DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed on 15 December 2025. Claim 1, 3, 9, 10, 11, 15, and 17 have been amended. Claims 21-27 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 9, filed 17 November 2025, with respect to objected claims 1, 9, 10, and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendment filed on 17 November 2025 and entered in the Request for Continued Examination filed on 15 December 2025. The objections of claims 1, 9, 10, and 15 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 9-12, filed 17 November 2025, with respect to rejected claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments,
Independent claim 1 sets forth an apparatus including machine readable instructions to apply an update to a rule stored in a rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace a corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the common location. The Blevins/Dillon/Cook/Cruz combination does not teach or suggest such recitations. (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraph 2)
However, Blevins does not teach or suggest machine readable instructions to apply the update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace the corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the common location of claim 1. Thus, Blevins does not teach or suggest the recitations of independent claim 1. (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraph 3)
However, Dillon fails to teach or suggest machine readable instructions to apply the update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace the corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the common location, as set forth in claim 1. As a result, Dillon fails to teach or suggest the elements of claim 1 missing from Blevins. (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraph 4 - pg. 11, paragraph 1)
However, the configurable exceptions of Cook does not teach or suggest machine readable instructions to apply the update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace the corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the common location, as set forth in claim 1. As a result, Cook fails to provide the elements of claim 1 missing from the Blevins/Dillon combination. (see Remarks, pg. 11, paragraph 2)
Cruz does not teach or suggest machine readable instructions to apply the update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace the corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the common location, as set forth in claim 1. As a result, Cruz fails to provide the elements of claim 1 missing from the Blevins/Dillon/Cook combination. (see Remarks, pg. 11, paragraph 3)
The Blevins/Dillon/Cook/Cruz combination does not teach or suggest such recitations. Thus, the reference-based rejections of claim 9 and all claims dependent thereon must be withdrawn. (see Remarks, pg. 12, paragraph 2)
The Blevins/Dillon/Cook/Cruz does not teach or suggest such recitations. Thus, the reference-based rejections of claim 15 and all claims dependent thereon must be withdrawn. (see Remarks, pg. 12, paragraph 3)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner emphasizes that all anticipated components and limitations
of pending claims are present in the prior art as supported below. In addition, the Examiner notes the limitation of “apply an update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace a corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the common location” in claim 1, and similarly in claims 9 and 15, was newly presented in the Amendment After Final received on 17 November 2025 by the Office and entered in the Request for Continued Examination filed on 15 December 2025, and has been addressed as set forth in the Office Action below.
Claim 15 stands objected to and claims 1-20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 includes the grammatical issue of “… the updated to the rule …” in lines 15-16. Suggested claim language: “… the update to the rule …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0174225 A1 (hereinafter Belvins) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0401124 A1 (hereinafter Dillon) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0034034 A1 (hereinafter Cook) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0315880 A1 (Cruz).
As per 1, Belvins substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Belvins teaches the limitations of an apparatus (Fig 1, element 20; i.e. a workstation) for executing a rule (pgs. 4-5, par. [0030], [0031], and [0034]; i.e. [0034]: “The execution engine 48 may use a rules database 50 defining the logic to be implemented on the process modules 39 as a whole and the smart process objects within those modules in particular.”) comprising:
at least one memory (pg. 4, par. [0030] and Fig. 1, element 34);
machine readable instructions (pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0031] and Fig. 1, element 32; i.e. a suite of applications); and
processor circuitry (Fig 1, element 36; i.e. processor) to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions (pg. 4, par. [0030] and pg. 23, claim 4; i.e. [0030]: “The suite of operator interface applications 32 is stored in a memory 34 of the workstation 20 and each of the applications or entities within the suite of applications 32 is adapted to be executed on a processor 36 associated with the workstation 20”) to:
access a property value (Fig. 2, element 42) from a data collector (Fig. 2, element 53b; i.e. a data store), the property value including an operational value of a first workstation (pg. 4, par. [0030], pg. 5, par. [0035], pg. 6-7, par. [0045], and Fig 1, element 20; i.e. a first operator workstation and [0035]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.” and [0045]: “Smart process objects may be associated with any desired process entity, such as physical devices like pumps, tanks, valves, etc., or logical entities such as process areas, measurements or actuators, control strategies, etc. In some cases, smart process objects may be associated with connectors, such a piping, conduit, wiring, conveyors, or any other device or entity that moves material, electricity, gas, etc. from one point to another point within the process.”) within a process control system (pg. 4, par. [0033], pg. 5, par. [0036], and Fig. 1, element 10; i.e. a process plant, [0033]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.”, and [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”), the process control system (Fig. 1, element 10) including the first workstation (Fig. 1, element 20; the first operation workstation) and a second workstation (pg. 3, par. [0027] and Fig. 1, elements 22; i.e. a second operator workstation and [0027]: “… FIG. 1, an example process plant 10 in which smart process objects used to form process graphic displays and process modules, both of which may be integrated with control modules to provide enhanced control and simulation within the plant environment, is illustrated in detail. In particular, the process plant 10 uses a distributed process control system having one or more controllers 12, each connected to one or more field devices 14 and 16 via input/output (I/O) devices or cards 18 which may be, for example, Fieldbus interfaces, Profibus interfaces, HART interfaces, standard 4-20 ma interfaces, etc. The controllers 12 are also coupled to one or more host or operator workstations 20 and 22 via a data highway 24 which may be, for example, an Ethernet link.”);
create a data model instance representing the first workstation (pg. 4, par. [0033] and pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. [0033]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.” and [0036]: “ A data store 53c may store a graphical representation of the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains and which is used for actual display to the operator via an operator interface, such as the screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 of FIG. 1.”);
apply the property value to the data model instance (pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. “This parameter data may be displayed in the graphical place holders when the graphical representation is presented to the operator on a display device 37 as part of one of the graphic displays 35.”);
query a location (Fig. 2, element 28; i.e. configuration database) to the first workstation to identify a rule (i.e. a method) associated with the data model instance, the rule accessed from the location by the first workstation (pg. 11, par. [0072] and [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0127]; i.e. a software file that provides access to rules and provide for configuration of the accessed rules; [0072]: “… an operator may run or execute the configuration application 38 to create one or more process modules 39 or graphic displays for implementation during operation of the process 10 or for implementation in a simulation environment. In one embodiment, the configuration application 38 presents a configuration display, such as that illustrated in FIG. 3, to the configuration engineer.”, [0073]: “When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations. … After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0127]: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 10, the expert rules 324 (among other elements and aspects of the analysis module 308) could be stored in the configuration database 28. In this way, the rules 324 could utilize tags and/or aliases to reference elements of the process module 304, the process, or of other process modules, such as properties, parameters, modes, states, etc. Additionally, if the process module 304 was changed, updated, renamed, etc., by a configuration engineer, for example, the analysis module 308 could still reference information from the process module 304 using the tags and/or aliases.”);
generate the rule associated with the data model instance (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.” and [0131]: “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules. For example, an operator may be permitted to browse and select facts associated with the process plant. Further, a user may be permitted to create new rules suitable for evaluation by a CLIPS expert system tool or some other suitable expert system tool.”) by compiling an executable package associated with the rule based on a rule configuration file, the rule configuration file including instructions to generate machine-readable instructions package (pgs. 14-15, par. [0098] and [0099] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. using a software package integrate the script; [0099]: “Still further, because the process modules are communicatively connected to the control modules, the parameters or data generated by the high fidelity simulation package may be used in the control modules to perform on-line control activities. Using the process modules in this manner, a high fidelity simulation package can be executed in parallel to, in addition to being integrated with, the control modules.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”);
apply an update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace a corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the location (pgs. 4-5, par. [0034], pgs. 5-6, par. [0039], pg. 11, par. [0073], and pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. [0034]: “The execution engine 48 may use a rules database 50 defining the logic to be implemented on the process modules 39 as a whole and the smart process objects within those modules in particular.”; [0039]: “… the methods 60 may be programmed or provided in any desired programming language, such as C, C++, C#, etc. or may be referenced to or may define applicable rules within the rule database 50 that should be run for the smart process object 42e during execution.”; [0073]:“The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”; and [0131]: “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules.”);
cause execution, by the first workstation (Fig 1, element 20; i.e. a first operator workstation), of the executable package associated with the rule using the data model instance (pgs. 5-6, par. [0038] and [0039]; i.e. [0038]: “The methods 60 may be preconfigured or provided based on the type or class of smart process object and will generally be executed each time the smart process object 42e is executed within the execution engine 48 during runtime. Some example methods 60 that may be provided within a smart process object, such as the smart process object 42e, include detecting leaks, dead band, dead time, movement, variability, condition monitoring, computing costs, or other conditions associated with the entity.” and [0039]: “The methods 60 may also be provided to help simulate the operation of the process entity associated with the smart process object on the material flowing through that process entity. Thus, the methods 60 may be provided to calculate mass balances, energy balances, flows, temperatures, compositions, vapor states, and other system-level or stream level parameters associated with the material in the plant 10, to simulate operation of the element so as to calculate expected outputs based on provided inputs, etc.”); and
record a result of the execution of the executable package (pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”).
Not explicitly taught are query a common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation;
based on a determination that the common location does not have the rule associated with the data model instance, compile an executable package associated with the rule based on a rule configuration file, the rule configuration file including instructions to generate machine-readable instructions; and
the result to indicate a health of the first workstation.
However Dillon, in an analogous art of a process plant, process control system, or process control environment (pg. 1, par. [0021]), teaches the missing limitation of based on a determination that a location (Fig. 3, element 406; i.e. a rules database) does not have a rule, generate the rule (pg. 9, par. [0052]; i.e. if the database does not have the most robust rule, a rule can be created, added, adapted, or changed and [0052]: “If the rules engine 404 determines that these predetermined conditions are met, the rules engine 404 may initiate the creation of a work order via the work initiation module 410 for the asset. Of course, any number of rules could be stored in the rules database 406 and used by the rules engine 404 to analyze each of the incoming recommendations or messages from the data analytic sources 310, 312, 314 and 330, and the rules in the rules database 406 may be created by, added to, adapted by, or changed by users with appropriate privileges, in order to enable the rules engine 404 to be robust in nature and adaptable in specific circumstances (that is, to be adapted to the needs of different users in different plant environments).”) to create work orders automatically (pg. 9, par. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins to include the addition of the limitation of based on a determination that a location does not have a rule, generate the rule to advantageously provide enhanced maintenance planning and scheduling in a process plant (Dillon: pg. 2, par. [0002]).
Belvins in view of Dillon does not expressly teach query a common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation; and
the result to indicate a health of the first workstation.
However Cook, in an analogous art of a plant or process control environment (pg. 7, par. [0046]), teaches the missing limitation of query a common location (Fig. 2, element 124; i.e. a rules database) to a first workstation (Fig. 2, element 26; i.e. a first computer workstation) and a second workstation (Fig. 2, element 28; i.e. a second computer workstation) to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation (pg. 8, par. [0051] and [0064]; i.e. [0051]: “While the components 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 are illustrated as being stored in and executed in separate computing devices different then the computing devices 26, 28, 30, 31, and 32, of FIG. 2, any subset or are all of the components 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 could be stored in and executed in the same processing devices, which may be the same processing devices that store and execute other process control applications and databases, such as the devices 26, 28, 30, 31, and 32.” and [0064]: “After a set of exception rules is created for one or more data sources, and these rules are stored in the rules database 124, for example, the quality review management system 112 may thereafter implement the exception engine 122 in real time during operation of a data source to detect exceptions that may occur as a result of the operation of the underlying process being monitored, controlled, or effected by the data source application. … For each set of data, the exception engine 122 obtains and applies the logic of the exception rules created for the data source to thereby detect exceptions in the process being implemented, managed, or monitored by the data source.”) for the purpose of detecting expectations in a process being implemented, managed, or monitored (pg. 11, par. [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon to include the addition of the limitation of query a common location to a first workstation and a second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to advantageously detect exceptions automatically in a process and store data pertaining to the detected exceptions in an organized and easily reviewable manner, as well as, allow a quality review manager or engineer to review and handle (resolve) exceptions associated with the process with an easy to use interface (Cook: pg. 4, par. [0021]).
Belvins in view of Dillon in view of Cook does not expressly teach the result to a indicate health of the first workstation.
However Cruz, in an analogous art of process control systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of a result (i.e. an alert) to a indicate health of a first workstation (pg. 12, par. [0099]; i.e. “Action alerts may be created (opened) when a monitored health parameter indicates a health condition that could lead to a process disruption or loss of asset availability, where the remote maintenance system 102 continually monitors important health information of process control system components, such as controllers, servers, workstations, Safety Instrumented System (SIS) controllers, switches, firewalls, infrastructure, etc.”) for the purpose of providing an alert when a monitored health parameter indicates a health condition that could lead to a process disruption or loss of asset availability (pg. 12, par. [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon to include the addition of the limitation of a result to a indicate health of a first workstation to advantageously provide information of potential risks to availability, reliability and security of a process control system to assist a system engineer to undertake preventative actions to avoid problems with the process control system, as well as alleviate a burden of travelling from one site to another (Cruz: pg. 1, par. [0006] and pg. 15, par. [0118]).
As per claim 2, Belvins teaches the processor circuitry, to compile the executable package associated with the rule based on the rule configuration file, at least one of instantiates or executes the machine readable instructions to:
access the rule configuration file defining a rule execution instruction (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0127]; i.e. a software file that provides access to rules and provide for configuration of the accessed rules; [0073]: “When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations. … After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0127]: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 10, the expert rules 324 (among other elements and aspects of the analysis module 308) could be stored in the configuration database 28. In this way, the rules 324 could utilize tags and/or aliases to reference elements of the process module 304, the process, or of other process modules, such as properties, parameters, modes, states, etc. Additionally, if the process module 304 was changed, updated, renamed, etc., by a configuration engineer, for example, the analysis module 308 could still reference information from the process module 304 using the tags and/or aliases.”);
generate a computer readable script (i.e. a script that is downloaded) based on the rule configuration file (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. [0073]: “After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”);
compile the computer readable script into the executable package (pgs. 14-15, par. [0098] and [0099] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. using a software package integrate the script; [0099]: “Still further, because the process modules are communicatively connected to the control modules, the parameters or data generated by the high fidelity simulation package may be used in the control modules to perform on-line control activities. Using the process modules in this manner, a high fidelity simulation package can be executed in parallel to, in addition to being integrated with, the control modules.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”); and
store the executable package to a storage device (pg. 12, par. [0073]; i.e. [0073]: “After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.”).
As per claim 3, Belvins teaches the processor circuitry further at least one of instantiates or executes the machine readable instructions to:
apply the update to the rule to at least one of core logic of the rule (pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules.”) or a parameter to be utilized during execution of the rule (pg. 11, par. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”); and
store an updated rule configuration file (pgs. 4-5, par. [0034] and pgs. 5-6, par. [0039]; i.e. [0034]: “The execution engine 48 may use a rules database 50 defining the logic to be implemented on the process modules 39 as a whole and the smart process objects within those modules in particular.” and [0039]: “… the methods 60 may be programmed or provided in any desired programming language, such as C, C++, C#, etc. or may be referenced to or may define applicable rules within the rule database 50 that should be run for the smart process object 42e during execution.”).
As per claim 5, Belvin teaches the data collector (Fig. 2, element 53b) is to receive instructions to retrieve the property value via a network connection (pg. 5, par. [0036], pg. 6, par. [0043] and [0044], and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”, [0043]: “It will be noted that an instance of the smart process object 42e has a tag or unique name within the context of the process module with which the smart process object 42e is associated and this tag or unique name may be used to provide communications to and from the smart process object 42e and may be referenced by the execution engine 48 during runtime.”, [0044]: “Still further, smart process objects may utilize information from other elements, such as control modules and other objects to enable the smart process object to recognize when its associated entity is busy or, for example, acquired by a batch control process within the plant 10.”, and [0113]: “Of course, the graphic display/process module runtime environment 226 may communicate with the control module runtime environment 232 using any desired or preconfigured communication networks, such as the Ethernet bus 24 of FIG. 1. Still further, other methods of integrating the graphic displays, process modules and control modules described herein into a standard process control system or process plant may be used as well.”).
As per claim 7, Belvin teaches the result of the rule execution is stored to a storage device (pg. 5, par. [0036], pg. 6, par. [0044], pg. 17, par. [0113] and Fig. 2, element 53b; i.e. [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.” and [0113]: “Of course, the graphic display/process module runtime environment 226 may communicate with the control module runtime environment 232 using any desired or preconfigured communication networks, such as the Ethernet bus 24 of FIG. 1. Still further, other methods of integrating the graphic displays, process modules and control modules described herein into a standard process control system or process plant may be used as well.”).
As per claim 9, Belvins substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Belvins teaches the limitations of a non-transitory machine readable storage medium (Fig. 1, element 34; i.e. a memory) comprising instructions that, when executed, cause processor circuitry (pg. 4, par. [0030], pg. 23, claim 4, and Fig. 1, element 36; i.e. [0030]: “The suite of operator interface applications 32 is stored in a memory 34 of the workstation 20 and each of the applications or entities within the suite of applications 32 is adapted to be executed on a processor 36 associated with the workstation 20”) to at least:
access a property value (Fig. 2, element 42) from a data collector (Fig. 2, element 53b; i.e. a data store), the property value including an operational value of a first workstation (pg. 4, par. [0030], pg. 5, par. [0035], pg. 6-7, par. [0045], and Fig 1, element 20; i.e. a first operator workstation and [0035]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.” and [0045]: “Smart process objects may be associated with any desired process entity, such as physical devices like pumps, tanks, valves, etc., or logical entities such as process areas, measurements or actuators, control strategies, etc. In some cases, smart process objects may be associated with connectors, such a piping, conduit, wiring, conveyors, or any other device or entity that moves material, electricity, gas, etc. from one point to another point within the process.”) within a process control system (pg. 4, par. [0033], pg. 5, par. [0036], and Fig. 1, element 10; i.e. a process plant, [0033]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.”, and [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”), the process control system (Fig. 1, element 10) including the first workstation (Fig. 1, element 20; the first operation workstation) and a second workstation (pg. 3, par. [0027] and Fig. 1, elements 22; i.e. a second operator workstation and [0027]: “… FIG. 1, an example process plant 10 in which smart process objects used to form process graphic displays and process modules, both of which may be integrated with control modules to provide enhanced control and simulation within the plant environment, is illustrated in detail. In particular, the process plant 10 uses a distributed process control system having one or more controllers 12, each connected to one or more field devices 14 and 16 via input/output (I/O) devices or cards 18 which may be, for example, Fieldbus interfaces, Profibus interfaces, HART interfaces, standard 4-20 ma interfaces, etc. The controllers 12 are also coupled to one or more host or operator workstations 20 and 22 via a data highway 24 which may be, for example, an Ethernet link.”);;
create a data model instance representing the first workstation (pg. 4, par. [0033] and pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. [0033]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.” and [0036]: “ A data store 53c may store a graphical representation of the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains and which is used for actual display to the operator via an operator interface, such as the screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 of FIG. 1.”);
apply the property value to the data model instance (pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. “This parameter data may be displayed in the graphical place holders when the graphical representation is presented to the operator on a display device 37 as part of one of the graphic displays 35.”);
query a location (Fig. 2, element 28; i.e. configuration database) to the first workstation to identify a rule (i.e. a method) associated with the data model instance, the rule accessed from the location by the first workstation (pg. 11, par. [0072] and [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0127]; i.e. a software file that provides access to rules and provide for configuration of the accessed rules; [0072]: “… an operator may run or execute the configuration application 38 to create one or more process modules 39 or graphic displays for implementation during operation of the process 10 or for implementation in a simulation environment. In one embodiment, the configuration application 38 presents a configuration display, such as that illustrated in FIG. 3, to the configuration engineer.”, [0073]: “When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations. … After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0127]: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 10, the expert rules 324 (among other elements and aspects of the analysis module 308) could be stored in the configuration database 28. In this way, the rules 324 could utilize tags and/or aliases to reference elements of the process module 304, the process, or of other process modules, such as properties, parameters, modes, states, etc. Additionally, if the process module 304 was changed, updated, renamed, etc., by a configuration engineer, for example, the analysis module 308 could still reference information from the process module 304 using the tags and/or aliases.”);
generate the rule associated with the data model instance (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.” and [0131]: “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules. For example, an operator may be permitted to browse and select facts associated with the process plant. Further, a user may be permitted to create new rules suitable for evaluation by a CLIPS expert system tool or some other suitable expert system tool.”) by compiling an executable package associated with the rule based on a rule configuration file, the rule configuration file including instructions to generate machine-readable instructions package (pgs. 14-15, par. [0098] and [0099] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. using a software package integrate the script; [0099]: “Still further, because the process modules are communicatively connected to the control modules, the parameters or data generated by the high fidelity simulation package may be used in the control modules to perform on-line control activities. Using the process modules in this manner, a high fidelity simulation package can be executed in parallel to, in addition to being integrated with, the control modules.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”);
apply an update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the update to the rule to replace a corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the location (pgs. 4-5, par. [0034], pgs. 5-6, par. [0039], pg. 11, par. [0073], and pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. [0034]: “The execution engine 48 may use a rules database 50 defining the logic to be implemented on the process modules 39 as a whole and the smart process objects within those modules in particular.”; [0039]: “… the methods 60 may be programmed or provided in any desired programming language, such as C, C++, C#, etc. or may be referenced to or may define applicable rules within the rule database 50 that should be run for the smart process object 42e during execution.”; [0073]:“The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”; and [0131]: “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules.”);
cause execution, by the first workstation (Fig 1, element 20; i.e. the first operator workstation), of the executable package associated with the rule using the data model instance (pgs. 5-6, par. [0038] and [0039]; i.e. [0038]: “The methods 60 may be preconfigured or provided based on the type or class of smart process object and will generally be executed each time the smart process object 42e is executed within the execution engine 48 during runtime. Some example methods 60 that may be provided within a smart process object, such as the smart process object 42e, include detecting leaks, dead band, dead time, movement, variability, condition monitoring, computing costs, or other conditions associated with the entity.” and [0039]: “The methods 60 may also be provided to help simulate the operation of the process entity associated with the smart process object on the material flowing through that process entity. Thus, the methods 60 may be provided to calculate mass balances, energy balances, flows, temperatures, compositions, vapor states, and other system-level or stream level parameters associated with the material in the plant 10, to simulate operation of the element so as to calculate expected outputs based on provided inputs, etc.”); and
record a result of the execution of the executable package (pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”).
Not explicitly taught are query a common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation;
based on a determination that the common location does not have the rule associated with the data model instance, compile an executable package associated with the rule based on a rule configuration file, the rule configuration file including instructions to generate machine-readable instructions; and
the result to indicate a health of the first workstation.
However Dillon, in an analogous art of a process plant, process control system, or process control environment (pg. 1, par. [0021]), teaches the missing limitation of based on a determination that a location (Fig. 3, element 406; i.e. a rules database) does not have a rule, generate the rule (pg. 9, par. [0052]; i.e. if the database does not have the most robust rule, a rule can be created, added, adapted, or changed and [0052]: “If the rules engine 404 determines that these predetermined conditions are met, the rules engine 404 may initiate the creation of a work order via the work initiation module 410 for the asset. Of course, any number of rules could be stored in the rules database 406 and used by the rules engine 404 to analyze each of the incoming recommendations or messages from the data analytic sources 310, 312, 314 and 330, and the rules in the rules database 406 may be created by, added to, adapted by, or changed by users with appropriate privileges, in order to enable the rules engine 404 to be robust in nature and adaptable in specific circumstances (that is, to be adapted to the needs of different users in different plant environments).”) to create work orders automatically (pg. 9, par. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins to include the addition of the limitation of based on a determination that a location does not have a rule, generate the rule to advantageously provide enhanced maintenance planning and scheduling in a process plant (Dillon: pg. 2, par. [0002]).
Belvins in view of Dillon does not expressly teach query a common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation; and
the result to indicate a health of the first workstation.
However Cook, in an analogous art of a plant or process control environment (pg. 7, par. [0046]), teaches the missing limitation of query a common location (Fig. 2, element 124; i.e. a rules database) to a first workstation (Fig. 2, element 26; i.e. a first computer workstation) and a second workstation (Fig. 2, element 28; i.e. a second computer workstation) to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation (pg. 8, par. [0051] and [0064]; i.e. [0051]: “While the components 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 are illustrated as being stored in and executed in separate computing devices different then the computing devices 26, 28, 30, 31, and 32, of FIG. 2, any subset or are all of the components 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 could be stored in and executed in the same processing devices, which may be the same processing devices that store and execute other process control applications and databases, such as the devices 26, 28, 30, 31, and 32.” and [0064]: “After a set of exception rules is created for one or more data sources, and these rules are stored in the rules database 124, for example, the quality review management system 112 may thereafter implement the exception engine 122 in real time during operation of a data source to detect exceptions that may occur as a result of the operation of the underlying process being monitored, controlled, or effected by the data source application. … For each set of data, the exception engine 122 obtains and applies the logic of the exception rules created for the data source to thereby detect exceptions in the process being implemented, managed, or monitored by the data source.”) for the purpose of detecting expectations in a process being implemented, managed, or monitored (pg. 11, par. [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon to include the addition of the limitation of query a common location to a first workstation and a second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to advantageously detect exceptions automatically in a process and store data pertaining to the detected exceptions in an organized and easily reviewable manner, as well as, allow a quality review manager or engineer to review and handle (resolve) exceptions associated with the process with an easy to use interface (Cook: pg. 4, par. [0021]).
Belvins in view of Dillon in view of Cook does not expressly teach the result to a indicate health of the first workstation.
However Cruz, in an analogous art of process control systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of a result (i.e. an alert) to a indicate health of a first workstation (pg. 12, par. [0099]; i.e. “Action alerts may be created (opened) when a monitored health parameter indicates a health condition that could lead to a process disruption or loss of asset availability, where the remote maintenance system 102 continually monitors important health information of process control system components, such as controllers, servers, workstations, Safety Instrumented System (SIS) controllers, switches, firewalls, infrastructure, etc.”) for the purpose of providing an alert when a monitored health parameter indicates a health condition that could lead to a process disruption or loss of asset availability (pg. 12, par. [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon to include the addition of the limitation of a result to a indicate health of a first workstation to advantageously provide information of potential risks to availability, reliability and security of a process control system to assist a system engineer to undertake preventative actions to avoid problems with the process control system, as well as alleviate a burden of travelling from one site to another (Cruz: pg. 1, par. [0006] and pg. 15, par. [0118]).
As per claim 10, Belvins teaches wherein, to compile the executable package associated with the rule based on the rule configuration file, the instructions, when executed, cause the processor circuitry to at least:
access the rule configuration file defining a rule execution instruction (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0127]; i.e. a software file that provides access to rules and provide for configuration of the accessed rules; [0073]: “When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations. … After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0127]: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 10, the expert rules 324 (among other elements and aspects of the analysis module 308) could be stored in the configuration database 28. In this way, the rules 324 could utilize tags and/or aliases to reference elements of the process module 304, the process, or of other process modules, such as properties, parameters, modes, states, etc. Additionally, if the process module 304 was changed, updated, renamed, etc., by a configuration engineer, for example, the analysis module 308 could still reference information from the process module 304 using the tags and/or aliases.”);
generate a computer readable script (i.e. a script that is downloaded) based on the rule configuration file (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. [0073]: “After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”);
compile the computer readable script into the executable package (pgs. 14-15, par. [0098] and [0099] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. using a software package integrate the script; [0099]: “Still further, because the process modules are communicatively connected to the control modules, the parameters or data generated by the high fidelity simulation package may be used in the control modules to perform on-line control activities. Using the process modules in this manner, a high fidelity simulation package can be executed in parallel to, in addition to being integrated with, the control modules.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”); and
store the executable package to a storage device (pg. 12, par. [0073]; i.e. [0073]: “After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.”).
As per claim 11, Belvins teaches the instructions, when executed, cause the processor circuitry to at least:
apply the update to the rule to at least one of core logic of the rule (pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules.”) or a parameter to be utilized during execution of the rule (pg. 11, par. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”); and
store the rule configuration file (pgs. 4-5, par. [0034] and pgs. 5-6, par. [0039]; i.e. [0034]: “The execution engine 48 may use a rules database 50 defining the logic to be implemented on the process modules 39 as a whole and the smart process objects within those modules in particular.” and [0039]: “… the methods 60 may be programmed or provided in any desired programming language, such as C, C++, C#, etc. or may be referenced to or may define applicable rules within the rule database 50 that should be run for the smart process object 42e during execution.”).
As per claim 13, Belvins teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processor circuitry to receive instructions to retrieve the property value via a network connection (pg. 5, par. [0036], pg. 6, par. [0043] and [0044], pg. 11, par. [0072], and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”, [0043]: “It will be noted that an instance of the smart process object 42e has a tag or unique name within the context of the process module with which the smart process object 42e is associated and this tag or unique name may be used to provide communications to and from the smart process object 42e and may be referenced by the execution engine 48 during runtime.”, [0044]: “Still further, smart process objects may utilize information from other elements, such as control modules and other objects to enable the smart process object to recognize when its associated entity is busy or, for example, acquired by a batch control process within the plant 10.”, [0072]: “Generally speaking, an operator may run or execute the configuration application 38 to create one or more process modules 39 or graphic displays for implementation during operation of the process 10 or for implementation in a simulation environment.”, and [0113]: “Of course, the graphic display/process module runtime environment 226 may communicate with the control module runtime environment 232 using any desired or preconfigured communication networks, such as the Ethernet bus 24 of FIG. 1. Still further, other methods of integrating the graphic displays, process modules and control modules described herein into a standard process control system or process plant may be used as well.”).
As per claim 14, Belvins teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, display the result of the execution via a graphical user interface (pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0031] and pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. [0030]: “Furthermore, the suite of applications can provide display outputs to a display screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 or any other desired display screen or display device, including hand-held devices laptops, other workstations, printers, etc.”, [0031]: “The process graphic display elements 35, which will be described in more detail below, are generally elements that are used by an operator, engineer or other displays to provide information to a user, such as an operator, about the operation, configuration or set-up of the process plant and the elements therein.”, and [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10. … A data store 53c may store a graphical representation of the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains and which is used for actual display to the operator via an operator interface, such as the screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 of FIG. 1.”).
As per claim 15, Belvins substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Belvins teaches the limitations of a method for executing a rule, the method comprising:
accessing a property value (Fig. 2, element 42) from a data collector (Fig. 2, element 53b; i.e. a data store), the property value including an operational value of a first workstation (pg. 4, par. [0030], pg. 5, par. [0035], pg. 6-7, par. [0045], and Fig 1, element 20; i.e. a first operator workstation and [0035]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.” and [0045]: “Smart process objects may be associated with any desired process entity, such as physical devices like pumps, tanks, valves, etc., or logical entities such as process areas, measurements or actuators, control strategies, etc. In some cases, smart process objects may be associated with connectors, such a piping, conduit, wiring, conveyors, or any other device or entity that moves material, electricity, gas, etc. from one point to another point within the process.”) within a process control system (pg. 4, par. [0033], pg. 5, par. [0036], and Fig. 1, element 10; i.e. a process plant, [0033]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.”, and [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”), the process control system (Fig. 1, element 10) including the first workstation (Fig. 1, element 20; the first operation workstation) and a second workstation (pg. 3, par. [0027] and Fig. 1, elements 22; i.e. a second operator workstation and [0027]: “… FIG. 1, an example process plant 10 in which smart process objects used to form process graphic displays and process modules, both of which may be integrated with control modules to provide enhanced control and simulation within the plant environment, is illustrated in detail. In particular, the process plant 10 uses a distributed process control system having one or more controllers 12, each connected to one or more field devices 14 and 16 via input/output (I/O) devices or cards 18 which may be, for example, Fieldbus interfaces, Profibus interfaces, HART interfaces, standard 4-20 ma interfaces, etc. The controllers 12 are also coupled to one or more host or operator workstations 20 and 22 via a data highway 24 which may be, for example, an Ethernet link.”);
creating a data model instance representing the workstation (pg. 4, par. [0033] and pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. [0033]: “A library 40 of smart process objects 42 includes example or template smart process objects 42 that may be accessed, copied and used by the configuration application 38 to create process modules 39 and graphic displays 35.” and [0036]: “ A data store 53c may store a graphical representation of the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains and which is used for actual display to the operator via an operator interface, such as the screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 of FIG. 1.”);
applying the property value to the data model instance (pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. “This parameter data may be displayed in the graphical place holders when the graphical representation is presented to the operator on a display device 37 as part of one of the graphic displays 35.”);
querying a location (Fig. 2, element 28; i.e. configuration database) to the first workstation to identify a rule (i.e. a method) associated with the data model instance, the rule accessed from the location by the first workstation (pg. 11, par. [0072] and [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0127]; i.e. a software file that provides access to rules and provide for configuration of the accessed rules; [0072]: “… an operator may run or execute the configuration application 38 to create one or more process modules 39 or graphic displays for implementation during operation of the process 10 or for implementation in a simulation environment. In one embodiment, the configuration application 38 presents a configuration display, such as that illustrated in FIG. 3, to the configuration engineer.”, [0073]: “When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations. … After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0127]: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 10, the expert rules 324 (among other elements and aspects of the analysis module 308) could be stored in the configuration database 28. In this way, the rules 324 could utilize tags and/or aliases to reference elements of the process module 304, the process, or of other process modules, such as properties, parameters, modes, states, etc. Additionally, if the process module 304 was changed, updated, renamed, etc., by a configuration engineer, for example, the analysis module 308 could still reference information from the process module 304 using the tags and/or aliases.”);
generating the rule associated with the data model instance (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.” and [0131]: “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules. For example, an operator may be permitted to browse and select facts associated with the process plant. Further, a user may be permitted to create new rules suitable for evaluation by a CLIPS expert system tool or some other suitable expert system tool.”) by compiling an executable package associated with the rule based on a rule configuration file, the rule configuration file including instructions to generate machine-readable instructions package (pgs. 14-15, par. [0098] and [0099] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. using a software package integrate the script; [0099]: “Still further, because the process modules are communicatively connected to the control modules, the parameters or data generated by the high fidelity simulation package may be used in the control modules to perform on-line control activities. Using the process modules in this manner, a high fidelity simulation package can be executed in parallel to, in addition to being integrated with, the control modules.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”);
applying an update to the rule stored in the rule configuration file, the updated to the rule to replace a corresponding component of the rule configuration file in the location (pgs. 4-5, par. [0034], pgs. 5-6, par. [0039], pg. 11, par. [0073], and pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. [0034]: “The execution engine 48 may use a rules database 50 defining the logic to be implemented on the process modules 39 as a whole and the smart process objects within those modules in particular.”; [0039]: “… the methods 60 may be programmed or provided in any desired programming language, such as C, C++, C#, etc. or may be referenced to or may define applicable rules within the rule database 50 that should be run for the smart process object 42e during execution.”; [0073]:“The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”; and [0131]: “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules.”);
causing execution, by the first workstation (Fig 1, element 20; i.e. a first operator workstation), of the executable package associated with the rule using the data model instance (pgs. 5-6, par. [0038] and [0039]; i.e. [0038]: “The methods 60 may be preconfigured or provided based on the type or class of smart process object and will generally be executed each time the smart process object 42e is executed within the execution engine 48 during runtime. Some example methods 60 that may be provided within a smart process object, such as the smart process object 42e, include detecting leaks, dead band, dead time, movement, variability, condition monitoring, computing costs, or other conditions associated with the entity.” and [0039]: “The methods 60 may also be provided to help simulate the operation of the process entity associated with the smart process object on the material flowing through that process entity. Thus, the methods 60 may be provided to calculate mass balances, energy balances, flows, temperatures, compositions, vapor states, and other system-level or stream level parameters associated with the material in the plant 10, to simulate operation of the element so as to calculate expected outputs based on provided inputs, etc.”); and
recording a result of the execution of the executable package (pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”).
Not explicitly taught are querying a common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation;
based on a determination that the common location does not have the rule associated with the data model instance, compile an executable package associated with the rule based on a rule configuration file, the rule configuration file including instructions to generate machine-readable instructions; and
the result to indicate a health of the first workstation.
However Dillon, in an analogous art of a process plant, process control system, or process control environment (pg. 1, par. [0021]), teaches the missing limitation of based on a determination that a location (Fig. 3, element 406; i.e. a rules database) does not have a rule, generate the rule (pg. 9, par. [0052]; i.e. if the database does not have the most robust rule, a rule can be created, added, adapted, or changed and [0052]: “If the rules engine 404 determines that these predetermined conditions are met, the rules engine 404 may initiate the creation of a work order via the work initiation module 410 for the asset. Of course, any number of rules could be stored in the rules database 406 and used by the rules engine 404 to analyze each of the incoming recommendations or messages from the data analytic sources 310, 312, 314 and 330, and the rules in the rules database 406 may be created by, added to, adapted by, or changed by users with appropriate privileges, in order to enable the rules engine 404 to be robust in nature and adaptable in specific circumstances (that is, to be adapted to the needs of different users in different plant environments).”) to create work orders automatically (pg. 9, par. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins to include the addition of the limitation of based on a determination that a location does not have a rule, generate the rule to advantageously provide enhanced maintenance planning and scheduling in a process plant (Dillon: pg. 2, par. [0002]).
Belvins in view of Dillon does not expressly teach querying a common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation; and
the result to indicate a health of the first workstation.
However Cook, in an analogous art of a plant or process control environment (pg. 7, par. [0046]), teaches the missing limitation of querying a common location (Fig. 2, element 124; i.e. a rules database) to a first workstation (Fig. 2, element 26; i.e. a first computer workstation) and a second workstation (Fig. 2, element 28; i.e. a second computer workstation) to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation (pg. 8, par. [0051] and [0064]; i.e. [0051]: “While the components 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 are illustrated as being stored in and executed in separate computing devices different then the computing devices 26, 28, 30, 31, and 32, of FIG. 2, any subset or are all of the components 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128 could be stored in and executed in the same processing devices, which may be the same processing devices that store and execute other process control applications and databases, such as the devices 26, 28, 30, 31, and 32.” and [0064]: “After a set of exception rules is created for one or more data sources, and these rules are stored in the rules database 124, for example, the quality review management system 112 may thereafter implement the exception engine 122 in real time during operation of a data source to detect exceptions that may occur as a result of the operation of the underlying process being monitored, controlled, or effected by the data source application. … For each set of data, the exception engine 122 obtains and applies the logic of the exception rules created for the data source to thereby detect exceptions in the process being implemented, managed, or monitored by the data source.”) for the purpose of detecting expectations in a process being implemented, managed, or monitored (pg. 11, par. [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon to include the addition of the limitation of querying a common location to a first workstation and a second workstation to identify a rule, the rule accessed from the common location to the first workstation and the second workstation to advantageously detect exceptions automatically in a process and store data pertaining to the detected exceptions in an organized and easily reviewable manner, as well as, allow a quality review manager or engineer to review and handle (resolve) exceptions associated with the process with an easy to use interface (Cook: pg. 4, par. [0021]).
Belvins in view of Dillon in view of Cook does not expressly teach the result to a indicate health of the first workstation.
However Cruz, in an analogous art of process control systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of a result (i.e. an alert) to a indicate health of a first workstation (pg. 12, par. [0099]; i.e. “Action alerts may be created (opened) when a monitored health parameter indicates a health condition that could lead to a process disruption or loss of asset availability, where the remote maintenance system 102 continually monitors important health information of process control system components, such as controllers, servers, workstations, Safety Instrumented System (SIS) controllers, switches, firewalls, infrastructure, etc.”) for the purpose of providing an alert when a monitored health parameter indicates a health condition that could lead to a process disruption or loss of asset availability (pg. 12, par. [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon to include the addition of the limitation of a result to a indicate health of a first workstation to advantageously provide information of potential risks to availability, reliability and security of a process control system to assist a system engineer to undertake preventative actions to avoid problems with the process control system, as well as alleviate a burden of travelling from one site to another (Cruz: pg. 1, par. [0006] and pg. 15, par. [0118]).
As per claim 16, Belvins teaches the method of claim 15, further including:
accessing the rule configuration file defining a rule execution instruction (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 19, par. [0127]; i.e. a software file that provides access to rules and provide for configuration of the accessed rules; [0073]: “When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations. … After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0127]: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 10, the expert rules 324 (among other elements and aspects of the analysis module 308) could be stored in the configuration database 28. In this way, the rules 324 could utilize tags and/or aliases to reference elements of the process module 304, the process, or of other process modules, such as properties, parameters, modes, states, etc. Additionally, if the process module 304 was changed, updated, renamed, etc., by a configuration engineer, for example, the analysis module 308 could still reference information from the process module 304 using the tags and/or aliases.”);
generating a computer readable script (i.e. a script that is downloaded) based on the rule configuration file (pg. 11, par. [0073] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. [0073]: “After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”);
compiling the computer readable script into the executable package (pgs. 14-15, par. [0098] and [0099] and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. using a software package integrate the script; [0099]: “Still further, because the process modules are communicatively connected to the control modules, the parameters or data generated by the high fidelity simulation package may be used in the control modules to perform on-line control activities. Using the process modules in this manner, a high fidelity simulation package can be executed in parallel to, in addition to being integrated with, the control modules.” and [0113]: “The graphic display/process module runtime environment 126 uses a download script parser 228 to parse the code during execution (i.e., to perform just in time object code conversion) and uses a ruled-based execution engine 230 to execute flow algorithms or other rule based procedures provided for or bound to the display classes.”); and
storing the executable package to a storage device (pg. 12, par. [0073]; i.e. [0073]: “After creating the graphic display 35c, the configuration engineer may save that display in a memory and may, at that time, or later, instantiate and download that display to the execution engine 48 in a manner that the execution engine 48 may provide a graphic display.”).
As per claim 17, Belvins teaches the method of claim 15, further including:
applying the update to the rule to at least one of core logic of the rule (pg. 19, par. [0131]; i.e. “Additionally, a user may be permitted to modify the predefined rules and/or create new rules.”) or a parameter to be utilized during execution of the rule (pg. 11, par. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”); and
storing the rule configuration file (pgs. 4-5, par. [0034] and pgs. 5-6, par. [0039]; i.e. [0034]: “The execution engine 48 may use a rules database 50 defining the logic to be implemented on the process modules 39 as a whole and the smart process objects within those modules in particular.” and [0039]: “… the methods 60 may be programmed or provided in any desired programming language, such as C, C++, C#, etc. or may be referenced to or may define applicable rules within the rule database 50 that should be run for the smart process object 42e during execution.”).
As per claim 19, Belvin teaches the data collector receives (Fig. 2, element 53b) instructions to retrieve the property value via a network connection (pg. 5, par. [0036], pg. 6, par. [0043] and [0044], and pg. 17, par. [0113]; i.e. [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”, [0043]: “It will be noted that an instance of the smart process object 42e has a tag or unique name within the context of the process module with which the smart process object 42e is associated and this tag or unique name may be used to provide communications to and from the smart process object 42e and may be referenced by the execution engine 48 during runtime.”, [0044]: “Still further, smart process objects may utilize information from other elements, such as control modules and other objects to enable the smart process object to recognize when its associated entity is busy or, for example, acquired by a batch control process within the plant 10.”, and [0113]: “Of course, the graphic display/process module runtime environment 226 may communicate with the control module runtime environment 232 using any desired or preconfigured communication networks, such as the Ethernet bus 24 of FIG. 1. Still further, other methods of integrating the graphic displays, process modules and control modules described herein into a standard process control system or process plant may be used as well.”).
As per claim 20, Belvins teaches the result of the rule execution is displayed to at least one of a web-based interface or a graphical user interface (pg. 4, par. [0030] and [0031] and pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. [0030]: “Furthermore, the suite of applications can provide display outputs to a display screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 or any other desired display screen or display device, including hand-held devices laptops, other workstations, printers, etc.”, [0031]: “The process graphic display elements 35, which will be described in more detail below, are generally elements that are used by an operator, engineer or other displays to provide information to a user, such as an operator, about the operation, configuration or set-up of the process plant and the elements therein.”, and [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10. … A data store 53c may store a graphical representation of the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains and which is used for actual display to the operator via an operator interface, such as the screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 of FIG. 1.”)..
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook, Cruz, and Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2001-175972 A (hereinafter Okuzawa).
As per claim 4, Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz does not expressly teach the threshold is in a file separate from the rule.
However Okuzawa, in an analogous art of a monitoring device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of a threshold (pg. 4, par. [0021]; i.e. “… the threshold value is stored in the threshold memory unit 43”) is in a file separate from a rule (pg. 3, par. [0015] and [0016]; i.e. “… fault judgment rule data for a plurality of threshold values is inputted from here and stored in the rule storage unit 37.”) to determining abnormalities (pg. 3, par. [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz to include the addition of the limitation of a threshold is in a file separate from a rule to efficiently and appropriately monitor abnormalities in a plant (Okuzawa: pg. 1, par. [0001]).
As per claim 12, Belvins teaches a parameter is edited (pg. 11, par. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”).
Belvins does not expressly teach the threshold is a file separate from the rule.
Belvins in view of Dillon does not expressly teach the threshold is a file separate from the rule.
Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook does not expressly teach the threshold is a file separate from the rule.
Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz does not expressly teach the threshold is a file separate from the rule.
However Okuzawa, in an analogous art of a monitoring device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of a threshold (pg. 4, par. [0021]; i.e. “… the threshold value is stored in the threshold memory unit 43”) is in a file separate from a rule (pg. 3, par. [0015] and [0016]; i.e. “… fault judgment rule data for a plurality of threshold values is inputted from here and stored in the rule storage unit 37.”) to determining abnormalities (pg. 3, par. [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz to include the addition of the limitation of a threshold is in a file separate from a rule to efficiently and appropriately monitor abnormalities in a plant (Okuzawa: pg. 1, par. [0001]).
As per claim 18, Belvins teaches a parameter is edited (pg. 11, par. [0073]; i.e. “The configuration engineer may change the properties of each of the smart process objects during this process using pop-up properties menus, etc. and, in particular, may change the methods, parameters, tags, names, hot links, modes, classes, inputs and outputs, etc. associated with these smart process objects. When the process or configuration engineer has created a process module with each of the desired elements, typically representing a process configuration, area, etc., the configuration engineer may define rules or other functionality associated with the module. Such rules may be execution rules such as those associated with the performance of system-level methods, like mass balance and flow calculations.”).
Belvins does not expressly teach the threshold is edited in file separate from the rule.
Belvins in view of Dillon does not expressly teach the threshold is edited in file separate from the rule.
Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook does not expressly teach the threshold is edited in file separate from the rule.
Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz does not expressly teach the threshold is edited in file separate from the rule.
However Okuzawa, in an analogous art of a monitoring device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of a threshold (pg. 4, par. [0021]; i.e. “… the threshold value is stored in the threshold memory unit 43”) is in a file separate from a rule (pg. 3, par. [0015] and [0016]; i.e. “… fault judgment rule data for a plurality of threshold values is inputted from here and stored in the rule storage unit 37.”) to determining abnormalities (pg. 3, par. [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz to include the addition of the limitation of a threshold is in a file separate from a rule to efficiently and appropriately monitor abnormalities in a plant (Okuzawa: pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook, Cruz, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0058248 A1 (hereinafter Park).
As per claim 6, Belvins teaches the result of the rule execution presented (pg. 4, [0030] and [0031] and pg. 5, par. [0036]; i.e. [0030]: “Furthermore, the suite of applications can provide display outputs to a display screen 37 associated with the workstation 20 or any other desired display screen or display device, including hand-held devices laptops, other workstations, printers, etc.”, [0031]: “The process graphic display elements 35, which will be described in more detail below, are generally elements that are used by an operator, engineer or other displays to provide information to a user, such as an operator, about the operation, configuration or set-up of the process plant and the elements therein.”, and [0036]: “However, after being copied and instantiated, the smart process object 42e may be tied to a particular entity within the process plant. In any event, the smart process object 42e includes a data store 53 that is used to store data received from or pertaining to the logical entity with which the smart process object 42e is associated. … A data store 53b may store variable or changing data, such as parameter data, status data, input and output data, cost or other data about the entity to which the smart process object 42e pertains including data associated with the entity as it has existed in the past or as it now exists within the process plant 10.”).
Belvins does not teach the result presented using a web-based interface.
Belvins in view of Dillon the result presented using a web-based interface.
Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook the result presented using a web-based interface.
Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz the result presented using a web-based interface.
However Park, in an analogous art of graphical user interface for a system (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of data presented is using a web-based interface (pg. 1, par. [0005], pg. 2, par. [0023], pg. 4, par. [0039], and pg. 5, par. [0044]; i.e. [0005]: “creating dynamic web pages for transmitting in whole to clients.”, [0023]: “The GUIs provided to the electronic display of client terminal 102 are variously configured to allow users (e.g., building manager, building engineer, security manager, etc.) to monitor, configure, control, or otherwise affect the operation of building management system 100. ”, and [0044]: “In general, GUI engine 314 can use the service definition for each widget to direct events or requests relating to each widget to the proper data delivery process (e.g., service, web service, widget service).”) for the purpose of loading and rendering a customized display (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz to include the addition of the limitation of data presented is using a web-based interface to advantageously reduce network bandwidth between a client device and building management system (BMS) resources and processing time of a presentation server (Park: pg. 1, par. [0005]).
As per claim 8, Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz does not expressly teach a remote device is to instruct the processor circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions.
However Park, in an analogous art of graphical user interface for a system (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of a remote device (Fig. 1, element 102; i.e. client) is to instruct a processor circuitry (Fig, 1, element 106; i.e. a remote server) to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions (pg. 1, par. [0005], pg. 2, par. [0023], and pg. 4, par. [0037] and [0039]; i.e. [0005]: “Processing resources of the client are primarily spent on display and user interaction tasks while the presentation server or other building management system resources use their resources for data delivery processes, execution of business logic, execution of workflows, and the like.” and [0023]: “The GUIs provided to the electronic display of client terminal 102 are variously configured to allow users (e.g., building manager, building engineer, security manager, etc.) to monitor, configure, control, or otherwise affect the operation of building management system 100.”, [0037]: “… a flow chart of a process 250 for completion by a presentation server and for creating and sending a presentation description to a graphical user interface engine of a client device is shown, according to an exemplary embodiment. A user enters login information to the graphical user interface on the client device and the login information is provided to the presentation server. When the login information for a user is validated (step 252) by the presentation server (e.g., or by a validation resource available to the presentation server), group or user access information for the user is retrieved (step 254). The associated group may include a description of which widgets are to be displayed or otherwise made available for the user (e.g., widgets associated with administrative tasks may not be made available to regular users of GUI 200). ”, [0039: “Client 102 and presentation server 106 each include one or more processors configured to execute computer code stored in computer readable media (e.g., a CDROM, hard disk memory, solid state memory, RAM, ROM, remotely located media, etc.).”) for the purpose of loading and rendering a customized display (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Belvins in view of Dillon in further view of Cook and Cruz to include the addition of the limitation of a remote device is to instruct a processor circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions to advantageously reduce network bandwidth between a client device and building management system (BMS) resources and processing time of a presentation server (Park: pg. 1, par. [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to configuring, monitoring, and control systems/methods.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0031958 A1 discloses a system includes a data collection system configured to collect data from a control system.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0120912 A1 discloses monitoring of an environment using data trend analysis.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0261969 A1 discloses a method of configuring an automation control system using point configuration software.
U.S. Patent No. 10,785,049 B2 discloses a common automation system controller configured using a graphical approach for use in a building automation system.
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117