microwave application unit is coupled via the through-hole (Figs. 1-2, #434 coupled to #500 via #502);
wherein the antenna unit has a top end that is connected to a bottom end of the microwave application unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0048], lower end of inner conductor 434 of microwave unit 400 passes through hole 502 and is coupled to antenna 500),
the side surfaces of the antenna unit have a bottom end that is in contact with an edge of the dielectric plate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], bottom end of antenna 500 is in contact with edge of dielectric plate 700), and
an entirety of an inner sidewall of the process chamber is directly exposed to plasma generated within the process chamber (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], processing space 101 is open to the inner sidewalls of chamber 100, within which plasma is generated), and the antenna unit has side surfaces formed with a plurality of slots (Fig. 2, plurality of slots #501).
Kim fails to teach an antenna unit including side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate, the antenna unit being shaped into a frustum;
an air gap interposed between the antenna unit and the dielectric plate,
the bottom end of the antenna unit is larger than the top end of the antenna unit in cross- section as taken in a direction parallel to the top surface of the dielectric plate, and
the air gap includes side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate, the air gap being shaped into the frustum, and the bottom end of the air gap is larger than the top end of the air gap in cross-section as taken in a direction parallel to the top surface of the dielectric plate.
However, Ishii teaches an antenna unit including side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped, where sides are sloped/inclined with respect to parallel dielectric plate 13 surface);
an air gap interposed between the antenna unit and the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, bottom outside edges of conductive plate 31A are in contact with dielectric plate 13, and there is a gap between the remainder of conductive plate 31A not in contact with dielectric 13),
the bottom end of the antenna unit is larger than the top end of the antenna unit in cross- section as taken in a direction parallel to the top surface of the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped, where the diameter of conductive plate 31A increases moving from top to bottom, where the cross-section plane is taken parallel with dielectric plate), and
the air gap includes side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate, the air gap being shaped into the frustum, and the bottom end of the air gap is larger than the top end of the air gap in cross-section as taken in a direction parallel to the top surface of the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, bottom outside edges of conductive plate 31A are in contact with dielectric plate 13, and there is a gap between the remainder of conductive plate 31A not in contact with dielectric 13, where the area of the gap decreases when moving from the bottom to the top of the plate 31A in a vertical direction).
When the antenna 500 having a central through-hole of Kim (Kim, Fig. 1) is modified to be conically shaped in the manner of conductive plate 31A of Ishii (Ishii, Fig. 19), the claim limitations are met. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
The Examiner notes that the combination of references would necessarily teach wherein the inner conductor (Kim) is coupled to the air gap (Ishii) via the through-hole (Kim).
Modified Kim does not teach wherein the plurality of slots are arranged more densely toward the antenna-unit top and farther apart from one another toward the antenna-unit bottom.
However, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the plurality of slots are arranged more densely toward the middle and farther apart from one another toward the periphery (Yoshikawa – Fig. 4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the arrangement of the plurality of slots of modified Kim to that of Yoshikawa in order to improve power distribution amongst the slots, enhance plasma stability, and increase in-plane symmetry of plasma (Yoshikawa – [0093]-[0094]).
The Examiner notes the middle/periphery zones of Yoshikawa would correspond to the top and bottom of the modified Kim apparatus, meeting the limitations of the claim as a combination.
Regarding claim 11, Kim fails to teach wherein the side surfaces of the antenna unit are inclined and connected to the top surface of the dielectric plate at an inclination angle of less than 90 degrees.
However, Ishii teaches wherein the side surfaces of the antenna unit are inclined and connected to the top surface of the dielectric plate at an inclination angle of less than 90 degrees (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped, where sides are sloped/inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees with respect to parallel dielectric plate 13 surface).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a through-hole formed between the top end of the antenna unit and the bottom end of the antenna unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0048], hole 502 in center of antenna 500) shaped into the frustum.
As mentioned previously in the rejection of claim 10 above, from which this claim depends, when the antenna 500 having a central through-hole of Kim (Kim, Fig. 1) is modified to be conically shaped in the manner of conductive plate 31A of Ishii (Ishii, Fig. 19), the claim limitations are met. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim fails to teach a slow-wave plate disposed on the antenna unit and surrounding the side surfaces of the antenna unit, which are inclined.
However, Ishii teaches a slow-wave plate disposed on the antenna unit and surrounding the side surfaces of the antenna unit, which are inclined (Ishii, Fig. 19, [0063], delay member 39 accommodates side surfaces of conically sloped conductive member 31A).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim fails to teach a slow-wave plate disposed on the antenna unit and surrounding the side surfaces of the antenna unit, which are inclined.
However, Ishii teaches a slow-wave plate disposed on the antenna unit and surrounding the side surfaces of the antenna unit, which are inclined (Ishii, Fig. 19, [0063], delay member 39 accommodates side surfaces of conically sloped conductive member 31A).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches an apparatus for processing a substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0027], substrate processing apparatus 10), comprising:
a process chamber configured to define an interior space for internally processing a substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0028], process chamber 100 defines treatment space 101 for treating a substrate within);
a substrate support unit configured to support the substrate in the interior space (Kim, Fig. 1, [0033], substrate supporting unit 200 supports substrate W in processing space 101);
a dielectric plate disposed above the substrate support unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], dielectric plate 700 is disposed above substrate supporting unit 200);
an antenna unit disposed over or above the dielectric plate (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], antenna 500 is disposed above dielectric plate 700);
a microwave application unit configured to apply microwaves to the antenna unit (Kim, Fig. 1, [0039], microwave applying unit 400 applies microwaves to the antenna 500); wherein an inner conductor of the microwave application unit is coupled via the through-hole (Figs. 1-2, #434 coupled to #500 via #502);
an entirety of an inner sidewall of the process chamber is directly exposed to plasma generated within the process chamber (Kim, Fig. 1, [0050], processing space 101 is open to the inner sidewalls of chamber 100, within which plasma is generated), and the antenna unit has side surfaces formed with a plurality of slots (Fig. 2, plurality of slots #501).
Kim fails to teach an antenna unit including side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate, the antenna unit being shaped into a frustum;
an air gap between the antenna unit and the dielectric plate,
wherein the antenna unit has a trapezoidal cross section cut in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the dielectric plate,
the air gap includes side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate, the air gap being shaped into the frustum, and the air gap has a trapezoidal cross section cut in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the dielectric plate.
However, Ishii teaches an antenna unit including side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped, where sides are sloped/inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees with respect to parallel dielectric plate 13 surface), the antenna unit being shaped into a frustum;
an air gap between the antenna unit and the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, bottom outside edges of conductive plate 31A are in contact with dielectric plate 13, and there is a gap between the remainder of conductive plate 31A not in contact with dielectric 13),
wherein the antenna unit has a trapezoidal cross section cut in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped),
the air gap includes side surfaces inclined with respect to a top surface of the dielectric plate, the air gap being shaped into the frustum, and the air gap has a trapezoidal cross section cut in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the dielectric plate (Ishii, Fig. 19, bottom outside edges of conductive plate 31A are in contact with dielectric plate 13, and there is a gap between the remainder of conductive plate 31A not in contact with dielectric 13, where the area of the gap decreases when moving from the bottom to the top of the plate 31A in a vertical direction).
When the antenna 500 having a central through-hole of Kim (Kim, Fig. 1) is modified to be conically shaped in the manner of conductive plate 31A of Ishii (Ishii, Fig. 19), the claim limitations are met. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
The Examiner notes that the combination of references would necessarily teach wherein the inner conductor (Kim) is coupled to the air gap (Ishii) via the through-hole (Kim).
Modified Kim does not teach wherein the plurality of slots are arranged more densely toward the antenna-unit top and farther apart from one another toward the antenna-unit bottom.
However, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the plurality of slots are arranged more densely toward the middle and farther apart from one another toward the periphery (Yoshikawa – Fig. 4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the arrangement of the plurality of slots of modified Kim to that of Yoshikawa in order to improve power distribution amongst the slots, enhance plasma stability, and increase in-plane symmetry of plasma (Yoshikawa – [0093]-[0094]).
The Examiner notes the middle/periphery zones of Yoshikawa would correspond to the top and bottom of the modified Kim apparatus, meeting the limitations of the claim as a combination.
Regarding claim 18, Kim fails to teach a slow-wave plate disposed on the antenna unit and surrounding the side surfaces of the antenna unit, which are inclined.
However, Ishii teaches a slow-wave plate disposed on the antenna unit and surrounding the side surfaces of the antenna unit, which are inclined (Ishii, Fig. 19, [0063], delay member 39 accommodates side surfaces of conically sloped conductive member 31A).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim fails to teach wherein the antenna unit has varying cross-sections cut in a direction parallel to the top surface of the dielectric plate to provide gradually increasing cross-sections from top to bottom ends of the antenna unit.
However, Ishii teaches wherein the antenna unit has varying cross-sections cut in a direction parallel to the top surface of the dielectric plate to provide gradually increasing cross-sections from top to bottom ends of the antenna unit (Ishii, Fig. 19, conductive plate 31A is conically shaped, where the diameter of conductive plate 31A increases moving from top to bottom, where the cross-section plane is taken parallel with dielectric plate).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have altered the slow-wave plate and antenna of Kim from a flat shape to a conical shape as taught by Ishii as doing so produces a more uniform plasma distribution when using a conical shape, avoiding a high plasma density generation at the center when the conventional flat parallel plates are used (Ishii, Figs. 5A-5B, [0074]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments concerning the limitation: “an inner conductor of the microwave application unit is coupled to the air gap via the through-hole” (Remarks, pg. 8) have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Particularly, Applicant is analyzing the prior art in a piecemeal fashion rather than considering what the combined teachings of the references would convey to a PHOSITA as proposed by the Examiner. The courts have held that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Examiner respectfully submits that if a PHOSITA were using the Kim reference as a starting point, which reasonably shows the inner conductor coupled to the bottom of the antenna through a through-hole (see Figs. 1-2, #434 through #500 via #502), and incorporating the air gap feature of Ishii (see Fig. 1), said PHOSITA would simply introduce a space similar to Ishii between the existing features of Kim. There would be no logical reason a PHOSITA would also modify the inner conductor of Kim to have the connection structure of Ishii, as proposed by Applicant.
As an aside, the Examiner notes claims 1, 10, and 16 do not positively recite the “inner conductor” as a feature of the claimed apparatus, but rather recite it as part of an intended use of the apparatus. In accordance, while the Examiner has structured the rejection as if the inner conductor were structurally limiting, such a rejection is not strictly required and can be met if any inner conductor were later coupled to the air gap as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the limitation: “the plurality of slots are arranged more densely toward the antenna-unit top and farther apart from one another toward the antenna-unit bottom” (Remarks, pg. 8) have been carefully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection as presented herein. The Examiner respectfully submits that Yoshikawa remedies any alleged deficiencies of the other prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718