DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 07 January 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an irradiation unit” in claim 1, “a second irradiation unit” in claim 3, “a fixing portion” in claim 5, and “a detection unit” in claim 9. The irradiation units are taught to be an optical fiber or an optical waveguide. The fixing portion is taught to be a balloon. The detection unit is taught to be an optical waveguide such as an optical fiber, along with an optical sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitations “a direction substantially perpendicular” in lines 2-3 and “a substantially distal direction” in lines 4-5. The term “substantially” in these limitations is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds of these directions are not clear; e.g., is a direction that is 85 degrees to the axial center considered to be substantially perpendicular, or must this be within a narrower range around 90 degrees, or could it be even farther away from 90 degrees?
Claim 2 also recites the limitation “an axial center of the distal shaft” in line 3. It is not clear what is meant by “axial center” in this limitation. Does this mean a central axis? The center of an axis? Which axis?
Claim 3 recites the limitations “a direction substantially perpendicular” in lines 2-3 and “a substantially distal direction” in line 4. The term “substantially” in these limitations is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds of these directions are not clear; e.g., is a direction that is 85 degrees to the axial center considered to be substantially perpendicular, or must this be within a narrower range around 90 degrees, or could it be even farther away from 90 degrees?
Claim 3 also recites the limitation “an axial center direction” in line 3. It is not clear what is meant by “axial center” in this limitation. Does this mean a central axis? The center of an axis? Which axis?
Claim 8 recites the limitations “an axial center of the disk portion” in lines 1-2 and “an axial center of the main shaft” in line 2. It is not clear what is meant by “axial center” in these limitations. Does this mean a central axis? The center of an axis? Which axis? Further, a shaft has an inherent longitudinal axis but a disk does not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodrich et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0290360 A1; hereinafter known as “Goodrich”), in view of Seibel (U.S. Pub. No. 2001/0055462 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goodrich discloses a treatment apparatus configured to irradiate an antibody-photosensitive substance accumulated in a tumor cell with excitation light (Abstract; [0024]; [0074]; [0137]; [0192]; while Goodrich does not teach irradiating an antibody-photosensitive substance, Goodrich’s apparatus is capable of doing such, as it emits near-infrared light to tumors), the treatment apparatus comprising: a tubular device 113 including an elongated tubular member ([0084]-[0085]) and an irradiation device 202 configured to be inserted into the tubular member and including an irradiation unit configured to emit the excitation light ([0080]; [0086]; [0094]). Goodrich fails to disclose that the irradiation device includes a main shaft including a distal portion and a proximal portion, a disk portion disposed on a distal side of the main shaft, a distal shaft protruding from the disk portion toward the distal side, and the irradiation unit disposed on the distal shaft. Seibel discloses a similar apparatus (Abstract; Figs. 3A-B) comprising an irradiation device 80 that is an optical fiber and that includes a main shaft 82/88 including a distal portion and a proximal portion, a disk portion 93 disposed on a distal side of the main shaft, a distal shaft 95 protruding from the disk portion toward the distal side, and an irradiation unit 94 disposed on the distal shaft, in order to integrate therapeutic and diagnostic functions into a single optical fiber ([0010]-[0011]; [0055]; [0077]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Goodrich with the irradiation device taught by Seibel in order to integrate therapeutic and diagnostic functions into a single optical fiber.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Goodrich and Seibel discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Goodrich further discloses that a distal portion of the tubular member is configured to be deformed ([0109]; supple and flexible).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Goodrich and Seibel discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Goodrich further discloses a fixing portion configured to fix the irradiation device to the tubular device ([0094]; [0100]; [0115]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Goodrich and Seibel discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Seibel further discloses that an axial center of the disk portion is inclined with respect to an axial center of the main shaft (Fig. 3B; [0077]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Goodrich and Seibel discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Seibel further discloses a detection unit 92 configured to detect fluorescence emitted by the antibody-photosensitive substance ([0077]; again, while this detection unit is not expressly taught to detect fluorescence emitted by the antibody-photosensitive substance, the photon detectors taught by Seibel would be capable of detecting such fluorescence).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2, as the claim can best be understood, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests such an apparatus wherein the distal shaft is configured to emit the excitation light in a direction substantially perpendicular to an axial center of the distal shaft and the disk portion is configured to emit the excitation light in a substantially distal direction. Regarding claim 3, as the claim can best be understood, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests such an apparatus wherein the tubular member includes a second irradiation unit configured to emit the excitation light in a direction substantially perpendicular to an axial center direction of the tubular member and/or in a substantially distal direction. Regarding claims 6 and 7, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a fixing portion for fixing the irradiation device to the tubular device, wherein the fixing portion is an inflatable balloon disposed on either the disk portion or the tubular member, in combination with the other recited components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Svanberg (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0249517 A1) teaches a PDT apparatus that includes optical fibers positioned between disk portions, wherein a shaft protrudes from a disk portion. Yang et al. (KR 101924492 B1) teaches a PDT apparatus that includes optical fibers that are inserted into tubular members and are positioned between disk portions. Samuel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0198173 A1) teaches a PDT apparatus that includes a disc-shaped diffusing member. Vermandel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0289840 A1) teaches a PDT apparatus that includes an optical fiber and a tubular device, along with various locking members that are circle-shaped. Kaneda et al. (U.S. No. 5,871,521 A) teaches a PDT apparatus with disk portions as shields.
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791