DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 3-5, 9-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (previously cited in Office Action 3/19/2025) in view of Hou et al. (previously cited in Office Action 3/19/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao et al. discloses a system (see Fig. 1) for configuration of a wireless network device, the system comprising:
a wireless radio processing unit (block 108) having a first memory (block 120) and configured to be powered using energy harvesting (through energy conversion block 122 as disclosed in section 0044); and
a radio frequency circuit (block 113) having a second memory (block 118);
the wireless radio processing unit has a first configuration data (as disclosed in section 0037) pre-programmed in the first memory (block 120), wherein
the radio frequency circuit is configured to be powered using energy harvesting (as disclosed in section 0044), and to receive a second configuration data (as disclosed in section 0028) pertaining to the wireless network device in the second memory from an external computing device (through RFID communication interface), the second configuration data (see section 0082 and 0085) consisting of only configuration data (updated/new device configuration data) that differs from the first configuration data in the first memory (see in particular section 0085, updated configuration data);
wherein the wireless network device further comprises a battery (see section 0044) connected to the radio frequency circuit and the wireless radio processing unit, wherein the radio frequency circuit is configured to turn on during configuration phase (boot sequence) of the wireless radio processing unit (see section 0030); and wherein the radio frequency circuit is further configured to turn off after configuration of the wireless radio processing unit is complete (as disclosed in section 0055);
wherein the wireless radio processing unit is configured to receive the second configuration data (from RFID communication interface as disclosed in section 0082) and reconfigure (as disclosed in sections 0082 and 0085) the first configuration data with the second configuration data (updated/new device configuration data) for configuration of the wireless radio processing unit.
Zhao et al. does not specifically disclose the wireless network device further comprises a battery selectively coupled to the radio frequency circuit and the wireless radio processing unit via a switch configured to control a supply of battery power to the wireless network device, wherein the radio frequency circuit is configured to activate the switch to electrically couple the battery to the wireless radio processing unit during configuration phase of the wireless radio processing unit and deactivate the switch to electrically decouple the battery from the wireless radio processing unit after configuration of the wireless radio processing unit is complete, wherein the battery is electrically coupled to the wireless processing unit during reconfiguration of the first configuration data with the second configuration data.
However, Hou et al. discloses a battery coupled to a wireless network device (embedded device 102) via a switch (as disclosed in sections 0036 and 0038), wherein the battery is selectively coupled to the wireless network device via the switch (as disclosed in sections 0036 and 0068) configured to control a supply of battery power to the wireless network device (by moving the position of the switch as disclosed in sections 0036 and 0068), wherein the device is configured to activate the switch (by moving the switch to the on position as disclosed in section 0068) to electrically couple the battery to the wireless network device during configuration phase (as disclosed in sections 0036 and 0068-0069) of the wireless network device and deactivate the switch (by placing the switch in the off position as disclosed in sections 0036 and 0107) to electrically decouple the battery from the wireless radio processing unit after configuration of the wireless radio processing unit is complete (see section 0170, wherein the battery/switch remains in the off position until being powered on for configuration); wherein, as disclosed above, the battery is electrically coupled to the wireless network device during configuration/reconfiguration (see sections 0036 and 0068-0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the wireless network device of Zhao et al. with the battery/switch as taught by Hou et al. since Hou et al. discloses (see section 0170) the invention reduces battery usage for the device because the power source for the device remains off/unused unit the device is powered on (for configuration).
Regarding claims 9 and 17 the claimed method/computer program product includes features corresponding to the above rejection of claim 1, which is applicable hereto., wherein Zhao et al. discloses the system/method implemented as a computer program product comprised of a non-transitory computer readable medium (see section 0038).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 11, Zhao et al. discloses the wireless radio processing unit is configured to be powered using energy harvesting (by energy conversion as disclosed in section 0044) or from an external power source (such as a battery as disclosed in section 0044), and to receive the second configuration data from the second memory (as disclosed in section 0046) of the radio frequency circuit. However, Zhao et al. does not specifically disclose the second configuration data is sent to the first memory for configuration of the wireless radio processing unit.
However, Hou et al. also discloses configuration of a wireless RF network device (see Abstract, see also Fig. 2) including first and second memories (System memory 214 and RF memory 206) both including configuration data (as disclosed in sections 0039 and 004), wherein configuration data from the second memory (RF memory 206) is sent to the first memory (System memory 214) for configuration of the wireless radio processing unit (as disclosed in section 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the configuration system/method of Zhao et al. with the transfer of configuration data as disclosed by Hou et al. since Hou et al. discloses the transfer of configuration data enables a device to be configured without powering on the device, thus reducing power requirements of the device (see section 0170).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 12, and 13, Zhao et al. does not specifically disclose the second configuration data is encrypted, and wherein the second configuration data is decrypted in the second memory of the radio frequency circuit prior to communication to the first memory of the wireless radio processing unit. Zhao et al. also does not disclose the second configuration data is decrypted in the first memory after being received from the second memory.
However, Hou et al. further discloses a second configuration from the second (RF memory 206) data is encrypted (see sections 0069-0070), and wherein the second configuration data is decrypted (see sections 0070 and 0104) at a network configurer (Fig. 2, block 210) prior to communication to the first memory of the wireless radio processing unit. Hou et al. also discloses the second configuration data is decrypted after being received from the second memory the network configurer (see section 0070). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the first and second memories of Zhao et al. with the network configurer as taught by Hou et al. in order to encrypt/decrypt configuration data since Hou et al. discloses encryption prevents other computing devices from accessing secure configuration data (see section 0091).
Conclusion
3. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 May 20, 2026