DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 07/22/2026 has been entered.
No claims are amended due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 09/03/2026 and 09/10/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejections of record for the reasons discussed below.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments on pages 23-25 of the reply dated 07/22/2026 with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the previous Office Action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on pages 23-25 of the reply that the data in the specification and the declaration of 09/10/2026 demonstrate that the claimed invention achieves unexpected results compared with the prior art. Specifically, the applicant argues that as shown in Table 1 of the present specification and the additional experimental data in the declaration, the light-emitting devices of the Examples employing compounds containing two naphthyl groups exhibit superior luminous efficiency and operational lifetime compared with the light-emitting device of Comparative Example 2 employing Comparative Compound C2 (identical or similar to Compounds 7 and 8 of Lin), which contains only one naphthyl group.
Examiner's response -- Applicants have the burden of explaining the proffered data as evidence of non-obviousness. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. Evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. Evidence of nonobviousness must also be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. Comparison must be between the claimed subject matter and the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 716.02.
The evidence does not appear to establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected. The differences in the properties of luminous efficiency and operational lifetime between the Examples employing compounds containing two naphthyl groups and Comparative Example 2 employing Comparative Compound C2 (identical or similar to Compounds 7 and 8 of Lin), which contains only one naphthyl group do not appear to be unexpected for the following reasons. Note that the applicant points to an improvements of 9.6% in luminous efficiency and 16.7% in operational lifetime as unexpected. However, looking the performance data of the device of Lin, in the Table on page 33 paragraph [0205], a roughly 8% difference in luminous efficiency and 15% difference in operational lifetime is seen between compounds that fall within the scope of the general formula of Lin. Therefore, based on the data in Lin, one having ordinary skill in the art would not see a 9.6% change in luminous efficiency or a 16.7% change in operational lifetime as unexpected. Next, it is noted that in the instant specification (see Table 1) as much as the same degree of change in performance data between devices comprising compounds that fall within the claimed Formula 1 is shown as between those devices and Comparative Example 2 employing Comparative Compound C2 (identical or similar to Compounds 7 and 8 of Lin), which contains only one naphthyl group.
For at least these reasons the arguments are not found persuasive and the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on page 25 that Li cannot remedy the alleged deficiencies of Lin.
Examiner's response – The Li reference is relied upon to teach the addition of a deuterium substituent(s) and does not relate the addition of naphthyl groups and therefore, for the reasons discussed above this is not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. CN-114685411-A (hereinafter "Gao-CN" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Gao-MT").
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a copy and a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Regarding claims 1-8, 10, 13-17, and 19, Gao discloses an organic compound having a structure represented by formula I (Gao-MT, page 2 of 24, lines 21-22) and an organic electroluminescent device comprising at least one layer between the a electrode and a second electrode comprising the compound (Gao-MT, page 8 of 24, lines 17-20), wherein the organic material layer comprises a hole transport region, a light emitting layer, an electron transport region (page 9 of 24, lines 13-14). Gao discloses at least one of a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, or an electron blocking layer, which may be considered a second hole transporting layer because it necessarily transports holes, comprises the compound (Gao-MT, page 8 of 24, lines 24-26). Gao discloses the light emitting layer comprises a host material (Gao-MT, page 10 of 24, lines 14-15) and discloses the host material having the structure of one of BFH-1 to BFH-17 (Gao-MT, page 10 of 24, lines 29-31), which meet the claimed Formula E-1. Gao discloses examples of the compound of formula I on pages 4-11 that meet the claimed Formula 1 including for example compound C-141
(Gao-CN, page 10).
For example, compound C-141 meets the claimed Formula I and Formula 1-2 wherein:
Ar1 is a substituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (a substituted phenyl group);
R1 and R2 are each hydrogen and R3 and R4 are each a single bond forming a ring by bonding with a group represented by Formula 2 and 2-1;
X is O;
R5 to R9 are each hydrogen and R10 to R12 are not required to be present;
a and b are 2;
c and d are 7; and
e is 4.
Therefore, the device comprising the compound of Gao meets claims 1-8, 13-17, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. CN-111138393-A (hereinafter "Lin-CN" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Lin-MT").
Lin et al. CN-111138393-A is cited on the IDS of 09/15/2022.
Regarding claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-17, and 19, Lin teaches an organic light emitting device comprising an organic layer between an anode and a cathode wherein the organic layer comprises an aromatic amine compound of a formula (I) (Lin-MT, page 2 of 18, lines 6-7 and 14-15; page 5 of 18, lines 1-2) having structure
(Lin-CN, page 8). Lin teaches wherein the device comprises an electron transport region between the cathode and the light emitting layer (Lin-MT, page 5 of 18, lines 3-6) and a hole transport region between the anode and the light emitting layer comprising a hole injection layer and a hole transporting layer (Lin-MT, page 5 of 18, lines 3-9), wherein the hole transport layer may comprise a first hole transport layer and a second hole transporting layer, and wherein either may comprise the arylamine compound (Lin-MT, page 5 of 18, lines 16-21). Lin teaches examples of the arylamine compound of formula (I) including compounds 7 and 8
(Lin-CN, page 12). Line teaches that the device may comprise a covering layer on the cathode which may comprise the arylamine compound (Lin-MT, page 5 of 18 lines 34-36) and teaches arylamine compounds having a refractive index of more than 1.6 (Lin-MT, page 15 of 18, lines 3-7 and Lin-CN, Table 1). Lin teaches that the main body of the light emitting layer may be preferably EPH (page 5 of 18, line 22), which has the structure
(Lin-CN, page 32) and is a compound of the claimed Formula E-1. Lin teaches the device possessing low driving voltage (Lin-CN, page 2 of 18, lines 8-9), and good luminous efficiency (Lin-CN, page 2 of 18, lines 10-11).
Lin does not exemplify a compound that meets the claimed Formula I. For example, the compounds 7 and 8 differ from the claimed compound in that the position corresponding to Ar1/Ar2 in the general formula of Lin is a phenyl instead of a naphthyl group.
However, Lin teaches the position corresponding to Ar1/Ar2 may be preferably selected as a naphthyl group (Lin-MT, page 3 of 18, lines 21-22 and Lin-CN, page 9, [0033]-[0034]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one of Ar1/Ar2 with a naphthyl group, because Lin teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the hole transport region of the device of Lin and possess the benefits as described above taught by Lin. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
The modified compound meets the claimed Formula I and Formula 1-1 wherein:
Ar1 is a substituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (a substituted phenyl group);
R1 and R2 are each hydrogen and R3 and R4 are each a single bond forming a ring by bonding with a group represented by Formula 2 and 2-1;
X is O;
R5 to R9 are each hydrogen and R10 to R12 are not required to be present;
a and b are 2;
c and d are 7; and
e is 4.
Therefore, the device comprising the modified compounds meets claims 1-8, 11, 13-17, and 19.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Lin teaches the device comprising the modified compound as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 13.
Lin does not exemplify one of the compounds list in claims 12 and 20. For example, the modified compound 8 differs from the claimed compound 49
in that the position corresponding to L1/L2 in the in the general formula of Lin is a phenyl instead of single bond (that is, n1/n2 as 0).
However, Lin teaches n1 and n2 may be 0 or 1 which would make L1/L2 a single bond (Lin-MT, page 2 of 18, lines 19-20).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the position corresponding to L1/L2 in the in the general formula of Lin with a single bond (such that n1/n2 is 0), because Lin teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the hole transport region of the device of Lin and possess the benefits as described above taught by Lin. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. CN-111138393-A (hereinafter "Lin-CN" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Lin-MT") as applied to claims 1 and 13, respectively, and further in view of Li et al. US-20020076576-A1 (hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Lin teaches the device comprising the modified compound as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 13.
Li teaches that a deuterated organic system has better thermal stability, and longer lifetime in optoelectronic devices (¶ [0009]) and deuterated organic semiconductor materials exhibit improved performance including brighter luminescence, better thermal stability, and longer lifetime compared to non-deuterated organic semiconductor materials (Abstract, ¶ [0023], and [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound Lin to include at least one deuterium, based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain brighter luminescence, better thermal stability, and longer lifetime, as taught by Li.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. CN-114685411-A (hereinafter "Gao-CN" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Gao-MT") as applied to claims 1 and 13, respectively, and further in view of Li et al. US-20020076576-A1 (hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Gao teaches the device comprising the modified compound as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 13.
Li teaches that a deuterated organic system has better thermal stability, and longer lifetime in optoelectronic devices (¶ [0009]) and deuterated organic semiconductor materials exhibit improved performance including brighter luminescence, better thermal stability, and longer lifetime compared to non-deuterated organic semiconductor materials (Abstract, ¶ [0023], and [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Gao to include at least one deuterium, based on the teachings of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain brighter luminescence, better thermal stability, and longer lifetime, as taught by Li.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. CN-114685411-A (hereinafter "Gao-CN" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Gao-MT") as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Lee US-20150123086-A1 (hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 11, Gao teaches the device comprising the modified compound as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Lee teaches an organic light emitting diode including a capping layer including a first surface and a second surface and having a gradient of refractive index that varies along a thickness direction from the first surface toward the second surface (abstract). The first surface has a refractive index in a range of about 1.3 to about 1.8 and the second surface may have a refractive index in a range of about 1.8 to about 2.7 (¶ [0013]). Providing such a capping layer on an organic light emitting diode improves light extraction efficiency and white angular dependence characteristics (¶ [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the capping layer of Lee into the device of Gao, based on the teaching of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve light extraction efficiency and white angular dependence characteristics, as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KR-20210061254-A cited on the IDS of 08/28/2025 teaches amine compounds comprising naphthalene and dibenzo moieties including compounds P-2 and P-11 (page 36).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786