DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 07/09/2026, in which claim 1 was amended, claims 4, 9-21 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “one of the plurality of different adhesive members is a liquid optically clear resin and arranged to correspond to at least a portion of the curved portion of the display panel” which indicates the liquid optically clear resin can arranged on a plurality of portions of the curved portion or arranged on an entire of the curved portion. However, claim 1 later recites “the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion.” Use of a narrow limitation falls within a broader limitation in the same claim render the claim indefinite because it is uncertain whether the liquid optically clear resin is required to arrange on at least a portion of the curved portion of the display panel or the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion.
For the purpose of this Action, the limitation of “one of the plurality of different adhesive members is a liquid optically clear resin and arranged to correspond to at least a portion of the curved portion of the display panel” will be interpreted and examined as -- one of the plurality of different adhesive members is a liquid optically clear resin and arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion.--
Claims depending from the rejected claims noted above are rejected at least on the same basis as the claim(s) from which the dependent claims depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Pub. 20190348641) in view of Kim (US Pub. 20140118902) and Guangnan (CN112967607A) and Fang et al. (US Pub. 20170151756).
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 2A, Fig. 4, Fig. 9A, Fig. 9B a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel [DM] including at least one curved portion;
a cover window [WM] covering a first surface of the display panel [DM]; and
an adhesive member [AM] arranged between the display panel [DM] and the cover window [WM], wherein a portion of the adhesive member [AM] is arranged to correspond to at least a portion of the curved portion [corner portion] of the display panel [DM], and another portion of the adhesive member [AM] is arranged to correspond to a rest of the display panel [DM],
wherein the display panel includes a main display area [DA-U], subsidiary display areas [DA-S], and corner display areas [DA-M],
wherein the main display area [DA-U] is located in a center of the display panel and flat, the subsidiary display areas [DA-S] are connected to sides of a periphery of the main display area [DA-U], respectively, and the corner display areas [DA-M] are arranged between the subsidiary display areas [DA-S],
wherein the display panel [DM] is disposed under the cover window [WM], the curved portion of the display panel [DM] is curved toward a direction away from the cover window [WM] and includes the corner display areas [DA-M],
Jung et al. fails to disclose
the adhesive member comprises a plurality of different adhesive members arranged, wherein one of the plurality of different adhesive members is a liquid optically clear resin and arranged to correspond to at least a portion of the curved portion of the display panel, and another of the plurality of different adhesive members is a solid or semi-solid optically clear adhesive and arranged to correspond to a rest of the display panel;
and the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion.
Kim discloses in Fig. 6, Fig. 9, paragraph [0074]-[0076], [0079]
the adhesive member [810 and 820] or [813 and 823] comprises a plurality of different adhesive members arranged, wherein one of the plurality of different adhesive members is a first optically clear resin [820 or 823] and arranged to correspond to at least a portion of the corner portion of the display panel [210], and another of the plurality of different adhesive members is a second optically clear adhesive [810 or 813] arranged to correspond to a rest of the display panel [210];
and the first optically clear resin [820 or 823] is arranged only on the corner display areas [paragraph [0079] “the second adhesive layer 823 may be formed on only at corner portions of the second substrate 220 of the display panel”].
Kim further discloses in paragraph [0046] that an optically clear adhesive can either be a semi-solid optically clear adhesive or a liquid optically clear adhesive.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for the first optically clear adhesive and the second optically clear adhesive: the first optically clear resin and the second optically clear adhesive are different solid/semi-solid optically clear adhesives; the first optically clear adhesive and the second optically clear adhesive are different liquid optically clear resins; the first optically clear adhesive is a solid/semi-solid liquid optically clear adhesive and the second optically clear adhesive is a liquid optically clear resin; or the first optically clear adhesive is a liquid optically clear resin and the second optically clear adhesive is a solid/semi-solid liquid optically clear adhesive. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the first optically clear adhesive is a liquid optically clear resin and the second optically clear adhesive is a solid/semi-solid liquid optically clear adhesive to yield suitable for the first optically clear adhesive and the second optically clear adhesive.
For further support for an adhesive member comprising a liquid adhesive and a solid adhesive, Guangnan is cited.
Guangnan discloses in Fig. 3, paragraph [0015], [0019], [0024], [0043], [0055]-[0057], [0060]-[0061], [0078], [0081]
the adhesive member [13] comprises a plurality of different adhesive members arranged, wherein one of the plurality of different adhesive members [3a/131] is a liquid adhesive and arranged to correspond to at least a portion of the corner portion of the display panel, and another of the plurality of different adhesive members [13b/132] is a solid adhesive arranged to correspond to another portion(s) of the display panel.
Kim discloses in paragraph [0079] the optically clear resin [823] is arranged only on the corner display areas. Kim and Guangnan suggest the optically clear resin at corner display areas is a liquid optically clear resin. Jung et al. discloses the corner display areas is the corner display areas included in the curved portion. Thus, the combination of Kim, Guangnan and Jung et al. result to “the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim, and Guangnan into the method of Jung et al. to include the adhesive member comprises a plurality of different adhesive members arranged, wherein one of the plurality of different adhesive members is a liquid optically clear resin and arranged to correspond to at least a portion of the curved portion of the display panel, and another of the plurality of different adhesive members is a solid or semi-solid optically clear adhesive and arranged to correspond to a rest of the display panel; and the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jung et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of adhesive member to prevent a smearing phenomenon, a bruising phenomenon or a polling phenomenon without luminance deterioration of the display device even when the external force is applied to the display panel of the display device, to improve the viscosity of the corners of the display and prevent the display from coming off during transportation and testing, thereby improving the yield of the display [paragraph [0018] of Kim, paragraph [0057], [0061], [0078], [0081] of Guangnan].
Jung et al. fails to disclose
wherein a portion of the solid or semi-solid optically clear adhesive is arranged on the corner display areas to cover an outer side of the liquid optically clear resin to prevent the liquid optically clear resin from flowing to an outside.
Kim discloses in Fig. 8, paragraph [0078]
wherein a portion of the solid or semi-solid optically clear adhesive [812] is arranged on the corner display areas to cover an outer side of the liquid optically clear resin [822].
Fang et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 4, paragraph [0032]-[0035]
wherein a portion of a solid or semi-solid adhesive [31] is arranged on bonding regions to cover an outer side of a liquid adhesive [32] to prevent the liquid adhesive from flowing to an outside.
Jung et al. and Guangnan suggests the bonding regions are the corner display areas; the solid or semi-solid adhesive is the solid or semi-solid optically clear adhesive; the liquid adhesive is the liquid optically clear resin, and the liquid optically clear resin is arranged on the corner display areas. Thus, the combination of Jung et al. and Guangnan and Fang et al. would result to “wherein a portion of the solid or semi-solid optically clear adhesive is arranged on the corner display areas to cover an outer side of the liquid optically clear resin to prevent the liquid optically clear resin from flowing to an outside.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fang et al. and Kim and Guangnan into the method of Jung et al. to include wherein a portion of the solid or semi-solid optically clear adhesive is arranged on the corner display areas to cover an outer side of the liquid optically clear resin to prevent the liquid optically clear resin from flowing to an outside. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jung et al. in the above manner for the purpose of ensuring a sufficient adhesive strength and a sufficient deformation resistance of the adhesive bonded structure at the corner display areas, thereby preventing the adhesive bonded structure at the corner display areas from tackless and crack, increasing the appearance rating of the adhesive bonded structure at the corner display areas, and an external force may be uniformly dispersed on the non-display region [paragraph [0033]-[0034] of Fang et al., paragraph [0078] of Kim].
Regarding claims 2-3, 5-7, Kim discloses in Fig. 6, Fig. 9
wherein the plurality of different adhesive members [813 and 823] include a first adhesive member [813] and a second adhesive member [823],
wherein the first adhesive member [813] is arranged in the main display area and the subsidiary display areas, and the second adhesive member [823] is arranged in the corner display areas;
wherein the first adhesive member [813] surrounds the second adhesive member [823];
wherein the second adhesive member [823] and a portion of the first adhesive member [813] are arranged to correspond to the corner display areas;
wherein the first adhesive member [813] is arranged on a periphery of the corner display areas, and the second adhesive member [823] is arranged on a center of the corner display areas;
wherein the first adhesive member [810 or 813] and the second adhesive member [820 or 823] each are arranged in a same layer.
Guangnan also discloses in Fig. 3
wherein the plurality of different adhesive members [13] include a first adhesive member [132] and a second adhesive member [131], wherein the first adhesive member [132] is arranged in the subsidiary display areas, and the second adhesive member [131] is arranged in the corner display areas;
wherein the first adhesive member [132] surrounds the second adhesive member [131];
wherein the second adhesive member [131] and a portion of the first adhesive member [132] are arranged to correspond to the corner display areas;
wherein the first adhesive member [132] is arranged on a periphery of the corner display areas, and the second adhesive member [131] is arranged on a center of the corner display areas;
wherein the first adhesive member [132] and the second adhesive member [131] each are arranged in a same layer.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Pub. 20190348641) in view of Kim (US Pub. 20140118902) and Guangnan (CN112967607A) and Fang et al. (US Pub. 20170151756) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Li et al. (US Pub. 20230178526).
Regarding claim 8, Jung et al., Kim and Guangnan fails to disclose
wherein the corner display area includes a plurality of strip portions, and wherein the second adhesive member is arranged between the plurality of strip portions.
Li et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 11, Fig. 37A-37B, paragraph [0065], [0082]-[0083], [0133]-[0134]
wherein the corner display area includes a plurality of strip portions [106], and wherein the second adhesive member [182] is arranged between the plurality of strip portions [106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the method of Jung et al., Kim and Guangnan and Fang et al. to include wherein the corner display area includes a plurality of strip portions, and wherein the second adhesive member is arranged between the plurality of strip portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jung et al., Kim and Guangnan and Fang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of facilitating folding of a 2D display panel film into a 3D compound film curvature, for example along corners or a dome shaped display; providing trench (or seam) hiding techniques to reduce optical emission artifacts such as glowing at trench edges, and optical reflection artifacts such as visible trenches (white) in display off-state or visible trenches (dark) in display on-state [paragraph [0057], [0061], [0131], [0133] of Li et al.].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that “neither Jung (e.g., FIG. 2B), Kim (e.g., FIGS. 9 and 10), Guangnan (e.g., FIG. 3) nor Fang (e.g., FIGS. 3 and 4), either alone or in any combination thereof, disclose, teach or suggest "wherein the display panel is disposed under the cover window, the curved portion of the display panel is curved toward a direction away from the cover window and includes the corner display areas, and the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion," as recited in independent claim 1”, Examiner respectfully disagrees because as stated above,
Jung discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 2A, Fig. 4, Fig. 9A, Fig. 9B the limitation “wherein the display panel [DM] is disposed under the cover window [WM], the curved portion of the display panel [DM] is curved toward a direction away from the cover window [WM] and includes the corner display areas [DA-M]”.
Kim discloses in paragraph [0079] the first optically clear resin [823] is arranged only on the corner display areas. Kim and Guangnan suggests the optically clear resin at corner display areas is a liquid optically clear resin. Jung et al. discloses the corner display areas is the corner display areas included in the curved portion. Thus, the combination of Kim, Guangnan and Jung et al. result to “the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion.”
Consequently, the combination of Kim, Guangnan and Jung et al. discloses “wherein the display panel is disposed under the cover window, the curved portion of the display panel is curved toward a direction away from the cover window and includes the corner display areas, and the liquid optically clear resin is arranged only on the corner display areas included in the curved portion," as recited in independent claim 1.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893