DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims1, 2, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18 and 19 are currently amended. Claims 1-22 and 24 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12 June 2026, 15 July 2026 and 26 August 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication No. 3872891, hereinafter Fouet in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0067060, hereinafter Collins and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0074965, hereinafter Kwag.
Regarding claim 1, Fouet teaches a battery pack. The battery pack comprises a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (40) (paragraphs [0001-0006, 0042]).
A bus bar assembly (10) has a first side and a second side. The second side of the bus bar assembly is provided on a side facing the battery cells (40) and is electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (40) (paragraph [0042] and figures 1 and 2).
The battery cells (40) have positive terminals (48) and negative terminals (52) (paragraph [0049] and figures 1C and 3). The positive terminals (48) and the negative terminals (52) are disposed on the same side of the battery cells (40) (paragraphs [0057, 0058] and figure 3).
The positive terminals (48) and the negative terminals (52) are respectively directly connected to a positive electrode connection portion (226) and a negative electrode connection portion (228) of a single-layered bus bar (21) (paragraphs [0077, 0078] and figure 3).
The positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) are aligned with each other on a line (along the longitudinal direction (A120) of the battery pack) (figure 3).
The single-layered bus bar (21) includes a bus bar bridge formed in a predetermined length (see Figure 1 below).
The positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) extend in opposite directions from the bus bar bridge and protrude in a direction different from that of the bus bar bridge (see Figure 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Fouet's assembly. The black line indicates one of the "bus bar bridges" of the connection bus bar (120). The other two "bus bar bridges" visible in the figure can be identified by analogy.)]
The bus bar bridge includes a first protruding portion connecting the positive electrode connection portion (226) to the bus bar bridge (see Figure 2 below).
The bus bar bridge further includes a second protruding portion, spaced apart from the first protruding portion, and connecting the negative electrode connection portion (228) to the bus bar bridge (see Figure 2 below).
In Fouet’s assembly the widths of the first protruding portion, second protruding portion, the positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) are approximately the same (see double-headed arrow in Figure 2 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 - Fouet's assembly. Indicating the two “protruding portions”. The double-headed arrow indicates the widths of the “protruding portions” and “positive/negative electrode connection portions”. The grey zig-zagging line serves as an indicator of the “bus bar bridge” positioning. )]
Fouet teaches that the battery pack is used in a vehicle and the bus bar assembly (10) connects the plurality of cylindrical battery cells in a combination of series and parallel connections (paragraphs [0004, 0008]).
Fouet mentions cooling of the cells (40) (paragraph [0096]), but does not provide structural details of a cooling mechanism.
Fouet fails to teach: 1) that a width of the first protruding portion is smaller than a width of the positive electrode connection portion (226) and a width of the second protruding portion is smaller than a width of the negative electrode connection portion (228) and 2) a side structure unit and a cooling unit.
Regarding 1), Collins teaches a battery assembly including multiple cylindrical cells interconnected in a combination of series and parallel electrical connections similar to Fouet’s and used in an electric vehicle (paragraphs [0001, 0060]). Collins teaches that for the purposes of safety it is important for each battery cell in such an assembly to have a fusible electrical connection to the interconnecting busbar (paragraph [0001]). Collins teaches accomplishing this by forming a narrow throat portion (814) connecting the busbar (810) to the electrode connection portion (813) connected to the individual battery cell (803) (paragraph [0076] and figure 8). In this way, in the event of a large current, the narrow portion (814) can fuse and disconnect the cell (803) from the larger assembly (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form each of the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion with a width that is narrower than the width of each of the positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) so that each protruding portion can act as a fuse and disconnect the cell in the event of a large current as taught by Collins.
Regarding 2), it is well-known in the art that battery packs of the type taught by Fouet include cases to accommodate, protect and support the battery cells – see, e.g. Kwag. Kwag teaches a battery pack comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells (10) and a case (100, “side structure unit”) accommodating the plurality of battery cells (10) (paragraph [0057] and figure 1).
Kwag’s case (100, “side structure unit”) further accommodates a partition wall (150) arranged between the plurality of battery cells (10). The partition wall (150) is formed of metal and functions as a heat sink (paragraphs [0066, 0121] and figures 15 and 16). The partition wall (150) is thus considered a “cooling unit”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position Fouet’s battery cells (40) within a case (“side structure unit”) for the purpose of containing them and protecting them and to implement a cooling scheme as taught by Kwag which includes a partition wall (“cooling unit”) arranged between the plurality of battery cells (40) for the purpose of controlling the temperature of the battery cells (40).
Regarding claim 2, Fouet teaches two termination conductors (14, “main bus bars”) electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (40) (paragraph [0135] and figure 7).
A laminated band (120, “connection bus bar”) is located between the termination conductors (14, “main bus bars”) (paragraph [0135] and figure 7). The laminated band (120, “connection bus bar”) is electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (40).
Regarding claim 3, Fouet teaches that the laminated band (120, “connection bus bar”) includes a bus bar cover (24) made up of two layers (24a and 24b) and a single-layered bus bar (21) inserted between the two layers (24a and 24b) of the bus bar cover (24) (paragraphs [0061-0063] and figure 2). The single-layered bus bar (21) is configured for electric connection with the positive terminals (48) and negative terminals (52) of the plurality of battery cells (40) (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Fouet teaches that the bus bar cover (24) is made of an insulating material (paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Fouet teaches that the bus bar cover (24) is made of a polyimide film (paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Fouet teaches that the bus bar cover (24) is made up of two layers (24a and 24b). The two layers (24a and 24b) have a size and shape corresponding to each other in a height direction of the battery pack and are coupled to each other (paragraph [0063] and figure 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Fouet teaches that the bus bar cover (24) includes a positive electrode bus bar hole (264) configured to have an open space of a predetermined size (paragraph [0121] and figure 4b).
The bus bar cover (24) further includes a negative electrode bus bar hole (266) configured to have an open space of a predetermined size (paragraph [0123] and figure 4b).
Fouet further teaches that the bus cover (24) is supported on a plate (20) also formed of electrically insulating material (paragraphs [0040, 0094]). Therefore, the plate (20) may be considered part of the bus bar cover.
Fouet fails to teach that the bus bar cover (24 and 20) includes a fastening hole configured to couple the case (“side structure unit”) to the bus bar cover (24) and a corresponding stub on the case (“side structure unit”).
Kwag teaches an analogous holder plate (110), which supports bus bars (B) and is positioned over the battery cells (10) (paragraphs [0058, 0103, 0105, 0109] and figure 3). Kwag teaches that the holder plate (110, “bus bar cover”) includes a coupling hole (116) to couple the case (100, “side structure unit”) to the holder plate (110, “bus bar cover”) (paragraph [0117] and figure 14).
Kwag further teaches a flange (106, “stub”) which is aligned with and coupled to the coupling hole (116) (Kwag’s paragraph [0117] and figure 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a hole in Fouet’s bus bar cover (24 and 20) and a flange (“stub”) in the case (“side structure unit”) for the purpose of securely attaching the bus bar cover (20 and 24) to the case (“side structure unit”) as taught by Kwag.
Regarding claim 9, Fouet teaches that the single-layered bus bar (21) includes the positive electrode connection portion (226) configured to integrally extend and protrude from the bus bar bridge and disposed in the positive electrode bus bar hole (264) (paragraph [0121] and Figures 1 and 2 above).
The single-layered bus bar (21) further includes the negative electrode connection portion (228) configured to integrally extend and protrude from the bus bar bridge and disposed in the negative electrode bus bar hole (266) (paragraph [0123] and Figures 1 and 2 above).
The bus bar bridge is inserted into the bus bar cover (24) and is formed to have a predetermined length along the width direction (B120) of the battery pack (paragraph [0063] and Figures 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, Fouet teaches that the bus bar bridge is arranged in a zig-zag shape in the width direction (B120) of the battery pack (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Fouet teaches that there are multiple bus bar bridges disposed to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance in the longitudinal direction (A120) of the battery pack (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Fouet teaches that the positive electrode connection portion (226) is connected to a positive terminal (48) a battery cell (40) within the open space of the positive electrode bus bar hole (264) (paragraph [0121] and figure 4b).
Regarding claim 13, Fouet teaches that the negative electrode connection portion (228) is connected to a negative terminal (52) a battery cell (40) within the open space of the negative electrode bus bar hole (266) (paragraph [0123] and figure 4b).
Regarding claim 14, Fouet teaches that the positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) are collinear in the longitudinal direction (A120) (Figure 2 above) – therefore, they are parallel with each other.
Regarding claim 15, Fouet as modified by Kwag teaches the battery pack of claim 1. The battery pack is a “battery pack case structure”.
Regarding claim 16, Fouet teaches a vehicle comprising the battery pack of claim 15 (paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, Fouet teaches that the plurality of battery cells (40) are cylindrical cells (paragraph [0006]). The plurality of battery cells (40) are restrained in the height direction by plate (20) (paragraphs [0094, 0095]). In the combination of Fouet and Kwag the plates (20) is coupled to the case (“side structure unit”) via fastening members (6) which extend in the height direction of the battery cells (Kwag’s paragraph [0117] and figure 14). As such, the plurality of battery cells (40) are understood to be “in compression” in the height direction.
Regarding claim 18, Fouet teaches a battery pack. The battery pack comprises a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (40) (paragraphs [0001-0006, 0042]).
The battery pack comprises a first plate (20, “side structure unit”) forming a support structure that arranges the plurality of battery cells (40) in the battery pack. The first plate (20) is positioned atop the battery cells (40) (paragraphs [0094, 0095]).
A bus bar assembly (10) is electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (40) (paragraph [0042] and figures 1 and 2).
The bus bar assembly (10) comprises a plurality of laminated bands (120, “connection bus bars”) directly contacting positive terminals (48) and negative terminals (52) of the plurality of battery cells (40). The plurality of laminated bands (120, “connection bus bars”) extend in the longitudinal direction (A120) of the battery pack (paragraph [0042] and figure 1).
The positive terminals (48) and the negative terminals (52) of the battery cells (40) are disposed on the same side of the battery cells (40) (paragraphs [0057, 0058] and figure 3).
A plurality of junction bars (16, “main bus bars”) electrically connecting adjacent laminated bands (120, “connection bus bars”) extend in the width direction (B120) of the battery pack (paragraphs [0088, 0133] and figure 1).
The plurality of laminated bands (120, “connection bus bars”) and the plurality of junction bars (16, “main bus bars”) are located on only one side (upper side) of the battery cells (40).
Each laminated band (120, “connection bus bar”) includes a single-layered bus bar (21). The single-layered bus bar (21) includes a positive electrode connection portion (226) and a negative electrode connection portion (228) (paragraphs [0077, 0078] and figure 3). The positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) are aligned with each other on a line that extends in the longitudinal direction (A120) of the battery pack (figure 3).
The single-layered bus bar (21) includes a bus bar bridge formed in a predetermined length (see Figure 1 above).
The positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) extend in opposite directions from the bus bar bridge and protrude in a direction different from that of the bus bar bridge (see Figure 1 above).
The bus bar bridge includes a first protruding portion connecting the positive electrode connection portion (226) to the bus bar bridge (see Figure 2 above).
The bus bar bridge further includes a second protruding portion, spaced apart from the first protruding portion, and connecting the negative electrode connection portion (228) to the bus bar bridge (see Figure 2 above).
In Fouet’s assembly the widths of the first protruding portion, second protruding portion, the positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) are approximately the same (see double-headed arrow in Figure 2 above).
Fouet teaches that the battery pack is used in a vehicle and the bus bar assembly (10) connects the plurality of cylindrical battery cells in a combination of series and parallel connections (paragraphs [0004, 0008]).
Fouet mentions cooling of the cells (40) (paragraph [0096]), but does not provide structural details of a cooling mechanism.
Fouet fails to teach: 1) that a width of the first protruding portion is smaller than a width of the positive electrode connection portion (226) and a width of the second protruding portion is smaller than a width of the negative electrode connection portion (228) and 2) a second plate as part of the “side structure unit” and a cooling unit.
Regarding 1), Collins teaches a battery assembly including multiple cylindrical cells interconnected in a combination of series and parallel electrical connections similar to Fouet’s and used in an electric vehicle (paragraphs [0001, 0060]). Collins teaches that for the purposes of safety it is important for each battery cell in such an assembly to have a fusible electrical connection to the interconnecting busbar (paragraph [0001]). Collins teaches accomplishing this by forming a narrow throat portion (814) connecting the busbar (810) to the electrode connection portion (813) connected to the individual battery cell (803) (paragraph [0076] and figure 8). In this way, in the event of a large current, the narrow portion (814) can fuse and disconnect the cell (803) from the larger assembly (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form each of the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion with a width that is narrower than the width of each of the positive electrode connection portion (226) and the negative electrode connection portion (228) so that each protruding portion can act as a fuse and disconnect the cell in the event of a large current as taught by Collins.
Regarding 2), positioning a second plate below the battery cells to support and arrange the battery cells within the battery pack is a well-known configuration in the art – see, e.g. Kwag. Kwag teaches a battery pack comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells (10) and a pair of holder plates (110 and 120) – one positioned above the battery cells (10) and one positioned below the battery cells (10) to secure and arrange the battery cells (10) within the battery pack (paragraph [0058] and figure 3).
The case (100) of Kwag’s battery pack includes a partition wall (150) arranged between the plurality of battery cells (10) and positioned at a halfway point between the two holder plates (110 and 120). The partition wall (150) is formed of metal and functions as a heat sink (paragraphs [0066, 0121] and figures 15 and 16). The partition wall (150) is thus considered a “cooling unit”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a second plate as part of Fouet’s “side structure unit” for the purpose of securely arranging the battery cells within the battery pack and to implement a cooling scheme as taught by Kwag which includes a partition wall (“cooling unit”) arranged between the plurality of battery cells (40) for the purpose of controlling the temperature of the battery cells (40).
Regarding claim 19, Fouet teaches termination conductors (14, “connection terminals”) connected to the bus bar assembly (10), which may be formed on one or both short sides of the battery pack and extending in the longitudinal direction (A120) of the battery pack (paragraph [0040] and figures 1 and 7).
Fouet fails to teach a cooling fluid inlet/outlet portion.
Kwag teaches cooling fluid inlet/outlet portions (I and O) formed on a short side of the battery pack, so that they extend in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack (paragraph [0067] and figure 2).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include cooling fluid inlet/outlet portions (I and O) formed on a short side of the battery pack, so that they extend in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack for the purpose of including a cooling fluid as part of the cooling scheme taught by Kwag.
In the combination of Fouet and Kwag, there would be a termination conductor (14, “connection terminal”) on one short side and cooling fluid inlet/outlet portions (I and O) on the other short side – the two short sides are opposite sides in the longitudinal direction (A120) of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 20, Fouet as modified by Kwag teaches a modular unit comprising the plurality of battery cells (40), the two plates (20, “side structure unit”), the partition wall (“cooling unit”) and the bus bar assembly (10).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication No. 3872891, hereinafter Fouet, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0067060, hereinafter Collins and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0074965, hereinafter Kwag as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0244397, hereinafter TenHouten.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Fouet as modified by Kwag teaches a modular unit comprising the plurality of battery cells (40), the two plates (20, “side structure unit”), the partition wall (“cooling unit”) and the bus bar assembly (10).
A potting resin (F, “filling member”) covers the two plates (20, “side structure unit”) for the purpose of sealing the space for the cooling fluid within the battery pack (Kwag’s paragraph [0069]).
Fouet as modified by Kwag fails to teach a plurality of modular units making up a battery pack.
The combination of multiple modular units to form a battery pack is well-known in the art – see, e.g. TenHouten. TenHouten teaches a plurality of modular units (figures 7 and 13). Each modular unit includes a plurality of battery cells (300), a side structure unit, cooling channels (350) and bus bar assembly.
The plurality of modular units are arranged in the width direction of the battery pack (figures 7 and 13). The plurality of modular units are capable of protecting the battery cells (300) from impact forces.
Therefore it would have been within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine multiples of the modular units taught by Fouet as modified by Kwag and to arrange them in a width direction of the battery pack for the purpose of achieving higher battery performance than with a single module.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication No. 3872891, hereinafter Fouet, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0067060, hereinafter Collins and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0074965, hereinafter Kwag as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0128604, hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 24, Fouet teaches each battery cell (40) includes a cylindrical body (42) with two end faces (44a and 44b). A terminal (48) protrudes from upper face (44a, “second side”). Both polarity terminals are accessible from the upper face (44a, “second side”) (paragraphs [0057, 0058]).
Fouet does not explicitly teach an electrode assembly, an electrode terminal extending through a hole formed in the second closed side of the battery can and a cap plate covering an open first side of the battery can.
Zhu teaches a cylindrical battery cell. The cylindrical battery cell includes a battery case (11) opened on a first side and closed on a second side that is opposite to the first side. An electrode assembly (12) is accommodated in the battery case (11). An end cover (13, “cap plate”) covers the first open side. A first electrode terminal (16) extends through a hole in the closed second side of the battery case (11) (paragraphs [0092, 0093, 0096, 0097] and figures 3 and 4). Zhu’s assembly allows the battery case (11) to have a polarity opposite the polarity of the first electrode terminal (16) (paragraph [0097]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Fouet’s battery cell in the manner taught by Zhu for the purpose of providing access to both terminals at the upper face (44a, “second side”) of the battery cell (40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the combination of the Fouet, Collins and Kwag references was found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
/LILIA NEDIALKOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724