DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant amended claims 1 and 10 in the reply dated 23 June 2026. Claims 17-20 were previously withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word --the-- appears to be missing from the phrase “...laterally adjacent to first field effect transistor...”. This phrase has been changed to -- laterally adjacent to the first field effect transistor--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith (US 20230378170 a1, hereinafter “Smith”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Smith discloses a semiconductor structure comprising: a first field effect transistor (First in annotated Fig. 1B) comprising a first gate structure (115b [0147] and Fig. 1B), wherein the first gate structure has a first sidewall (FS1 in annotated Fig. 1B) and a second sidewall (SS1 in annotated Fig. 1B) opposite the first sidewall; a second field effect transistor stacked vertically on top of the first field effect transistor (Second in annotated Fig. 1B) and comprising a second gate structure (125b [0150] and Fig. 1B), wherein the second gate structure has a first sidewall (FS2 in annotated Fig. 1B) and a second sidewall (SS2 in annotated Fig. 1B) opposite the first sidewall, and wherein the first sidewall of the second gate structure is vertically aligned with the first sidewall of the first gate structure and the second sidewall of the second gate structure is vertically aligned with the second sidewall of the first gate structure (Annotated Fig. 1B); and a shunting material pillar (131g [0147] and Fig. 1B) located along, and in direct physical contact with at least one of the first sidewall of both the first gate structure and the second gate structure or the second sidewall of both the first gate structure and the second gate structure (As shown in Fig. 1B), wherein the shunting material pillar has a topmost surface that is coplanar with a topmost surface of the second gate structure (Top of 131g coplanar with 128b as shown in Fig. 1B).
Regarding Claim 2 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the shunting material pillar is located along the first sidewall of both the first gate structure and the second gate structure, and along the second sidewall of both the first gate structure and the second gate structure (131g on both sides of and directly contacting 128b and 118b as in Fig. 1B).
Regarding Claim 5 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the shunting material pillar has a length that is equal to a length of both the first gate structure and the second gate structure (131g extends from the top of the second gate structure to the bottom of the first gate structure in Fig. 1B).
Regarding Claim 6 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the shunting material pillar has a length that greater than a length of both the first gate structure and the second gate structure (131g may extend through 105a to reach backside power rails 141 [0147]).
Regarding Claim 7 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first field effect transistor is a first conductivity type and the second field effect transistor is of second conductivity type, and the second conductivity type is of a different conductivity than the first conductivity type (NMOS and PMOS stacked [0139]).
Regarding Claim 8 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 7, wherein the first conductivity type is n-type, and the second conductivity type is p-type (The first tier may be either n-type or p-type [0149], and the second tier may be either n-type or p-type [0150]).
Regarding Claim 9 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 7, wherein the first conductivity type is p-type, and the second conductivity type is n-type ([0189]).
Regarding Claim 10 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first field effect transistor is a first conductivity type and the second field effect transistor is of second conductivity type, and the second conductivity type is of a same conductivity as the first conductivity type (The first tier may be either n-type or p-type [0149], and the second tier may be either n-type or p-type [0150]).
Regarding Claim 11 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first gate structure comprises one of an n-type work function metal or a p-type work function metal, and the second gate structure comprises the other of the n-type work function metal or the p-type work function metal (The work function metal may be different [0154]).
Regarding Claim 12 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first field effect transistor is located above a bottom dielectric isolation layer (105a [0158] and Fig. 1A) that is present on a semiconductor substrate (147 [0143] and Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 13 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first field effect transistor is located in a first device region (110 [0143] and Fig. 1A), and the second field effect transistor is located in a second device region (120 [0143] and Fig. 1A), wherein the first device region is spaced apart from the second device region by a device separating dielectric material layer (105b [0158] and Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 14 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first gate structure wraps around each first semiconductor channel material nanosheet of a plurality of first semiconductor channel material nanosheets (e.g. 118B wraps around 111b [0149], [0154] and Fig. 1B), and the second gate structure wraps around each second semiconductor channel material nanosheet of a plurality of second semiconductor channel material nanosheets (e.g. 128B wraps around 121b [0150], [0154] and Fig. 1B).
Regarding Claim 15 – Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 14, further comprising a first gate dielectric material layer separating the first gate structure from each first semiconductor channel material nanosheet of the plurality of first semiconductor channel material nanosheets (117b [0154] and Fig. 1B), and a second gate dielectric material layer separating the second gate structure from each second semiconductor channel material nanosheet of the plurality of second semiconductor channel material nanosheets (127b [0154] and Fig. 1B).
Regarding Claim 16 - Smith further discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, further comprising at least one other stacked field effect transistor device located laterally adjacent to the first field effect transistor and the second field effect transistor, wherein the at least one other stacked field effect transistor device is devoid of a shunting material pillar (Other in annotated Fig. 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 20230378170 A1, hereinafter “Smith”), in view of Smith et al (US 20210013111 A1, hereinafter “Smith2”).
Regarding Claim 3 – Smith discloses all the limitations of Claim 1.
Smith fails to expressly disclose the shunting material pillar has a resistivity that is lower than a resistivity of both the first gate structure and the second gate structure.
However, Smith2 specifies several work function metal, both p-type (TiN) and n-type (TiAl, TiAlN, and TiAlC) (Smith2 [0084] and [0086]), all of which have higher resistivity than cobalt, tungsten, or ruthenium mentioned as shunting material (Smith [0263]).
Material
Resistivity
Source
TiN
4750 nΩ m
Yun et al, “Electrical and Corrosion Properties of Titanium Aluminum Nitride Thin Films Prepared by Plasma-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition”, Journal of Materials Science & Technology, Volume 33, Issue 3, March 2017, Pages 295-299.
TiAl
Up to 420 nΩ m
https://www.periodic-table.org/titanium-electrical-resistivity/
TiAlN
28000 nΩ m
Yun et al, “Electrical and Corrosion Properties of Titanium Aluminum Nitride Thin Films Prepared by Plasma-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition”, Journal of Materials Science & Technology, Volume 33, Issue 3, March 2017, Pages 295-299.
TiAlC
10000+ nΩ m
Xiang et al, “Investigation of TiAlC by Atomic Layer Deposition as N Type Work Function Metal for FinFET”, ESC Journal of Solid State Science and Technology, Volume 4, Number 12, p 441.
Cobalt
62.4 nΩ m
https://www.periodic-table.org/cobalt-electrical-resistivity/
Tungsten
52.8 nΩ m
https://www.periodic-table.org/tungsten-electrical-resistivity/
Ruthenium
71 nΩ m
https://www.periodic-table.org/ruthenium-electrical-resistivity/
Smith2 discloses a similar nanosheet transistor structure to Smith with a low resistance metal contacting the work function metal around the channels. Smith2 specifies some of the work function metals, making it possible to compare the properties of the materials and see the disclosed shunting pillar will inherently have lower resistivity than the work function metals contacting the gate dielectrics. See MPEP 2112(III).
Regarding Claim 4 – Smith modified by Smith2 discloses all the limitations of Claim 3.
The combination of Smith and Smith2 further discloses the shunting material pillar is composed of cobalt, tungsten, or ruthenium (Smith [0263]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898