DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 4 and 5 are currently amended. Claims 2 and 3 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of Remarks filed 04/10/2025, applicant argues
However, Vasavada discloses a system that employs a pair of transducers with relay switching for fault detection, which fundamentally differs from the aforementioned claim element of the claimed invention which uses an approach of utilizing a pair of CTs for both the main and test paths (refer Fig. 1 of as filed drawings of claimed invention).
Examiner agrees that prior art Vasavada (M. R. Vasavada, V. S. Patel and J. R. Prajapati, "Development of Intelligent Automatic Electronic MCB and ELCB Using Fault Diagnosis Technique," 2020 International Conference on Power Electronics & IoT Applications in Renewable Energy and its Control (PARC), Mathura, India, 2020, pp. 346-350, doi: 10.1109/PARC49193.2020.236623) does not teach separate pair of CTs for both the main and test paths as seen in fig.1 of instant application. However, independent claims 1 and 4 do not claim separate CTs for the main path. In accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation, Vasavada teaches “a step-down transformer followed with a first current transformer (CT) and a second CT” as seen in fig.9 transformer 230-12V followed with the two Hall effect transducers. Please see rejection below for further details.
On pages 7-8 of Remarks filed 04/10/2025, applicant argues
… ensures independent and redundant current measurement by using separate CTs for each path. The redundancy in the aforementioned claim element of the claimed invention …
Further, Vasavada does not enable simultaneous measurement on both paths. …
In the aforementioned claim element of the claimed invention, each pair of CTs is independently optimized i.e. one for main path protection and the other for the testing. …
Further, the failure mode resilience of the aforementioned claim element of the claimed invention is another significant advantage. …
… require redundant and continuous monitoring. …
As mentioned above, the usage of different CTs for main path and test path is not a limitation in any of the claims. Hence, the above arguments are moot.
On pages 8-9 of Remarks filed 04/10/2025, applicant argues
In contrast, Hall sensors of Vasavada’s require external power, are prone to interference, and add complexity, making CTs a more reliable and maintenance-free solution.
Examiner would like to draw applicant’s attention to Vasavada’s page 347 left column, “Current measurement can be done by using a current transformer, series resistor, hall-effect transducer, mirror matched transistors”. Accordingly, Vasavada teaches using current transformer and is not limited to Hall effect transducers alone.
On page 9 of Remarks filed 04/10/2025, applicant argues
Since independent claim 4 shares similar features as independent claim 1, independent claim 4 is also novel for same reasoning as afforded above.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 4 is not persuasive for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1.
On page 5 applicant states
Accordingly, claims 1-10 are pending, of which claims 1, 6, 8, and 9 are independent claims. No new matter has been added.
Unfortunately examiner did not find any claim set from claims 6-10. Based on the arguments presented by applicant, where only claims 1-5 have been stated, it is assumed that the above statement is a typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vasavada (M. R. Vasavada, V. S. Patel and J. R. Prajapati, "Development of Intelligent Automatic Electronic MCB and ELCB Using Fault Diagnosis Technique," 2020 International Conference on Power Electronics & IoT Applications in Renewable Energy and its Control (PARC), Mathura, India, 2020, pp. 346-350, doi: 10.1109/PARC49193.2020.236623).
Regarding claim 1, Vasavada teaches an auto recovery circuit breaker (ARCB) device (abstract, automatically operated intelligent miniature circuit breaker (MCB) and earth leakage circuit breaker (ELCB)) comprising:
a step-down transformer (i.e. transformer 230-12V TRAN-2P2S) (fig.9) followed with a first current transformer (CT) (e.g. Hall effect transducer on phase line) (fig.9) (page 347 left column, Current measurement can be done by using a current transformer, series resistor, hall-effect transducer, mirror matched transistors) and a second CT (e.g. Hall effect transducer on neutral line) (fig.9) (page 347 left column, Current measurement can be done by using a current transformer, series resistor, hall-effect transducer, mirror matched transistors), the step-down transformer configured to:
detect a fault in a phase line or neutral line (page 348 left column, check whether the fault is removed or not), by feeding a low voltage AC signal (page 348 left column, step down transformer is connected for lower voltage injection in the system) to an output transmission line (page 348 left column, no difference between line and neutral current) before enabling power to load (page 348 left column, healthy condition and it will on the breaker); wherein each of the first CT and the second CT is configured to:
sense a current flowing (page 347 left column, Two ACS 724 are used to an accurate and precise measurement of current in phase and neutral) through an electric circuit (e.g. circuit as seen in fig.9);
detect an earth leakage (page 348 left column, Electronic Circuit Breaker detect overcurrent and earth fault very fast) through the electric circuit (implicit); and
detect a human contact (page 348 left column, Electronic Circuit Breaker detect overcurrent and earth fault very fast) with the phase line or the neutral line (implicit); and
a microcontroller (i.e. Arduino ATMEGA328) (fig.9) configured to:
monitor the analog signal (page 348 left column, If still there is a difference of current between line and neutral) in the electric circuit (implicit);
detect earth leakage before powering ON the electric circuit (page 348 left column, For reclosing application it uses small supply injection technique to check whether the fault is removed or not) (abstract, short circuit or earth fault);
detect output short before power ON (page 348 left column, For reclosing application it uses small supply injection technique to check whether the fault is removed or not) (abstract, short circuit or earth fault); and
upon detection of a fault removal in the electric circuit (page 348 left column, if there is no difference between line and neutral current, System is in healthy condition), turning ON a relay (page 348 left column, it will on the breaker) (e.g. solid state relay) (fig.9), wherein the relay is used to switch the electric circuit load ON or OFF (page 348 left column, For opening and closing of lines, solid-state relays are used as a switch).
Regarding claim 2, Vasavada teaches the ARCB as claimed in claim 1, comprising a display (page 347 right column, Device condition and control can be accessible by a user directly through IOT) (it is necessarily true that a display is present) configured to:
indicate a type of fault detected (page 347 right column, Alert message is sent to the user on the occurrence of the fault and response of the system is available to the user); and
set an over-load current trip, an earth leakage trip current, an over voltage cut- off limit using one or more keys (page 347 right column, the user can also directly control the device to prevent further damages) (e.g. system parameters of table I).
Regarding claim 3, Vasavada teaches the ARCB as claimed in claim 1, wherein the microcontroller is powered by the step-down transformer (page 349 left column, step down transformer 230V/12 V, Diode bridge Rectifier for 12 V AC to 12V DC, Voltage regulator of 5 V) (also implicit, as seen in fig.9).
Regarding claim 4, Vasavada substantially teaches the limitations as stated in claim 1. Vasavada further teaches, an auto recovery circuit breaker with transmitter (ARCBT) device (abstract, automatically operated intelligent miniature circuit breaker (MCB) and earth leakage circuit breaker (ELCB)) (page 347 right column, Device condition and control can be accessible by a user directly through IOT) comprising:
a transmitter (page 347 right column, message is sent to the user) communicatively coupled to a server (page 347 right column, Condition is to be monitored by a user via GSM Module/ Bluetooth Module/ Wifi Networks), wherein the transmitter is configured to:
monitor a status of the electrical circuit (page 347 right column, response of the system is available to the user), a failure reason (page 347 right column, sent to the user on the occurrence of the fault), a duration of fault, an earth leakage (page 347 right column, Device condition and control can be accessible by a user directly through IOT. Condition is to be monitored by a user via GSM Module/ Bluetooth Module/ Wifi Networks); and
receive instruction for processing by the microcontroller (page 346 right column, Microcontroller fetches data from current sensors continuously, process the data, sends signals to relaying mechanism and take decisions as per given instruction sets), wherein the ARCBT is configured to communicate and be controlled via Internet (page 347 right column, Device condition and control can be accessible by a user directly through IOT).
Regarding claim 5, Vasavada teaches an auto recovery circuit breaker with transmitter (ARCBT) device (abstract, automatically operated intelligent miniature circuit breaker (MCB) and earth leakage circuit breaker (ELCB)) (page 347 right column, Device condition and control can be accessible by a user directly through IOT) comprising:
an alarm device (page 347 right column, Alert message is sent to the user) configured to generate an indication (page 347 right column, response of the system is available to the user) for detection of a fault (page 347 right column, on the occurrence of the fault); and
an input button (page 347 right column, the user can also directly control the device) to change the settings of a microcontroller (page 347 right column, control the device).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2838 08/06/2025